5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

sheng291
post Aug 27 2014, 11:47 PM

455 posts

Just asking, I am a fresh grad mechanical engineer looking for job in SG. I started to apply since late July and there were few replies. After August (aka new policy out) , I have yet receive any replies. I wonder if the policy really affect that much, or is just my personal problem?

Btw, I am a 2nd upper holder from MMU, with good records in cocu
sheng291
post Aug 28 2014, 12:35 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Aug 28 2014, 12:33 AM)
There are hundreds of new released NUS/NTU ME grads running around, plus thousands of overseas ME grads applying. Keep trying.
Yea, I do aware that NUS/NTU just released their grad...too bad I clashed with them.haha...Thanks
sheng291
post Aug 28 2014, 06:54 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(jiajia89 @ Aug 28 2014, 11:24 AM)
anyone got PR approved recently?
I hv been waiting for 4 mths...
My bro just got it, be patient =)
sheng291
post Aug 29 2014, 12:54 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Aug 29 2014, 12:21 PM)
You must understand your industry well and see whether the industry is doing well or not, especially in Singapore.
If the industry is doing well in Msia than in Singapore I don't see the reason to pursue it in Singapore and losing the local industry knowledge and people, while taking the risk of being stuck in an industry that is sunsetting in a country.
As opposed to Msia, SIngapore employers are spoilt for with choices (i.e. your fellow job applicants from China, India, Phillipines, Indon, etc).
Because of this you have to tick at least 99% of their requirement, no transferable skills bullshit. More choices means cheaper options as well.
In Msia, you may get an interview even you only tick 50% of the requirements, due to lesser choices.
Thanks for the heads up.
The main reason I trying to get singapore other than the conversion rate is becuz I stay in JB.
There are not much opportunity in JB, if I wanna find similar opportunity I might have to go KL.
Considering the similar expenses (room might be more x, but I need car+tol+petrol in KL), yet I can save more in spore (assuming both side save 1k, 1k SGD is much higher than 1k RM), and also nearer to my hometown and I can pay a visit to my parents whenever I free.

Industry wise, I open for all opportunity except manufacturing. I am trying to see if I have the opportunity to get into Oil and gas.
What you said is indeed true, I have got called for quite some number of interview in Msia, yet only 1 in s'pore so far.
However I believe the situation will be better after I obtained PR. My bro was quite suffering with low pay before he got the PR, but after he got it now he is heading to stat board with good pay.
sheng291
post Aug 29 2014, 02:26 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Aug 29 2014, 02:21 PM)
Agree if you're in JB SG makes more sense. Can't help you much. If you must insist, just try a couple more months. Still fail, better settle for KL than nothing. You must be clear not to settle for half the salary you can get in RM with the hope the future growth is better, unless other than monetary reasons, you have other objectives. SG now is different from your bro days. Harder to get WP/SP/EP/PR/SC and drop in housing prices is an indication.
Yea, again I though that I should at least go to S'pore and try myself to see if I suit there. If I don't I can always come back to Msia and I believe the experience there does counts. If I can suit there then I'll just continue.
I got a call today, let's see how. I got some back up offer in JB, if things doesn't goes well I might settle down in JB first, at least can stay in home.

The biggest concern for me now is career development. If the job got potential to bring me higher, I don't mind to lay low first, but of course I will expect reasonable pay as well. For example I got offer package around 3k in JB, and 2.5-2.8k in S'pore. I think it is still quite reasonable..

Er..he is got his PR last month after 3 yrs working in S'pore...but again he is talented, guess I'll have to work harder to get what I want.

Thanks for the advice, appreciate it notworthy.gif
sheng291
post Aug 29 2014, 05:34 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 29 2014, 04:46 PM)
Haven't even step foot in SG already dreaming about PR? hmm.gif Keep applying lo. Certain fields like finance is close to impossible to get in now for fresh grad due to all the backlash against FT. Not too sure about eng companies. Set yourself a target date, if by certain months no luck then apply KL or JB to at least get some income and work experience in the meantime lo.
haha, sorry to be seems to be too ambitious. but I am trying to plan a little bit ahead first.
I know finance is the golden palace to go, but as you mentioned it is not for FT.haha
yea, that's what I am doing, gotta give myself maximum 1-2 weeks.
Thanks yea rclxms.gif
sheng291
post Aug 29 2014, 06:44 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 29 2014, 06:38 PM)
1-2 weeks for a company to contact you, interview, wait for the result etc?

