Android TV Box

komandermaut
post Aug 3 2015, 10:45 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 1 2015, 11:01 PM)
To all who are interested in performance feedback of the Minix Neo X8-H Plus, feel free to drop by here and ask. Updated to latest firmware (Clean install). So far so good, setting up Kodi, apps etc. Fast, smooth and responsive UI. Tvapp.so doesn't work on it though, apparently the developer blocked access from popular TV boxes (works on my Nexus tablet). I'm working on a work around for that. Latest Kodi works effortlessly on it and able to pass through all sounds via spdif cable to the HT, like AC3, DD, DTS, DTS-HD & DTS-HD MA. Files with 7.1 DTS-HD/DTS-HD MA plays but audio gets down-mixed to 5.1. No proper receiver to confirm the down-mixing, but other users from the official forum say so. Possible future fixes in the works. Loving the CEC feature on it, less remotes on the table for control.
Confirmed apps working so far.
*Hypptv Everywhere (Tablet version)
*Showbox
*Mobdro
*Popcorn Time
*Movie HD
*iFlix.
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
bro,
im looking for an android box currently, to choose either himedia q16 or minix neo x8 series. do u try hdtv or myiptv apk whether it works or not? and whats the interface language?
komandermaut
post Aug 3 2015, 12:19 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 3 2015, 11:54 AM)
There are multiple languages supported, but English comes as default. I've never used any Himedia boxes before and so can't give a partial solution to you. My previous box was the Minix Neo X7 and a Noontec A9 box before that. As for apps like myiptv, cloudtv etc, they should work on the box, remember those require subscriptions and nothing is permanent. A well configured Kodi installation + torrents + other android apps will provide you with more than enough media content and live TV (as in my case, English content). I think when it comes to Himedia vs Minix, its a Chinese-ish vs English dilemma. There are a few Youtube vids showing reviews of both boxes to give you a sense of what they can do. So pick one based on your needs. My household primarily watches English content and Minix has a decent track record when it comes to firmware upgrades, bugs fixing and great online support. Plus i can root n unroot it easily. If you are unsatisfied with the review videos and prefer a more hands-on approach before deciding, I see @happyking4ever posted a location where you could possibly check out both boxes in person.
well explained bro rclxms.gif
was browsing for himedia for quite some time until i read your post. now hunting for minix thumbup.gif
i know that hdtv and myiptv come with subscriptions, that is primarily to watch current asstruk contents.
im noob in this still, so will need time to understand how kodi works.

komandermaut
post Aug 3 2015, 01:56 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 3 2015, 01:26 PM)
You r much welcome  biggrin.gif . As for the noob thing, bro all experts were once noobs. It just takes a little learning to cover the basics and some more to become God-like... tongue.gif . KODI is a very impressive software and the devs have been doing their best to keep making it better and better based off today's and future hardware. I watch assteruk channels using ehem means and best part? Free!!. Got an iflix subscription to support them and hopefully they grow to support Netflix in Asian markets. I'm almost sure that hdtv and myiptv subscription sellers can give you their apk files to side-load on a Minx box once you pay for a subscription.
bro,
mind pm me ur ehem means for assteruk? brows.gif i dont know anything free so far, just knew abt myiptv and hdtv which require payment
komandermaut
post Aug 3 2015, 01:56 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 3 2015, 01:26 PM)
You r much welcome  biggrin.gif . As for the noob thing, bro all experts were once noobs. It just takes a little learning to cover the basics and some more to become God-like... tongue.gif . KODI is a very impressive software and the devs have been doing their best to keep making it better and better based off today's and future hardware. I watch assteruk channels using ehem means and best part? Free!!. Got an iflix subscription to support them and hopefully they grow to support Netflix in Asian markets. I'm almost sure that hdtv and myiptv subscription sellers can give you their apk files to side-load on a Minx box once you pay for a subscription.
bro,
mind pm me ur ehem means for assteruk? brows.gif i dont know anything free so far, just knew abt myiptv and hdtv which require payment
komandermaut
post Aug 7 2015, 08:20 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Aug 6 2015, 06:03 PM)
which is better, himedia or minix?
had the same dilemma like you. and ended up buying minix
komandermaut
post Aug 10 2015, 09:38 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 8 2015, 02:11 AM)
Just an update to my mini-review of the Neo X8-H Plus. I am ignoring the custom-built Kodi_Minix version pre-installed in the box and have been primarily using the latest Kodi 15.0 “Isengard" with Aeon Nox theme, live TV and about 15 video addons. Thought I might have to tweak the advancedsettings.xml to adjust for certain video or audio playback and online buffering issues, etc, but there's no need to, as everything chugs smoothly on. Highest movie bitrate/quality test (a 45GB .iso file), playback was smooth as expected. Same with fast-forward, jump-back, chapters switching etc. Next up would be running the heavier Aeon MQ5 skin which caught my eye.
bro,
any particular reason why you opted to use kodi instead of the built-in xbmc in minix?
komandermaut
post Aug 11 2015, 12:25 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Aug 11 2015, 11:12 AM)
Bought MiniX Neo X8H Plus Quad Core + MiniX A2 Lite Air Mouse few days back

