193 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Bottom

Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

alpha33
post May 8 2016, 05:26 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 8 2016, 03:32 AM)
PE = Poly Ethylene, its also a chart for line's diameter. Exp:
PE 0.6 =0.128mm
PE 0.8 =0.148mm
PE 1 =0.165mm

braided PE line that malaysia's tackle store carry are mostly base on dyneema or spectra filament lines

Dyneema brands = YGK,Yarivas,Duel,sufix etc etc
Spectra brands = powerpro,tuf line,sufix etc etc

Not to forget some ultra dyneema from "sunline & ygk"

Get some various weight casting plugs to polish your casting skills. Practice makes perfect icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks for the "conversion" rate. but tis also meant my reel was not over spooled.
since i have two rods/reels to test, the problem only exist on my rod. so i dun think should be casting skills bah...

nm. later i will be going again, this time will take a weight and cast kao kao far and soften the line see.

*i took some line out, holding up free hand from ground, it can even twist together. any idea?
Proclaimer
post May 8 2016, 06:58 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ May 8 2016, 05:26 AM)
thanks for the "conversion" rate. but tis also meant my reel was not over spooled.
since i have two rods/reels to test, the problem only exist on my rod. so i dun think should be casting skills bah...

nm. later i will be going again, this time will take a weight and cast kao kao far and soften the line see.
*i took some line out, holding up free hand from ground, it can even twist together. any idea?
Line will get softer once you hit the water. You spooled the reel wrongly that's why the twist occur. Respooling wrongly will only make it worse.

katsumoto2011
post May 8 2016, 03:47 PM

219 posts

Forum only allow tag 5 member so i hope every anglers can see this

Since you all been talking about braid line

currently in market there are 2 types of class use for braid line
japanese Style using PE rating , other is Lb/KG

for the japanese it use PE 1 to PE10
this is very important as our local market is mix with 2 of them
sunline/YGK japanese braid use PE1 rating and also LB
for western brand Sufix/Power pro use LB and also KG

the different within both of them is how they classify the lines

pls read this information at below link
http://www.anglers-secrets.com/fishing-line-confusion/

let me share something with you guys, everytime you buy a braid line
have you wonder does this line really perform as it stated ???

example 40lb does it equal to really 40lb breaking strength ?
no matter what brand , what type of material it use , either dyneema or Spectra

i happen to stumble upon a maniac on the internet , he a managing director of a company that do precision measurement
on everything as long as it measurable and he a angler also

he was quite curious about the claim on the braid line and their performance
so what he do is he measure the line breaking strength and also their thickness

pls visit below link for the test result on most of the international branded line
dont expect to found your local or china make brand tongue.gif
http://www.paulusjustfishing.com/4linetestingbuy.htm

also last 1 everything depend what knot you use to tie, the breaking strength
of the line will go down on a certain percentage, so when the line break
when you fish pls do not blame the line , instead check the knot 1st thumbsup.gif

jazree
post May 8 2016, 05:13 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ May 8 2016, 03:47 PM)
Forum only allow tag 5 member so i hope every anglers can see this
Since you all been talking about braid line

currently in market there are 2 types of class use for braid line
japanese Style using PE rating , other is Lb/KG

for the japanese it use PE 1 to PE10
this is very important as our local market is mix with 2 of them
sunline/YGK japanese braid use PE1 rating and also LB
for western brand Sufix/Power pro use LB and also KG

the different within both of them is how they classify the lines

pls read this information at below link
http://www.anglers-secrets.com/fishing-line-confusion/
let me share something with you guys, everytime you buy a braid line
have you wonder does this line really perform as it stated ???

example 40lb does it equal to really 40lb breaking strength ?
no matter what brand , what type of material it use , either dyneema or Spectra

i happen to stumble upon a maniac on the internet , he a managing director of a company that do precision measurement
on everything as long as it measurable and he a angler also

he was quite curious about the claim on the braid line and their performance
so what he do is he measure the line breaking strength and also their thickness 

pls visit below link for the test result on most of the international branded line
dont expect to found your local or china make brand  tongue.gif
http://www.paulusjustfishing.com/4linetestingbuy.htm
also last 1 everything depend what knot you use to tie, the breaking strength
of the line will go down on a certain percentage, so when the line break
when you fish pls do not blame the line , instead check the knot 1st  thumbsup.gif
Agree on the knot part..lately my lines been putus at the knots where i tie the clip..i need to learn a new super knot to get my mekong up..

faujc99
post May 9 2016, 05:13 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 8 2016, 02:59 AM)
Used to be wild pond there if u search wikimapia it says haunted malay cemetery. Not so sure bout it now since that piece of land has been bought over.
lol haunted malay cemetery...anyway, got my gear all ready, heading over there for a company trip stayover, will come back with some report, if there is any
FireIceCombo
post May 9 2016, 10:27 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(jazree @ May 8 2016, 05:13 PM)
Agree on the knot part..lately my lines been putus at the knots where i tie the clip..i need to learn a new super knot to get my mekong up..
i love monster mekong but monster mekong dun lub me
judesh
post May 10 2016, 10:59 AM

76 posts

Guys, need some help
This weekend balik Melaka so may drop by Kolam Bukit Katil Kenari for some siakap fishing. Anyone been there before?
from what i read around, best bait would be market prawns frozen straight so will try this. Just wondering if using the Jigheads will make the bait movement more natural...will the pond rules allow this?..

faujc99
post May 11 2016, 04:27 AM

153 posts

Here is the report at Tadom, nothing much though...woke up at 7am, fished for less than an hour only..

