Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

cybpsych
post Apr 21 2014, 07:59 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

Saving in fixed deposits is so safe that it’s risky!
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...that-its-risky/

That is because most people focus on increasing their savings and have overlooked their “real returns”. The real return is derived by adjusting gross return with inflation rate, i.e. how fast prices of goods and services rise.

Hence, real returns determine if your purchasing power is increasing or decreasing.

cybpsych
post Apr 22 2014, 04:24 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

2 more years!!

MBSB sets sights on full-fledged bank in 2 years
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ank-in-2-years/

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia Building Society Bhd (MBSB) hopes to become a full-fledged bank in the next two years regardless whether it undertakes a merger and acquisition (M&A) route or as a stand-alone entity. 

Its chief financial officer Tang Yow Sai said on Tuesday MBSM has completed 80% of the compliance and criteria needed to become a full-fledged bank.

"We expect to meet another 20% of the compliance and criteria requirements over the next two years," he said after the AGM.

MBSB president and CEO Datuk Ahmad Zaini Othman said the MBSB was capable of being a stand-alone bank without any M&A, if the shareholders are willing to put in capital and grow the company.

He added MBSB could be a stand-alone full-fledged bank as it was already quite "clean and lean".

Zaini acknowledged there could be some challenges in this regard, noting that one form of the other, a banking licence is needed if was to operate as a bank.

cybpsych
post May 3 2014, 05:15 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

if i'm not mistaken, Bank Rakyat declared 15pc dividend recently.

this explains why only one-time hibah given and coincide with their recent 2013 financial performance announcement.

Sources:
http://www.nst.com.my/business/latest/bank...vidend-1.511068
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/985893
cybpsych
post May 10 2014, 04:58 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

clearer pix...

T&C: Eng | BM

In conjunction with Mother's Day, AmBank had launched a Mother's Day Special FD campaign from 9th to 23rd May 2014.

The campaign is open to all new and existing individual customers of AmBank who open and/or maintain Everyday Saving Account or Family First Everyday Account-i with minimum deposit of RM 1000 and will be earmarked for 30 days. Each eligible customer shall be entitled for a promotional rate of 3.60% p.a. for Fixed Deposit/Term Deposit- i with 8-month tenure.

The promotional rate is subject to a minimum fresh fund placement of RM 10000 for all individual customers. The promotional rate is applicable for placement of one cycle only. Upon maturity of the Fixed Deposit Account/Term Deposit-i Account, the interest/profit will be credited into eligible customer’s Everyday Saving Account or Family First Everyday Account-i.

Source: http://48smart.blogspot.com/2014/05/ambank...d-campaign.html

This post has been edited by cybpsych: May 10 2014, 05:03 PM
cybpsych
post May 21 2014, 07:06 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

peeps, OCBC's 18-mth FD Promo (aka Combat Inflation Deal) will be terminated on 29 May 2014 instead of 31 July 2014

Notice source: OCBC
cybpsych
post May 21 2014, 08:14 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ May 19 2014, 01:09 PM)
HLB STEP UP FD (eff:19 MAY 2014)
======================

NO CASA

1-4th mth - 3.3%
5-8th - 3.6%
9-12th - 4%

effective 3.63%
cannot find link but was told by staff.  tongue.gif
Official link up now smile.gif

FD Promo Page | T&C (English)
cybpsych
post May 21 2014, 01:23 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 21 2014, 12:49 PM)
thanks. at least they are being transparent and state the effective rate.
i noticed newer FD advertisements have the mandatory mention of effective rate.
cybpsych
post May 21 2014, 03:55 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ May 21 2014, 03:51 PM)
u know the reason why?  hmm.gif
no idea sweat.gif
cybpsych
post May 23 2014, 09:54 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 23 2014, 08:48 PM)
What lah, are you not in Malaysia ?  shakehead.gif

EPF gave out higher return than FD for so many years already ...................... rclxms.gif
Boss, for epf self contribution, the amount will eventually split to 70%/30% for Account 1 and Account 2 respectively?

Possible to choose which acct to be credited?

This post has been edited by cybpsych: May 23 2014, 09:54 PM
cybpsych
post May 24 2014, 08:40 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 24 2014, 08:31 AM)
We cannot choose which acct to deposit the money.  smile.gif
oic. thanks!
cybpsych
post May 24 2014, 07:32 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ May 24 2014, 07:21 PM)
Anyone received this sms?

UOB - Enjoy 3 months FD up to 3.6% when you open eAccount with RM10k min.

