TSdeodorant
post Apr 17 2014, 09:43 PM, updated 11y ago

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

URL for Previous Thread (v15): https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3004792

All below i copy paste from previous thread starter jasonkwk

FAQs

What Item that can bring into Singapore with applicable import permit or authorization from respective authorities of Singapore?

What item is prohibited to bring into Singapore?

Employments:
Job opportunities are always available for those with higher education level & in-demand work experience. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB
5. eFinancialCareers.sg

MOM Pass Category as of 1/7/2013

Work Permit Less Than S$2200
S Pass More Than S$2200 ,less than S$3000
E Pass (Q1) More than S$3000
E Pass (P2) More than S$4500
E Pass (P1) More than S$8000

Q/A:

1. Is there any difference between all these passes above?
YES and NO

YES: You may only apply credit card in Singapore with S pass above for most financial institution in Singapore
YES: If you need to bring in your spouse and unmarried or legally adopted children below 21 year into Singapore with Dependant Pass, you pass must be E Pass (Q1) above and earn more than S$4000
YES: For E Pass, you may use the Autogate in Changi Airport , no need to go through ICA checkpoint.

NO: You can work in Singapore with either of these passes.
The List above will change every half year as per planned by MOM. Please note that your salary will not directly correspond to the pass directly due to quota reason etc.

The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, flip through the recruitment newspaper and apply for your job through the company itself. This way, you're almost guaranteed to be in front of the queue from those who applied through Jobstreet. You can also attend their interviews without any delays while you're here in SG. Do note that you can only stay 30 days at a time, and a total of only 60 days out of every 90.

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

Can I apply to other company if I have an existing approved Employment Pass?

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Sep 25 2014, 11:42 AM)
MOM say reject an approved EP will not affected future application
Applicant need to ask employer to withdraw the application.
If the employer disagree to withdraw the application, write a formal letter to employer for withdraw application, if still failed, bring the letter to MOM seeking for officer help.

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Employers/Gen-Info...ri/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere! Prime and new areas should cost around SGD600 and above per room (with or without utilities). You can still find small & cramped sub-SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD1000 onwards per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/
http://www.sg-house.com/
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

Coach: http://www.journeymalaysia.com/ptasingapore.htm
SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg
Directions: http://gothere.sg/maps or http://maps.google.com.sg/

Malaysians can drive in their Malaysian registered cars/bikes to work in SG but you must pay the S$20 VEP fee for Car and S$4 for motorcycle per day and also toll charges applicable depending on vehicle type and point of arrival/departure (Tuas/Woodlands Checkpoint).ERP charges apply if you are entering city area at certain period. More info here:http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/ro...oll-charge.html

However, any work pass holder, who is not a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

He is the registered owner of the vehicle.
He resides outside Singapore.
He has a valid insurance certificate and road tax to use the vehicle on Singapore roads.
The vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more every day.
The vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/ exit at Woodlands and Tuas Checkpoints and to pay for VEP/ toll charges.

For SG PRs, you must drive Singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/ro...-a-vehicle.html

Further Information about Converting your MY license to SG license:

Officially Malaysian converting to Singapore driving license has to 'surrender' or have their M'sian driving license revoked.

QUOTE(hokin)
Officially there is a law that requires our Malaysian driving licence revoked if anyone would like to convert the licence to a Singapore driving licence. See the extract below from the JPJ Driver’s Education Curriculum handbook (on page 113 – 114). It does add on that one can still get back a Malaysian driving licence and that whilst holding a Singapore driving licence one can still drive a Malaysian registered car in Malaysia and Singapore.

So to say JPJ blacklist your Malaysian driving license is not correct and misguided, they are just doing their job as required by law. However many would like to keep both driving license, hence the 'extortion'.

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

TO CHECK FOR YOUR PR APPLICATION STATUS, KINDLY VISIT THIS LINK
https://ienquiry.ica.gov.sg/index.do

TO CHECK EP APPLICATION STATUS, VISIT THIS LINK
https://eponline.mom.gov.sg/epol/PEPOLENQM0...isplayAction.do
Childcare Cost:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3701070

This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 30 2014, 02:47 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 17 2014, 09:45 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

W.I.S. GROUP - WEEKEND BADMINTON MEET-UPS

REGULAR PLAYERS;

mackiddo, deodorant, elvenchou1987, Argiope, Ferderick

i. We welcome Beginner to Intermediate level, guy or gal.
ii. Please bring your own badminton racquet.
iii. Shuttlecocks will be provided (Yonex Aerosensa 40/50)
iv. S$6-S$8 per session, for court rentals & shuttlecocks
v. First come first serve. Limit to a max of 6 pax per court. Please pm mackiddo or deodorant if you would like to join.

Please be considerate to give others chance to play. Please do NOT stay on the court to continue to play after your game ends when others are waiting.

***********************************************************************************

UPCOMING GAME - 7th Sept 2014

VENUE : Bendeemer Sec School
TIME : 3-5pm

***********************************************************************************

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 31 2014, 10:46 PM
jasonkwk
post Apr 17 2014, 09:51 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

checkin!!!

