Have a question about BR. If BR credits the interest every month to your account, what is the penalty if we do an early FD upliftment?
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1
Jun 6 2014, 01:31 PM
2,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Have a question about BR. If BR credits the interest every month to your account, what is the penalty if we do an early FD upliftment?
Jun 9 2014, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 03:31 PM) I mean the rate offered are equally high (above average) as compared to other banks. 5 years is a long time, my friend.It can even goes up to 3.75% upon 5 years deposit. Ambank is offering the same 3.75% for 15 months deposit and is guaranteed bu pidm. I will move my funds there where my existing fd expires. BR is offering 3.95% for 15 months, so the difference is rm250 for 100k placement. i think i will treat this opportunity loss of rm250 as an insurance for my fd. Any thoughts? This post has been edited by ikanbilis: Jun 9 2014, 07:40 PM |
Jun 9 2014, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2014, 07:38 PM) 3.75% for 5 years is not attractive as it seems. I just hate to have so many bank accounts, so difficult to keep track. I have been keeping my funds with hsbc for years but they are giving shitty rates. BR gives the best rate but i just don't feel good about them right now bcos of the 32m saga. I would not park my funds to any bank that is easily influenced by a cabinet minister.Good to spread out FD to minimize risk. For me I have FD across BR, Citibank, MBB etc etc. |
Jun 9 2014, 08:22 PM
Jun 9 2014, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 08:30 PM) BR require minimum placement of 5k only right with 15 months of 3.95%? Dont be conned by the 8.88%. It's a step up rate and i believe the effective rate would be much less than 3.75%The other possible option is PB which need minimum 30k for 8.88%! Guess 100k is a way too impossible for me to have this fresh fund as a fresh grads. |
Jun 9 2014, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 08:42 PM) I am referring to https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/Pr...r-FD-Rates.aspx It's a way to complicate matters by the bank. i did a brief calculation, i dunno the prevailing SA rate, but even if the 20% SA gives 1% interest pa, the effective rate is less than 3.7%But the step by FD din specify min amount of placement. |
Jun 9 2014, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2014, 08:55 PM) PBB Plus SA Interest Rates Haha! So i think the effective rate would be less than 3.5% actually. Perhaps many people dont understand this and would be attracted by the 8.88%....PLUS SAVINGS ACCOUNT - effective 1 March 2014 Range Nominal Interest Rate (% p.a.) Effective Interest Rate (% p.a.) First RM3,000-00 0.00 0.00 Next RM7,000-00 0.10 0.10 Next RM40,000-00 0.20 0.20 Next RM50,000-00 0.50 0.50 Next RM400,000-00 0.70 0.70 Next RM500,000-00 1.00 1.00 Above RM1,000,000-00 1.20 1.20 Less than 1%, hardly anything lol. OCBC Smartsavers better. |
Jun 15 2014, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 13 2014, 04:38 PM) BANK RAKYAT - NOT Eligible for PIDM Logic will tell you there will be penalty for early upliftment. Otherwise all people will place their FD for 60 months or above to enjoy the highest possible of interest rate! To what extent of the penalty i do not know maybe the regulars who have FD in bank rakyat can enlighten us. If you are willing to go deposit with a non PIDM member, then check out Bank Rakyat Deposit Account -i which is based on Islamic Principles and like all Islamic banks' products, the profit rate cannot be guaranteed. === hi , can i ask ..what is the meaning of profit rate cannot be guarantee? let say if i place 100k into their 1 year FD ..does it mean i am entitled to cash out the interest rate monthly? what happen if i decided to cancel my FD after 8 months? is that any penalty? |
Jun 22 2014, 10:16 AM
Jun 27 2014, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 27 2014, 09:35 AM) I have a questions worth pondering, instead of focus on interest rate too much, the following questions could be a good decision making for FD... I choose the bank with cute girls only. Question 1: which bank would you invest FD in if hypothetical they all offer same competitive rates? Question 2: why would you choose this bank? |
Jul 1 2014, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 1 2014, 12:53 PM) Just terminate 1 CIMB eFD. Surprisingly the amt immediately shown in the online acct and I GIRO it out. Last year it took almost one day for the amt to show in the online acct. That's good and an improvement by CIMB for its customers. Yes, CIMB rocks. I have both hsbc and cimb fd accounts. hsbc just sucks compared to cimb. |
Jul 2 2014, 08:33 PM
Wow 15 months 4% i like!!!! Got link or not?
Jul 10 2014, 06:21 PM
Sui sui increase 25bps ! i will put 100k to the first bank offering 4%pa without the stupid CASA thingy.
Jul 12 2014, 09:27 AM
Jul 15 2014, 05:58 PM
Boycott BR!!! Do you want your hard-earned money being kept by a bank without transperancy? Dun tamak additional 0.2% interest at the end all your capital also evaporate!!!
Jul 16 2014, 10:33 AM
Why no new FD promo? I'm still waiting for 4%pa...
Jul 16 2014, 03:28 PM
Jul 16 2014, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jul 16 2014, 03:28 PM) aEverywhere also got bullies. Example of bullies in Malaysia https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=102045...&type=2&theater |
Jul 16 2014, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(victorian @ Jul 16 2014, 09:02 PM) So its not advisable to put FD in BR now? I already have a FD at Mach Hong Leong at 3.7%. Can I open another FD under the same account ? Thanks We should send a clear message to the gahmen that we the rakyat will not tolerate such nonsense. If all of us boycott BR, the gahmen will realise thier mistake. If everyone show the 'tak apa' attitude, in future worse scandal may appear and yes, it will affect us all. |
Jul 17 2014, 08:35 PM
| Change to: | 0.0806sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:52 AM |