Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

judesh
post Feb 29 2016, 11:20 AM

76 posts

Hello to all the sifus here..
I've just decided to pick up this hobby....So went and got a 2500 reel loaded with 15lb braid and a 5'6" rod as recomended by tackle shop.
Looking to spend some time at Jugra ponds and would like some advice...
1. what other accessories are needed ? grip ? net to hold fish ?. I am looking for light as will probably using bike...
2. any recomendations for best lures to use here?
3. Do you guys use bags to keep/carry your rods so as not to damage them?
4. anything I should do to new rod and reel before using?

Sorry for the newbie questions but looking forward to some help...Thanks
judesh
post Feb 29 2016, 03:16 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Feb 29 2016, 01:36 PM)

Thanks inv.
So it seems I will need a grip only.
The reason I asked about the lures is because of the large variety you can find in a tackle shop. Thirty years ago, you only had some spoons and maybe plastic frogs only.
I will probably cast and retrieve so was looking at some lures i could keep in my bag.
Thought if there were some favorites you could recommend...read about Berkley Powerbait Rattle shrimp or Rapala rattling rap...are these any good?
May also jalan2 cari haruan, so was hoping for some suggestions for best type of plastic frogs to get....so many type of frogs nowadays?
I suppose a spinner would be good to have as well...
Thanks again..

judesh
post Mar 1 2016, 11:32 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 1 2016, 09:58 AM)
Regarding lures,  it's all about the target species. Most of the time, the target species is us,  anglers,  instead.  Hahaha.. On a serious note, these days I swear by duel sinking minnows and lucky craft wanders for cichlas. DUO lures are effective as well.

Personally, Berkley grubs in white or black is a must have. Works well with a variety of species.

I've never worked plastic frogs before, can't suggest any,  sorry.

I don't have much luck with spinners and bushwacker before as well.
Thanks all you guys...
Great help...need to make a trip to the tackle store to check out all your suggestions..
Nearest would be Digital Aquarium
judesh
post Mar 3 2016, 10:56 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(judesh @ Mar 1 2016, 11:32 AM)
Thanks all you guys...
Great help...need to make a trip to the tackle store to check out all your suggestions..
Nearest would be Digital Aquarium
Got some lures based on the advice here....and damaged some nails changing the treble hooks to circle ones (the end one, I have removed the center hook)..
Will it affect the swim movement?
just another thought...do you clip the lures directly to the snap at the end of the leader or is it better to use a short line with loop?
Am looking to visit the Jugra ponds but a bit confused as there seem to be a few, which would you guys recommend? What i understand is that you can choose CNR or pay for the fish caught. As I'm beginner, I think best to go with the fish and pay. Do they allow lures at the ponds?
Any suggestions?
Thanks...
judesh
post Apr 25 2016, 04:07 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Mar 3 2016, 11:35 AM)
Most Japanese lures are tuned, if you match the weight of the new hook to the original, then it should work fine.

I usually use snaps for faster lure change.

I think soft plastics will work well in Jugra.
Not wanting to bore all you experts here, but I thought I owed some writing after all the advise from you guys...
Managed to make 2 trips to Jugra , the first on a saturday in early April...Met a guy Faisal who was as early as me ...710 am...and he showed me around the 3 ponds...
Gave me some tips for bait and suggested the 2" Berkley SP shad which I had...
Hooked 3 Siakap around 800 g-1 kg size... a few misses due to my inexperience.
Switched over to the Kerapu pond and got a 3kg one....berat tapi tarik macam tunggul je...
Had to cut the line as he had swallowed it deep...the caretaker helped release the hook...
Tried this same bait at the GT / Tandan pond but with no success. Faisal said that the sp would be suitable here but I didn't have the jig hook so couldn't use...
All in all ...good 21/2 hrs for RM 45
After that got jig hook for my next trip and changed to having a snap directly on my main line...used a short fluoro leader for all the baits so if the fish swallowed i could just replace this...earlier I had the snap at the end of the leader connecting directly to the lure...
Second trip last saturday....
Used the sp shad and hinomiya 9cm shrimp at the Siakap pond... hooked 4 around 800g-1kg with 3 misses in 2 hrs...
Switched over to the GT / Tandan pond using white sp...had a few misses but just at the end of the hour hooked a 4kg Tandan.....Wow...exciting...tarik memang best...
again RM50 well spent for the 3 hours....
Made a 52 yr old feel like a kid, now trying to find excuse to go there again..
Some thoughts...artificial lures nowadays are really great...the way they move...how the hell they get the prawn to swim so upright..the shad too...but the one that impressed the most was the sp...just reel and the tail movement really tempting to a fish...
I really need to get some lessons on releasing the hook on siakap, had small cuts on my palm just holding the fish down...
The caretaker said they maintain 25 larger siakap in the pond...any idea what bait is suitable coz everyone seemed to catch the small ones..or is it the timing?
I will stick to the Tandan and Siakap as I love the way they fight..
Once again everyone... thanks for the advice and I hope didn't bore all you experts with this long post..