1st!!
TSdeodorant
post Apr 17 2014, 09:51 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

v15 top 15 spammer:

razo2 156
alaskanbunny 155
deodorant 111
Fiona Chin 102
studyboy 95
Mackiddo 89
JohnJon82 70
tailtwist 56
seantang 54
crazy25kid 52
Tigerr 51
LightningFist 38
ThanatosSwiftfire 37
tengah 35
OrCaGaL 34
Tigerr
post Apr 17 2014, 10:07 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 17 2014, 09:51 PM)
v15 top 15 spammer:

razo2 156
alaskanbunny 155
deodorant 111
Fiona Chin 102
studyboy 95
Mackiddo 89
JohnJon82 70
tailtwist 56
seantang 54
crazy25kid 52
Tigerr 51
LightningFist 38
ThanatosSwiftfire 37
tengah 35
OrCaGaL 34
Wao....top 15...
zuweit
post Apr 17 2014, 10:24 PM

15 posts

so, a company replied to my email and asked for my contact number, but they never call back. would my malaysia number turn them off? how long should i wait? should i let them know that i am willing to travel to sg for an interview?
Fiona Chin
post Apr 17 2014, 11:57 PM

1,172 posts

Will aim to make it in the top 3 for this v16 thread.
Mackiddo
post Apr 18 2014, 08:25 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(zuweit @ Apr 17 2014, 10:24 PM)
so, a company replied to my email and asked for my contact number, but they never call back. would my malaysia number turn them off? how long should i wait? should i let them know that i am willing to travel to sg for an interview?
it's best that you have a SG local number and address if possible.
aLertz
post Apr 18 2014, 08:37 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

check in new thread !! rclxm9.gif

gonna fly there next week ~ so many things still need to pack sweat.gif
Mareg
post Apr 18 2014, 11:54 AM

75 posts

Guys, one of my fren told me that work permit holder can no longer comes to singapore for work once they stopped the job and return back to country. Is that true?
danieltan
post Apr 18 2014, 11:59 AM

Abuthen
750 posts

an IT background.

Wanted ask which website can able find any developer job in Singapore?
zuweit
post Apr 18 2014, 12:54 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 18 2014, 08:25 AM)
it's best that you have a SG local number and address if possible.
i have a friend working there i could provide the company her address but her sg number? they won't be able to reach me since i'm in kl. unsure.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 18 2014, 12:57 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Mareg @ Apr 18 2014, 11:54 AM)
Guys, one of my fren told me that work permit holder can no longer comes to singapore for work once they stopped the job and return back to country. Is that true?
not true. You can come back to work again as long as you can secure a job with a WorkPass.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 18 2014, 04:44 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Apr 17 2014, 08:40 AM)
Hey you not scared she bend you until you get a new back bone,ah?

nothing beats a fury of a women you know. lol  brows.gif
wat do u mean new backbone? hmm.gif got such thing 1 meh?

QUOTE(peterG @ Apr 17 2014, 09:29 AM)
According to the IPA letter from MOM, yes.

My friend told me the same thing also, but he forgot alrdy about the documents required to present during application.  doh.gif

Tried to search online, but found nothing. I leaved my ori cert at KL cry.gif
better bring ori... ask ur parents to DHL la..

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 17 2014, 11:57 PM)
Will aim to make it in the top 3 for this v16 thread.
no spam please... this is serious thread yo!
OrCaGaL
post Apr 18 2014, 09:09 PM

514 posts

wahlau eh im spammer?! lol tongue.gif

ok wanna ask smth serious. i'm fed up of starhub (prepaid) deducting $0.59 from my credit everyday for incoming calls. thinking of switching to singtel but not sure if the free incoming calls IS really FREE for good or just free for a period...... any advice on tis? or should i jz get postpaid? but i hardly call & i have wifi access at home n in office too... hmmmmm
seantang
post Apr 18 2014, 09:45 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Pinoys wanting to celebrate their national day at Ngee Ann City is the current internet anti-foreigner furore in Singapore.

https://www.facebook.com/overpopulatedsg

The anger in the comments against articles calling for calm and tolerance in ST and other online publications, are distressing.

Low-profile a bit about the lobang-lobang to find jobs in Singapore would serve this thread well.
naminakata87
post Apr 19 2014, 07:51 AM

706 posts

any one know today access card office at woodland checkpoint open?
Mackiddo
post Apr 19 2014, 09:54 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Apr 18 2014, 09:09 PM)
wahlau eh im spammer?! lol tongue.gif

ok wanna ask smth serious. i'm fed up of starhub (prepaid) deducting $0.59 from my credit everyday for incoming calls. thinking of switching to singtel but not sure if the free incoming calls IS really FREE for good or just free for a period...... any advice on tis? or should i jz get postpaid? but i hardly call & i have wifi access at home n in office too... hmmmmm
Singtel is incoming call free for now. It'll remain unchanged for the duration of your contract (2 years) if it's been offered when u sign your contract.
zuweit
post Apr 19 2014, 03:00 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(zuweit @ Apr 18 2014, 12:54 PM)
i have a friend working there i could provide the company her address but her sg number? they won't be able to reach me since i'm in kl.  unsure.gif
okay i called them and we'll have an interview via skype or facetime. here comes the part: how much should i aim for teaching chinese to children with a degree from china? fresh grad, no experience cry.gif

edit: also, should i tell them that i'm applying for other companies at the same time? would this help in the nego of wages?

This post has been edited by zuweit: Apr 19 2014, 03:15 PM
alvin8866
post Apr 19 2014, 06:53 PM

428 posts

hi folks, I would like to convert MY driving license to SG driving license. I have passed the BTT exam. From my understanding, I need to get a driving record from JPJ. What I should tell them (eg: license conversion)? Do I need to surrender MY driving license to JPJ? Is it possible to hold 2 licenses at the same time. Thanks smile.gif

122 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0322sec    1.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:31 AM