Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

bbgoat
post Apr 12 2014, 10:53 AM

6,614 posts

Thanks Captain, you are the right person to re-start the thread ! notworthy.gif

I saw other threads have something like below in their rules:

Respect each other. We do not want flame wars here.
No abusive, offensive languages.

Thanks again !! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 12 2014, 10:56 AM
bbgoat
post Apr 12 2014, 06:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 12 2014, 06:01 PM)
Thanks sifu.  notworthy.gif
It's 4.33% PA, is this consider high? Or is there any other FD that higher than this one?
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 12 2014, 06:06 PM)
4.33% pa? That's the highest 12 months FD rate in Malaysia. You sure your calculation is correct ?
OK, this one is CASA & FD combo. So need to mention the CASA requirement to get the real interest rate.

It was discussed in previous thread. I cannot remember the CASA required. But after taking that into account, the effective rate is not high. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 12 2014, 07:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Apr 12 2014, 06:27 PM)
that promo was discussed before. if i remember correctly 80/20. means the rate has to multiply by 0.8.

pbb fd promo has never been interesting. one year look for uob or affin.
Ya, PBB FD promo always not that exciting. You can get more info from Gen-X's blog:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/p/fixed-deposit.html
bbgoat
post Apr 13 2014, 08:09 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 13 2014, 01:26 AM)
Question to all gurus here:
I've 50k cash in hand, but will be withdrawn after 12 months. Do you guys have any investments that gain more than our annual EPF rate (Excluding stock market, property, forex)?
We only focus on FD here. You basically have covered all possible investments (UT another one). But you have to go into other forums to get your answer. smile.gif

Remember higher gain at higher risk. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 13 2014, 11:12 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Apr 13 2014, 10:53 AM)
Gen-X BR's profit rate in the 1st post is no longer valid. It has revised down the rate...again shakehead.gif
BR 12 months at 3.9%. Would have to go for 24 months 4.1% more attractive to me. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 13 2014, 07:46 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(iloveusms @ Apr 13 2014, 07:09 PM)
Beside UOB 3.65% 13 month,any higher offer again?as i know RHB can apply for 3.5% for 1 years FD.
For non PIDM, BR 12 months 3.9%. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 14 2014, 12:46 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(choyou @ Apr 14 2014, 12:36 PM)
Received a call for HLB regarding bond issued by HLB. 4.6% per annum for 5 years. No PIDM protection. Callable by HLB after 3 years. Anyone else received this call? Thanks.
This forum for FD. So please discuss elsewhere.
bbgoat
post Apr 14 2014, 04:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(helob @ Apr 14 2014, 03:50 PM)
We should allow queries of this nature as its indirectly related to FD.
This will help to provide info on opportunities for FD folks.
My 2 cents.
Well, bond is of different nature. If we allow bond discussion, others may discuss on UT, stocks etc. Please read 1st post by Gen-X.
bbgoat
post Apr 14 2014, 04:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 14 2014, 04:25 PM)
I opened several FD in Public bank on Different time, the FD account number is the same. Is it the interest compounded it together?

Sorry I should go to ask the officer there but due to in rush, I forget to ask. sad.gif
FD cert for each FD should be different numbers. The acct should be the same for single acct. hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 14 2014, 05:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(esy @ Apr 14 2014, 05:53 PM)
... From what have been stated on the first page of this post, I don't think BR need 20K deposit to be paid monthly already. They have drop it to 5K ...

--> Bank Rakyat Deposit Account-i ...

... I may be wrong. Please double confirm yourself if needed ...

~  smile.gif  ~
Ya, I saw in their website that they mentioned 5k for monthly interest. biggrin.gif

Wake up, need more info from other guys. BCC, Top Flo where are you ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 14 2014, 05:59 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2014, 04:52 PM

6,614 posts

Was in UOB today. 13 months FD 3.65%. Fresh fund, min 10k. Promo by end of April.
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2014, 06:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:03 PM)
interest monthly basis or after maturing?
It is paid 6 monthly. Unless I lost my memory, ha ha. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 15 2014, 05:14 PM)
RM5K for monthly interest payment... hmm interesting, anyone can confirm this for tenures 2 months and above?
Was in BR also. The ABM did not know that the monthly interest requirement was dropped from 20k to 5k. But I did not ask if whether it is only for >2 months or only for 12 months & above.

Thanks for reconfirming. Same as Post No.1. To add, the UOB 13 Months FD Promo no CASA thingy requirement.
Yeah UOB, no CASA requirement, but by end of April only.

