122 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

crazy25kid
post Nov 11 2014, 11:22 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Nov 11 2014, 10:57 AM)
Hey guys, for the 1st month expenses of working in Singapore, I read in here before that the expenses are around RM10k (that's roughly 4k$?). Sorry but I can't seem to trace it back, and Google mostly gives monthly living expenses only.

From what I know so far -

1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times two for deposit.
2) Transport - 100$
3) Food - 300$
4) Bank account minimum deposit - 1000$
That's 3k$ for now. Can someone please advise on additional items to look out for?

if u really cannot make the minimum sum average, there will be a penalty
depending on the bank, the minimum sum and penalty varies
for example
dbs/posb is sgd2, citibank is sgd10 for penalty
minimum sum is also different for banks....dbs/posb is 500 or 100, citibank is 5000 after 6 months (first 6 months no minimum sum), cimb does not have a minimum sum

crazy25kid
post Nov 11 2014, 11:24 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Nov 11 2014, 11:20 AM)
Thanks!

I think I'll assume only a year contract.

1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times 2.5 for deposit and agent fee.
2) Transport - 100$
3) Food - 300$

That's 3.4k$. So I guess after adding in miscellaneous fees, phone plan and money to spare it's around 4k$/RM10k then.
Follow up question:

Any way around any of these at all?

1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times 2.5 for deposit and agent fee. Stay with someone I know if possible.
2) Transport - 100$ No way around this I think.
3) Food - 300$  Eat less? lol.
4) Bank account minimum deposit - 1000$ Need professional advise on this.
FYI no I don't have a job secured yet. But I'm looking at relocating next year, so will have to manage my RM savings. Just traveled a bit lately so savings kinda low for now.

u can always go for prepaid first
costs u a lot less

seantang
post Nov 11 2014, 01:26 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

If you can negotiate a salary advance, or better yet... get the hiring company to provide temporary accommodation/moving costs or pay you a sign-on bonus - problem solved.

You might want to add moving costs (for yourself and your barang-barang) to your list. And first month expenses are always much higher... as you're running around looking for accommodation, getting your documents, medical check, buying necessities or white goods to set up yourself, open bank account, phone line, get to work early initially to make a good first impression etc... so you might want to budget for some of taxi rides, additional public transport trips or even bottles of water to drink when running around.

$300 for food? That's $10 a day... like you chap fan with no drinks every meal, every day (or one Big Mac meal each day). If you have a thing for coffee or cakes or junk food or have a sweet tooth or a girlfriend... you can safely double this amount.

shoonyee89
post Nov 11 2014, 01:33 PM

41 posts

Hi, anyone here know the recruitment process for Accounting firms (Big 4, mid-tier, etc.) in Singapore?

I have 3 years of experience in Audit in mid-tier firm with Bachelors Degree and pursuing ACCA.

Would they consider me?
AIAF
post Nov 11 2014, 04:02 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 11 2014, 11:22 AM)
if u really cannot make the minimum sum average, there will be a penalty
depending on the bank, the minimum sum and penalty varies
for example
dbs/posb is sgd2, citibank is sgd10 for penalty
minimum sum is also different for banks....dbs/posb is 500 or 100, citibank is 5000 after 6 months (first 6 months no minimum sum), cimb does not have a minimum sum
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 11 2014, 11:24 AM)
u can always go for prepaid first
costs u a lot less
The banks without minimum sums sound like a good alternative, or else I'll just have to brace for penalties for at most 2 or 3 months.

Good alternatives, thanks! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 11 2014, 01:26 PM)
If you can negotiate a salary advance, or better yet... get the hiring company to provide temporary accommodation/moving costs or pay you a sign-on bonus - problem solved.

You might want to add moving costs (for yourself and your barang-barang) to your list. And first month expenses are always much higher... as you're running around looking for accommodation, getting your documents, medical check, buying necessities or white goods to set up yourself, open bank account, phone line, get to work early initially to make a good first impression etc... so you might want to budget for some of taxi rides, additional public transport trips or even bottles of water to drink when running around.

$300 for food? That's $10 a day... like you chap fan with no drinks every meal, every day (or one Big Mac meal each day). If you have a thing for coffee or cakes or junk food or have a sweet tooth or a girlfriend... you can safely double this amount.
Those seem to be the best case scenarios, it'll really my "selling" power. But never hurts to ask.