I took ~2 months from the date I apply to the date I get offered by my company biggrin.gif But I wasn't on the rush at that time. Took the opportunity to stay home and help my family to eat some rice. Went to two interviews in that period. One got turned down while the other one... M'sia GLC, told me need at least 2 months to just know the result. Another month on top to start work doh.gif

Going to start working next week. Luckily they pushed my EP application in before August biggrin.gif
er..at least get contacted for interview..I have started to apply since mid of july..so I almost eat home rice for 2 months ad..guess that's not something good XD
I am not really rush, but still I gotta give myself a deadline.haha

congratz for that! drool.gif
sheng291
post Aug 29 2014, 08:31 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 29 2014, 08:05 PM)
No need congratz... You're lucky that you're from JB. I came here alone from S'wak not sure whether I will regret or not doh.gif

Time will tell. If really no like, one year later I'll disappear from SG d biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
There are pros n cons in JB la..good thing is yes, near to SG so more convenient to get job there..the cons is..Spore is my only choice..working in JB is kinda tough to sustain in JB nowadays..

okok, good luck. At least give urself a chance to try. Never try never know..haha
sheng291
post Sep 4 2014, 09:01 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Sep 4 2014, 08:35 AM)
Agreed, it's a cruel place for retirement, or people who do not have stamina and right skill.
haha, taking engineering as example, I do realized that engineering is not so great in S'pore compare to in Msia.
For example I went interview today which offered me for 2.3k without OT (degree holder)
It is damn low consider the work load (sometime work 12 hours/midnight)
But again if you save well the SGD convert to MYR still looks nice.

I am currently considering if I should take low pay job in SG and get PR asap, or should I work in Msia for 2 years first so easier to get employed and better pay?
sheng291
post Sep 4 2014, 11:23 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 4 2014, 10:55 PM)
Shouldn't compare chinaman in Sg to mnc in Msia. I don't thk engineering in sg paying lesser.

Also lower pay might be harder to get pr. My batch graduated from Msia uni, starting base pay around $3-4k, took average two years to get the approval.

Anyway, good luck in job hunting!
Haha, but it is very hard to enter MNC without PR or experiences.
woo, so high? 1st class from UM?

Thanks!
sheng291
post Sep 4 2014, 11:40 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Sep 4 2014, 11:34 PM)
What position they offer? Construction?
crane rental company, related to construction oso lo.

btw I wanna ask, I feel quite curious with it.
I wonder why S'pore company don't prefer foreigner in higher pay position (>2.8k)
Last time I though was due to pass quota, but I realized that E Pass has no quota.
Then I though about levy, but E Pass holder no nid to pay levy, in fact they no nid to pay for CPF also.
They can pay us with lower salary compare to S'porean and yet getting similar output. So what's the reason?
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 12:32 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Sep 4 2014, 11:56 PM)
Job scope? Doing engineer's work or technician work? That pay is fresh engineer's pay maybe 7-8 years ago.

You answered your question. Why need to pay more if there are people willing to take the same job with lower salary.
Drawing and some site supervision work, but the qualification required is only diploma.

Well, in that case, I should be getting quite a lot of opportunity with low pay offer. However so far I only received 2 calls after 2 months of sending cv..haiz..

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 5 2014, 12:20 AM)
From my experience, MNCs have no preference over Sgrean or foreigner. But there is difference in pay for different academic background. For engineering, Sg local uni i.e. NTU/NUS grad usually paid $200-300 higher than Msia uni regardless of nationality.

Under the recent policy, any EP job has to be opened for Sgrean first! But the fact for engineering, there is not many Sgrean interested to work in this industry. So eventually will go back to open job market. That policy makes the hiring process longer.

So, YES, foreigner is harder to get job due to the gov policy but not company preference. And NO, that you are not getting lower pay for similar competency.
I have no problem when they pay more to them, as NTU/NUS after all better university, but still you'll see people post job with Singaporean/PR only despite the job pay up to 3.5k,aka no problem to apply E Pass

Yea, I do aware of that, but as you mentioned they are not interested and things will come back to us, only prolong the process. However after 1 month the policies launched, the market now should be quite ok.

