Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1
Apr 13 2014, 10:53 AM
1,035 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Gen-X BR's profit rate in the 1st post is no longer valid. It has revised down the rate...again
Apr 14 2014, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 13 2014, 11:12 AM) If 4.1% considered attractive to you...then no need to look up, down, left, right...straight place for >60 month...4.50% yo, arouse you or not? QUOTE(ivandj @ Apr 13 2014, 01:53 PM) Best rate offered by MBSB: 4.70% for 5-year placement. I assumed 5-year is deemed as long term to you la |
Apr 15 2014, 09:46 AM
Apr 16 2014, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 15 2014, 08:44 PM) Wah, not only the profit rate has been revised down, the nego rate was lowered as well The ABM gave any hint why they execute the flip flop policy? QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 16 2014, 07:25 AM) Updates from OCBC staff this morning This one very tempting... 🎉OCBC FD Promotion🎉 *MUST be Fresh Fund* *Promo until 31 July 2014* *T&C applied* A. Pure FD (18m = 3.87%) QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 16 2014, 10:33 AM) Yes. |
Apr 17 2014, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 16 2014, 06:45 PM) Ha ha, he gave me an answer saying they moved with times ! Aiyo, people jiat png, dunno they jiat sai or not. Very jialat la like this. Can simply reverse policy within months QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 16 2014, 06:55 PM) Thanks,HJebat.. RM8.00 will be charged for the application of the card. No annual fees or other fees involved, unless you want to replace or exchange card.Any annual fees or fees involved for applying for Bank Rakyat ATM card? (~Doesn't seem to find the BR webpage mentioning any annual fees) Out of curiosity..what would happen to the FD interest if there is an early withdrawal of FD in BR? Will they ask for interest refund since the interest is paid monthly & interest rate for different tenure is different? Answers to your other Qs as per replied by bbgoat. QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Apr 16 2014, 09:38 PM) Yes, we can uplift our FD from other BR branch, but the max amount is RM50K. |
Apr 17 2014, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 17 2014, 05:39 PM) Thanks,HJebat & bbgoat for the reply.. Contradicting infos is a common practice for BR Went BR today to open for RM5k FD.. The info I got from their customer service seems vry much contradicting.. Min FD amount for monthly interest payment to be credited to saving must be RM10k above & 6mths above tenure(after confirming with a few of her superiors from call) For BR ATM card, there will be annual fees charges of RM8.. BR Co-op card, annual fees RM5 but must be member of any Koperasi (~which currently I am not any of the member) BR debit card, one time RM12 charge..but at the moment can't register for online banking pin through ATM.. At the end, nvr apply for any saving accounts for monthly interest credit. The probability of this practice occurring in the future is still very high Did you receive any gift? |
Apr 18 2014, 10:10 PM
Apr 20 2014, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 18 2014, 11:36 PM) Yalor, should have ask for it. But..u still better than me as I got NOTHING! HAHA.. Why you no read FD threads here before commit your money? I opt for 12mths since it's 1 of the highest rate FD rate so far. Personally, I think their 3mths or 12mths BR FD rate are competitive enough (~for my this "small" amount of FD & reasonable duration). 12-month placement definately entitled you for some gifts. Maybe a face towel or a cheaper version of Parker pen. However, if you happened to come across some lousy BR staffs, then can say Remember to ask for your gift when you return to the BR branch to deposit, renew or uplift your FD. If they insist that you're not entitled for gifts, then you'll know that particular branch is PS: For FD, the % rate we get is priority, gifts are secondary |
Apr 20 2014, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Apr 20 2014, 12:08 PM) Thanks for the sound advice.. MBSB. But the gifts offered by MBSB are "less" in monetary or material worth than BR (a very subjective view).Any other banks also giving free gifts for depositing FD for >RM5k/RM10k and 6 mths/12mths tenure? |
Apr 21 2014, 12:25 PM
Apr 21 2014, 12:43 PM
Apr 22 2014, 09:52 PM
May 8 2014, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(harmonics3 @ May 6 2014, 11:38 PM) Tried uplifting a 20k BR FD last week in another state but the BR staff told me the limit for withdrawing FD at another branch is 10k... There's a limit of 10K to withdraw from different BR branch?Today made new FD deposit with personal cheque at the usual branch and was immediately issued the sijil which was a surprise, last time got to wait 1~2 days for the personal cheque to clear... complaint to the counter officer about not being able to withdraw FD at another branch but was told that the new limit is 50k, and 10k limit was old one... looks like every BR branch has its own rules Which BR branch staff told you that? I've posted in FD thread before, the limit is 50K & I know for sure that this limit is in force since early last year. So, 50K is not a new limit. Tarak quality & inadequate knowledge punya staff... |
