Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.24, WE love spiders

jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 06:18 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2014, 01:11 PM)
Not neccesarily an XE-2 la haha, but mots people love the image quality of Fujifilm cameras~ And not to mention the retro design XD

And yeap, that's what I've been telling a lot of enthusiasts currently using DX machines  laugh.gif , sooner or later people will still turn to mirrorless because of the portability laugh.gif If he/she can just skip the FF part, can save a lot of money yo~

I'm sure many (including me) joined the world of FF because we were curious to see see how well a FF performs. And at the end of the day, I guess most will learn that its really the skills that matters. And its not like mirrorless cameras are bad haha, they offer great performance for the portability- a balanced machine that many are willing to sacrifice ergonomics/ruggedness for~

This is just my opinion la haha, though I think its logical hmm.gif
Having said that, I'm still keeping my D800 for my macro shots, definitely will need the weather sealing and ruggedness when I enter the forests  laugh.gif
Are you sure you're sacrificing just ergonomics/ruggedness? What about quality?

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 4 2014, 01:51 PM)
after go to big n heavy camera...then find out go travel is killing... flex.gif
and then start to look for something small...
After that, you'd start going back to full frame. tongue.gif

For me, a small body plus quality would be (and should be) nothing short of something like the Sony's A7R or the fixed RX1R.

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Apr 7 2014, 02:55 PM)
Tried d, no back or front focus issues, just happens everytime I refocuses my shots.

Will try to use 3d tracking or just manually set my focus points the next time I shoot people again
Try set focus manually. Depending on how it was set, 3D tracking can jump from one focus point to another focus point depending.

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Apr 9 2014, 08:46 PM)
I have dropped my idea to buy Sigma 35mm F1.4 A.
Sticking with general zoom lens would be much more convenient, most of the time just picture of mechanical keyboard stuff.

Congrats. Can never go wrong with the Nikon 24-70. Staple diet lens. biggrin.gif

jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 09:01 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Apr 10 2014, 07:32 AM)
Agreed biggrin.gif
But have a little problem here, since it is 2nd hand...the zoom ring is a bit stiff especially from 35mm to 24mm.
It happens when lens facing towards, or upwards because the barrel is coming out.
Still have 3 month warranty, do Nikon service center even charge it?
There's slight friction on mine too from 50 to 70 range. You can give it a go and have Nikon check it. There's a fee if I'm not wrong. Mine has no more warranty left and Nikon said I manhandled my lens when I got it checked. sweat.gif

They suggested to change the whole barrel which cost something like 2 to 3k. rclxub.gif

I left it as is because there's actually nothing wrong with focus accuracy.
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 11:59 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2014, 09:40 AM)
Quality is definitely lower laugh.gif But surely a worthy tradeoff haha~ Sacrifice quality of IQ but increase quality of trips/ outings haha  laugh.gif
Yes, I would agree to trade off quality for some mobility if it was cheap but since a new system will cost you another price of a D800, I don't see the logic. sweat.gif
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 12:08 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2014, 12:01 PM)
Got so expensive meh? haha  laugh.gif
Anyways, I guess different people have different priorities  icon_rolleyes.gif
I guess it depends on what you're buying but generally how much would a reasonable Fuji system cost?
jchue73
post Apr 18 2014, 02:22 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(blu3hamm3r @ Apr 17 2014, 03:27 PM)
Any one know where to service Tamron lens? I got one Nikon mount tamron 17-50f2.8 having some issue. When i set to long expose, i found some white dot in my picture, it like light reflection. How to solve it? Any one experience the same issue b4? At 1st i tot is my camera sensor dirt mark, but after do sensor cleaning, my photo still have the white dot. After i change to other lens, no white dot appear, then only i realize is lens problem.
Can you show sample? Do you use a UV filter in front of lens when doing this long exposure shot?

QUOTE(blu3hamm3r @ Apr 18 2014, 02:11 PM)
I know what u mean and i agree with u too. But nowaday most of the people use to view the FB, twitter or QQ thru hp. More of the time, photo sharing and transfer thru we chat, whatsapp and kakaotalk thru hp too. Not like last time, we view photo thru pc. The world had change brother, smart phone or tablet will be the most frequent utility use to view picture by ppl. In some event, suing hp to take photo is much more convenient compare to DSLR...like in the book shop, some candid shoot...... blush.gif
That's true.

