122 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

babycry123
post May 12 2014, 06:52 PM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

Is anyone working in RWS? I lost my work pass last year around Dec and never bother much with it. Now I've resigned and been told that I have to make a police report about it. What could be thr worst in?
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 12 2014, 06:54 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(eclipsed @ May 11 2014, 08:57 PM)
Just a quick question regarding obtaining an E Pass:

I am Malaysian, recently graduated from a private university (accounting). If I have an offer for SGD3,200, will I be able to qualify for an E Pass?

I understand that the salary requirement for an E Pass has been raised to SGD3,300. Is this strictly enforced? I took a self assessment on Singapore's MoM website and it says I am likely to qualify for both an E Pass and an S Pass. Not sure why this appears to contradict its policies...

In any case, either pass will be sufficient right?
yea.. most likely will... it is just a guideline.. single, young fresh out of school... e or s no diff to u... e of course better when u sign for services, no deposite req

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ May 11 2014, 11:07 PM)
Thank you for your reply. I am still confused about the pass application. If i let company A to apply a working pass for me first and then is it possible to ask them to revoke my application if company B decides to take me in?
have u signed d offer letter?

QUOTE(jungyu @ May 12 2014, 11:53 AM)
Hi guys, some question about salary withheld for tax payment.
My company practiced holding portion of our salary for tax payment but it ceased last year. This practice was only meant for work pass holder and i was holding EP when i joined but then i got my PR and the company no longer withhold my salary but never refunded me after that.
So now is year of assessment 2014, we had a memo before saying that this practice will be ceased and after settled Year of assessment 2013, the remain will be refunded. So now i requested for refund, but they want to settle year 2014 for me. Why should they? Should i let them?
well, i guess the coy wont cheat u, but it is always better to hv d cash in ur hand.. probably payroll lz to encash it for u and instead just pay ur tax next year... it would be better to have it refunded...

QUOTE(aLertz @ May 12 2014, 12:18 PM)
i also wanna know since i'm going to open a bank account soon....
mostly will open a POSB/DBS account for conveniences but still considering also OCBC... biggrin.gif
nah... best combo is dbs/uob.. coz they hv lots of promos at eateries around... if u nbtd, get stanchart n citi also... hsbc not too bad too...

if u r eligible to sign cc, sign every single damn cc that rewards u upon signing

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ May 12 2014, 12:32 PM)
Hey bro, I'm still around just not active in forum.
So far so good for OCBC, branches are accessible everywhere and shorter queue, personally think OCBC credit cards are more benefits towards all time flyers.
waa... u missing so long liao... where did u go? dont wanna join d club liao?

anyway.... for aus uni alumnus

mules
post May 12 2014, 07:24 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 12 2014, 07:42 PM)
DBS/POSB has a similar multiplier program.

Where OCBC gives you 1/3 of the bonus interest (payable on $50K only) for each of the 3 activities... ie. you do one activity, get 1/3 of the bonus interest... DBS/POSB is purely cashflow. If you have 20K flowing through all your POSB accounts each month, you get the entire bonus. Less than that, you get proportionately less.

So, if you do all your banking with the same bank, OCBC.

If you don't do many thing but have one thing that has high cashflow (eg. salary, home loan, credit card etc), DBS/POSB.

But the thing is that the bonus only calculates on $50K. No difference here for OCBC or DBS/POSB. Anything more just earns basic interest.
rclxms.gif thank you for the info, didnt know such thing exist, wife company only uses DBS and clicking few buttons online can convert to above program. 40x jumps from current monthly interest biggrin.gif

edited : for those who are interested to compare both
https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/dbs-vs-oc...-160000343.html

This post has been edited by mules: May 12 2014, 07:34 PM
TSdeodorant
post May 12 2014, 10:17 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ May 12 2014, 06:52 PM)
I lost my work pass last year around Dec and never bother much with it. Now I've resigned and been told that I have to make a police report about it. What could be thr worst  in?

If you lose your passport or IC will you be equally as apathetic?

Worst case not too bad, just get jailed and whipped for being illegal immigrant that's all.
studyboy
post May 12 2014, 11:19 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 11 2014, 09:51 PM)
SGD4000 is a lot less lucrative than MYR6000, assuming you earn and spend locally. Obviously it's a different story if you work in SG stay in JB, that kind of thing.
Precisely! I wonder what else is being considered by the person who posed this question apart from the currency alone.