May 8 2014, 11:15 PM
May 24 2014, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 17 2014, 08:56 AM) the 5 year rate is now too low, only 4.4%. I just move 3 certs out to MBSB for 4.7%, go to wherever that offers you better rates........if you are getting short term rate of 3.6% with repeated every 6 months,might as well fix it at 4.7%, every 100k you get extra RM1100, to me that is significant .....MBSB gave me 2 towels,some pens and a diary like book.(no need to ask they automatically bring together with the certs) , support MBSB for now. Will move out whenever BR Fd matures... Agrees…almost tarak appetite with BR sudah. I’m slowly moving my FD to MBSB as well. Only leaving some $$$ in BR for whatever short term purposes.A few Qs regarding MBSB: 1. Do you have a SA with MBSB? 2. Did you manage to nego for a higher rate than 4.70%? 3. The 2 towels that you mentioned as a gift from MBSB, are those face towels? QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 17 2014, 06:51 PM) Oh..but I have not heard any other forum members are complaining about this matter..? except two of us.. Did not say anything because I’m not affected I asked Top Cat, he said he was not affected.. The Guy also did not say anything... tbheng did not complain... magika keeps quiet, so I assume he is not affected.. Warrior HJebat also did not say anything... gchowyh also did not complain... Top Flo keeps quiet too... Who else..? Plus I'm not lurking here that often since last week because busy doing some reading at other thread I’m not going to opt for the monthly interest crediting with BR after my FDs reach their maturity date…too tiresome to keep track. I’ll either choose interest upon maturity or move my FD to MBSB |
May 25 2014, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 25 2014, 12:37 AM) 1.No, 6 monthly cheque deposit to my CIMB SA 1. Why choose CIMB SA? The interest is 0.01% compared to MBSB's SA that offers >2% (forgot the exact figure, that's why wanna ask you 2.Min 1M to bargain, maybe extra 0.05%, i asked 3 months to add up ok or not, 2 weeks already still no answer, can forget it if need 1 lump sum. 3) Hand towels, 15" x 30" Reliable Brand, printed with MBSB logo. 2. This part is the same reply that I've received from MBSB...1M with possible extra rate of 0.05% (but no one ever reported that they've got the deal yet 3. Oh, mine are face towels...aren't face towel & hand towel the same thing ka? |
May 25 2014, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 25 2014, 09:47 AM) 1.My SA pays 3% pa daily basis, withdrawal once a month. "school adoption SA", with ATM cards somemore . 1. Waseh, SA with 3% rate Amgenius SA also can get 3%. MBSB SA should come 3rd or lower.... 2.You willing to place 1M in a day, i think you can get it. 3.Check the brand label, it says hand towel. Blue color right? 2. I don't think I'll take that course of action anytime soon...place 1M in a day 3. Nope, mine are in white colour. Probably MBSB have different set of gifts according to branch location... |
May 25 2014, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(giko @ May 25 2014, 03:04 PM) as per http://www.mbsb.com.my/misc/FantasticReturns.pdf Yes am I correct to assume that "49'ners Rate" refers to rate given to depositors 49 yrs old & above? TQ |
Jun 10 2014, 10:00 PM
Went to BR today. BM & ABM were not around, so no one to authorise FD placement & upliftment
A few things that I became aware of: 1. At the moment, for certain BR branch, even a RM100K FD placement would not make a depositor worthy for a better rate. 2. BR staff can tell you straight in the face that their branch have run out of stock for gifts, but when you let them know that you'd like to place a six-figure amount of FD, out of the blue, they can magically find a way for a gift to make its appearance in front of you. Happened to me twice...different BR branch yo...probably their SOP...should have recorded the whole episode of my conversation with the staffs in HD video...their acting skills & facial expressions really ini maciam yo 3. magika The previous FD premature rate that you have in your possesion is no longer in use. Currently BR is using the same FD board rate for premature FD withdrawal. But didn't ask for its specific calculation if the withdrawal is done in days & not months. 4. aeiou228 Regarding one of your post about some banks giving slightly lower deposit rate than published board rate for large amount deposit, I asked BR staff the same question. According to them, it only applies to commercial banks. With BR, the larger the amount, the higher the chance to get higher rate This post has been edited by HJebat: Jun 10 2014, 10:01 PM |
Jun 11 2014, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 11 2014, 04:14 PM) Yes, exactly! When I was there, there was another guy negotiating for a free gift but they said none at all & he even asked if BR can owe him the gift but cannot. Hohoho...BR's gift trick finally revealed. I received an umbrella as well...just curious, did you deposit a 6-figure amount of FD to be eligible for the umbrella?But when I placed my FD, suddenly out came an umbrella without asking though no nego rate. |
| Change to: | 0.0572sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:46 PM |