Android TV Box

ekestima
post May 27 2016, 12:07 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 27 2016, 11:07 AM)
even among the "best" boxes, there are differences, incl price.

your q10ii is about the same as my q5ii but with a hdd slot.

the hardware is reliable, will last u for some time.

but 2/8gb is limited in memory - can't do some apps well e.g. popcorntime and kodi/quasar.

that's where 2/16gb comes in.
HW wise is reliable. Juz the memory. 2/8gb is limited.
That's y I'm asking ard if can install apps onto sd card…
AVFAN
post May 27 2016, 01:45 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ May 27 2016, 12:07 PM)
HW wise is reliable. Juz the memory. 2/8gb is limited.
That's y I'm asking ard if can install apps onto sd card…
if u know how, think can remount the new sd card to serve as default to replace one one inside.

if not, it will be just another ext drive like via usb.

details, u need to get expert help! biggrin.gif
ekestima
post May 27 2016, 02:42 PM

930 posts

Yalo, I wish to mount sd card as part of memory, to increase apps installation.

Saw Mibox oso not bad. But why settle for another 2g/8g? Only processor faster nia
PowerGadget
post May 27 2016, 09:59 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 26 2016, 07:26 PM)
sony w800c is fairly new, comes with androidtv 5.0 lollipop - that's new too.

what's not good with it?
the "top" boxes i can think of at this time are:

nvidia shield
minix u1
himedia q10/q5 pro

google, u will find them.
hard to compare direct with htpc - op sys, most apps are different.
Thanks for your reply bro..

Don't know why. I felt like Sony w800C Android Interface kinda laggy and sometime will stucks. bug here and there sad.gif

I wonder Minix U1 would have same problem as above?

I had googled and think that U1 should be sufficient to me. More over, the Nvidia Shield is quite pricey sad.gif
QUOTE(voncrane @ May 26 2016, 09:10 PM)
There's no direct comparison between 2 completely different OSes. That's like asking what's the difference between OsX and Windows or Linux.. The difference is the "user". The Minix Neo U1 is a decent box. Any higher (price) and you might as well get the Nvidia Shield TV box or an Intel NUC. You could also check out the cheaper Acer Desktop Revo One.
Thanks for your reply bro

I am okay with any platform as long as it is stable.

So in your opinion,which one would you pick for the best bang for buck?

voncrane
post May 27 2016, 10:31 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ May 27 2016, 02:42 PM)
Yalo, I wish to mount sd card as part of memory, to increase apps installation.

Saw Mibox oso not bad. But why settle for another 2g/8g? Only processor faster nia
Cheap no good.. Good no cheap.

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ May 27 2016, 09:59 PM)
Thanks for your reply bro..

Don't know why. I felt like Sony w800C Android Interface kinda laggy and sometime will stucks. bug here and there sad.gif

I wonder Minix U1 would have same problem as above?

I had googled and think that U1 should be sufficient to me. More over, the Nvidia Shield is quite pricey sad.gif

Thanks for your reply bro

I am okay with any platform as long as it is stable.

So in your opinion,which one would you pick for the best bang for buck?
You already know the answer.. nod.gif
AVFAN
post May 27 2016, 10:46 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ May 27 2016, 09:59 PM)
i asked the question becos i have a sharp 4k tv which has android inside which i am very happy with since it does everything i expect it to.

i have 2 other android boxes.

sony and philips are said to have the same google's androidtv platform as sharp but i won't know until i try them.

tv makers don't provide much info about the android inside, need to go in to see what's it's made of.

it is possible there are differences for the android inside due to models, age, chipset used, etc.

or maybe u missed certain things about the tv android?

if u can tell me the android version, memory size, if u changed network settings, apps u installed yourself, if u have kodi in there, doing cleanup, etc.., maybe i can comment a bit more.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 27 2016, 10:53 PM
ekestima
post May 28 2016, 08:54 AM

930 posts

How to do clean up ? Noobie here… it's been long time since I clean up.
It shows 4++ mb misc files. I thing thise should be junk file which eats up my space.
voncrane
post May 28 2016, 09:12 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ May 28 2016, 08:54 AM)
How to do clean up ? Noobie here… it's been long time since I clean up.
It shows 4++ mb misc files. I thing thise should be junk file which eats up my space.
You can manually clear apps' cache from within the settings - - app manager... Or try using an app like All-In-One Toolbox (Cleaner).
ekestima
post May 28 2016, 10:19 AM