Personally though, I can make it such that there'd be MYR6500+ extra on a SGD4000 salary. I shamelessly frugal. blush.gif

This post has been edited by studyboy: May 12 2014, 11:20 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post May 12 2014, 11:57 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

So glad tomorrow's a holiday ^^ Have a good wesak everyone.
keelim
post May 13 2014, 12:07 AM

941 posts

Finally, an alternative to go Ipoh. Four times weekly services to be launched between JB-Ipoh. Timing is not perfect, but should put downward pressure on SG-Ipoh ticket price.

Commencing 15 Sep 2014 - 25 Oct 2014
Johor Bahru - Ipoh Route Day Flight No Departure Arrival Fly Time
Johor Bahru - Ipoh Mon, Wed, Fri & Sun FY2252 10:20 11:45 1:25
Ipoh - Johor Bahru Mon, Wed, Fri & Sun FY2253 12:05 13:30 1:25
rawrkun
post May 13 2014, 12:12 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ May 13 2014, 12:07 AM)
Finally, an alternative to go Ipoh. Four times weekly services to be launched between JB-Ipoh. Timing is not perfect, but should put downward pressure on SG-Ipoh ticket price.

Johor Bahru - Ipoh Route  Day  Flight No  Departure  Arrival  Fly Time
Johor Bahru - Ipoh  Mon, Wed, Fri & Sun  FY2252  10:20  11:45  1:25
Ipoh - Johor Bahru  Mon, Wed, Fri & Sun  FY2253  12:05  13:30  1:25
Which airline is this? Anyway, thanks for the head up rclxms.gif
cherryl9
post May 13 2014, 12:13 AM

75 posts

Alaskan buny, yes I have signed thr offer letter with company a. Why?

QUOTE(keelim @ May 13 2014, 12:07 AM)

Johor Bahru - Ipoh Route  Day  Flight No  Departure  Arrival  Fly Time
Johor Bahru - Ipoh  Mon, Wed, Fri & Sun  FY2252  10:20  11:45  1:25
Ipoh - Johor Bahru  Mon, Wed, Fri & Sun  FY2253  12:05  13:30  1:25
Great. Which airlines and price?
keelim
post May 13 2014, 12:23 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ May 13 2014, 12:13 AM)
It's none other than Firefly as A320 still cannot land on Ipoh Airport runway.
Sammyking
post May 13 2014, 12:34 AM

73 posts

Hey all need some advice. So I'm currently 3 months into my first job in sg. However, I just found out that another subsidiary company got vacant position in the same job field and position as my current one. I want to go over, meaning it's different company but under same parents. Should I apply for that? What are some of the issues to consider?

Reason for jumping or transferring over because I feel like my position here currently limited growth & lack of proper training. I know it may be the same (or worse) there but just thought of trying my chances. :/
St. Petersburg
post May 13 2014, 02:02 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ May 12 2014, 10:52 AM)
Is anyone working in RWS? I lost my work pass last year around Dec and never bother much with it. Now I've resigned and been told that I have to make a police report about it. What could be thr worst  in?
probably just fine a few S$k and you are all good.
tailtwist
post May 13 2014, 07:13 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ May 12 2014, 06:52 PM)
Is anyone working in RWS? I lost my work pass last year around Dec and never bother much with it. Now I've resigned and been told that I have to make a police report about it. What could be thr worst  in?
Maybe landing yourself in jail? This is SG...dont play play...they can say you fail to report lost of work pass and you fail to report it since its almost coming to 6months already

This post has been edited by tailtwist: May 13 2014, 07:14 PM
kiyomizu
post May 13 2014, 11:40 PM

26 posts

hey guys~ selling my beloved Yamaha Clavinova CLP430 Digital Piano...

Condition: Excellent near new
Price: $1, 800 (exclusive of transportation)
Color: Dark Rosewood
Add-on: Yamaha Stereo Headphone RH2C
Warranty: until 15/2/2015

Let me know if you're interested smile.gif

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/musical-ins...430/?mode=model

eclipsed
post May 14 2014, 12:20 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 11 2014, 09:09 PM)
3200sgd for fresh grad in acc is  notworthy.gif

dont worry much about pass , as i have few friends doing audit in small and medium firms , i believe their salary is much lower than yours still able to work there.
Thanks for your reply! It does put me at ease smile.gif
I believe audit salaries are a little lower initially but they would get a different sort of exposure...

