125 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club Ya'll! v2

unfazedgamer
post Oct 16 2007, 06:43 PM

217 posts

I recently purchased a 1ft tank from a LFS because I needed one for my guppy fries. But then as I walked out the LFS, I saw a betta which was sick and like, almost dead in a bottle lol. Then i kesian it, then I bought it back home lol. The shopkeeper say also got say, "Aiya.. never mind la.. cheap cheap stock die also never mind" lol.
But this LFS is the only consider near my house la, so I normally terpaksa get my supplies from this shop. So I brought the fish home, used the new tank and set it up with my established hang-on-back filter, I set it on the lowest current possible la. The betta has ich, and a bad case of fin rot (Left almost no tail) lol. So this is the 2nd night I got it d. He seems to be better looking la, I put it a ketapang leaf and some Japanese yellow powder. As for the water conditioner, I used TetraAqua Aquasafe la.
He's still moving lazily on the bottom of the tank. I was wondering is there anything else I can do for him to get better? By the way, he's just some rojak betta veil-tail with red wash somemore haha.. But i kesian so i buy la... Anything else I can do for the poor thing? Sorry for the long post lol. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
inv
post Oct 17 2007, 08:32 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

for fin rot, best to use melafix. a bottle of that will cost u about rm30+ but it will last you a long time. u can also use it for your guppy too. add some salt too.
unfazedgamer
post Oct 17 2007, 10:38 AM

217 posts

Melafix has been purchased and aquarium salt has been added. I didn't get the cheapo rock salt lol. I hope that was what u meant by adding some salt. He's still pretty inactive but he ate about 2 pellets of Hikari Betta Bio-Gold. I'm going to introduce him to freeze dried blood worms to see how he takes it. Tell me if I'm doing anything wrong.
ynneb25
post Oct 17 2007, 03:12 PM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

another remedy for finrot = cut the infected part of the tail brows.gif (i m serious)
melafix is fine(one of the most effective medicine for finrot)...
feeding bloodworms is fine...just have to make sure that the water condition is of good condition...meaning all uneaten food is siphoned out daily and water is changed every 2 days if possible. also make sure you use a good/sufficient anti-chlorine...don't overdose/underdose
pakutekan
post Oct 18 2007, 05:32 AM

161 posts

i wondering.... at aqua stores we can choose CT..HMPK..HM n wat so ever laa...
but i only found HMPK female i think because the tail is short... where i can get HM or CT female?? before this i breed HM male wit HMPK female.. n my fry only hav short tail..thier age now 4month++.. n i think all female because they did't fight or flare ever...
inv
post Oct 18 2007, 08:47 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

HM x HMPK should AT LEAST yield you 50% HM. All female spawn is not unheard of. Usually, fights seldom occur in a community tank with abundance of food, and especially when they have been brought up together.

as for female CT and HM, they won't sell it to you as they don't have stock. you gotta get these from breeders and a good one doesn't come cheap.
ivanlim
post Oct 18 2007, 02:49 PM

47 posts

FYI, breeders normally don't sell their females cheap.
in fact, most times females cost more than the male.
add to the fact that females pass down more genes to the spawn (ie. fish will take on more of mothers good/bad genes), getting a good one is paramount if you want to breed bettas.

ynneb25
post Oct 18 2007, 04:40 PM

708 posts

wutever it is...if u want to start breeding bettas....you must get "quality" male and female...no point wasting your time breeding inferior quality...in the end oso come out as "rojak"

Added on October 18, 2007, 4:42 pmwutever it is...if u want to start breeding bettas....you must get "quality" male and female...no point wasting your time breeding inferior quality...in the end oso come out as "rojak"

This post has been edited by ynneb25: Oct 18 2007, 04:42 PM
unfazedgamer
post Oct 19 2007, 04:06 PM

217 posts

The betta is more active now lol. Eating like a normal betta would. 30% percent water change every 3 days. And the melafix is doing it's job. Hehe... cost me 26 bucks lol. Anyways, will update about the fishes condition regularly. Thanks! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
inv
post Oct 19 2007, 04:20 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

don't use days as a gauge to change water. water change should be done more frequent on smaller jars than bigger tanks.
zoejehuty
post Oct 19 2007, 05:01 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

yaya, for smaller tank, need to change the water frequently compare to bigger tank.
i jus use small tank only, so basically i jus change the water every 4 or 5 days.
unfazedgamer
post Oct 19 2007, 11:51 PM

217 posts

I am using a 1ft tank with a hang-on-back filter set on the lowest possible current. I think 3 days is a good time? Or should I do it more frequently? hmm.gif hmm.gif
ynneb25
post Oct 20 2007, 09:12 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(unfazedgamer @ Oct 19 2007, 11:51 PM)
I am using a 1ft tank with a hang-on-back filter set on the lowest possible current. I think 3 days is a good time? Or should I do it more frequently? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
i seriously do not think that the hang-on-back filter is necessary as bettas do not like water currents...if you insist on using the filter then 3 days should be fine...just gotta make sure that the betta faeces and uneaten food is cleared up
haur
post Oct 24 2007, 06:02 PM

99 posts

To all forum members,

Penang will be organizing a Betta Charity Competition on the 8th of December 2007. The funds collected will be donated to the Cancerlink Penang (PPM/PG/697/97-2).
For more inquiries please PM me or email us at penangbettaclub@yahoo.com. Everyone is welcome to join the charity competition.

OK, I've uploaded the registration form up in Mediafire. Please edit the particulars needed such as ur personal particulars, the no. of fish you are competing and the class/category of the fish. Do be informed that the closing date for registration is 2 weeks before the show date. Please send the attachment back to penangbettaclub@yahoo.com. The colour class are inside the registration form. Thank you.

KW Betta Charity Entry Form 2007 - Final.xls
Michael J.
post Nov 1 2007, 03:54 PM

596 posts

Whooosh! So long since last check this section man... So many posts de lei... Heheh...

Interesting... Will take note of the Penang showcase...
wolfseed
post Nov 1 2007, 05:57 PM

56 posts

Anyone know shops in KL which carries some nice betta? Been looking around all i see is half dead fish... sad.gif
inv
post Nov 1 2007, 09:52 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

There's a "Betta Sunday" this weekend, 4th of November in Jinjang Food court. There will be a lot of fish for display and sale this time around, please feel free to drop by. The event starts and ends from 10.30am to 2.00pm. If u dunno the way, let me know.
Angel86
post Nov 1 2007, 09:54 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(wolfseed @ Nov 1 2007, 05:57 PM)
Anyone know shops in KL which carries some nice betta? Been looking around all i see is half dead fish...  sad.gif
I think you can find some nice ones at jalan pasar lo.

yewlin
post Nov 1 2007, 11:22 PM

12-06 is my new working days :)
2,084 posts

QUOTE(wolfseed @ Nov 1 2007, 05:57 PM)
Anyone know shops in KL which carries some nice betta? Been looking around all i see is half dead fish...  sad.gif
may i know your budget on the betta? you are looking for HM? CT? or HMPK? blush.gif
wolfseed
post Nov 2 2007, 10:28 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Nov 1 2007, 11:22 PM)
may i know your budget on the betta? you are looking for HM? CT? or HMPK? blush.gif
I'm looking for HM or HMPK, budget i'm not very sure becuz last few fish i have is ranged from RM1.50 and RM3, but that was like 15 yrs ago tongue.gif
I'm moving into new condo and i tot i should put some fish to make it looks alive. Will plan to have more than 1 tank.

Jalan Pasar, i rarely see them have a nice HM or HMPK .. many come with spoiled fins sad.gif but its been sometime i did not drop by. tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:00 AM