Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

cappuccino vs latte
post Jun 30 2014, 11:25 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 30 2014, 11:04 PM)
Only premier customers (minimum Total Relationship Balance (“TRB”) of RM200,000) entitle for this promotion.

Minimum placement of RM100,000 with an equivalent amount or more in selected wealth products.

This post has been edited by cappuccino vs latte: Jun 30 2014, 11:29 PM
cappuccino vs latte
post Jun 30 2014, 11:35 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(topearn @ Jun 30 2014, 09:02 PM)
Received sms from HSBC abt thier FD promotion - 3.7% for 12 mths and 4% for 36 mths.
If FD rates goes up substantially that will affect the property market badly cos less people can afford to borrow housing loans.
HSBC BBintang accept cheque placement (placement date same as cheque clearance date) while Jln Ampang don't accept cheque at all. The HQ staff very lansi. mad.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 11:59 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jun 30 2014, 11:35 PM)
HSBC BBintang accept cheque placement (placement date same as cheque clearance date) while Jln Ampang don't accept cheque at all. The HQ staff very lansi. mad.gif
Don't accept cheque placement then can only place by cash and cashier order?

So far have not encounter any bank that does not do cheque placement for me.
munkeyflo
post Jul 1 2014, 12:00 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2014, 08:09 PM)
No lah, you know how to make money.  rclxms.gif  So have lots of money to count................  tongue.gif
So far I do not have any FD and CASA tie up deal. Dislike this type of tie up. Have to count effective rate.  Than have to plan for those CASA money some months later. I prefer straight FD.  tongue.gif
Yea. Good. No point waste time and brain cells calculating and maintaining all those CASA money. laugh.gif
cappuccino vs latte
post Jul 1 2014, 12:46 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 30 2014, 11:59 PM)
Don't accept cheque placement then can only place by cash and cashier order?

So far have not encounter any bank that does not do cheque placement for me.
He claims the placement can only be done through CASA account mega_shok.gif

which mean the cheque must be cleared first in the account before can participate in the campaign.

I waited almost 1 hour and no placement made.

The HQ CS personnel at counter no. 20 very picky and cocky.

unbelievable even foreign FI also having this kind of inconsistent service level.
FDInvestor
post Jul 1 2014, 09:29 AM

104 posts

Anyone know how to deal with banker check in foreign currency ? Can i deposit it directly with the check deposit machine ? Kindly advise. TQ
bbgoat
post Jul 1 2014, 10:29 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(FDInvestor @ Jul 1 2014, 09:29 AM)
Anyone know how to deal with banker check in foreign currency ? Can i deposit it directly with the  check deposit machine ? Kindly advise. TQ
You should have asked in a separate forum. This one we are dealing with FD only.

Anyway the answer is yes from my experience with Citibank. But local banks may be different. They charge much higher fees compared with foreign banks and longer time for the money to appear in your account. smile.gif

bbgoat
post Jul 1 2014, 12:53 PM

6,614 posts

Just terminate 1 CIMB eFD. Surprisingly the amt immediately shown in the online acct and I GIRO it out. Last year it took almost one day for the amt to show in the online acct. That's good and an improvement by CIMB for its customers. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 1 2014, 12:54 PM
ikanbilis
post Jul 1 2014, 06:39 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,539 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 1 2014, 12:53 PM)
Just terminate 1 CIMB eFD. Surprisingly the amt immediately shown in the online acct and I GIRO it out. Last year it took almost one day for the amt to show in the online acct. That's good and an improvement by CIMB for its customers.  biggrin.gif
Yes, CIMB rocks. I have both hsbc and cimb fd accounts. hsbc just sucks compared to cimb.

fuu
post Jul 1 2014, 09:31 PM

86 posts

Hi, would like to seek some advice.

Yesterday I tried placing eFD in Maybank - debited from my savings account. It's suppose to take 1 working day for the eFD number to appear, right? But until now if I check under Accounts & Banking > Fixed Deposits > View My Fixed Deposit Accounts, it says 'do not have any eFixed Deposits Accounts'. Did I miss something here? cry.gif
cappuccino vs latte
post Jul 1 2014, 11:06 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(fuu @ Jul 1 2014, 09:31 PM)
Hi, would like to seek some advice.

