122 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

SUSlowya
post Jul 14 2014, 02:23 PM

4,821 posts

The thing about MBSB is they will take back all interest paid to you if withdraw principal prematurely, and give you half entitled interest by the board rate.

So i have to agree that RHB is still best option.
wil-i-am
post Jul 14 2014, 04:28 PM

10,001 posts

Hong Leong Bank Bhd (HLBB) and Hong Leong Islamic Bank Bhd (HLISB) will raise their Basic Lending Rate (BLR) and Islamic Financing Rate (IFR) respectively by 25 basis points to 6.85 per cent from 6.60per cent effective July 16, 2014.

Concurrently, HLBB and HLISB's Fixed Deposit (FD) and Term Deposit-i (TD-i) will be revised upwards by up to 25 basis points.

The new FD and TD-i rates for one, six and 12 months will be increased to 3.05 per cent, 3.20 per cent, and 3.30 per cent, respectively.

The move follows Bank Negara Malaysia's Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) hike by 25 basis points to 3.25 per cent on July 10, 2014.

In a statement today, Group managing director, Tan Kong Khoon said that both HLBB and HLISB will continue to work closely with its customers to address alltheir financing and savings needs.

davinz18
post Jul 14 2014, 05:07 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

when would others bank follow HLB in FD rate thingy
bbgoat
post Jul 14 2014, 05:43 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 14 2014, 04:28 PM)
Hong Leong Bank Bhd (HLBB) and Hong Leong Islamic Bank Bhd (HLISB) will raise their Basic Lending Rate (BLR) and Islamic Financing Rate (IFR) respectively by 25 basis points to 6.85 per cent from 6.60per cent effective July 16, 2014.

Concurrently, HLBB and HLISB's Fixed Deposit (FD) and Term Deposit-i (TD-i) will be revised upwards by up to 25 basis points.

The new FD and TD-i rates for one, six and 12 months will be increased to 3.05 per cent, 3.20 per cent, and 3.30 per cent, respectively.

The move follows Bank Negara Malaysia's Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) hike by 25 basis points to 3.25 per cent on July 10, 2014.

In a statement today, Group managing director, Tan Kong Khoon said that both HLBB and HLISB will continue to work closely with its customers to address alltheir financing and savings needs.
Did HL just raise the FD rate by 0.2% vs their board rate before OPR increase:

https://www.hlb.com.my/main/info-centre/per.../interest-rates
BoomChaCha
post Jul 14 2014, 08:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 14 2014, 05:43 PM)

Sorry, Top Goat, I did not have free time to call MBSB during office hours,
but I will call MBSB tomorrow..

I am very curious how BR and MBSB (5 years at 4.7%) are going to react to this
recent OPR? hmm.gif

bbgoat
post Jul 14 2014, 09:19 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 14 2014, 08:59 PM)
Sorry, Top Goat, I did not have free time to call MBSB during office hours,
but I will call MBSB tomorrow..

I am very curious how BR and MBSB (5 years at 4.7%) are going to react to this
recent OPR?  hmm.gif
Tomorrow is a public holiday, so is their CS working ?

Ya, I am curious also but as Cherroy mentioned, their rate may not increase by 0.25%. Only so called board rate of other banks may increase but not necessary 0.25% also. shakehead.gif

I am also curious of RHB and MBSB, if their promo rate will be terminated once they merge with CIMB. hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jul 14 2014, 09:42 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 14 2014, 09:19 PM)
Tomorrow is a public holiday, so is their CS working ?

Ya, I am curious also but as Cherroy mentioned, their rate may not increase by 0.25%. Only so called board rate of other banks may increase but not necessary 0.25% also.  shakehead.gif
Oh..Assalamualaikum.. then I will call on Wednesday (could be a busy day too); if not, then Thursday loh... sweat.gif

I think they will increase a bit.., banks competition ma..

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 14 2014, 09:19 PM)
I am also curious of RHB and MBSB, if their promo rate will be terminated once they merge with CIMB.  hmm.gif
I think all existing FD accounts will continue until all FDs mature; otherwise FD depositors will
complain; and in addition, this is not fair to FD depositors if merging banks suddenly terminate
all existing FDs. Banks merging is banks' issue, not FD depositors' issue. Unless if the bank
bankrupts, then this is another story.

My personal opinion only... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jul 14 2014, 09:44 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jul 14 2014, 09:53 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jul 14 2014, 02:23 PM)
The thing about MBSB is they will take back all interest paid to you if withdraw principal prematurely, and give you half entitled interest by the board rate.

So i have to agree that RHB is still best option.
If premature withdrawal, no interest for the first 3 months, bank will pay 50% of FD interest
for the 4th month onward until the date of premature withdrawal.

But this depends on each bank policy.

But once place the FD, better don't ever think of to premature withdrawal, it will be a big loss
to FD interest. So, it is always better to split FD amount to several FD certs.

