491 Pages « < 461 462 463 464 465 > » Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

buffa
post Jun 22 2024, 07:54 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Dovienya @ Jun 19 2024, 10:13 PM)
Hi all,
Seeking some tint advice here.
Anyone has any comparison or advice if I'm to choose between 3M Crystaline series -vs- RayTech QX, QC, Mx, Mc series?

Many thanks
If price are similar, of course get 3M Crystaline series.
Just need to know smartag not usable for 3M, not sure RayTech

Just get from authorized 3M shop for peace of mind.
DM52
post Jun 28 2024, 07:35 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 14 2024, 09:22 AM)
how much for fws ?

sputter or nano ceramic ?
QUOTE(Cavino @ Jun 14 2024, 01:36 PM)
You really DIY everything....I so envy coz I so lazy, so can only envy...haha. I would likely save thousands, err no...tens of thousands in my saving accounts for my few cars over the years if I am you.

So regret for my laziness...I would be a much richer man. Still I continue my laziness, its in me already..
QUOTE(buffa @ Jun 22 2024, 07:54 AM)
If price are similar, of course get 3M Crystaline series.
Just need to know smartag not usable for 3M, not sure RayTech

Just get from authorized 3M shop for peace of mind.
Hello sifu..just replace my cermin at service centre under windscreen insurance..they qoute 3M crystalline 70 and 3M ceramic 75. keen on ceramic 75 as it is within budget. rm1100 for fws. this ceramic 75 ok or not?.

And I will not pay full 1100 la for sure. got special discount a bit. cyrstalline a bit scared to install scared not smart tag friendly

buffa
post Jun 28 2024, 08:24 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jun 28 2024, 07:35 PM)
Hello sifu..just replace my cermin at service centre under windscreen insurance..they qoute 3M crystalline 70 and 3M ceramic 75. keen on ceramic 75 as it is within budget. rm1100 for fws. this ceramic 75 ok or not?.

And I will not pay full 1100 la for sure. got special discount a bit. cyrstalline a bit scared to install scared not smart tag friendly
Dont take ceramic, you will regret.
If decided to take 3M, then must take crystalline, and 75 a bit too bright imo, recommend 60.
Crystalline 99.9% smart tag cannot.

If budget constrain, better take other brand’s top series.
DM52
post Jun 28 2024, 09:35 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ Jun 28 2024, 08:24 PM)
Dont take ceramic, you will regret.
If decided to take 3M, then must take crystalline, and 75 a bit too bright imo, recommend 60.
Crystalline 99.9% smart tag cannot.

If budget constrain, better take other brand’s top series.
wow.scary leh like this. may I know the issue with ceramic. not effective enough block heat?..

Ok, will follow ur advise..will research more on this..
ayamxxx
post Jun 28 2024, 09:40 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jun 28 2024, 07:35 PM)

44% IRR is too low for our weather
DM52
post Jun 28 2024, 10:20 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 28 2024, 09:40 PM)
44% IRR is too low for our weather
the spec sometimes quite confusing. irr is 44% but tser is 40%, while crystalline 70 is 97% irr while tser is only 50%. or tser difference of 10% is huge different?.
dwRK
post Jun 29 2024, 08:01 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jun 28 2024, 10:20 PM)
the spec sometimes quite confusing. irr is 44% but tser is 40%, while crystalline 70 is 97% irr while tser is only 50%. or tser difference of 10% is huge different?.
tser is based on uv + visible + ir, and ir only accounts for about 40% of the calc...

what we feel as heat is mainly from ir... ir has a big range and ppl only measure at 950nm or 1400nm...

also the irr 40% quoted is not linear across the ir range, hence only impact about 10% of tser...

