9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 10:30 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Hi guys, I'm new here. Now I got an offer in SG for ----- SGD. Fresh grad, entry level.

Hope to know if -----is sufficient for me to pay for all the basic needs in SG (rental, food, transport etc). Compared to earning RM3k in M'sia, which should I choose? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif Have to confirm in the next few days.

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Aug 12 2014, 06:31 PM
IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 11:06 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 11 2014, 10:47 AM)
O no wonder, now hard to get approval from gahmen to buy landed for PR. Hidup tree pipu rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Tree pipu here too whistling.gif

Long live tree pipu.

QUOTE(danieltan @ Jul 11 2014, 10:55 AM)
my friend some are fresh only get 2k sgd without a problem
Thanks for the reply.

Anyone can recommend the best way to find a room in SG?

But before that I need go through the work permit thing.

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Aug 12 2014, 06:32 PM
IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 02:08 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 01:54 PM)
1. Go to PropertyGuru Singapore and do a quick search
2. Go to NTUC/Cold Storage/Bus stops near to the location of your choice and look at the notice boards
3. Engage an agent

Please be mindful who you rent with. I have rented my family units out to various nationalities. All I can say is, if possible, try to rent together with Malaysian or Caucasians. These 2 are the least problematic nationalities. Higher chances for them to be students or working professionals who do not mess up or damage your place. Also, less complaints from neighbors about noise. Once again, this is purely from my experience.

All the best in your red-dot journey.
Will probably wait till I get the work permit first.

There's possibility that I won't get my work permit right?

Another thing I want to ask. Now the company ask me to provide bank account info. I've tried to google. is there any possibility to use Maybank MY account over there? Or I must apply for another Maybank SG account?

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif Now really a little confused on what I have to do next.
IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 03:16 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 02:55 PM)
Yes. it is not 100% you'll get WP. Did you receive your in-principal approval yet?

Unfortunately Maybank MY and Maybank SG are 2 different entities and each operates in different currencies. Dividend cheques (in RM) that I received from BSKL cannot be cashed into Maybank SG account. Hence, you only option here is to open a SG bank account. You can opt back for Maybank SG or try local banks - POSB/DBS, UOB or OCBC. Just be warned that POSB/DBS is always very long queue but their atms are everywhere. Don't bother with HSBC or SCB. It's freaking hard to find their atms and usually only found in shopping centers.
I just received a call this morning and the email having all the details. Now need to fill up some forms and courier to the company. I think that means I haven't receive the in-principle approval (IPA) yet.

For a first timer, what do I have to do? Work Permit application should be submitted by employer instead of employee right?

How about Maybank SG? Coz if I find a bank that's available in M'sia, it will be easier to transfer money back here right? One problem with SG bank accounts is that the minimum deposit is 500SGD. Quite a lot for me to fork out that much doh.gif

IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 03:50 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 03:26 PM)
As far as I'm aware, employer should settle your WP. My employer settled everything for me. Same goes for my maid WP renewal, I have to settle her WP application.

I'm not sure if you can transfer money between Maybank MY and Maybank SG. Alternatively, you can always use DBS facility which allows you to transfer fund to an overseas Visa card. Else, the most common form would be to use Western Union.
Ya... That's what I read from MOM website too.

Aiks... Why they're not interlinked. Susah betul like this.

Any local bank has branches in SG and is interlinked?

Maybe I will just do what I can do now. Let the company guide me through doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 04:18 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 04:06 PM)
Not that I'm aware. Do what my friend did. When he quit his job in SG and move back MY, he withdrew and brought back his stack of money across causeway. Asalkan jangan kena tangkap!
I thought less than 10k USD then you can just bring cash? *Not sure from which site I read this*

Hmm...

From 1 November 2007, any person who moves into or out of Singapore cash exceeding SGD 30,000 (the prescribed amount) or its equivalent in a foreign currency, is required to give a report in respect of its movements. Any person who receives cash exceeding the prescribed amount from outside Singapore is also required to give a report within five business days upon receipt.

