QUOTE(alkin @ Aug 15 2007, 06:19 PM)
yewlin, you need to tell the newbies and frens that if you give FOC bettas, they might not be good ones since the fish is not valuable. Bettas are actually not valuable even a ringgit. Its the maintenance and hardwork to keep the fish in shape that makes it worthy. The market is there Yewlin......you need to find it. God help those who helped themselves! If the customer says that he can get the RED HM at RM6 a piece, let him get it from the LFS, no point arguing with them. This kind of customers are brainless freaks talking all bullshit. There is no such thing like LFS's bettas can be better quality than hobbyist's betta. U just tell them that LFS bettas are rojak fish, hobbyist's bettas are pure quality fish. There is no point for you to quit if the price drops, unless you have some other thing to settle. For hardcore hobbyist, if the price drops to RM10/ HM or even how busy your schedule is, there is still time to change water and feed our fish to continue the hobby. I've sacrifice a lot of things and I've been changing water late at night 9-11pm lately just for the sake of the hobby! Do reconsider your decision. 
well said, alkin.the hobby cannot afford to lose you lah yew lin.
anyway, just a story about LFS, to make you happier.
I went to the small stall in a shopping mall.
I asked him what fish is this (I knew what it was) and he told me it's a halfmoon.
I said, 'wah! halfmoon ar? can see him 'open up' (flare lah. didn't want to appear to know about bettas). I heard halfmoon very rare lah. must be expensive. How much ar?'
He said 'RM60'
Then I said, 'Eh, this is not a halfmoon lah. It's a super delta only. Where got so expensive? Some more, got red wash.'
Then he knew I know about bettas.
His explanation was, 'oh. you're right. but most customers don't know about other types of betta. So I tell them it's halfmoon lah'
Imagine, people like that, irresponsible sellers.
So in your case, yewlin, maybe the LFS showed him a SD and he thought it was a halfmoon.
Aug 22 2007, 02:23 PM

0.0288sec