totalgard ceramic has irr 100% at 950nm and it still feels warmer than vkool at 95%, des why we say this 3m at irr 40% is not that good

ayamxxx
post Jun 29 2024, 03:42 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jun 28 2024, 10:20 PM)
iiwu, will call other brands/outlets for better spec tint (IRR95% above) for windscreens that fall within my budget. sometimes a few phonecalls can also nego the price, once agreed, drive straight.
DM52
post Jun 29 2024, 07:50 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 29 2024, 08:01 AM)
tser is based on uv + visible + ir, and ir only accounts for about 40% of the calc...

what we feel as heat is mainly from ir... ir has a big range and ppl only measure at 950nm or 1400nm...

also the irr 40% quoted is not linear across the ir range, hence only impact about 10% of tser...

totalgard ceramic has irr 100% at 950nm and it still feels warmer than vkool at 95%, des why we say this 3m at irr 40% is not that good
cancel liao taking 3M. at first want to upgrade crystalline 70. but read here feedback, said after few years crystalline 70 will bring hazy to windscreen. end up, avoid la. dont want hassle claim the windscreen.

my aim now is vkool elite. hopefully it is rfid friendly as I put rfid in windscreen.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 29 2024, 03:42 PM)
iiwu, will call other brands/outlets for better spec tint (IRR95% above) for windscreens that fall within my budget. sometimes a few phonecalls can also nego the price, once agreed, drive straight.
oraite.tq for ur feedback. cancel doing at honda service centre. will do outside. next week will go visit vkool authorized dealer. will update here later on.
neekun
post Jun 30 2024, 04:40 PM

I'm a Mac
2,571 posts

Just came across Hamel tint, the Batman series seems interesting. Anyone tried this before can share your opinion?
Cavino
post Jul 1 2024, 01:36 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jun 29 2024, 07:50 PM)
cancel liao taking 3M. at first want to upgrade crystalline 70. but read here feedback, said after few years crystalline 70 will bring hazy to windscreen. end up, avoid la. dont want hassle claim the windscreen.

my aim now is vkool elite. hopefully it is rfid friendly as I put rfid in windscreen.
oraite.tq for ur feedback. cancel doing at honda service centre. will do outside. next week will go visit vkool authorized dealer. will update here later on.
For metallic based tint like VKool, you should not put RIFD on windscreen. Metal interfere with RFID signal.
Noticed that even when put on headlamp, the instruction is try going towards the middle away from metal part of the car body.

So if you want to use RIFD with VKool, I would suggest sticking the RIFD in the middle of your left headlamp.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jul 1 2024, 01:37 PM
buffa
post Jul 1 2024, 04:56 PM

460 posts

Just saying, been using 3M crystalline 50 for my whole car except back window, already 6 years still good.
IMO, only go to those 3M shop, I will not go those tint shop who take different brand of tints film.
dwRK
post Jul 2 2024, 07:42 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

3M crystalline should be ok lah... even vkool elite if everyday in the sun also have problems eventually... anyways these are the known top brands and top product line...

QUOTE(neekun @ Jun 30 2024, 04:40 PM)
Just came across Hamel tint, the Batman series seems interesting. Anyone tried this before can share your opinion?
iirc not jpj legal... biggrin.gif i think their films are from Japan... went to check them out a while ago so memory not so clear liao... a lot of ppl swear by them few yrs back... relatively cheap but irr not good on their cheaper range...

Cavino
post Jul 2 2024, 08:36 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 2 2024, 07:42 AM)
3M crystalline should be ok lah... even vkool elite if everyday in the sun also have problems eventually... anyways these are the known top brands and top product line...
iirc not jpj legal... biggrin.gif  i think their films are from Japan... went to check them out a while ago so memory not so clear liao... a lot of ppl swear by them few yrs back... relatively cheap but irr not good on their cheaper range...
For clear tint, I think VKool Elite (at least the original 70 series) still has the best heat reflection feature for clear tint. Other might state better TSER but real life performance for the clear tint cannot match up. It is durable too. Last 12 years parked usually under hot sun before tint started blurring. Got 3 cars to prove its durability over the decade. The only thing is the pricing has become super premium too, cannot afford it liao.

