Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

Proclaimer
post Jan 10 2014, 03:27 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(Einjahr @ Jan 9 2014, 03:07 PM)
biggrin.gif  Just thought I'd share my new year's present, the Chronarch CI4+  drool.gif
Bagged this little beast at a sweet deal at $700 at my local shimano store. Till next time guys, kudos!
Sweet deal indeed.

Was thinking of getting either the chronarch or the tatula. rclxub.gif
Proclaimer
post Jan 12 2014, 06:09 AM

1,150 posts

Not every time you will get taxed. They randomly pick from packages they suspect might contain taxable stuffs.

Btw Tatula R is rm500+ and chronarch is 600+ - 700+ locally. Gonna be interesting to compare both of them. Waiting for them to be in stock first biggrin.gif
Proclaimer
post Jan 13 2014, 12:18 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jan 12 2014, 02:12 PM)
Well,seriously if ur planning to play safe.just ask d seller to write it as a gift/sample unit,easy smile.gif
Or mayb Sifu inv could giv us some tips since he often buy rods and reel or etc from online.
Yeah declaring it as a gift or warranty claims works but not all seller willing to do this, especially the ones in US. Not sure why but i think the penalty is quite serious. Chinese side will gladly declare as gift though laugh.gif
Proclaimer
post Feb 11 2014, 11:46 PM

1,150 posts

Guys any good spinning/baitcasting rod to buy below RM500? Need some recommendation. Around 8-15 lbs range. Cheaper the better tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Feb 11 2014, 11:49 PM
Proclaimer
post Feb 12 2014, 12:20 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Feb 11 2014, 11:57 PM)
what do you want to use it for ?

spinning and casting both different
Doesnt matter spinning or casting, im in the market for both. smile.gif

Proclaimer
post Feb 12 2014, 02:02 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Feb 12 2014, 11:53 AM)
proclaimer,
basspara, nemesis, relix and eupro rods come to mind ... seahawk, too
shimano cruzar rods are cheap +rm50 ... but no idea bout their performance
Dont like relix and eupro haha. Tried some fancy team seahawk rods, feels heavy and unbalanced, they even have 40% off the retail price laugh.gif

I need something cheap yet reliable. flex.gif

QUOTE(1dollar @ Feb 12 2014, 01:29 PM)
RM500 is a good solid budget for good rods.
I would stay clear away from Basspara because its heavy and not sensitive.
Would rather spend another hundred to get the GoEmotion GEC-66ML/662ML for the better blank.

Fenwick has good rods too, see if you can get hold of the old Elitetech Small mouth model. its whippy!
Hmm some ProX rods would be good too but dont know where to start.
Was looking at the basspara haha. Yeah how do we test sensitivity of the rods in the shop? Flick the tip and feel how the vibration carries down the rod?

Where to find majorcraft rods locally? Fenwick i rarely see other models other than the eagle gt, bloody heavy laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Feb 12 2014, 02:03 PM
Proclaimer
post Feb 12 2014, 04:40 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Feb 12 2014, 02:20 PM)
Basspara blank has high glass content, hen heavy and non sensitive.
Yes,. you need to scrape the tip on some surface and feel the vibes at the handle.
Eagle GT is the lowest end product, get the HMX lo... else there are so many other brands. RodFord also now gaining popularity.

Would also recommend Olyimpic Nuovo Bosco rods smile.gif but i need to order in for you if you keen.
http://www.olympic-co-ltd.jp/enfishing/index.php/GLNBC-662M
You cant go worng with Graphite leader smile.gif PM me if you interested to order
Yeah high glass/resin content makes it heavier but cheaper to produce. HMX is good? Hmm.