Other than the 2 weeks things, any other policy against recruitment on foreigner with potential to get E Pass?
but the truth is I am getting 2 offers from S'pore, both call at 2.3k. I noe I am not that great, but at least not that bad ma..
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 09:45 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 5 2014, 01:41 AM)
Job ads on public sites not necessary opened for foreigner, they could be still under Fair Consideration Framework. Of course there might be other reason e.g. company receiving training grant which only available for citizen/pr. But you should be able to look for jobs that do not specify nationality. I just browsed through jobstreet and there are tons though many of them do not include salary guideline.
I applied quite some as well, but I wonder if they feel troublesome to apply EP, or maybe I am really not that good gua... wink.gif
I've been applying for around 2months ad, maybe should find a job in msia and accumulate 1-2 years experiences 1st.
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 12:04 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Sep 5 2014, 11:59 AM)
So, you reckon they should also consider foreigners who are qualified for EP since they are paying so much already?
You know the quota computation for foreign workers (WP, SPass)?
Well, considering they no nid to pay CPF for them and generally foreigner willing to work longer/harder than local, I see no reason why they insist on picking local only.

I did read some on mom website, and I realized there is no quota for EP.Sp and Wp wise I understand and I shall have no comment. However since there is no quota on EP, no levy paid, no nid contribtue CPF somemore., what is the reason they rather than local than foreigner? Really becuz of quality? I am just wondering..thanks!
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 12:16 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Sep 5 2014, 12:07 PM)
I just gave you the answer in my previous post.
Of course there's no quota for EP, but there's quota for SPass and WP.. so quota comes from where?
ar..so the reason is becuz even though Epass has no quota, but getting less singaporean/PR means less spass wpass quota for them?hmm..got it
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 12:20 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 5 2014, 12:16 PM)
You applying a diploma job can't be expecting a degree pay. You need to understand why there is WP, S Pass and EP in the first place and why they raise the EP requirements recently. All these is to ensure the local interest are kept, not make you, a foreigner, getting a job that easy by low balling the locals. The Fair Consideration Framework protecting the mid range. Top range still open for grabs. Wait few more years later another policy come out to protect job above 12k  cry.gif . Anyway, the conventional engineers' starting pay always pathetic. Saw some applications in fiance office much lower than your 2.4k  shocking.gif , 2 years exp, from university of don't know where. You have to start some where.
Yea, I do understand that. However currently most of the degree job I applied got no reply.

I am currently in dilemma, should I simply accept any job in S'pore, get an PR then only find good job? With this I can get job easier, but I afraid my low starting pay at 1st job will be a benchmark , and might not be so easy to get PR with low pay as well.
I considering another option, whereby work 1-2 yrs in Msia 1st, got some experience and it is easier to get a job and get EP too. However not sure if EP and PR policy will changed later on..hmm..
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 12:56 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 5 2014, 12:46 PM)
Transferring exp from Msia to Sg may not be as straight forward especially for common engineering jobs. A lot people took "pay cut" as for example RM5000 to $3500. This example happens frequently to engineer in mid exp. Some people might think the pay increases looking at the currency but that actually means downgrading from senior to junior pay. This will not happen if you are in critical/unique skill set position such r&d but for most of the time employers will discount the experience from Msia partly due to higher competitive environment in Sg.
hmm..that's 1 problem I realized as an engineer. Most of the time we don't have special skills, only experiences can talks.
It is very hard to be unique in engineering field.
Hmm..I do see that pay cut is unavoidable ,but will it be better if I take a lower salary in SG and work from there?
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 01:30 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 5 2014, 01:27 PM)
PR is really hard to get this days. Good luck if you're planning to get one.. smile.gif
Thanks for letting know. I know it won't be easy.but still gonna try lo.haha

btw any1 know what's the criteria, or what their gov emphasize on? salary? job scope? years in spore? etc?
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 01:41 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 5 2014, 01:39 PM)
There are no officially published PR approval criteria. Anecdotally, Malaysians, SG Uni graduates, high tax payers have a better chance but nobody can tell you for sure what the emphasis is.
QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 5 2014, 01:40 PM)
That, I have no idea.. smile.gif
Even my friend who got rejected for PR a couple months ago have no idea either. He waited for 3 months for the result and there's no explanation given why he got rejected. I just know it's not about the salary coz  he got above average salary for EP.

Only the SG government knows.. tongue.gif
okok, my bro who worked in sg for 3 yrs just got his PR, I guess the work field is the crucial part..
Thanks for the heads up rclxms.gif
sheng291
post Sep 5 2014, 03:09 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Sep 5 2014, 02:50 PM)
It work both ways, I am offered lower salary say 2 SGD to 1 RM seeking a job at home. BEM say engineers' experience in Malaysia only recognised after registering as graduate engineer.
So you took the offer and worked in SG now?
Yea I aware, but that's only for PE registration right? for job application people don't really care about that.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0413sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:58 PM