Given the 2 aka VKool and 3M Crystalline, I would still take VKool Elite anytime but the price can blow a very big hole in pocket. Of course if someone driving a tesla or high price cars, that might be peanuts to them tho.

Anyway even VKool Elite also can fail JPJ for front windscreen depending on vehicles. All my old VKool Elite on old City, Civic and persona are in mid 60+ readings. Suprisingly harrier got around 70 based on a forumer who has one.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jul 2 2024, 08:39 AM
dwRK
post Jul 2 2024, 08:47 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 2 2024, 08:36 AM)
For clear tint, I think VKool Elite (at least the original 70 series still has the best heat reflection feature for clear tint. Other might state better TSER but real life performance for the clear tint cannot match up. It is durable too. Last 12 years parked usually under hot sun before tint started blurring. Got 3 cars to prove its durability over the decade. The only thing is the pricing has become super premium too, cannot afford it liao.

Given the 2 aka VKool and 3M Crystalline, I would still take VKool Elite anytime but the price can blow a very big hole in pocket. Of course if someone driving a tesla or high price cars, that might be peanuts to them tho.

Anyway even VKool Elite also can fail JPJ for front windscreen depending on vehicles. All my old VKool Elite on old City, Civic and persona are in mid 60+ readings. Suprisingly harrier got around 70..
yeah... got 3 cars using 2nd gen vkool... 1st gen was the best but got smart tag problem and after 3-5 yrs starts corroding becomes brown n patchy... 2nd gen don't have the problem but not as good with heat rejection... don't know when they started the elite branding... after 20-30 yrs quite sure will have different formulation...

nowadays got a few more other sputtered films but i have no experience with them...

jimbet1337
post Jul 2 2024, 10:46 AM

meh
2,672 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 2 2024, 08:36 AM)
For clear tint, I think VKool Elite (at least the original 70 series) still has the best heat reflection feature for clear tint. Other might state better TSER but real life performance for the clear tint cannot match up. It is durable too. Last 12 years parked usually under hot sun before tint started blurring. Got 3 cars to prove its durability over the decade. The only thing is the pricing has become super premium too, cannot afford it liao.

Anyway even VKool Elite also can fail JPJ for front windscreen depending on vehicles. All my old VKool Elite on old City, Civic and persona are in mid 60+ readings. Suprisingly harrier got around 70 based on a forumer who has one.
Price has gone up so much. I still remember being charged RM1800 for the whole car back in 2003, at The Tint Shop back then.
Cavino
post Jul 2 2024, 10:54 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 2 2024, 08:47 AM)
yeah... got 3 cars using 2nd gen vkool... 1st gen was the best but got smart tag problem and after 3-5 yrs starts corroding becomes brown n patchy... 2nd gen don't have the problem but not as good with heat rejection... don't know when they started the elite branding... after 20-30 yrs quite sure will have different formulation...

nowadays got a few more other sputtered films but i have no experience with them...
Haha...yes, 1st gen use VK70 right in FWS. Then they switch to Elite which is originally so-called Euro spec VK75 with higher VLT and lower IRR. They used VK70 for the rest then, just the front change to VK75 for smart tag. So all my cars switched to this package then. Lasted darn long. Now at 13 years, my last VKool Elite in persona that become brown liao and starting, just starting to patch a bit. Now I really don't know what they use for Elite, still same VK75 and VK70 for the rest???

My old City and Civic just switched to Irispro silver/nano-titanium sputter films (the DX series) as posted in this forum so many times liao after a long search for metallic sputter tint replacement after VKool. This is an excellent tint that worked very well (I do installed it for 3 cars in the end, if no good, I won't do that) within my expectation of excellent metallic sputter.

