Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

MGM
post Jul 11 2014, 09:21 PM

18,400 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 11 2014, 06:17 PM)
I really hope the increase of OPR can make the property market price drop and let the
property speculators suffer from loss.

Recently all new property developers that without experience also come to this industry to
built new condos just like no need to use capital.
Repeat of the 1997-98 crisis? I remember a 2-storey-link in 1U sold for rm180k.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jul 11 2014, 09:23 PM
HJebat
post Jul 11 2014, 10:04 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 11 2014, 02:02 PM)
Yes, I plan to use most of my chips for MBSB casino before it merges with other 2 casinos.
Hopefully MBSB reacts to the new OPR to raise their 4.7% rate also
But also quite worry this 4.7% will disappear suddenly from MBSB website!!  sweat.gif
Not only the rate will vanish, I think the gifts are bound to cease to exist as well sad.gif
wil-i-am
post Jul 11 2014, 11:16 PM

10,001 posts

Malayan Banking Bhd will revise its deposit and base lending rates effective July 16, in tandem with the 25 basis points increase in the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR).

It said on Friday its deposit rates will be revised upwards by up to 15bps.

Maybank's base lending rate (BLR) and base financing rate (BFR) would be increased by 25 basis points from 6.60% per annum to 6.85%.

Its last revision in BLR and BFR was on May 11, 2011 when they were revised from 6.30% to 6.60%.

SUSSarah Jessica
post Jul 12 2014, 12:12 AM

622 posts

I heard that Maybank might be interested in Affin. Pbank might also be targeted.
BoomChaCha
post Jul 12 2014, 12:37 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Jul 11 2014, 07:36 PM)
it's hard to see PBB merging with MBB unless old man Teh greenlights it. Ditto for AFG & BIMB. But then again this is M'sia!!!  wink.gif
Sorry, I do not quite understand what you are trying to say.. sweat.gif
Can use simple English please? sad.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 11 2014, 08:50 PM)
Bro, it which country does the law says the banks must increase housing loan and or FD board interest rates when there is an increase in OPR and vice-versa? It is up to individual banks to offer whatever rates they want, e.g. Affin versus other banks.
Oh... I am wrong.. doh.gif ha ha..

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 11 2014, 09:21 PM)
Repeat of the 1997-98 crisis? I remember a 2-storey-link in 1U sold for rm180k.
Hu... One Utama? Now I think at least 1 million..?

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jul 11 2014, 10:04 PM)
Not only the rate will vanish, I think the gifts are bound to cease to exist as well  sad.gif
Aiya.. Warrior, the gifts are usually do not worth much money and no practical usage,
No. 1 important is the FD rate ma.. cheers.gif
alidada
post Jul 12 2014, 03:57 AM

27 posts

whats the latest FD rate & promotion ?

cybpsych
post Jul 12 2014, 08:06 AM

---------------------
65,272 posts

PBB also increased BLR. no sign of FD interest rate revision; most likely to be gradually introduced than BLR's from mid-July.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jul 12 2014, 08:08 AM
giko
post Jul 12 2014, 08:10 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 12 2014, 12:37 AM)
Sorry, I do not quite understand what you are trying to say..  sweat.gif
Can use simple English please?  sad.gif
1. Without the blessing of Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow, the Founder and Chairman of PBB, no merger with MBB deal can go through unless he can be persuaded otherwise. But the government of the day can be persuasive too! hmm.gif

2. Likewise, AFG are controlled by S'poreans, if memory serves me right, & it's hard to picture them giving up control unless they take over BIMB but it seems unlikely - S'poreans in charge of M'sia's premier Islamic bank? biggrin.gif But, this sounds like a broken record... the government of the day can be persuasive too! wink.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2014, 08:58 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Jul 12 2014, 08:10 AM)
1. Without the blessing of Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow, the Founder and Chairman of PBB, no merger with MBB deal can go through unless he can be persuaded otherwise. But the government of the day can be persuasive too!  hmm.gif

2. Likewise, AFG are controlled by S'poreans, if memory serves me right, & it's hard to picture them giving up control unless they take over BIMB but it seems unlikely - S'poreans in charge of M'sia's premier Islamic bank?  biggrin.gif But, this sounds like a broken record... the government of the day can be persuasive too!  wink.gif
The less banks, less competition. Less FD promo for us. cry.gif
ikanbilis
post Jul 12 2014, 09:27 AM

Trusted member since 2003
2,541 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 12 2014, 08:58 AM)
The less banks, less competition. Less FD promo for us.  cry.gif
I agree. Let's hope the deal never materialize! whistling.gif
davinz18
post Jul 12 2014, 03:20 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Jul 12 2014, 08:10 AM)
1. Without the blessing of Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow, the Founder and Chairman of PBB, no merger with MBB deal can go through unless he can be persuaded otherwise. But the government of the day can be persuasive too!  hmm.gif