I would prefer if can get 7 feet at least, 2 pieces rod. already have a 6'6.

http://www.olympic-co-ltd.jp/enfishing/index.php/GLNBC-702H Would this be too stiff? cause its 12-30lbs. hmm.gif
Proclaimer
post Feb 13 2014, 01:03 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Feb 12 2014, 05:08 PM)
Would love to own the Calamaretti one day hahahah
heck would actually love to own one of every Olympic rod if i could afford.
Theres always that fear of paying so much for a rod and worry it will break smile.gif
Olympic manufactures blanks for Evergreen,.. nvr heard any evergreen broke yet
HMX is much better than the Eagle GT imho
why would you need a 7ft casting rod? wanna cast far out on land base?
12-30lbs definitely too stiff unless you planning to catch some monster toman on landbase.
if you are going for an all purpose rod then a 8-20lbs would be best.

Hmm over 7 ft 2 pieces & medium power,.  i can only thinking of Majorcraft Corkish or Volkey  & Sky Road but those will set you back from RM550 at least to RM670
http://www.majorcraft.co.jp/catalogue/bran...e=cover/corkish
CKC-762ML
CKC-782M

http://www.majorcraft.co.jp/catalogue/bran...ode=cover/volky
VKC-762M
Will check the hmx out if i see one. Yeah casting from land base so need a longer rod, plus im going to use it for casting and bottom fishing.

Im only going to pair it with penn 965 so i dont need very expensive rod. My 6'6 St Croix has served me well for the past 14 years and still going strong, thinking of getting another St Croix but feeling abit redundant haha.

The Corkish and Volkey looks good but abit on the expensive side sad.gif The prices you quoted includes shipping to Malaysia?

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Feb 13 2014, 01:07 AM
Proclaimer
post Feb 13 2014, 02:42 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Feb 13 2014, 12:39 PM)
Price included of meeting up in klang valley if you are still in Cyberjaya smile.gif
Local rods ,.. hmm i may be wrong but it will be very difficult to find a medium power rod at 7ft and above.
Yeah still in cyberjaya. Ah man, too many rods to choose from. cry.gif icon_question.gif Might need one rod by next weekend for fishing trip.

Need to go shopping around for rod. I'll pm you if there is anything i need. Thanks Dan biggrin.gif
Proclaimer
post Feb 14 2014, 09:41 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ Feb 14 2014, 02:09 PM)
Blue jacket.. do they have blue and yellow legs ?

The ones at Tropicana seem to have black & white and also blue & yellow type of prawns..

An uncle saw my hook yesterday and said it was the wrong hook for prawn fishing..

I bought it from a fish store and the packaging states shrimp/prawn/lobster , told me to get the ones that have a pre-weight to the hook..

I'm using a buoy system , so the line at the hook will have a weight and the buoy will balance it out to stay straight up.

He said that the pre-weight hook will stay straight in the water rather than my weight on the line at the end of the hook.

Do advice  shocking.gif
black and white = tiger prawns, blue and yellow = udang galah.

I dont have much experience in prawn fishing but i believe pre weighted hook and hook with weight on top of the line does the same thing if the weight sits directly above the hook and not the knot.
Proclaimer
post Feb 15 2014, 10:11 PM

1,150 posts

Gonna get a shimano rarenium ci4+ 2500 first i think. Rods suggestion to pair with it?

What i saw that i think is reasonable

Fenwick HMG - 7' rm280
Shimano Amenista 7'2 RM340

Anybody got experience with these 2 rods?

Some major craft rods also seems nice like the ones suggested.

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Feb 15 2014, 10:12 PM
Proclaimer
post Mar 2 2014, 02:35 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Feb 17 2014, 12:08 PM)
if going for some big game fishes,.. try avoid CI4 or Zaion bodied.
its just graphite,.. expect some flexing on the frame and body.
Yeah a little bit worried how the ci4 material would perform. Looking at sustain and twinpower too.

Sustain seems nice with the extra spool but the rotor is made of ci4 material hmm.gif

Twinpower looks excellent except for the price laugh.gif
Proclaimer
post Mar 7 2014, 09:24 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 6 2014, 09:20 AM)
Or you could go a step down and go for the biomaster series.
So far havent tested and feel biomaster. Might just give it a try haha. But not sure if i've seen them in shops hmm.gif

QUOTE(AlexNg87 @ Mar 7 2014, 01:40 AM)
Anyone wanna go fishing for giant grouper in port klang?? Its a pay pond..
Where is this? More info about price and bottom or casting?