Exactly! Plus I haven't even factor in the costs for trips down to SG for initial interviews. Though at least I now have a good base to plan on.

I don't mind luxurious treats that's for sure, but I can be really frugal when need be. That budget's only for the first month anyway tongue.gif

Thanks for the input!
crazy25kid
post Nov 11 2014, 04:26 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Nov 11 2014, 04:02 PM)
The banks without minimum sums sound like a good alternative, or else I'll just have to brace for penalties for at most 2 or 3 months.

Good alternatives, thanks!  thumbup.gif

do note there here, banks do not share their atm like back in MY
so some banks, u may have problem withdrawing money.
just to let u know when considering
some companies also requires specific bank for salary...lol
knwong
post Nov 11 2014, 04:27 PM

3,559 posts

FYI no I don't have a job secured yet. But I'm looking at relocating next year, so will have to manage my RM savings. Just traveled a bit lately so savings kinda low for now.
Why bother with the details when you yet to land yourself a job in SG?
AIAF
post Nov 11 2014, 04:34 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 11 2014, 04:27 PM)
I like to plan and at least have an idea of what I'm going to face. Different strokes different folks.

Not like I'll be repeating the question again when I do. Saved everyone's suggestions. Only asked cause I couldn't trace back what I read before.

RM10-20k is no small amount sweat.gif

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 11 2014, 04:26 PM)
do note there here, banks do not share their atm like back in MY
so some banks, u may have problem withdrawing money.
just to let u know when considering
some companies also requires specific bank for salary...lol
Noted on this. nod.gif

This post has been edited by AIAF: Nov 11 2014, 04:48 PM
crazy25kid
post Nov 11 2014, 05:16 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 11 2014, 04:27 PM)

it is better to know what u are getting into so that u can be prepared.
Fiona Chin
post Nov 11 2014, 05:33 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 11 2014, 05:16 PM)
it is better to know what u are getting into so that u can be prepared.
That one expat... he get a job, company charter a personal jet to fly him and stuff here no need worry, 100k sgd cash for relocation allowance to shop around. For us lower class worker, have to factor in cry.gif . Later got job but no money to move in also meaningless.
sheng291
post Nov 11 2014, 05:40 PM

455 posts

Thanks!

1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times 2.5 for deposit and agent fee. you can get cheaper if you stay far a bit, or find those maid room
2) Transport - 100$
3) Food - 300$ You really need to control well, possible if u eat hawker for lunch and dinner, and drink milo+eat biscuit in office morning
4) Bank account minimum deposit - 1000$  I just tried POSB EP account.You don't need any deposit, however it will charge $2 if the money inside is less than 1k, which I believe is a worth trade off.

That's 3.4k$. So I guess after adding in miscellaneous fees, phone plan and money to spare it's around 4k$/RM10k then.
Follow up question:  phone plan take prepaid first for first few months, cost you quite low..take postpaid only if you want to change phone

1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times 2.5 for deposit and agent fee. Stay with someone I know if possible.
Fiona Chin
post Nov 11 2014, 08:52 PM

1,172 posts

Some suggestions. I came here as a student so I did all these to survive on my 3600 per year scholarship allowance. That is 450 per month minus away the 4 months holiday in Malaysia.

1) Could get a free rental by sharing the same bed if you know what I mean blush.gif . Otherwise, survey harder for cheaper rent.

2) Depends on your location, if you find your accommodation within walking distance from your office then . Most area are self-sufficient within walking distance now. You can survive by walking to the surrounding shops for all your daily needs.

3) The key thing is to cook it yourself. Pack a personal rice cooker from home. 150-200 bucks can last you 1 month, I still use my personal cooker for lunch and dinner if my hubby go overseas visiting small 3. Fresh meat, fresh vegetable and occasionally small fish, steam it together with the rice. Stock up dry food if your landlord don't allow cooking hence no fridge for meat and vegetable, and cook your meal inside your room with the small cooker. Bread with butter and some ham, home made coffee for breakfast. Adjust accordingly with your budget, I knew people doing 100 per month for food but they cook in bulk among friends and share the cost.

4) Open your account in the beginning, withdraw all off it the next minute and use it to pay for your food/deposit/rent. Pay 2 dollar for admin fee is ok la. Bank people work very hard to maintain your account one leh.
IwanAGP
post Nov 11 2014, 09:58 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Thanks!

