BaRT
post Mar 12 2015, 02:02 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Mar 12 2015, 01:10 PM)
Hi all, I'm about to buy my first ever DSLR, and Nikon D750 will have the honor for that. I've researched a lot about DSLRs, but the lens part is confusing me a bit as I'm starting to learn about it. I'm about to purchase already so need your kind expertise to help me a bit about the lenses.

D750 also comes with a kit set of AF-S 24-120mm F4G ED VR lens. A friend told me to just get the body and a 50mm 1.8G for a beginner like me as it fits for all purpose, and that a prime focus lens usually produces a bit better image quality than a zoom lens. Now this kit lens retails at RM4.7k (discounted can probably get RM3.7k), but with this kit I just need to add RM2k to get it. I feel that I'll be missing a good deal if I only get the body. What is your advice? How good is this kit lens? Is the quality really as what my friend has said?

Thanks in advance. Sorry if the question seems silly.  sweat.gif
I suggest you sticks with kit lens. Very good & useful for beginner.
Yes, 50mm is good for portrait & sharp. But for beginner, you will find zoom lens is more useful.

Oneday when you expert already, you will move forward to upgrade your lens.
aiman04
post Mar 12 2015, 02:07 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 12 2015, 01:56 PM)
For the same zoom range you'll be using, f2.8 and f4's difference are 1 step higher/lower on ISO, shutter speed.
f2.8 are great on low lights.
Understood. A lot to learn about lenses. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(BaRT @ Mar 12 2015, 02:02 PM)
I suggest you sticks with kit lens. Very good & useful for beginner.
Yes, 50mm is good for portrait & sharp. But for beginner, you will find zoom lens is more useful.

Oneday when you expert already, you will move forward to upgrade your lens.
Thanks for your input! Very much appreciated. notworthy.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 12 2015, 02:09 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Mar 12 2015, 02:07 PM)
Understood. A lot to learn about lenses. thumbup.gif
Thanks for your input! Very much appreciated.  notworthy.gif
Just go to Nikon Center to test out the lense, that's the place for you to test them kaw kaw before you decide.
aiman04
post Mar 12 2015, 03:09 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 12 2015, 02:09 PM)
Just go to Nikon Center to test out the lense, that's the place for you to test them kaw kaw before you decide.
Will do. smile.gif
kennexionz
post Mar 12 2015, 03:10 PM

168 posts

Hi all, I'm about to buy my first ever DSLR, and Nikon D750 will have the honor for that. I've researched a lot about DSLRs, but the lens part is confusing me a bit as I'm starting to learn about it. I'm about to purchase already so need your kind expertise to help me a bit about the lenses.

D750 also comes with a kit set of AF-S 24-120mm F4G ED VR lens. A friend told me to just get the body and a 50mm 1.8G for a beginner like me as it fits for all purpose, and that a prime focus lens usually produces a bit better image quality than a zoom lens. Now this kit lens retails at RM4.7k (discounted can probably get RM3.7k), but with this kit I just need to add RM2k to get it. I feel that I'll be missing a good deal if I only get the body. What is your advice? How good is this kit lens? Is the quality really as what my friend has said?

My 2 cents... go for the kit! Don't worry too much about night shot as the D750 holds up pretty well in high ISO. The 24-120 comes with VR so minor shake will be nullified during handheld and slightly long shutter mode. Great general all rounder lens!

Two things to take note though.
1. It is not going to be light compared to the primes(35mm/50mm). Will take some time to get used to it.
2. The bokeh wont be as nice as the primes wide open. smile.gif

jchue73
post Mar 12 2015, 06:06 PM

2,496 posts

The kit lens is a good start and not like last time when kit lenses were mostly not so good. The 24-120mm f/4 VR is quite good for general photography.

The other question you need to ask is what type of photography would you be interested? Buying for the sake of buying just because it's a good deal does not seem wise if the lens does not suite the type of photography you're interested.

If you're into birding or wildlife, then neither the 24-120mm f/4 VR nor the 50mm f/1.8 is a good lens to have.
KTCY
post Mar 12 2015, 06:23 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

first dslr and its d750 notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 12 2015, 06:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 12 2015, 06:23 PM)
FF getting more and more affordable thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
goldfries
post Mar 12 2015, 07:30 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Thanks in advance. Sorry if the question seems silly.Ā  sweat.gif
your friend is a newbie la.

50mm is fixed focal length lens and it's limited no matter how.

the 24-120 is superb lens for versatility. image quality is good too.