No tint is perfect tho. There are multiple issues to consider. The so-called weakness on colouring balancing of different VLT has been fixed tho by changing the colour of the tint, 100% change, now black/purplish instead of brown lighting. Very nice comfortable colour and lighting inside (my 3rd ride got this, my earlier 2 rides guinea pigs, got the brown/green ones). Now front and back (VLT60 and VLT30) same colouring, one brighter, one dimmer.

It has the white haze looks that are similar to picture of a poster here on Totalgard (I think, if I rememer correctly). Not as bad as the pic by the earlier poster but the white haze looks do appear with certain angle under direct sunlight especially for VLT60. VLT30 not so obvious or almost cannot see the haze, if any under certain direct sunlight angle. Don't really interfere with our vision but it is there. If they managed to eliminate, then it that will be perfect. Other than that, it is 3mm and above in thickness, a bit more difficult to install and lines are more obvious at demister, unfortunately thicker tint do that.

Well it does have double layer sputters (each sputter has 6 micro layers, I'm told), additional HEV layer, so ya, I understand the why they cannot make it to 2mm. Have double sputters and the multi layers of tints with additional HEV layer that other don't have (got show the 6-7 layers used in their website). Another issues is they don't have clear tint for the highest sputter range with best TSER for clear tint. The best is VLT60, their VLT70 is of lower range. Although I like the VLT60, worked great under sunlight and not dark and filter sunlight with comfortable balance lighting but some might prefer near JPJ compliancy range aka 70 with brighter lighting. Smart tags worked similar to VKool Elite, slows down a bit.

Since it does not have the long proven years background of VK, 3M, etc, they support it with 10 years warranty for defect, peeling, etc and another 10 years warranty for performance if reading of IRR, etc, degrade more than 10% over the years. So I keep suggesting to look at it as an option for metallic sputter tint. Price is premium as expected of good metallic sputter tints but face hard competition coz price similar to other branded tints. Well, if they lower it, can't make it premium tint, if they keep the premium pricing, hard to compete with other proven brands, the dilemma..

Notice 1 thing about GPS signals of my Z50 GPS dashcams in both cars FWS (1 with Irispro silver sputter DX series, another still with VKool Eite), GPS can connect most of times in Irispro metallic sputter but GPS connection is intermittent in my dashcam for VKool Elite, lots of times, cannot connect but once connected will remain connected.
dwRK
post Jul 2 2024, 11:23 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 2 2024, 10:54 AM)
Haha...yes, 1st gen use VK70 right in FWS. Then they switch to Elite which is originally so-called Euro spec VK75 with higher VLT and lower IRR. They used VK70 for the rest then, just the front change to VK75 for smart tag. So all my cars switched to this package then. Lasted darn long. Now at 13 years, my last VKool Elite in persona that become brown liao and starting, just starting to patch a bit. Now I really don't know what they use for Elite, still same VK75 and VK70 for the rest???

My old City and Civic just switched to Irispro silver/nano-titanium sputter films (the DX series) as posted in this forum so many times liao after a long search for metallic sputter tint replacement after VKool. This is an excellent tint that worked very well (I do installed it for 3 cars in the end, if no good, I won't do that) within my expectation of excellent metallic sputter.

No tint is perfect tho. There are multiple issues to consider. The so-called weakness on colouring balancing of different VLT has been fixed tho by changing the colour of the tint, 100% change, now black/purplish instead of brown lighting. Very nice comfortable colour and lighting inside (my 3rd ride got this, my earlier 2 rides guinea pigs, got the brown/green ones). Now  front and back (VLT60 and VLT30) same colouring, one brighter, one dimmer.

It has the white haze looks that are similar to picture of a poster here on Totalgard (I think, if I rememer correctly). Not as bad as the pic by the earlier poster but the white haze looks do appear with certain angle under direct sunlight especially for VLT60. VLT30 not so obvious or almost cannot see the haze, if any under certain direct sunlight angle. Don't really interfere with our vision but it is there. If they managed to eliminate, then it that will be perfect. Other than that, it is 3mm and above in thickness, a bit more difficult to install and lines are more obvious at demister, unfortunately thicker tint do that.