But once you need the photo for printing bigger than 4R or do some cropping, you'd notice the difference. blush.gif
jchue73
post Apr 22 2014, 05:05 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 22 2014, 03:06 PM)
Well, all macro shots you see out there are cropped kao kao one haha.
Otherwise the DoF will be too shallow if you go too near nod.gif

Yes, using extension tubes will greatly decrease the focal point of a lens. With a normal 50mm lens and 3 extension tubes attached, you will need to get to ~4cm to get in focus  rclxub.gif

Speaking of the 50mm lens... I think I might let go of my 50mm F1.8g later lol, underutilized  tongue.gif
Have you tried focus stacking?

Perhaps not so ideal if subject moves.
jchue73
post Apr 23 2014, 06:13 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 23 2014, 08:47 AM)
yups..is a arca plate but then special for D600 body only. It has a curve on the edge to fit the camera body nicely so that it wont slip.
my ori plate come together with tripod one, when i put the camera in vertical then the body will slightly slip down. i need to lock it very super tight then only it able to hold it.
You got an arca swiss ballhead?

I use a D800 plate from the same Sunwayfoto company as the one you have. These China made ones are good workmanship and relatively cheaper than the ones from US. Was tempted to get their L plate but it was too much money seeing that I don't use it often. It add a little bulk too.

Besides usage on the tripod, I use a small Sunwayfoto arca clamp attached to my ciplak Black Rapid strap to grip the arca clamp on the bottom of the camera.
jchue73
post Apr 26 2014, 04:45 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 26 2014, 08:14 AM)
Pretty good IQ, the above shot I've shown is at f/1.4! ISO6400 tongue.gif
Which is more noisy at same resolution? D800 or the Fuji?
jchue73
post Apr 28 2014, 07:27 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 28 2014, 12:33 PM)
Macro shots for today  thumbup.gif

Shots taken with 105mm F2.8 with ETx2; flash fired ~1/13

user posted imageAsian Bush Cricket (Nisitrus sp.) by PF T.J., on Flickr

user posted imageTelamonia sp. 1 ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

user posted imageTiger beetle by PF T.J., on Flickr

user posted imageMoth-like Planthopper and nymph by PF T.J., on Flickr
Love what you did with the lighting. Very subtle. rclxms.gif

You using any flash bounce or light box?

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Apr 28 2014, 01:11 PM)
Nope. Dilemma choosing UWA now. Got review from friend about Sigma 10-20mm quite good too.  drool.gif

Lolz. Still not as nice as yours and other sifus la.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I still have my Sigma 10-20mm. Was using it a lot on my DX bodies. Yeah, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 also.

The Sigma 10-20mm is not bad. Especially when stopped down. Just don't shoot people at the edge. It applies to all ultra wides.

You can also use the Sigma 10-20mm on FX. If I'm not wrong, it's only usable from 17mm onwards without the obvious vignette.
jchue73
post Apr 29 2014, 03:50 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Apr 28 2014, 09:44 PM)
Do you use Tokina 11-16 or Tokina 12-24 before? If compare to Sigma? Which one more sharper and nice?  hmm.gif
Back then, it was either the Tokina 12-24mm, the Sigma 10-20mm or the expensive Nikon 12-24mm. After reading pros and cons, went for the Sigma for the extra 10mm and faster HSM motor.
jchue73
post May 2 2014, 03:52 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Apr 29 2014, 09:27 AM)
So Sigma can be consider too beside than the Tokina or Nikon?
Try and do a search. A few years back, the choice was about equal in between the Tokina and Sigma. I believe picture quality and sharpness at wide open goes to Tokina but at f/8 apertures, everything becomes the same. smile.gif

So for me, the 10mm and faster HSM motor was the deciding factor.