I usually save some money in Affin saving account for just in case if I need to use money
urgently.
cappuccino vs latte
post Jul 14 2014, 10:00 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 14 2014, 09:42 PM)
Oh..Assalamualaikum.. then I will call on Wednesday (could be a busy day too); if not, then Thursday loh...  sweat.gif

I think they will increase a bit.., banks competition ma..
I think all existing FD accounts will continue until all FDs mature; otherwise FD depositors will
complain; and in addition, this is not fair to FD depositors if merging banks suddenly terminate
all existing FDs. Banks merging is banks' issue, not FD depositors' issue. Unless if the bank

My personal opinion only...  sweat.gif
Yea, I think all existing FDs entered into has been agreed on the terms and conditions upfront for the both sides during sign up. It could be an offence if the FDs being terminated without strong clauses to support the action.

There are a lot of unhappy bank staffs now because they will loss job / laid off due to the merger. Hearsay 30% of them will loss job that could be 15k in total assuming 3 banks got total 50k staffs (CIMB itself already got 40k staffs). sign0006.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jul 14 2014, 10:14 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jul 14 2014, 10:00 PM)
Yea, I think all existing FDs entered into has been agreed on the terms and conditions upfront for the both sides during sign up. It could be an offence if the FDs being terminated without strong clauses to support the action.

I think the same way.
If merging banks suddenly terminate all existing FDs, then banks should make compensation to FD depositors.

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jul 14 2014, 10:00 PM)
There are a lot of unhappy bank staffs now because they will loss job / laid off due to the merger. Hearsay 30% of them will loss job that could be 15k in total assuming 3 banks got total 50k staffs (CIMB itself already got 40k staffs). sign0006.gif
Really ah.. hmm.gif
I can recall that this happened when many banks merged during many years ago..
CIMB got 40K staffs..? Hu..quite a lot.. hmm.gif

So once they merge, they will close some of their branches..?
This is too bad lah... doh.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jul 14 2014, 10:21 PM
wil-i-am
post Jul 14 2014, 11:02 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 14 2014, 05:43 PM)

Based on d link,
1 mth - up 0.15%
3 mths - up 0.25%
12 mths - up 0.20%
wil-i-am
post Jul 14 2014, 11:03 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jul 14 2014, 05:07 PM)
when would others bank follow HLB in FD rate thingy
Coming soon brows.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 14 2014, 11:03 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 14 2014, 11:02 PM)
Based on d link,
1 mth - up 0.15%
3 mths - up 0.25%
12 mths - up 0.20%
Yes, I am referring to the 12 mths FD rate. smile.gif
wil-i-am
post Jul 14 2014, 11:04 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 14 2014, 09:42 PM)

My personal opinion only...  sweat.gif
Yo understanding is correct

davinz18
post Jul 14 2014, 11:09 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 14 2014, 11:03 PM)
Coming soon  brows.gif
they better adjust the rate faster cry.gif
TSGen-X
post Jul 15 2014, 12:27 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

BR fans read below link:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...illion-says-pas

Previously, few months back in previous thread V5, a member here did warned about the loan to the housing firm.
BoomChaCha
post Jul 15 2014, 01:41 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 14 2014, 11:04 PM)
Yo understanding is correct
Thank you.. cheers.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 15 2014, 12:27 AM)
BR fans read below link:

Previously, few months back  in previous thread V5, a member here did warned about the loan to the housing firm.
Thanks for the link, Captain cheers.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jul 15 2014, 02:00 AM
danmooncake
post Jul 15 2014, 02:03 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 13 2014, 05:47 PM)
I did have CIMB Klibor except for 10 years and now 2.5 yrs gone. Better check their terms for the 5.2% payout which I have been receiving every 3 months. Now regret that I signed the 10 yrs agreement. With OPR increase even more, lose out once it exceed certain number !! 10 yrs is just too long !!  cry.gif
Ha ha, I would be happy if the OPR is increased again in Sept !! Either way, I win.  rclxms.gif
This "CIMB Klibor" thing is this the same as Structured Deposit that they've been offering for the last 3 years?
Something about callable.. which if the called, no worry because if FD rates higher, you can escape? hmm.gif

bbgoat
post Jul 15 2014, 08:20 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jul 15 2014, 02:03 AM)
This "CIMB Klibor" thing is this the same as Structured Deposit that they've been offering for the last 3 years?
Could be, not sure about it. smile.gif

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jul 15 2014, 02:03 AM)
Something about callable.. which if the called, no worry because if FD rates higher, you can escape?  hmm.gif
Well, if they recall, that is because it is to their disadvantage. We lose out and have to place the money elsewhere.

If they don't recall, we may lose out BIG time as they may not be paying us anything (the Klibor rate to their advantage, kind of like options, in or out of the money).................. cry.gif sign0006.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 15 2014, 08:56 AM
bbgoat
post Jul 15 2014, 08:29 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 15 2014, 12:27 AM)
BR fans read below link:

Previously, few months back  in previous thread V5, a member here did warned about the loan to the housing firm.
Frankly speaking, though I know BR has a slight risk from the beginning but still put my money in there. Now I am beginning to change my view. Except will not be putting more money in. May reduce a little bit ...............

122 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0387sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:02 PM