2. Likewise, AFG are controlled by S'poreans, if memory serves me right, & it's hard to picture them giving up control unless they take over BIMB but it seems unlikely - S'poreans in charge of M'sia's premier Islamic bank?  biggrin.gif But, this sounds like a broken record... the government of the day can be persuasive too!  wink.gif
If got gomen "pressure" & "interference", then we know what will happen. Nothing is impossible in BolehLand whistling.gif
SUSendau02
post Jul 12 2014, 04:52 PM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jul 12 2014, 03:20 PM)
If got gomen "pressure" & "interference", then we know what will happen. Nothing is impossible in BolehLand  whistling.gif
Just dun do business in malaysia then. As though malaysia market is big.
wil-i-am
post Jul 12 2014, 06:04 PM

10,001 posts

Tough for Maybank to takeover Public Bank coz valuation is heavy as P/BV > 3.5x
davinz18
post Jul 12 2014, 06:18 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Jul 12 2014, 04:52 PM)
Just dun do business in malaysia then. As though malaysia market is big.
hint: YTL group whistling.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2014, 06:26 PM

6,614 posts

The below article said Public Bank not enticing for merger:

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ity-of-a-Mayba/

Anyway Public Bank do not have good FD promo, just some gimmicks on step up rates.
HJebat
post Jul 13 2014, 12:27 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 12 2014, 12:37 AM)
Aiya.. Warrior, the gifts are usually do not worth much money and no practical usage,
No. 1 important is the FD rate ma..  cheers.gif
Ya I know...what I meant was if they do away with the rate & tarak gifts = double whammy mad.gif

Later also put an end to the half-yearly interest payment...really vmad.gif

Eh, come to think of it...how do you know MBSB's gifts do not worth much? You've mentioned before that you did not receive any gifts from MBSB le? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jul 13 2014, 02:45 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jul 13 2014, 12:27 AM)
Ya I know...what I meant was if they do away with the rate & tarak gifts = double whammy mad.gif

Later also put an end to the half-yearly interest payment...really  vmad.gif
Agree.
So the only way is to get ready to place 4.7% FD (hopefully it will raise to comply with new
revised OPR) before 3 banks merge.
We need to keep an eye to see when they are going to merge officially..

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jul 13 2014, 12:27 AM)
Eh, come to think of it...how do you know MBSB's gifts do not worth much? You've mentioned before that you did not receive any gifts from MBSB le?  hmm.gif
Last time I received one silver umbrella with a MBSB logo printed on it..

bbgoat
post Jul 13 2014, 03:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 13 2014, 02:45 PM)
Agree.
So the only way is to get ready to place 4.7% FD (hopefully it will raise to comply with new
revised OPR) before 3 banks merge.
We need to keep an eye to see when they are going to merge officially..
Newspaper said they have 3 months to do it. I have placed RHB and MBSB as my potential new accounts, now ? shakehead.gif cry.gif

Maybe someone can call MBSB about their 5 years rate if placed now, will it be affected by the merger later ? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jul 13 2014, 03:36 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 13 2014, 03:07 PM)
Newspaper said they have 3 months to do it. I have placed RHB and MBSB as my potential new accounts, now ?  shakehead.gif  cry.gif

Maybe someone can call MBSB about their 5 years rate if placed now, will it be affected by the merger later ?  hmm.gif
I heard many rumors that next BN meeting in September might raise another 0.25%, so
I will ignore all 1 year FD promo, but to place either 3 months FD now, or to place 4.7%
FD in MBSB now to take a gamble.. sweat.gif

Okay..I do not think tomorrow MBSB can give us any correct answer about their 4.7% FD
after the merge since they are just started to talk about merging, but I will call MBSB tomorrow
and will post the answer here.

Once these 3 banks merge, this new bank will be a member of PIDM for sure; since it is
PIDM protected, is it possible that all existing 4.7% FD accounts will be cancelled or changed
to another FD plan with lower interest rate?? Worry... sad.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2014, 03:41 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 13 2014, 03:36 PM)
I heard many rumors that next BN meeting in September might raise another 0.25%, so
I will ignore all 1 year FD promo, but to place either 3 months FD now, or to place 4.7%
FD in MBSB now to take a gamble..  sweat.gif

Okay..I do not think tomorrow MBSB can give us any correct answer about their 4.7% FD
after the merge since they are just started to talk about merging, but I will call MBSB tomorrow
and will post the answer here.

Once these 3 banks merge, this new bank will be a member of PIDM for sure; since it is
PIDM protected, is it possible that all existing 4.7% FD accounts will be cancelled or changed
to another FD plan with lower interest rate??  Worry... sad.gif
My opinion is likely no increase in Sept. Some people said in newspaper that no more increase for this year. BNM likely to see how the economy goes before deciding on another increase.

So for me, I will put my maturing FD to 1 year once banks give promo with the 0.25% factored in.

Thanks for calling MBSB tomorrow. Will wait for your update. notworthy.gif

122 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:02 PM