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 30 2014, 12:31 AM)
after very long time...only able to continue the "dot-tune" for all my prime lens.

the adjustment seem very huge

nikon 50mm f1.8g --> -6
nikon 85mm f1.8g --> -10
tamron sp90 f2.8   --> +18

testing the result using newspaper and it seem working fine.
Before you perform this test, did you disable AF engagement for shutter half-press? Set the "AF Activation" option to "AF-ON only". For D600 it's option f4 if not wrong and since no dedicated button on D600 (and D7000) for AF-On, use the AE-L/AF-L button as the AF-ON button.

Also, for the test to be accurate, you need to make sure that your camera sensor is parallel to the newspaper or any intended object and also on the same plane.

For that you need something like LensAlign to correctly place the target and make the test more meaningful as you can manually set and determine the focal plane of the target to be parallel to the camera sensor plane.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2014, 07:56 AM)
Both different types of lens, do you need the 200mm reach? If yes then its the 70200. If not you just want the big aperture and 85mm range is ok then go for the prime.
200mm can also have big aperture. At f/2.0 lah. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Apr 30 2014, 05:52 PM)
Thinking of adding another lens for my D90.Standard zoom f/2.8

Does the 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED seem a good choice or do I have to wait for people to scream 24-70mm f/2.8 (Which I can use for FX if I so desire to jump) at my face again?
Difficult question. But you can opt to buy the 17-55mm f/2.8 Nikon at 2nd hand prices and still sell them for a reasonable price should you decide to upgrade later on. Or you can get 3rd party lenses and sell later at lower prices should you decide to upgrade later.

The Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8 is beautiful lens. It's a lot of money but I don't think it suites well on the DX crop. Yeah some say ok but to me, it's not wide enough. If you have wider lenses, then you can got for it but if you don't have wider lenses, then save the money and look elsewhere. It's not a limited edition lens. When you want to buy it later after upgrading to FX, it will always be available.

This post has been edited by jchue73: May 2 2014, 04:00 PM
jchue73
post May 2 2014, 09:44 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 2 2014, 06:03 PM)
hmm.gif

paiseh for asking, but why the 17-55 so crazily expensive arh? no IS no VR or whatever. canon equivalent is like 500-1k cheaper with IS.
Because got gold ring mah. biggrin.gif shakehead.gif

To date, it's the only pro f/2.8 DX lens to come out if I'm not mistaken. Other pro lenses made for FX.

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ May 2 2014, 06:20 PM)
Need to sell organ baru can buy icon_rolleyes.gif
People can still survive with one kidney. nod.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 2 2014, 07:59 PM)
Back and bank breaker, the 200mm f/2 I mean tongue.gif
sweat.gif

Pics taken with it is super beautiful. icon_question.gif
jchue73
post May 7 2014, 07:50 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 5 2014, 12:53 PM)
Some different macro shots  laugh.gif

Beautiful. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 5 2014, 05:06 PM)
Which is why it's much more worth to get a used one, around 3K or slightly more. Buying a new one, you will loose a lot when you sell, but then buying a used one, there is always risk involved.
Besides getting used and then re-sell, you don't actually loose much especially if you managed to find a very good price unit...
Yup. nod.gif

QUOTE(QiAnG @ May 6 2014, 08:33 PM)
Will be going kl and penang, still thinking want extend my trip bo, planning to visit langkawi, ipoh, melaka as well. lol. sekinchan looks pretty tooooo  rclxm9.gif
Today's sunset. lack of place to shoot le in my hometown.

Great shot. Looks very peaceful. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post May 15 2014, 05:29 AM

2,496 posts

Some Nikon news;

New D800 / D800E Version 1.1 firmware
New 400mm f/2.8 with Fluorine elements
New TC-14E III with Fluorine coating
jchue73
post Jun 9 2014, 01:32 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Jun 5 2014, 08:21 PM)
I'm planning to upgrade to a lens with f1.4 aperture in the future and combo with a full frame dslr, can this freeze motion in the above situation without raising ISO or using flash?
Yes you can but because children usually have very erratic movements (movements that you cannot predict) it's pointless when the subject will not be in focus. I don't know of any large aperture lenses other than the 200mm f/2.0 that can do blinding speed focus. The f/1.4 lenses are all slow even though with AF-S motor.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 5 2014, 08:47 PM)
Nope haha, Full Frame cameras are awesome, but not THAT awesome  laugh.gif
Of course, it depends very much on the dimmest of your surrondings, but usually indoors you still need to go up to ISO3200 for you to get some decent, non-blurry shots I think hmm.gif
F1.4 is gooding, but you have to deal with shallow DOF  nod.gif
Yeah, shallow DoF too.