1) Rent - 600$ - 800$ (looking at single room if possible) Times 2.5 for deposit and agent fee.
2) Transport - 100$
3) Food - 300$

Follow up question:

1) Depends on area can get 500~550. Want aircond or anything extra or those higher class area then 800~1000.
2) $100 is about there. Take one day $3~$4 for Public transport then ok. If you don't go out everyday (like weekends?), then it will be lower. Taxi... Travel to and fro work company normally won't let you claim. Travel to/fro any place for company stuff then should be claimable. Most important one is if you work till over midnight, whether company let you claim or not. SG midnight charge for taxi is 50% of meter fare. That's really a lot doh.gif
3) $300 more than enough for me la. But I don't go expensive restaurants all the time la. Hawker centre/food court most of the time, in orchard area also can easily <$10 per day. Still... Provided you don't go inside those nicely decor-ed restaurants la. Those easily blow your $10/day budget biggrin.gif
4) Minimum deposit applies for you because you haven't secure a job. For others that already secure a job and get EP approval (+ applied for EP card at MOM) prior to coming to SG for opening bank account or so, no deposit is required. Just bring Malaysia IC and EP card will do. Passport just bring in case it's needed.

My advice is better secure a job first. Spend hundreds to stay here or in JB and travel to SG while looking for jobs/attending interview will be a wiser choice then coming straight over if you don't have decent amount of savings to back you up.

For phone plan, just grab Singtel prepaid. Buy at any 7-11, just like $15 or something. Top it up any amount you like. But the bad thing is it charges for incoming call. If you expect huge usage in the next 30 days, reload Super $128 that costs just $28 for $100 worth of local calls/sms and $28 worth of IDD/International SMS. For data plan, $7 for 1GB over 7 days. End of the 7th day, if you still have plenty in that 1GB, just purchase the $1 for 10MB over 7 days plan before the expiry date of that 1GB. It will add up and the expiry date will be extended.

I have internet connection in my room so at the moment I'm still using Prepaid.

Singapore Postpaid plans really have many many many extra charges. You pay for global roaming, pay for IDD (like v019 for Singtel), pay for Caller ID (showing number when ppl call you) etc etc. Yes, you can get the phone real cheap but too many extra charges so I decided to keep going with Prepaid. No need to be bonded for 2 years also.

I actually brought just $2.6k over here and that lasted me from end of August till end of October. Not enough to pay my rent for November though.

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 11 2014, 01:26 PM)
Chap fan with drink also can below $10 a day la... Just see whether you want to dine in those food court only mah biggrin.gif Even in Orchard area I also think is possible. Just that everyday have to just choose between like 4~5 food courts. Other places too expensive biggrin.gif

$10 also can one day two $5 McD meals biggrin.gif

Everyday McChicken/McChicken with Cheese/Double Cheese Burger/Fillet-o-fish or other bigger burgers ala carte biggrin.gif
seantang
post Nov 11 2014, 11:07 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 11 2014, 09:58 PM)
Chap fan with drink also can below $10 a day la... Just see whether you want to dine in those food court only mah biggrin.gif Even in Orchard area I also think is possible. Just that everyday have to just choose between like 4~5 food courts. Other places too expensive biggrin.gif

Everyday McChicken/McChicken with Cheese/Double Cheese Burger/Fillet-o-fish or other bigger burgers ala carte biggrin.gif
Anyway, if coming to Singapore to work entails such a pitiful existence, even if it is only for a couple of months... that's a pretty sad existence, I reckon. Might be better to stay back a bit longer to save up or get a short term loan from FM Bank.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 11 2014, 11:44 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 11 2014, 11:07 PM)
Anyway, if coming to Singapore to work entails such a pitiful existence, even if it is only for a couple of months... that's a pretty sad existence, I reckon. Might be better to stay back a bit longer to save up or get a short term loan from FM Bank.
My prediction is $300 for the first month nia. 2nd-3rd month onwards you'll be spending about S$25-30 per day on food, meaning close to about$750 on food.