So how much cash your friend brought? haha...

IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 04:31 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 04:29 PM)
Per guideline "A traveller who enters or leaves Singapore is required to give a report if he carries with him an amount exceeding Singapore dollars 30,000 (or its equivalent in a foreign currency)."

Back then, he brought with him an amount equivalent to RM200K ~ S$77K. Went back S'wak and down payment a detached house.  rclxms.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif 77k SGD. Which money changer can change so much at once?

And... How long time it takes to save so much money drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 05:24 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 04:50 PM)
If i'm not wrong, Sabah/Sarawak residents are allowed to withdraw the entirety of CPF if you decide to leave Singapore. So, you can easily accumulate such amount as long as you don't splurge.

You don't need to change all at once. Can always slowly change and keep under your pillow!
It depends. My cousin just got a job in Singapore but have to take up any job though...even though it doesn't pay well. end of the day, it's all luck and perseverance. You're ultimately competing with other nationalities.
CPF only for PR right? If I work there on S Pass just pay tax right? But that's one of my concerns too. If work there nothing like EPF. Later old d need survive on own money biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 06:12 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 05:51 PM)
CPF only for SPR and locals. If i'm not wrong, government retains 15% of your monthly pay and will return any leftover after tax deduction.

I strongly do not recommend that you stay on as WP/S Pass throughout your entire career in SG. At least try to apply for PR after 6 months.  With PR, you have the flexibility to join any SG companies and won't be at the mercy of the employer who applied for your WP or S Pass.
Any pros and cons of being PR in SG? Anything I have to give up in M'sia?
IwanAGP
post Jul 11 2014, 06:42 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 11 2014, 06:36 PM)
Only con I can think of is that you can't drive your Malaysia registered car into Singapore anymore.
I'm from Sarawak and I don't have a car in Peninsular.

Then? After take PR do I need to give up Malaysia driving license? or under what condition I have to give up Malaysia license?
IwanAGP
post Jul 12 2014, 12:05 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Anyone can advise me on the starting pay for engineering fresh grad in Singapore? My sister's friend told her last time her starting pay also 2.7k d. So... is 2.4k a bit too low?
IwanAGP
post Jul 12 2014, 04:23 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 12 2014, 01:46 PM)
Usually (Mec/ Software) engineer (fresh) grad paid well in spore. $2.7k - $3k probably.
How about electrical?

Now hesitating whether to accept. But now SG jobs hard to find doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 12 2014, 09:13 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 12 2014, 07:37 PM)
E&E engineer..., I know a local NTU fresh grad managed to get $3k (but not sure if it is the exceptional case). Generally, I think if u can get between $2.5k to $3k consider quite good already for fresh graduate.

What is the firm size and how much they offer you? Is the firm well-known in the industry? Depends your goal. I would say after August it would be even harder to get SG offer... if you accept it, very likely you will get EP (2 years), and I dont suggest you to change firm/job during the EP period ... ...
2.4k although I think I heard 2.5k when from another call earlier before the interview.

I thought EP need at least 3k now?

Can tell why after August harder to get SG offer?
IwanAGP
post Jul 12 2014, 11:21 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 12 2014, 11:06 PM)
2.4k to an engineer is rather low, but as fresh grad; bargaining power is lower unless your have special abilities or prior working experience.

EP wise I cant comment much cos I dont know how the MoM assess. I believe there are also forumers here with <3k salary get EP.

Erm, just make it short as per spore latest budget. The new hire policy is to give priority to Singaporean first, and additional criteria need to be fulfilled before to offer to foreigners.
Yeah... 2.4k seems low but hard to bargain also. Max should be around 2.8k right? $400 difference.

Now when I look at jobs posted on famous sites, most of them ask for Singaporen/SPR only.

Maybe I can ask about it first before confirming my acceptance. Ty for your advice smile.gif

Btw, I find that it's quite hard to find job through those sites without going through head hunter.