930 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 28 2016, 09:12 AM)
You can manually clear apps' cache from within the settings - - app manager... Or try using an app like All-In-One Toolbox (Cleaner).
Have to dl the apps fr play store later.
komandermaut
post May 28 2016, 11:29 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ May 28 2016, 10:19 AM)
Im using cache cleaner pro to automatically clear the cache. Put the settings to clear cache every time you exit an app or start the box
AVFAN
post May 28 2016, 11:30 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ May 28 2016, 10:19 AM)
there are several free apps for cleaning. i use clean master.

but... some files incl duplicate apps will be removed only if u do it manually from recycle bin.

and in kodi, there may be huge junk files sitting there due to migration, copy and paste, your own mistakes, etc.

these are not caches and will sit in recycle bin until u remove them.

need to use es file explorer, go inside kodi to clean them out.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 28 2016, 12:13 PM
Kitz87
post May 30 2016, 12:09 AM

30 posts

Hi guys. Just bought a TVBox from IT Fair Mid Valley today, called OTTV T95M. Did all the testing there and everything's fine, but somehow i can't view a thing when i connected to my WIFI at home. I can't even browse too.

And then i thought, maybe is the new TP-Link router i just installed.. and things just got a bit better when i changed back to the router from TM.

Wonder any of you guys experienced this b4? Any idea how to fix this? :/
AVFAN
post May 30 2016, 01:33 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Kitz87 @ May 30 2016, 12:09 AM)
Hi guys. Just bought a TVBox from IT Fair Mid Valley today, called OTTV T95M. Did all the testing there and everything's fine, but somehow i can't view a thing when i connected to my WIFI at home. I can't even browse too.

And then i thought, maybe is the new TP-Link router i just installed.. and things just got a bit better when i changed back to the router from TM.

Wonder any of you guys experienced this b4? Any idea how to fix this? :/
that is becos the device gateway is set to 192.168.0.1 - for tm routers.

for yr yr router, u need to change to 192.168.1.1

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 30 2016, 10:35 AM
Kitz87
post May 30 2016, 11:25 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 30 2016, 01:33 AM)
that is becos the device gateway is set to 192.168.0.1 - for tm routers.

for yr yr router, u need to change to 192.168.1.1
Hi dude, tried the TVBox this morning and everything's okay dy. Not sure why.. haha. Could be the box download or update some stuff for initial set up.
Nevertheless, thanks for your response smile.gif
2die4
post May 30 2016, 04:01 PM

202 posts

hi... 1 thing to ask...
im using m8s... is it normal if switch off plug point will reset the box date & time...

this is my second time need to change date & time once i switch off power socket.

voncrane
post May 30 2016, 04:20 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(2die4 @ May 30 2016, 04:01 PM)
hi... 1 thing to ask...
im using m8s... is it normal if switch off plug point will reset the box date & time...

this is my second time need to change date & time once i switch off power socket.
That's not normal behavior.. At the very least, if its unable to maintain accurate time while powered off, at boot up, it should sync it's time over the Internet.
Enzo1211
post May 30 2016, 06:52 PM

15 posts

Any minix box seller to recommend?
I want to replace my mibox
AVFAN
post May 30 2016, 07:03 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Enzo1211 @ May 30 2016, 06:52 PM)
Any minix box seller to recommend?
I want to replace my mibox
hopefully only users answer u!

some sellers may spam! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 30 2016, 07:11 PM
leongsem
post May 30 2016, 09:43 PM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 30 2016, 04:20 PM)
That's not normal behavior.. At the very least, if its unable to maintain accurate time while powered off, at boot up, it should sync it's time over the Internet.
bro, need your help on my minix neo 7

after i flash with 250, my iptv hdtv all crash

i try to flash again but still same

do you face this issue b4?

tq
shirley_andy
post May 30 2016, 11:25 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

Anyone knows which Android TV Box have browser that can access and play streaming website? Kodi too complicated for my old man so I need one that can browse to streaming website and stream from there like how I stream on internet browser via PC.

248 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:12 AM