Android TV Box

AVFAN
post Feb 16 2017, 01:25 AM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(thena123 @ Feb 15 2017, 11:31 PM)
very slow, laggy and hangs a lot when using kodi. wifi is so weak. When I use X1, my wifi shows strong.
i am surprised.

pls do more tests... try ethernet.

kodi 17 can be tough for some devices, maybe try 16.1.
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2017, 01:33 AM

24,037 posts

anyone still using popcorntime?

i stopped using it when kodi quasar became a better option.

there are many popcorn forks, many versions for various devices.

the new popcorns... (pls dun ask me where to get, google please.. tongue.gif )

new look, better structured, easier navigation.

but choice of video links now very limited.

the android 4.x version allows u to use diff players available in yr box, e.g. native player, kodi player, even yr smart tv player.

if correct player used, the DD videos will give DD audio.

there is also a version for androidtv (smart tv's, etc.), so it is handy to stick it into yr tv direct.
fruitie
post Feb 16 2017, 02:51 AM

Rise and Shine
67,994 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 16 2017, 01:33 AM)
anyone still using popcorntime?

i stopped using it when kodi quasar became a better option.

there are many popcorn forks, many versions for various devices.

the new popcorns... (pls dun ask me where to get, google please.. tongue.gif )

new look, better structured, easier navigation.

but choice of video links now very limited.

the android 4.x version allows u to use diff players available in yr box, e.g. native player, kodi player, even yr smart tv player.

if correct player used, the DD videos will give DD audio.

there is also a version for androidtv (smart tv's, etc.), so it is handy to stick it into yr tv direct.
I'm still having it in my box. I find it quite reliable compared to Kodi's add on. However, there are too many fake apps. They may look the same but slightly different UI. doh.gif

I will look into your suggestion. icon_idea.gif
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 08:13 AM

1,767 posts

I realised that there's noticeable improvement of video quality on Q5 Pro vs other device with S912, anyone shares the same view?
JayceOoi
post Feb 16 2017, 04:14 PM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 08:13 AM)
I realised that there's noticeable improvement of video quality on Q5 Pro vs other device with S912,  anyone shares the same view?
Here too. nod.gif
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2017, 04:33 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 08:13 AM)
I realised that there's noticeable improvement of video quality on Q5 Pro vs other device with S912,  anyone shares the same view?
Becos it has the Imprex engine.

This engjne is an improvement over the ExpressX engine in q16.

Older models has neither.
dwRK
post Feb 16 2017, 05:01 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 16 2017, 04:33 PM)

Can fine-tune to your liking also...
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 05:27 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 16 2017, 04:33 PM)

OK....
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 16 2017, 05:01 PM)
Can fine-tune to your liking also...
Basically I leave it stock and let my Toshiba does its thing

dwRK
post Feb 16 2017, 05:54 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 05:27 PM)
OK....

I would try it and see how much better it can get...nothing to lose right smile.gif

Which A95x is this and your views? There's a few versions of it even if you ignore the branding. Thanks.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 16 2017, 06:00 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2017, 06:41 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 05:27 PM)
OK....

The time will come...

When u get a 4k hdr tv.

Combine with q5.q10pro, playing the best files u can get.

Then u see what u hv been missing all this time! tongue.gif
GuyM
post Feb 17 2017, 10:42 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 16 2017, 05:54 PM)
I would try it and see how much better it can get...nothing to lose right  smile.gif

Which A95x is this and your views? There's a few versions of it even if you ignore the branding. Thanks.
Nexbox A95X 2gb/16gb S905X at USD 32.00 during fire sale last year.

Dislike
Remote so so only.
UI bit weird, when u close a program,the screen goes black then only goes into the homepage. Find it irritating

OTA supported, snappy
Good wifi
User friendly cos UI and Android 6.0.1
One-Key to Live and One-Key to Kodi: The custom remote control for A95X comes with two special features: One-Key to Live and One-Key to Kodi
DTS Passthrough capable
coolguy99
post Feb 18 2017, 09:06 AM

6,818 posts

thinking of getting the minix neo U1 as a replacement to the mibox. is this the best box around?
voncrane
post Feb 18 2017, 12:52 PM

Noir et fier!
7,082 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Feb 18 2017, 09:06 AM)
thinking of getting the minix neo U1 as a replacement to the mibox. is this the best box around?
Minix Neo U1 better than the MiBox? Yes, no doubts. However, specs-wise and if you have a 4K HDR TV, get the HiMedia Q10 Pro (some mandarin may be required) instead.

The best remains the Nvidia Shield TV Box running Android TV OS.
AVFAN
post Feb 18 2017, 01:14 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 18 2017, 12:52 PM)
Minix Neo U1 better than the MiBox? Yes, no doubts. However, specs-wise and if you have a 4K HDR TV, get the HiMedia Q10 Pro (some mandarin may be required) instead.

The best remains the Nvidia Shield TV Box running Android TV OS.
Himedia Q5pro and Q10pro...No, all in english, no chinese or other language. smile.gif
voncrane
post Feb 18 2017, 01:19 PM

Noir et fier!
7,082 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 18 2017, 01:14 PM)
Himedia Q5pro and Q10pro...No, all in english, no chinese or other language. smile.gif
I was concerned about firmware updates, support groups/forums, etc.. Good to know the full experience can be gotten either way.. Checked out their support website and firmware updates and instructions are in English too.. rclxms.gif
plateau
post Feb 18 2017, 01:51 PM

Don't Touch My Starsβ„’
983 posts

Got myself the neo u1 + a1 air mouse. Installed kodi 17 Amlogic version and it works quite well. No issues so far.

Anyways, was wandering if anyone done a comparison of u1 vs Himedia q5/Q10 pro? Any major difference? U1 is cheaper though and the a1 air mouse has a good review all around as well.
AVFAN
post Feb 18 2017, 02:18 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 18 2017, 01:19 PM)
I was concerned about firmware updates, support groups/forums, etc.. Good to know the full experience can be gotten either way.. Checked out their support website and firmware updates and instructions are in English too..  rclxms.gif
Himedia is still a young co. Only 12 years old.
From a small media player maker in shenzhen for china market to a full english international android box.
Its their experience in media players that make the native player a powerful one.
Something like their hallmark, will keep going to provide the best licensed codecs for audio and video.
A 5 yr old q series can do hd audio, iso, bdmv while others today still cant do dts or dd.

Few years ago, too young to be international, focus on home market.
Now, internationally, they have made the breakthrough with exbihitions, expos, conferences, agents and distributors.
There is a now lot of support in english in futeko, kodi and ither english forums and websites.
GuyM
post Feb 18 2017, 02:34 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ Feb 18 2017, 01:51 PM)
Got myself the neo u1 + a1 air mouse. Installed kodi 17 Amlogic version and it works quite well. No issues so far.

Anyways, was wandering if anyone done a comparison of u1 vs Himedia q5/Q10 pro? Any major difference? U1 is cheaper though and the a1 air mouse has a good review all around as well.
Neo U1 can sau peh against Q5 I think...😝😝😝
dwRK
post Feb 18 2017, 02:46 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

I've started a new thread...would like to invite everyone there biggrin.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4200167

fruitie
post Feb 18 2017, 02:51 PM

Rise and Shine