I could not find the info in the website. Is the eAccount = eFD or another account?
here https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry67883499

guess uob reduced the min eAccount deposit from 50k to 10k hmm.gif
cybpsych
post May 26 2014, 03:05 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 26 2014, 11:00 AM)
Maybank FD promo effective rate 3.55% for 6 months. Tiered up to 5.6% I think. Minimum 10k for individual account. Valid from 23/5 to 30/6.
QUOTE(faradie @ May 26 2014, 12:48 PM)
Called MBB Branch and details are:

Promotion period: 23/5/-30/6
Min funds: $10,000
Interest: Paid on maturity
Period: 6 months
Interest average is 3.55% based on flg:
1-2 months  3.1%
2-4 months  3.15%
5th month    3.2%
6th month    5.6%
ahh dang, i put my fund to maybank's 6-mth eFD (about 3.14% pa, indicative) in March, maturing on Sep.

based on this promo rate of 3.55% pa, difference with eFD is just about ~RM20.
cybpsych
post May 26 2014, 08:19 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 26 2014, 08:18 PM)
~RM20 or so. Save the hassle la. Wait for next promo. biggrin.gif
At least it's not a difference by the thousands.
yeah, peanut deposit only blush.gif thnks for the info though! thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post May 28 2014, 01:42 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

In conjunction with OCBC Ampang branch's new look, we're having ATTRACTIVE promotions on Fixed Deposits!

Check them out and head on down to OCBC Ampang branch in Menara Great Eastern from today until 13 June to enjoy these great promotions.

Source: OCBC Facebook

cybpsych
post May 29 2014, 08:41 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 28 2014, 11:37 PM)
Wow, the Combat Inflation Deal seems to be really good. 3.6% for first 6 months and you get 4.% for the next 12 months. What's the catch, really?
pretty straigtforward FD with effective rate of 3.87% pa. Study more of this here

Note: Combat Inflation Deal is ending today. Unless the notice supersedes the Ampang branch exclusive promotions, only this branch will continue to offer until 13 June. Good for those missing it out earlier or their FDs maturing after today sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: May 29 2014, 08:46 AM
cybpsych
post May 29 2014, 05:25 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(BATMAN99 @ May 29 2014, 05:16 PM)
Hey guys I'm in a mess now, I just created a eFD account under "Maybank Conventional Fixed Deposit" and made placement of RM 3000.

I printed the eFD placement receipt at completion and the status is APPROVED, but in fact by the time I made the placement my account balance is less than 3k, so how come they can approve the placement?

Also, I don't see any eFD account shown up when I tried to view my eFD account in m2u.

Please enlighten, thanks.
i assume this is your 1st time placing eFD?

it will take about 1-2 days for maybank to clear. Subsequent placement will be immediate. <-- info from forumers at this topic

on the other hand, today i encountered something strange. I've placed eFD back in March for Islamic Flexi (Mudharabah). Today, i placed another eFD using Conventional. It treated this as "1st" placement as well and my account not yet deducted.
cybpsych
post May 29 2014, 08:32 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(BATMAN99 @ May 29 2014, 05:36 PM)
Okay then I guess 1-2 days later the placement will become invalid right? Since my account balance that I used just now has not enough balance to make that placement.  hmm.gif
should be invalid. check your account tomorrow to see any balance difference.
cybpsych
post May 30 2014, 06:46 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 29 2014, 09:47 PM)
Oh no, really?
I asked my RM last week and she didn't tell me anything about this. Really geram.
So I guess the Ampang's branch is the only option if I want. I wonder if I can open a new account there if I have an existing one elsewhere...
elsewhere as in other banks or other FDs in OCBC?

actually, it doesnt matter. each FD is independent. even if you have existing FDsssssssssss in OCBC smile.gif new FD doesnt "touch" it.

cybpsych
post May 30 2014, 09:01 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ May 30 2014, 08:49 AM)
Any differences between islamic and conventional eFD?
besides the banking concept difference, islamic eFD's "interest" is based on PSR. convention eFD is based on fixed interest rate.

i placed islamic eFD for 6-mths tenure cuz the indicative % is slightly higher than conventional's. now i placed another eFD for 1-mth tenure, the conventional rate 3% pa is slightly higher than islamic's.

actually, not much difference if fund is around 5-10k. I was just trying out the eFD services.

if you're a muslim and prefers shariah-concept islamic banking, then choose islamic eFD. if you dont care, then any eFD will do. It's up to the individual anyway smile.gif non-muslim can also enrol islamic eFD.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jun 2 2014, 08:36 PM
cybpsych
post Jun 2 2014, 08:11 PM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 30 2014, 07:50 PM)
Maybank from 1/6 to 30/6/2014
Campaign rates  1 month : 3.2%p.a.
Minimum placement RM50K per receipt for SME/BB
RM25K per receipt for individual customers.
Max. placement No Limit.
Thanks, wil-i-am. Finally, Maybank published this on their website sweat.gif

Source: Maybank | T&Cs

0.0489sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:17 AM