judesh
post Apr 29 2016, 06:41 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Apr 28 2016, 04:53 PM)
poison u abit on exotic, my friend caught 2nd time.

lately i havent been able to bring up the monster mekong. i using pellet 6363+greenbait soya and strawberi matsumoto. then even take apart my leader change to spring bom. he dowan hiu me. %@#%$@%$@%$^%  i will not be defeated by the monster mekong so easily. i have confirmation the monster mekong lurking inside is around 60-65kg . got a few.

and one day i will fish up the siamese carp also. its lurking in there. someone fished it up 2 weeks back. judging from size, shoudl be in the region of 38-40kg region. this one sure good fight 1.
Ini betul poison mau kasi mati orang.... So tempting..... But I don't think my skill up to it.... Neither my setup.... And I malas mau belajar all the complicated concoctions....
The thing with Jugra is you can just dump your gear and artificial bait in the car and go without much preparation ... At least for me.... Ikan kecil pun cukuplah...
Will be going there this Monday again.... That 1 tandan betul make me gian tak boleh tahan....

judesh
post May 3 2016, 06:34 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ May 3 2016, 12:24 PM)
wahh still alive and kicking in here.
Long time no meet up all the kaki and fish together.

@Judesh... you should also try Jurassic SW if you are into casting.
3 hrs at Jugra yesterday and got 2 tandan and this fella

judesh
post May 3 2016, 06:36 PM

76 posts

A few misses too including 1 that bent this hook...

judesh
post May 3 2016, 09:30 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 3 2016, 08:20 PM)
Even Owner hook bent like this also rclxub.gif
Yup.... Owner hook on Berkley bream pro..
Maybe I hentak too hard coz too excited ?
Not bad for RM 50 at Jugra?
How much better will it get for RM100 at Jurassic SW?

judesh
post May 5 2016, 09:21 AM

76 posts

Guys.... I need a fish grip so that easier to release hook and can take photos... Will the mini ones around 17cm be k to use at Jugra? The ones I saw at digital cheapest RM50....
How about this one from Lazada at RM28?
I see most people use the grip to lift the fish when taking photos... Does it hurt the fish? Wheres the best place to hold them.. Lower lip?

judesh
post May 10 2016, 10:59 AM

76 posts

Guys, need some help
This weekend balik Melaka so may drop by Kolam Bukit Katil Kenari for some siakap fishing. Anyone been there before?
from what i read around, best bait would be market prawns frozen straight so will try this. Just wondering if using the Jigheads will make the bait movement more natural...will the pond rules allow this?..

judesh
post May 14 2016, 10:31 AM

76 posts

Guys... Need some advice...

I got a 2500 spinning reel but now thinking of a smaller one like 1000... Pair with 10lb line...
Should I get braid or mono?
I only fish at paypond..... Casting.. So far Jugra only...
Whichi would allow better casting?
I notice siakap pond in Melaka all using mono... Anyone know the reason? Is it price? Invisible?

judesh
post May 14 2016, 09:17 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 14 2016, 05:08 PM)
Siakap pond all use mono because of price. Those people are there to fish for food, rather for the sport of it.

Better casting no doubt braid. Better technique presentation also braid as mono stretches making it hard to work the lures. Mono for bait fishing is fine.