One can only eat food court that many times... before one starts craving for fast foods (about $7-10) or some of the "entry" level restaurants at $10-$15.. then it'll become a norm, and before you know it, you're blowing $30 at a ramen/korean restaurant in tanjung pagar...
sheng291
post Nov 12 2014, 08:00 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 11 2014, 11:44 PM)
My prediction is $300 for the first month nia. 2nd-3rd month onwards you'll be spending about S$25-30 per day on food, meaning close to about$750 on food.

One can only eat food court that many times... before one starts craving for fast foods (about $7-10) or some of the "entry" level restaurants at $10-$15.. then it'll become a norm, and before you know it, you're blowing $30 at a ramen/korean restaurant in tanjung pagar...
eat is something very subjective to people..i see some people cook themselves and can control the budget well.
while some people 1 day no eat atas place restaurant will die.. shakehead.gif

most of the time it is depend on one's desire..while sometime depend on your colleagues as well..if they everyday lunch eat atas place..either join them, or leave them sad.gif

meonkutu11
post Nov 12 2014, 10:45 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 8 2014, 11:42 PM)
Yo guru, how are you?

Yes can be offshore and land too. But I be in a totally different work from what I currently do.

Well as for trips, not much as for now since I be doing a lot of paperwork for my new EP.
I plan to take PR with my new company as I can see a long term relationship with some training provided too when i start.
Might be going to Australia to work.
I be doing instrumentation & programming now on. A pro guru like you will know instantly, is one of the 5 DCS guys.  brows.gif
Same old shit different day...
I'm not guru la bro, just promoted to 'head roustabout'..and finally move into permanent house in Opera Estate area.

And I'm not very familiar with I&P, only know a few that involve on drilling rigs...

Anyway, good luck for you..
Fiona Chin
post Nov 12 2014, 03:37 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 11 2014, 09:58 PM)

Hehe its ok. You have to start somewhere right. Not everyone is so lucky to start with 3 restaurant food per day. Dining in atas place don't guarantee gutter-oil-free food too. Just take care your health eating those fast food if you don't want to sponsor the doctor's mercs when you are old. Get some fruits or something.
datdude
post Nov 12 2014, 04:13 PM

Hello guys,
I got offered (confirmed) job in Singapore with start date January 2015 and I'm in doubt whether to proceed or not. For I have no idea what it would be like there.

The offer sound like this:
Basic : $3500 + $150 phone allowance + 3% - 7% commission based on target, reimbursement transportation & other claimable misc
Work hours is 9am to 6.30pm Monday to Friday & 10am to 1.30pm Saturday
Company: SPH

My concern is: $3500 monthly, is it enough to survive?

I've read this thread partly and found that a decent single room is already costing $800 - thats already 20% of my salary
I can't imagine what else is there to consider.
And the work hours is kinda bit too much. I don't know, what do you guys think?

My current package here in Malaysia:
More or less RM 5000 take home monthly, not much but considering I am home that's enough for me.
Monthly my expenses are rather same thus I would have left around RM 1500 till my next salary drawing every month.

So I still am doubting, whether I should take the offer or not. Your advise? notworthy.gif

crazy25kid
post Nov 12 2014, 05:07 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(datdude @ Nov 12 2014, 04:13 PM)
Hello guys,
I got offered (confirmed) job in Singapore with start date January 2015 and I'm in doubt whether to proceed or not. For I have no idea what it would be like there.

The offer sound like this:
Basic : $3500 + $150 phone allowance + 3% - 7% commission based on target, reimbursement transportation & other claimable misc
Work hours is 9am to 6.30pm Monday to Friday & 10am to 1.30pm Saturday
Company: SPH

My concern is: $3500 monthly, is it enough to survive?

I've read this thread partly and found that a decent single room is already costing $800 - thats already 20% of my salary
I can't imagine what else is there to consider.
And the work hours is kinda bit too much. I don't know, what do you guys think?

My current package here in Malaysia:
More or less RM 5000 take home monthly, not much but considering I am home that's enough for me.
Monthly my expenses are rather same thus I would have left around RM 1500 till my next salary drawing every month.

So I still am doubting, whether I should take the offer or not. Your advise?  notworthy.gif

SPH i suppose should be quite established
but the working hours sure is a tad long sweat.gif sweat.gif
room rental would probably be around toa payoh i suppose
it is quite a nice neighborhood, probably u can find a room below 800.
to take the offer or not depends on whether u would like the job or not
3.5k is definitely enuf to pass by okay

122 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:05 PM