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Mar 7 2014, 09:25 PM
Proclaimer
post Mar 21 2014, 11:08 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Mar 21 2014, 02:15 PM)
I find USDM Shimano messing up the market.

2014 Curado is now lower than Chronarch CI4??
Features are too close and similar between the Curado & Chronarch CI4 & Metanium 2013

Curado E used to be the best value for money with Brass gears that are strong and lasting.  Curado G made it all cheap now.

Chronarch succeeded as "the new" curado with same specs only without the brass gears.

Core was the MG version of CU51E/CH51E.
Funny how they are still selling all the old ones and adding the new models with just new SVS infinity brakes and micro gears as the main new features. Both are great innovative upgrades... but as a buyer.. i get more confuse on where I should spend my money... Reel A B C D all similar,.. just CI4 or Alu body with some minor diffs like bearings and gear ratios or spool size....

HMMMMmmmm... what do you think ?
Agreed, too many models out there. And too many variation of the same model. Metanium MG, Metanium MGDC7, Metanium XT... The list goes on.

And there is not enough easy info available to compare the reels.
Proclaimer
post Mar 31 2014, 03:43 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Mar 28 2014, 05:21 PM)
Guys I been invited to pekan fishing trip at 11 of may

The target fish would be ang koli aka parrot fish and some light jigging too.

I would like to ask what type of gear I should prepare ?
Rod / reel & hook size
PE 3-5 for parrot fish since they tend to be around the reefs so you need to yank them out laugh.gif

Top water PE1-3 for some good action. The new biomaster SW4000XG looks pretty sweet biggrin.gif

Anybody here owns a Shimano Exsense DC? 2012 and 2013 models are the same except for the drive sides right?
Proclaimer
post Apr 1 2014, 12:31 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Mar 31 2014, 04:02 PM)
Biomaster sw 4000xg got new model? I thought so far only old model. Currently using chronarch ci4. Quite good for its price.
New model as in the 13 one. smile.gif

Chronarch ci4+ was in my list too until the price went up to 800-900 after the new japan made ones came.

Im looking at the Exsence DC particularly for the DC whine and also the drag clicker. drool.gif

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Mar 31 2014, 10:17 PM)
I think bro Einjahr has 1.Its been awhile i roam the tackle shops or online shop.gettin pretty outdated sad.gif
Haha, the lesser you roam the better. Else there are so many things to buy!

Hey Einjahr, do you own an Exsence DC? If yes i have a couple of questions for you if you dont mind tongue.gif
Proclaimer
post Apr 6 2014, 01:09 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Apr 6 2014, 09:58 AM)
Price range?expensive ga?
Price range all about rm200+, saw and tried them in digital aquarium if not mistaken.

You guys know any local shop who does customize carbontex drag washer? Else i have to buy a whole sheet of carbontex sweat.gif
Proclaimer
post Apr 8 2014, 12:39 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Apr 7 2014, 01:29 PM)
Sabre tackle in KL @ Off Jln Loke Yew
Thanks, will check them out. Cant seem to find any carbontex drag washer for shimano exsence dc anywhere online doh.gif

QUOTE(fookie @ Apr 7 2014, 10:48 PM)
you getting a sheet? I don't mind sharing. i saw in GNP a guy was selling for about RM139 for a sheet. not too sure how big is the sheet though.
Yeah if you want also we could share half, its 13" x 11" in length. Quite big, preorder closing tomorrow.
Proclaimer
post Apr 11 2014, 10:49 PM

1,150 posts

I think grouper ponds damn expensive.

Use a 2-6lbs rod with 4lbs line and you can have equally as much fun with only rm50 for 3 hours in jugra. smile.gif
Proclaimer
post Apr 12 2014, 08:01 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(AlexNg87 @ Apr 12 2014, 01:22 PM)
where is jugra? c&r pond?
Banting, yes CNR. smile.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0956sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:46 AM