Check out my gallery here https://www.flickr.com/photos/goldfries/set...57647659907534/

Images taken with 24-120 and 50mm f1.4 on a D750 - can you tell which one is taken by which lens?
Maniac
post Mar 12 2015, 11:56 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

the 24-120 F4 VR Kit is now a super value buy, 50% what can u ask for biggrin.gif

More shots with it https://www.flickr.com/photos/128731775@N03...157647576945984
aiman04
post Mar 13 2015, 08:07 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Mar 12 2015, 03:10 PM)
My 2 cents... go for the kit! Don't worry too much about night shot as the D750 holds up pretty well in high ISO. The 24-120 comes with VR so minor shake will be nullified during handheld and slightly long shutter mode. Great general all rounder lens!

Two things to take note though.
1. It is not going to be light compared to the primes(35mm/50mm). Will take some time to get used to it.
2. The bokeh wont be as nice as the primes wide open. smile.gif
Thanks, noted. smile.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 12 2015, 06:06 PM)
The kit lens is a good start and not like last time when kit lenses were mostly not so good. The 24-120mm f/4 VR is quite good for general photography.

The other question you need to ask is what type of photography would you be interested? Buying for the sake of buying just because it's a good deal does not seem wise if the lens does not suite the type of photography you're interested.

If you're into birding or wildlife, then neither the 24-120mm f/4 VR nor the 50mm f/1.8 is a good lens to have.
I will not be a dedicate photographer as I hardly have time, it will be normal use and will be bringing it around whenever I travel/vacations or for functions. I just love photography and appreciate good images.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 12 2015, 06:23 PM)
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 12 2015, 06:23 PM)
FF getting more and more affordable  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
I'm very late in the game, I figured I'll get the best I can afford now. smile.gif

aiman04
post Mar 13 2015, 08:08 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 12 2015, 07:30 PM)
your friend is a newbie la.

50mm is fixed focal length lens and it's limited no matter how.

the 24-120 is superb lens for versatility. image quality is good too.

Check out my gallery here https://www.flickr.com/photos/goldfries/set...57647659907534/

Images taken with 24-120 and 50mm f1.4 on a D750 - can you tell which one is taken by which lens?
Thanks so much! Those pictures are wonderful, though I can't tell which lens used, I guess more experience will help. smile.gif

My friend was quite seasoned in photography though, I do know he owns a D7000 and a Mamiya 70mm film camera. Maybe he was just trying to minimize my cost.

QUOTE(Maniac @ Mar 12 2015, 11:56 PM)
the 24-120 F4 VR Kit is now a super value buy, 50% what can u ask for biggrin.gif

More shots with it https://www.flickr.com/photos/128731775@N03...157647576945984
Roger that. You guys have really given strong case to get the kit now. Again my sincerest thanks to everyone! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
TSAgito666
post Mar 13 2015, 02:04 PM

11,861 posts

when sifu Kentang Emas and Maniac ask you go for kit lens, go for it. no need think whistling.gif
jchue73
post Mar 13 2015, 03:14 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Mar 13 2015, 08:07 AM)
I will not be a dedicate photographer as I hardly have time, it will be normal use and will be bringing it around whenever I travel/vacations or for functions. I just love photography and appreciate good images.
Good for you then. rclxms.gif The kit lens is indeed very sufficient for general photography from wide 24mm to medium tele 120mm with VR to boot. Don't hear many people using the excuse of a getting the FX DSLR because they appreciate good photos. Most people will take the simple route and go for PnS or Mirrorless.

I say slowly but surely you'll come back here to get more photography gear poison. laugh.gif
TSAgito666
post Mar 13 2015, 03:52 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 13 2015, 03:14 PM)
Good for you then.  rclxms.gif  The kit lens is indeed very sufficient for general photography from wide 24mm to medium tele 120mm with VR to boot. Don't hear many people using the excuse of a getting the FX DSLR because they appreciate good photos. Most people will take the simple route and go for PnS or Mirrorless.

I say slowly but surely you'll come back here to get more photography gear poison.  laugh.gif
if follow current thread / trend here, everyone sure got poisoned to get marco lens. laugh.gif brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 13 2015, 04:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 13 2015, 03:52 PM)
if follow current thread / trend here, everyone sure got poisoned to get marco lens.  laugh.gif  brows.gif
No one loves macro here except me cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
TSAgito666
post Mar 13 2015, 04:42 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 13 2015, 04:07 PM)
No one loves macro here except me cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
i love see marco but i scare of spiders unsure.gif
Maniac
post Mar 13 2015, 04:58 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

Anyway, I happen to have a friend who has an extra 24-120/VR to let go.
He bought two set of D750 kit, and will let go one of the lens.

I think if anyone is interested, can PM me la. I'll help to pass the info.

Anyway, you have two more weeks in general, to get a D750 before GST biggrin.gif
d@odao
post Mar 13 2015, 08:04 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

No one loves macro here except me cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
No! No!... I m a macro fan too!... thumbup.gif
slimfox
post Mar 14 2015, 01:03 AM

392 posts