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1462384&hl=

Look for ccs221 or any of his staffs. Good service from them.
hahahha me too, bought from them as well last week. even bought an hdtv app subscription for one month to try out
komandermaut
post Sep 5 2015, 01:31 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(NussFit @ Sep 4 2015, 11:37 PM)
browsing many pages of this thread. found really helpful.

abit pissed with what current astro is offering.

i gather minix is good?

i am like all the guys looking for stable sports live streaming tv.

any box to recommend?
using unifi 10mb.

i am not an android user. has been using apple all this while.
thanks guys.
Go for minix xh8 plus bro. Read the specs and you will know that its quite at high end

komandermaut
post Sep 23 2015, 11:41 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Sep 23 2015, 11:31 AM)
even sometimes have to go down to 480p for no lags. sad.gif
won't be going back to astro for whatever reasons. suka-suka increase price. shakehead.gif
could not agree more. from super pack 1, i downgraded to basic (for unforeseen emergency case). have been using android box for more than a month. why?

1. screw asstro for la liga, serie a and ligue 1 issue. not even offering customers to reduce price
2. hundreds of channels from iptv apps, at minimal price. not mentioning live channels in kodi too
3. i can watch whichever tv shows that i want, whenever i want (fear the walking dead is not even on asstro)
4. save me the time to download shows/movies which i have been doing for years

btw, i am on 30mbps package with minix neo xh8 plus

komandermaut
post Oct 28 2015, 10:30 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Oct 28 2015, 09:42 AM)
hi guys.. need some recommendations.. i know himedia and minix are the top brand in android media box.. but would like to know which model would you recommend if i just want it to subscribe a package with a iptv dealer.. dont really know how to install and add all the add-ons yet.. new to android box..
go for minix neoxh-8 plus bro. quite pricey but it will be smooth for your usage coz of its high specs.
i am using it for both iptv apps and kodi, no trouble at all
komandermaut
post Nov 23 2015, 08:36 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(himedia q3 @ Nov 22 2015, 01:32 PM)
thanks wacky angel.im quite intrested on minix.but did it support local app like myiptv or hdtv?
i have both hdtv and myiptv with a year subscription on my minix neoxh8+. worked well, has been 3 mths already.
komandermaut
post Mar 8 2016, 07:57 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(vcheam @ Mar 7 2016, 11:59 PM)
.. your broadband speed.
30mbs unifi
.. will use ethernet or wifi?
ethernet
.. want only english or only canto or only mandarin or...?
english and canto
.. want eng subs, chinese subs, whatever subs...?
eng sub..banana here
.. want movies or tv shows or live tv, what languages... give examples.
movies, tv show, live tv..cano or english
...must have live sports incl all epl?
yes..motogp fans
.. can accept sd or only want hd?
sd & hd
.. want hd audio (dtshdma, dd truehd) pass thru for yr home theater?
no need
.. want legit iptv like netflix, iflix, astro on the go, hypptv everywhere?
optional
.. want ahem iptv , i.e. aztro and the like?
yesssza..xxx and aztro
.. your knowledge level with androids?
eemm..apk and root is what level ??
.. budget - min and maximum
around RM500 to RM600

sifu sifu..pls advise..hehehe
with a budget of rm500 - 600, go for minix. stable box, high end spec. been using it since aug last year
komandermaut
post Apr 3 2016, 02:41 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(JC999 @ Apr 2 2016, 10:42 PM)
anyone use this box called unblock tech before? selling abt RM600..

any reviews? I cant find it online
Bro, dont fall for this unblock tech. Read bad things about it in fb. With a budget of rm600, u should go for high end box
komandermaut
post Apr 5 2016, 08:10 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 4 2016, 10:37 PM)
I used to own a WD Media Player and I am a happy customer. I later bought Skybox thinking watching cheap AXtro is fine but I went in with big surprise - the watching experience is unbearable with frame cut / turn black every 10 secs. Image is blurry. I now watch official Astro using NJOI decoder paying RM21/month (a good deal by their customer service for me to test watch all nearly all channels including HD for 3 months)

Because there are too many of Android box in the market, to find a good gem is hard now. I'm new to Andoid players. Can other Minix user attest to this, especially this Neo U1 model?