Definitely not monthly BUT I would like to know if it is semi-annually or upon maturity. I forgot to ask this when I was informed of the promo last week.
Ya, semi-annually for UOB promotion. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 15 2014, 06:09 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2014, 08:44 PM

6,614 posts

Add:

BR ABM mentioned nego rate changed to 50k or above.

UOB counter girl said May will have new promotion. Just have to wait and see.
bbgoat
post Apr 16 2014, 06:45 PM

6,614 posts

RM5K for monthly interest payment... hmm interesting, anyone can confirm this for tenures 2 months and above?
Was in BR again today. Asked the question. For monthly interest the FD has to be min 6 months.

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 16 2014, 10:33 AM)
Do we need to open a saving account with BR for the RM5K for monthly interest payment?
Definitely.

QUOTE(HJebat @ Apr 16 2014, 11:18 AM)
Wah, not only the profit rate has been revised down, the nego rate was lowered as well sweat.gif

The ABM gave any hint why they execute the flip flop policy?

Ha ha, he gave me an answer saying they moved with times ! biggrin.gif Trying to attract customers. He did not even know about the 5k limit change. He checked with the counter staff when I was with him yesterday. So is BR more dynamic now ?? But still need to catch up with ninja warrior ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 16 2014, 06:48 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 17 2014, 07:41 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 16 2014, 06:55 PM)
Any annual fees or fees involved for applying for Bank Rakyat ATM card? (~Doesn't seem to find the BR webpage mentioning any annual fees)

No annual fees for BR Co-op card. I think no initial fee also, but some of the veteran said has. Forgot about mine and cannot be sure. smile.gif

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 16 2014, 06:55 PM)
Out of curiosity..what would happen to the FD interest if there is an early withdrawal of FD in BR? Will they ask for interest refund since the interest is paid monthly & interest rate for different tenure is different? biggrin.gif
Sure they will deduct from your FD principal sum after doing some calculation. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 17 2014, 07:48 AM
bbgoat
post Apr 17 2014, 06:11 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 17 2014, 05:39 PM)
Thanks,HJebat & bbgoat for the reply..
Went BR today to open for RM5k FD..
The info I got from their customer service seems vry much contradicting.. Min FD amount for monthly interest payment to be credited to saving must be RM10k above & 6mths above tenure(after confirming with a few of her superiors from call)
For BR ATM card, there will be annual fees charges of RM8..
BR Co-op card, annual fees RM5 but must be member of any Koperasi (~which currently I am not any of the member)
BR debit card, one time RM12 charge..but at the moment can't register for online banking pin through ATM..
At the end, nvr apply for any saving accounts for monthly interest credit. cry.gif
BR has been known to have confusing implementation of some of their "programs". My Co-op card, has no annual fees so do some of the guys here. Their website also mention min 5k FD for monthly interest (FD min. 6 months). smile.gif

QUOTE(tifosi @ Apr 17 2014, 06:05 PM)
Just a quick question. Let's say I have a banker's cheque from Maybank and am going to place as a FD at OCBC on Friday. So when does my FD date starts?
Still the same day you placed the FD.
bbgoat
post Apr 17 2014, 10:13 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Apr 17 2014, 10:07 PM)
If I have a banker's cheque of RM 50000, can I take that cheque and create 2 separate FD or I need 2 banker's cheque?
You can even have RM10k X 5 if you want. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 18 2014, 05:44 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 18 2014, 03:12 PM)
Regulars here usually get gifts, eg. face towel, pedicure/manicure set, umbrella, parker pen
Also school bag, lap top bag, cups etc

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 18 2014, 05:21 PM)
Aiyo..parker pen or ball point pen? wasted. No ask, no give.
Have you collected your cert ? Can pretend pretend go back and said advertise for them and get "hadiah". tongue.gif

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 18 2014, 05:35 PM)
sweat.gif Plan to withdraw then invest in something that safe but with higher interest. Not sure about Public Mutual Fund...
It is not "interest", it is gain/loss in investment. Higher gain with higher risk ! brows.gif

I do have Public Mutual which seems to be doing well. Anyway, not to discuss UT here. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 18 2014, 05:45 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 19 2014, 12:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(esy @ Apr 19 2014, 12:07 PM)
... BR is also known to me to be not consistent on their gifts as well ...
Well, you have to ask if they did not mention about the gifts to you. Their policy implementation not that great and consistent.

But system wise luckily consistent in paying out the monthly interest. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 20 2014, 02:19 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 20 2014, 01:08 PM)
No free gifts from CIMB, UOB, OCBC at all. No idea on other banks.
Kuwait Finance will give you a welcome umbrella. tongue.gif

21 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0541sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:40 PM