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jun 8 2014, 12:28 AM)
how much you guys think I can sell my 17-55 ?
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 8 2014, 01:32 PM)
rm2.5-2.8k.
hmm.gif Depending on condition, a relatively decent one can go somewhere between 3 to 3.5k.

Brand new is 5k.
jchue73
post Jun 9 2014, 01:08 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jun 9 2014, 07:23 AM)
mine is pretty well used. hahaha I thought I would be using till it disintegrated. But still very good workhorse. the lure of mirrorless is too tempting
Ok. Is there an equivalent 17-55 range on DX for mirrorless?

One part is the lens and the other equation is the sensor.

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Jun 9 2014, 08:15 AM)
Actually why people are interested in mirrorless nowadays? Good lens are huge and heavy anyway.  rclxub.gif
Yup. Cannot challenge the law of physics. More glass, more light but that means heavier.

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jun 9 2014, 11:29 AM)
although it look huge, the overall weight is still very less compare to the dslr  biggrin.gif
Very unbalanced setup. Besides, picture quality and speed wise is still behind DSLRs even though they are catching up.
jchue73
post Jun 10 2014, 01:16 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 10 2014, 07:18 AM)
nah, not with current market.
i've seen quite a few on PM remain unsold at rm3.1k even in good condition.
going on ftz also, see some sell around rm2.8k.
I guess nowadays not many into DX lenses and some more 3rd party lenses are cheaper with pretty decent performance too.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 10 2014, 07:22 AM)
for m43, pana 12-35/2.8, oly 14-40/2.8.
closest in terms of DoF is a 4/3 oly 14-35/2.0.
Good find on the Oly 14-35mm f/2.0. But did you check the price and size / weight of that thing?

My 14-24mm f/2.8 is cheaper and about the same weight as the Oly 14-35mm f/2.0. So you want to put this on a small body? sweat.gif

The thing is a lot of people jump into something without really checking out what they are getting into. Yeah, generally weight is lighter and size is smaller but you sacrifice quality which many don't see. If when you want to get back the quality and equivalent performance as your former DSLR, you're screwed with the weight and size of the lens and burns a hole in the pocket on the way.

BTW, the Oly 14-35mm f/2.0 equivalent in 35mm FX is 28-70mm while the 17-55mm f/2.8 equivalent in 35mm FX is 25.5-82.5mm. The Nikon is still wider and longer. hmm.gif
jchue73
post Aug 1 2014, 11:32 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 1 2014, 12:07 AM)
hw much was it when u bought? how's it? i heard there anti-glare made the colours diffuse and less sharp? and is there HDMI cable?

btw, d800 user, time to get UHD screen. http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/product...k=baynoteSearch
The 32" monitor you linked can get a D810 already. sweat.gif

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Aug 1 2014, 12:12 AM)
step up abit U2414H, better version of u2414m, borderless frame(good for multiple monitor) brows.gif
rm800 ish
wub.gif
No such model as U2414M. I think you meant U2412M.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 1 2014, 07:39 AM)
Well I guess, its acceptable for me at least. You can't have both of the world with anti glare and sharpness la IMO. No it doesn't have HDMI cable, has display port I think, but hey I'm still using DVI hahaha!
Might be a "downgrade" that unit is 1920x1080 vs. 1920x1200 of U2412M, slightly more vertical space tongue.gif
Yeah, more vertical space. 16:10 monitors are a dying breed nowadays.

But for photographers, most important besides size (and price) is to look at the colour gamut. Both U2414H and U2412M seem to have similar colour gamut.

I also like the fact that the U2414H has USB 3 and that it has input / output display port so that you can daisy chain monitors with a single connection to your PC/notebook with display port. Ideal for multiple monitor environment.