There is a paypond within walking distance from Tadom Hill Resort, but was closed for shooting, tough luck..didnt get any info on the pond as we were not allowed to go near it. Then we drove a little further in, and found a few small lakes. Considered quite secluded and undisturbed. Clear water, decided to start casting. On my 2nd cast, a curut took my Rapala Crankbait, shown below, follwed by a lot of chases by all small size haruan around 6-8 inches. Saw a few cichlids but not too sure, defintely not tilapia. Nothing big in sight. Turtle pun ada. There was also a huge splash in the middle of the lake which is out of casting distance... had to go back early for our breakie at 8am.. sorry for the lack of photos, phone was out of batt,only managed to snap 2 photos of the catch. this is actually a company team building, just sneaked out and wet my lines. It is good to know that there are still places in the wild where fishing is still possible..lol

end of report

Here is another photo of Tadom Hill Resort. Fishing is not allwed in this lake. Water is quite clear, and yes, a lot of small haruan also.

This post has been edited by faujc99: May 11 2016, 04:37 AM
max_cjs0101
post May 11 2016, 11:08 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ May 11 2016, 04:27 AM)
Here is the report at Tadom, nothing much though...woke up at 7am, fished for less than an hour only..

There is a paypond within walking distance from Tadom Hill Resort, but was closed for shooting, tough luck..didnt get any info on the pond as we were not allowed to go near it. Then we drove a little further in, and found a few small lakes. Considered quite secluded and undisturbed. Clear water, decided to start casting. On my 2nd cast, a curut took my Rapala Crankbait, shown below, follwed by a lot of chases by all small size haruan around 6-8 inches. Saw a few cichlids but not too sure, defintely not tilapia. Nothing big in sight. Turtle pun ada. There was also a huge splash in the middle of the lake which is out of casting distance... had to go back early for our breakie at 8am.. sorry for the lack of photos, phone was out of batt,only managed to snap 2 photos of the catch. this is actually a company team building, just sneaked out and wet my lines. It is good to know that there are still places in the wild where fishing is still possible..lol

end of report

Here is another photo of Tadom Hill Resort. Fishing is not allwed in this lake. Water is quite clear, and yes, a lot of small haruan also.

Wow, you have the balls of steel to go to a palm oil plantation in shorts. biggrin.gif
faujc99
post May 11 2016, 01:30 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ May 11 2016, 11:08 AM)
Wow, you have the balls of steel to go to a palm oil plantation in shorts.  biggrin.gif
The lake is just by the road, no need to walk smile.gif
max_cjs0101
post May 11 2016, 01:43 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ May 11 2016, 01:30 PM)
The lake is just by the road, no need to walk smile.gif
Oh i thought you walked deep inside and found an untouched pond in a palm oil estate.
Shoot@M3
post May 11 2016, 04:09 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

is this cos of snakes likes palm oil field is it? sweat.gif
QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ May 11 2016, 11:08 AM)
Wow, you have the balls of steel to go to a palm oil plantation in shorts.  biggrin.gif
FireIceCombo
post May 11 2016, 08:22 PM

206 posts

water very clear dei . syiok man. paid pond cnr where got this kind of nce nice water
faujc99
post May 11 2016, 10:07 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ May 11 2016, 01:43 PM)
Oh i thought you walked deep inside and found an untouched pond in a palm oil estate.
its actually inside palm oil estate, but there is a narrow tar road just enough for a car, and the lake is just next to it
max_cjs0101
post May 12 2016, 11:09 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

How is s.24 now after they released new fishes?
FireIceCombo
post May 12 2016, 07:43 PM

206 posts

s24 no chance to sit the last time i went. this week no fishing for me. down with fever and flu.
judesh
post May 14 2016, 10:31 AM

76 posts

Guys... Need some advice...

I got a 2500 spinning reel but now thinking of a smaller one like 1000... Pair with 10lb line...
Should I get braid or mono?
I only fish at paypond..... Casting.. So far Jugra only...
Whichi would allow better casting?
I notice siakap pond in Melaka all using mono... Anyone know the reason? Is it price? Invisible?

TSinv
post May 14 2016, 01:49 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(judesh @ May 14 2016, 10:31 AM)

I got a 2500 spinning reel but now thinking of a smaller one like 1000... Pair with 10lb line...
I notice siakap pond in Melaka all using mono... Anyone know the reason? Is it price? Invisible?
With braid, you will be able to fit more line into the spool. I prefer the sensitivity of a braid, with mono, I find the stretch is not to my liking. Then again, YMMV.
Proclaimer
post May 14 2016, 05:08 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(judesh @ May 14 2016, 10:31 AM)

Siakap pond all use mono because of price. Those people are there to fish for food, rather for the sport of it.

Better casting no doubt braid. Better technique presentation also braid as mono stretches making it hard to work the lures. Mono for bait fishing is fine.

Size 1000 reel with 6lb is more than enough, pair it with 2-6lb rod and enjoy the show. rclxm9.gif I only use size 500/1000 reel at jugra.
judesh
post May 14 2016, 09:17 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 14 2016, 05:08 PM)
Siakap pond all use mono because of price. Those people are there to fish for food, rather for the sport of it.

Better casting no doubt braid. Better technique presentation also braid as mono stretches making it hard to work the lures. Mono for bait fishing is fine.

Size 1000 reel with 6lb is more than enough, pair it with 2-6lb rod and enjoy the show.  rclxm9.gif  I only use size 500/1000 reel at jugra.
Great... Thanks guys...
Am looking at the Sienna 1000... What are your opinions on this vs the Ryobi mini power which is lighter but a bit more expensive?

193 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Top

0.0867sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:37 PM