Size 1000 reel with 6lb is more than enough, pair it with 2-6lb rod and enjoy the show.  rclxm9.gif  I only use size 500/1000 reel at jugra.
Great... Thanks guys...
Am looking at the Sienna 1000... What are your opinions on this vs the Ryobi mini power which is lighter but a bit more expensive?
judesh
post May 15 2016, 10:42 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 14 2016, 09:36 PM)
Based on what i've tested, Sienna 500 seems to be smoother than the size 1000. I would get a Tica Cetus if you can get a good price for it.

OK.. So a 500 then... The Tica has rave reviews but seem hard to get hold...I think the gv is within the same price range.... Any idea which shops have it in stock?
judesh
post May 16 2016, 11:10 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 15 2016, 11:20 PM)
Yea it's a smooth solid reel with screaming drag sound. It's pretty hard to see it in shops, not sure why. Bought mine online years back.
Saw one online for rm 127 including postage...not sure if I should get one?
For braid ..is it it easy to spool onto reel ourselves without the machine you see in the tackle shops? Dulu2 with mono can just reel onto spool...
judesh
post May 16 2016, 12:45 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 16 2016, 12:27 PM)
Which model is that? If the one with 2 spools then its a good deal. SS,SE,SB model comes with 6 ball bearings compared to other models.

Yea can spool yourself like mono no issue
Gv...all s models going for 200
judesh
post May 16 2016, 01:09 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 16 2016, 12:27 PM)
Which model is that? If the one with 2 spools then its a good deal. SS,SE,SB model comes with 6 ball bearings compared to other models.

Yea can spool yourself like mono no issue
Boss... What's the difference between SB, SS and SE..
From pics I noted SE cheapest and SS spare spool..
judesh
post May 17 2016, 10:17 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 16 2016, 04:10 PM)
Go for gv is fine if you don't need the extra spool. SB, SS, SE difference is colour only I think. I opt for extra spool to put mono for bait fishing. 
I rarely need a big enough lure for the small reel to need it to work that fast. UL setup mostly don't need that high speed retrieve presentation, but I do have  a 1000 sized to work with as well.
The Ticas are really over-priced here...Even Indonesia also cheaper... may get my bro-in-law working in China to buy one when he comes back so will put my purchase on hold.
Anyone used the SS800...seems lighter at 149gm vs 175gm on the 500..

judesh
post May 24 2016, 05:03 PM

76 posts

Must remember not to bring wallet when visiting tackle shops....but the Sienna 500 on display seemed to be calling me. At RM 125, looked like a good deal so went and bought it against my better judgement....Impulse shopping ??
Bloody shop didn't have 6 lb braid so got it fixed with 8lb braid....couldn't wait to visit Jugra which I did last saturday...
All the reading and advice from you guys got me all excited to try this ultralight thing...
But then disaster, it's not that easy...
First thing .... I was casting too hard...used to my 15lb braid on the 2500 reel...so bird-nest...First hour wasted untangling...and casting...and untangling again
Then struck a baby GT...and struggled to manage the small drag...still managed to reel him in..
Second mistake, over tightened the drag hoping would be easier to reel the next one in. So you can guess what happened at the next strike, henjut too hard so my line broke...
This was starting to get frustrating....even worse, there was a big group of around 8 blokes hitting strike after strike at the same pond...and they were so noisy...really spoiled my fishing experience...
After that, a few bites here and there without hooking one...

Really good learning experience...and really respect you guys on the ultralight setups...

So, I think I got the casting part under control, should get better with more practice.
Have to get an ultralight rod as my ML maybe too stiff and won't cushion the stress on the light lines... Time to go shopping again..
And I respooled my line as there were some small kinks which I put on the inside..
Also, need to spend some time learning the drag on my reel..you really need to understand your gear properly
But it's the challenge that makes this so exciting...so will have to see how long I can keep this up..
Any other advice from all you experts is welcome...
Another thing, are fishing crowds nowadays so noisy...I always thought it was about getting away from it all, but if it is then will have to bear with it.
Now everyday dreaming of my next visit....

judesh
post May 29 2016, 03:58 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ May 26 2016, 09:17 AM)
Thats why you should be a cheapskate like me and get a spinning 500 sized reel with prawn rod. haha
Less than RM100 and super fun
If expert like you sure equipment won't matter... Anyway,, more important is the results right?

Want to ask... Anyone tried the Jugra CNR at night? Do soft plastics work at night and if they do, which color better for gt and senangin?

0.0652sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:45 AM