Anyway, if you're looking at 24" 16:10 monitors, they still sell U2413 with PremierColor.
jchue73
post Aug 8 2014, 08:38 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ragnarokB2 @ Aug 8 2014, 12:25 PM)
Hello everyone.
Does anyone has a list of AF lens without integrated motor, like AF-D?
Own a D90 and the market is filled with wallet-killing AF-S  cry.gif
Knock your socks off;

Primes
AF-D 14mm f/2.8
AF-D 16mm f/2.8 fisheye
AF-D 18mm f/2.8
AF-D 20mm f/2.8
AF-D 24mm f/2.8
AF-D 28mm f/2.8
AF-D 35mm f/2.0
AF-D 50mm f/1.4
AF-D 50mm f/1.8
AF-D 60mm f/2.8 Micro
AF-D 85mm f/1.4
AF-D 85mm f/1.8
AF-D 105mm f/2.8 Micro
AF-D 105mm f/2.0 DC Portrait
AF-D 135mm f/2.0 DC Portrait
AF-D 180mm f/2.8
AF-D 200mm f/4 Micro
AF-D 300mm f/2.8
AF-I 400mm f/2.8
AF-I 500mm f/4
AF-I 600mm f/4

For zooms, I'm only gonna list f/2.8 ones;

Zooms
AF-D 20-35mm f/2.8
AF-D 35-70mm f/2.8
AF-D 80-200mm f/2.8

QUOTE(ragnarokB2 @ Aug 8 2014, 03:17 PM)
Why need 2 built in motors when only 1 motors needed for autofocus lol.
My main concern in lenses are affordability,  sharpness later
Nikon Pro bodies have built-in screw driver type motor to AF on motorless AF-D lenses.

Once you put on AF-S type lenses, those Nikon Pro bodies will just use the built-in AF-S motor on these lenses to AF.

AF-D lenses are still quite ok if you put them on older sensors like the D90. But you can see that it has reached it's limit once you put on FX sensor like the D800/D800E which case the newer AF-S lenses have better micro resolving capability.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 8 2014, 06:14 PM)
they are not cheap lol...

here can help you to read lens got built in motor or not for nikkor lens  laugh.gif
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/de...kkor-lens-terms

i think any lens with AF word is auto focus, AF-S is with the silent wave motor

anyway, if you want to find cheaper lens because of no-auto focus motor, giving it up. it is hard to find lol... save more money and get a 2nd hand AFS motor lens is way easier and time saving lol. not to mention only few lens that area not AFS and good enough to resell in market?

anyway it is better you list down your requirement to ask sifu here to narrow down searching lens.  wink.gif
Errr... ragnarokB2 asked for A and you give Z. sweat.gif
jchue73
post Aug 9 2014, 01:07 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 9 2014, 12:25 AM)
eh i thought AFD (some) will be more expensive because vintage lens?  unsure.gif

i duno i own 1 lens only  unsure.gif  (noob user here)
Nope, I think you confuse Manual Focus (MF) Nikkors like the NOCT.

Most AF-D lenses are affordable and still works excellent on older sensors that are not demanding.

Actually there's one AF-D lens that I missed which is super expensive and super illusive.

AF-D 28mm f/1.4

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 9 2014, 12:29 AM)
ehh you already explain why AFS is better than AFD. plus in previous post he said can't afford a motorized lens because of expensive ?
i duno he really mean that or what but i think many people here will agree getting G version is better than D version in general right? for best bang of the buck for all over performance of the lens.

so i better comment like "give it up, save more money, lesser hassle to find D version lens because you want save money, how about saving more money a bit then get a better value lens and time saving in case resell the lens in future"?  unsure.gif
I'm not disagreeing with anybody. Just that ragnarokB2 had to ask the question twice while his question and intention was very clear already.

He just wants the freaking AF-D lens list.

Anyway to reply your opinion about AF-D vs AF-S lenses, yes there's pros and cons. AF-D lenses are very reasonable priced gems and on old sensor like on the D90, the results are still fantastic. On the other hand if money is no issue, got for the best i.e. AF-S lenses. Not because of the built-in motor but more because the newer AF-S lenses spot improvements in additional nano coatings and add Super ED glass elements.

For the record, I still keep 5 of the AF-D primes and all the f/2.8 AF-D zooms I listed.

0.0280sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:45 AM