Also... Many ppl say M'sian go there kena bully one. How true is that? doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 13 2014, 01:40 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 12 2014, 11:53 PM)
June is the graduation period for sg uni. Unless u r much better than them, ur chance are slimmer compare with other period. Local engineers getting above 3 I heard, fresh from uni, construction.
Oh... But as fresh, they're offering just assistant engineer post. Next level only proceed to engineer. Maybe that makes the difference?

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jul 13 2014, 09:42 AM)
2.4k is a bit low. I believe u can get at least 2.7k even being a fresh graduate. Few company like Sembcorp, Keppel can offer this kind of salary (non first class). Not to mention Shell, exxon, Chevron etc. In fact most company in JI  can match EP salary.
I don't know which jalan can find higher salary one now. On jobstreet/jobscentral one some stated singaporean only.

Let's see if I can get 2.5. Try ask ask see how.

After 1 year or 2 years experience in the company probably get better pay or better chance in other places.
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2014, 12:28 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Jul 14 2014, 12:26 PM)
I got EP and my salary <3k. I also dunno why.
Nowadays so hard to apply PR.  cry.gif 

I went to JobFair yesterday at Marina. Most of the employers only interested on Singaporean and PR only especially financial and property industry. Eat sand liao sweat.gif
I used the MOM tool to see which pass I can get. It says S Pass or EP also. Not sure why although they said 3k+ for EP.
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2014, 02:47 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 14 2014, 02:07 PM)
So you've made up your mind? Ok. mostly EP..
Not yet. Trying to make things clear first.

But I really do look forward to work in SG la. Coz if in KL, industrial area mostly need car. Then car loan + food + accommodation + petrol + repay PTPTN etc... Possibly RM150 or RM200 left considering the salary I get in hand is around RM2500 after deducting EPF etc.

Family a little worried to let me go SG biggrin.gif Scare me kena makan buaya over there laugh.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2014, 03:30 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 14 2014, 03:13 PM)
We tree pipu eat buaya alive, don't worry. Since your home at Srk might as well work in SG instead of KL. Nearer too flying home.
biggrin.gif I never try before yet. Kuching or Miri got place sell right IINM.

Actually not really nearer to fly home unless my family relocate to Kuching then easy to fly home else KL still easier as there's direct flight to/fro every big cities/towns in S'wak.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Very much interested and impressed with the reply from the company. May be there soon.

*Trying to drag commencement of work as late as possible. Slack at home = king laugh.gif laugh.gif *
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2014, 05:14 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 14 2014, 04:39 PM)
Haha... pardon my English but doesn't make cow-sense to work elsewhere in Malaysia if you can work in Singapore.  thumbup.gif Moreover, your marketability improves when you have worked in Singapore.  brows.gif

Not to mention the average 2.55X exchange rate you're enjoying.
biggrin.gif I prefer buaya-sense.

If I secure a job in this state of tree pipu then I possibly will take into consideration. But too bad no reply at all cry.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2014, 05:40 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2014, 05:28 PM)
Where got tax, forced savings lah. Buy property can use OA to downpayment and pay housing loan. After 55 give up PR get back all the money, gtfo buy a treehouse back in treepipu land and hunt babi hutan using sumpit.

In the meantime, no PR can't buy HDB, need to buy $1mil+++ condo and pay 18% stamp duty. If u elite enough like Fiona Chin and gnc88 then OK lor, the rest of us either apply PR to buy HDB or rent for 30 years.
Before 55 cannot take all out? Just wondering.

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 14 2014, 05:29 PM)
LOL - buaya-sense sounds like very chi-ko-pek (miang). Anyway, who knows, when you in SG, you met your other half and decide to stay here like me. Sometimes, life throws you a curve ball.
biggrin.gif True... Who knows? Only time will tell.

So far none from my batch and my course working in SG. Mostly KL or Penang. Should I make the wrong decision? biggrin.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:56 PM