Yesterday I tried placing eFD in Maybank - debited from my savings account. It's suppose to take 1 working day for the eFD number to appear, right? But until now if I check under Accounts & Banking > Fixed Deposits > View My Fixed Deposit Accounts, it says 'do not have any eFixed Deposits Accounts'. Did I miss something here?  cry.gif
Are you first time do the e-placement? For first timer it will take few days if not mistaken.
fuu
post Jul 1 2014, 11:38 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jul 1 2014, 11:06 PM)
Are you first time do the e-placement? For first timer it will take few days if not mistaken.
Yes, first time. Ok, will check again in a few days. Thanks!
cybpsych
post Jul 2 2014, 07:00 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 4 2014, 02:38 PM)
That Maybank 6 months promo.

Promotion period: 23/5/-30/6
Min funds: $10,000
Interest: Paid on maturity
Period: 6 months
Interest average is 3.55% based on flg:
1-2 months  3.1%
2-4 months  3.15%
5th month    3.2%
6th month    5.6%

Anyone knows does this need fresh funds or not?

Edit: Called the bank already. No need fresh funds and can deduct from my CA directly.

Source: Maybank | T&Cs

Now extended to 10 July 2014 wink.gif
ccschua
post Jul 2 2014, 09:20 AM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 1 2014, 12:53 PM)
Just terminate 1 CIMB eFD. Surprisingly the amt immediately shown in the online acct and I GIRO it out. Last year it took almost one day for the amt to show in the online acct. That's good and an improvement by CIMB for its customers.  biggrin.gif
can I know if terminate on the morning maturity date can immediately get shown the principal ?

if online transfer to Maybank via eGIRO, say few hundrek, what is the charges ?
munkeyflo
post Jul 2 2014, 09:40 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 2 2014, 09:20 AM)
can I know if terminate on the morning maturity date can immediately get shown the principal ?

if online transfer to Maybank via eGIRO, say few hundrek, what is the charges ?
Don't really get your question.

Principal amount should be available once you terminate it.
eGIRO is flat rate 10 cents for all banks now.
bbgoat
post Jul 2 2014, 10:23 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 2 2014, 09:20 AM)
Last year, for CIMB it was 1 day later before it shown in the online acct (for eFD). But yesterday it was immediate. So this does depends on the banks involved. By right it should be immediate. smile.gif
gchowyh
post Jul 2 2014, 02:54 PM

860 posts

I've just been waiting out on the OPR increase just like everyone else..

BR kaki's, I remembered there was a time where there were inconsistencies in the crediting of the monthly interest. Has that been resolved now?

So what day of the month does the interest get credited now? (For new FDs)

If I just placed my FD last month (less than 30 days), will I still get the interest this month?
kucingfight
post Jul 2 2014, 04:03 PM

5,784 posts

edit: wrong info

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jul 3 2014, 10:27 AM
bbgoat
post Jul 2 2014, 05:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jul 2 2014, 02:54 PM)
I've just been waiting out on the OPR increase just like everyone else..

BR kaki's, I remembered there was a time where there were inconsistencies in the crediting of the monthly interest. Has that been resolved now?

So what day of the month does the interest get credited now? (For new FDs)

If I just placed my FD last month (less than 30 days), will I still get the interest this month?
The crediting of the monthly interest issue is actually BR side not informing customer on one of their products which changed to 1st of the month crediting of interest. For new FD's, the interest crediting should still be the date that FD is placed. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jul 2 2014, 04:03 PM)
i think it is confirmed OPR will be increased. more likely 0.5%

Why? as my housing loan (this month) increased from rm1601 to rm1894.. mad.gif
came as a surprise to me
You mean the bank has already increased the loan repayment amount ? hmm.gif

We are still waiting for July 10 BNM meeting.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 2 2014, 05:28 PM
kucingfight
post Jul 2 2014, 06:11 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 2 2014, 05:27 PM)
You mean the bank has already increased the loan repayment amount ?  hmm.gif

We are still waiting for July 10 BNM meeting.
edit: wrong info

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jul 3 2014, 10:28 AM

122 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:06 AM