I want to be on the safe side, buy only good quality product that can last
I am using the other minix model, neo xh-8+, it has been defect free for the past 7 months. the internal storage of 16gb is sufficient for me with all the addons and apk that I have installed. mostly using it for ahem iptv apps, hypp tv everywhere and kodi stuff. you will not go wrong with this minix.
komandermaut
post May 28 2016, 11:29 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ May 28 2016, 10:19 AM)
Have to dl the apps fr play store later.
Im using cache cleaner pro to automatically clear the cache. Put the settings to clear cache every time you exit an app or start the box
komandermaut
post May 31 2016, 01:12 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 31 2016, 11:45 AM)
generally speaking, any box with a browser on a fair internet speed will work.

however, unlike a pc which is always more powerful, a box may lack certain essentials in the firmware and software.

a proper android box will have all the essentials, designed and built for the purpose of online streaming to the tv.

an android phone or tablet does the same.
the hyppbox alto an android, is built to do hypptv only, not sideload user apps. but it will work to an extent with limitations if u know how.

not only the firmware or software is poor but the hardware too:

hyppbox is 0.6/1.9gb, memory good for hyyptv.
compare that to a 2/16gb box with all the niceties!
https://gfxbench.com/device.jsp?benchmark=g...&testgroup=info
i also set my hypptv box as my android box for the second tv, mainly just to watch hypp tv (which very rarely biggrin.gif ), kodi (simple setup with phoenix, exodus, locals, sportsdevil) and an ahem iptv subs. so far so good with about 600 mb left. have a cache cleaner to clear cache too.
my minix downstairs meanwhile have loads of things rclxms.gif
komandermaut
post Jul 27 2016, 07:50 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Beogatts @ Jul 25 2016, 04:10 PM)
can someone help me... i cant subscribe unifi due to new Taman. TM also no budget this yer to install unifi line.
therefore im using Yes 4G 28GB / mth.

can recommend me wat i shuld use?

.. your broadband speed. H+ to 4G LTE (limited 28GB quota)
.. will use ethernet or wifi? Ethernet
.. want only english or only canto or only mandarin or...? english + malay optional
.. want eng subs, chinese subs, whatever subs...? eng subs
.. want movies or tv shows or live tv, what languages... give examples. liveTV astro channels
...must have live sports incl all epl? yes especially La Liga + UCL ..but epl optional
.. can accept sd or only want hd? im using mobile data so no need HD
.. want hd audio (dtshdma, dd truehd) pass thru for yr home theater? optional
.. want legit iptv like netflix, iflix, astro on the go, hypptv everywhere? i want to terminate my astro and start using something else but getting similar to astro channels
.. want ahem iptv , i.e. aztro and the like? nah..
.. your knowledge level with androids? intermediate
.. budget - min and maximum max rm60/mth
I can tell u that one hour of streaming could cost u easily 1gb. So, unless u would only to watch one hour per day, then you can still explore the idea. And this does not include ur daily social media browsing, utube etc
komandermaut
post Jul 27 2016, 10:36 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Jul 27 2016, 09:22 AM)
Any recommendations for a box that can run Acestream? Might pick up one of those that does 9999 TV channels from Digital Mall or something...
Not all android box can run acestream meh? My minix runs proper with acestream. U can opt to use external player like my player to run it. Even my htc phone can play acestream
komandermaut
post Jul 28 2016, 09:51 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 28 2016, 04:45 PM)
hey guys, not to hijack the thread, but just wanna tumpang and ask a quick question related to androids...

i know android boxes, i have android tv and use an android phone.

using an ipadmini but planning to buy a samsung galaxy tab s2 9.7.

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s2_9_7-7438.php

anyone using this device?

will this tablet do (almost) everything a box does?

how similar is an android tablet to an android box?

the ui/navigation more similar to android phone than android box, i suppose?

what will it NOT do compared to a typical android box?

any samsung special bonus feature or drawback to be aware of?

just wanna get a few quick comments... thanks.
I own this tablet, bought it before raya to replace my ageing samsung 10.1. Installed kodi in it too and it runs properly. Tried installing ahem iptv apk and was ok too. It is a 4:3 ratio similarly to ipad size, nice to hold either sides.
Since it is a samsung, you will get few bloatwares but not too annoying. Battery life is ok too
komandermaut
post Jul 31 2016, 08:08 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jul 30 2016, 07:07 PM)
Then you should also try another type myiptv, just to collate the quality stream and channels... Most Chinese would go for the latter
I have both for almost a year already. Wont go back to asstro. Value for money

0.0235sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:20 AM