Well it does have double layer sputters (each sputter has 6 micro layers, I'm told), additional HEV layer, so ya, I understand the why they cannot make it to 2mm. Have double sputters and the multi layers of tints with additional HEV layer that other don't have (got show the 6-7 layers used in their website). Another issues is they don't have clear tint for the highest sputter range with best TSER for clear tint. The best is VLT60, their VLT70 is of lower range. Although I like the VLT60, worked great under sunlight and not dark and filter sunlight with comfortable balance lighting but some might prefer near JPJ compliancy range aka 70 with brighter lighting. Smart tags worked similar to VKool Elite, slows down a bit.

Since it does not have the long proven years background of VK, 3M, etc, they support it with 10 years warranty for defect, peeling, etc and another 10 years warranty for performance if reading of IRR, etc, degrade more than 10% over the years. So I keep suggesting to look at it as an option for metallic sputter tint. Price is premium as expected of good metallic sputter tints but face hard competition coz price similar to other branded tints. Well, if they lower it, can't make it premium tint, if they keep the premium pricing, hard to compete with other proven brands, the dilemma..

Notice 1 thing about GPS signals of my Z50 GPS dashcams in both cars FWS (1 with Irispro silver sputter DX series, another still with VKool Eite), GPS can connect most of times in Irispro metallic sputter but GPS connection is intermittent in my dashcam for VKool Elite, lots of times, cannot connect but once connected will remain connected.
yeah... gps is sporadic in my older vkool elite cars, often have to put outside open window to get a lock to get started... newer vkool seems a bit better, maybe because the windscreen is bigger and more slanted, so more expose to the sky... hard to say...

anyways im the one posted the white haze picture... wink.gif

sputter and nano is probably best of both worlds... got some sellers in shopee for diy but i've not tried these yet...

Cavino
post Jul 2 2024, 01:24 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 2 2024, 11:23 AM)
yeah... gps is sporadic in my older vkool elite cars, often have to put outside open window to get a lock to get started... newer vkool seems a bit better, maybe because the windscreen is bigger and more slanted, so more expose to the sky... hard to say...

anyways im the one posted the white haze picture... wink.gif

sputter and nano is probably best of both worlds... got some sellers in shopee for diy but i've not tried these yet...
Haha...now think back, ya lor...I think that is you also but too lazy to go look back at the post..,...so just put in the that guy...haha

My old City FWS still VKool Elite that was changed 4 to 5 years ago when FWS cracked. So it is the newer one. Phone GPS got no problem locking. Very old GPS phone got problem with VKool Elite but all newer phones no problem liao. It is only the dashcam DDPAI Z50 GPS that are getting some difficulty in locking in VKool Elite.

The problem with DIY metallic sputter film is, I think susah to get for a good DIY quality coz you cannot determine the quality of metal used (we know they mixed metal inside, silver does not mean only silver inside), the actual sputtering process, the number of layers sputtered that enhanced the spread of metal, how long will they last?

You already can see some cheap metallic sputter film in the market (so-called house brands selling very cheap) but the so-called heat reflection is just meh...Try go test b4 when I look around last time. Whether it is really metal-based or something else also I don't know. The only way to get guaranteed quality materials is if you can get from reputable brands with known qualtiy metal and nano sputtering process but then that DIY pricing will not be DIY pricing anymore coz those brand won't sell the film at near cost to you lor...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jul 2 2024, 01:27 PM
tanalvis
post Jul 2 2024, 06:12 PM

472 posts

anyone try protech performance tint?
Rm388 for IRR98, nano ceramic type, 7 year warranty. google review quite many good review.
Very doubtful on the quality.

491 Pages « < 461 462 463 464 465 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:12 AM