QUOTE(immabee @ May 12 2014, 12:31 AM)
Congratulations on your job offer!  rclxms.gif . If you don't mind me asking, do you have a word of advice to Malaysian graduates who are seeking jobs in Singapore, especially on what makes you standout from the pool of graduates (including Singaporeans)?
Thank you! I worked very hard to maintain very good grades, looked for relevant internships each summer and spent plenty of time applying and preparing for the interviews. It is a bit of luck and good timing too. I am still considering the offer though.

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 12 2014, 06:54 PM)
yea.. most likely will... it is just a guideline.. single, young fresh out of school... e or s no diff to u... e of course better when u sign for services, no deposite req
Ok. Thank you!
eclipsed
post May 14 2014, 01:06 AM

43 posts

Btw, any comments on some of the salaries posted in this sg forum?

Link: http://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/831-ho...ng-per-annum...

To be taken with a pinch of salt? Or are the 100k/200k p.a. salaries in sg that common?
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 14 2014, 01:08 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 12 2014, 10:17 PM)
If you lose your passport or IC will you be equally as apathetic?

Worst case not too bad, just get jailed and whipped for being illegal immigrant that's all.
jail and whip? doh.gif my friend lost his IC 3 times... i hope they dont whip him..

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ May 13 2014, 12:13 AM)
well... technically u can still do it, but you would piss d hr off a lot.. n u did sign d contract already.. very unethical

QUOTE(Sammyking @ May 13 2014, 12:34 AM)
Hey all need some advice. So I'm currently 3 months into my first job in sg. However, I just found out that another subsidiary company got vacant position in the same job field and position as my current one. I want to go over, meaning it's different company but under same parents. Should I apply for that? What are some of the issues to consider?

Reason for jumping or transferring over because I feel like my position here currently limited growth & lack of proper training. I know it may be the same (or worse) there but just thought of trying my chances. :/
yes u can, if u r still within the probationary period, read the terms in ur ctr... u can apply too, but there's a risk u wont get it.. so make sure u get it first before leaving.. n let me warn u.. ur new pass might get rejected for jumping

QUOTE(kiyomizu @ May 13 2014, 11:40 PM)
hey guys~ selling my beloved Yamaha Clavinova CLP430 Digital Piano...

Condition: Excellent near new
Price: $1, 800 (exclusive of transportation)
Color: Dark Rosewood
Add-on: Yamaha Stereo Headphone RH2C
Warranty: until 15/2/2015

Let me know if you're interested smile.gif

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/musical-ins...430/?mode=model

can nego? location?
kiyomizu
post May 14 2014, 07:52 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 14 2014, 01:08 AM)
can nego? location?
Hey bunny, can, pm me your best offer..
location @ Ghim Moh
TSdeodorant
post May 14 2014, 08:13 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(eclipsed @ May 14 2014, 01:06 AM)
Btw, any comments on some of the salaries posted in this sg forum?
Link: http://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/831-ho...ng-per-annum...
To be taken with a pinch of salt? Or are the 100k/200k p.a. salaries in sg that common?

Glanced briefly through last few pages of that thread. Most of the people posting there are mid30's all the way til mid50's. Why wouldn't 100k/200k pa salaries (especially household salaries) be common at those ages and amongst that particular forum-reading demographic?

Contrast that with this thread where I'd say most of us are young, 20-something fresh grads or with just a few years of work exp, obviously 100k / 200k wouldn't be common for us.
Carl Johnson
post May 14 2014, 08:16 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(eclipsed @ May 11 2014, 08:57 PM)
Just a quick question regarding obtaining an E Pass:

I am Malaysian, recently graduated from a private university (accounting). If I have an offer for SGD3,200, will I be able to qualify for an E Pass?

I understand that the salary requirement for an E Pass has been raised to SGD3,300. Is this strictly enforced? I took a self assessment on Singapore's MoM website and it says I am likely to qualify for both an E Pass and an S Pass. Not sure why this appears to contradict its policies...

In any case, either pass will be sufficient right?
mind to share which company?? mnc or local?? brows.gif

122 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:25 AM