491 Pages « < 462 463 464 465 466 > » Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

neekun
post Jul 2 2024, 06:54 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 2 2024, 07:42 AM)
3M crystalline should be ok lah... even vkool elite if everyday in the sun also have problems eventually... anyways these are the known top brands and top product line...
iirc not jpj legal... biggrin.gif  i think their films are from Japan... went to check them out a while ago so memory not so clear liao... a lot of ppl swear by them few yrs back... relatively cheap but irr not good on their cheaper range...
Yea they have many ranges, lower one not good IRR. Those higher end one is good. I will take from them the Signature Series. Will report here again on its performance.
mrpotat
post Jul 5 2024, 06:36 AM

14 posts

Hello newbie question here,

Currently using HAMEL Gold, if I'm changing my front windscreen due to crack, does the warranty cover to replace it? Thank you
Cavino
post Jul 5 2024, 08:22 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(mrpotat @ Jul 5 2024, 06:36 AM)
Hello newbie question here,

Currently using HAMEL Gold, if I'm changing my front windscreen due to crack, does the warranty cover to replace it? Thank you
From my understanding, UNLESS you can prove that the windscreen crack is based on MANUFACTURING defect, NO.

If the crack is caused by external factor such as stone chip, 100% NO. It should be covered under your car insurance IF you top up your premium with additional windscreen cover. That will 15% extra on your intended claim (let's say you cover windscreen claim RM2000 based on your car model, then RM300) on top of your premium and will kena 8%sst on top of that. Claiming windscreen cover separately will not affect your car NCD. You should be able to claim windscreen cover once only until your next renewal.

FYI, if you add special peril to your insurance (natural disaster such as flood, tree falling, etc), that will be additional 0.2% of your car premium + 8% sst. Claim special peril tho, if I am not wrong, will affect the car NCD cause it just open up your premium to include natural disaster, not actually a separate cover with its own claim like Windscreen.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jul 5 2024, 08:23 AM
Wolgie
post Jul 5 2024, 06:00 PM

2,640 posts

Good Day, My new car thinking of TINT?
which is better? 3M, Raytech, VKool or etc?
Any different if 3yrs, 5yrs, 7yrs... etc?
Cavino
post Jul 9 2024, 10:55 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jul 5 2024, 06:00 PM)
The years are usually the warranty given, it shows how confidence they have in their product quality or/and durability or how much they manufacturer wanted to show their commitment in their product.

IMO, VKool is technically the best metallic sputter tint but also comes with very expensive price tag but they only offer 5 years warranty. VKool are generally very durable and lasting (unless you got a fake, yes, VKool has fake imitation outside), but I figure the std warranty years vs some other competitors (7-10 years) are also due to VKool might also face tint decoloring (metallic sputter rusting due to installation issues that can appear years later). Most have no problem tho.

3M is a very good alternative BUT it has has problem with smart tags for lots of cars if you run on highway a lot. There are also fake 3M outside, so watch out.

Raytech are also quite premium priced, they are ceramic based and their best Windscreen range is also not compatible with smart tag. One of my earlier option when looking for tint replacement.

Irispro is a local premium metalllic sputter tint brand that can also be considered as direct alternative to VKool but less expensive pricing. Very good heat resistance but pricing also on par with 3M but definitely cheaper than VKool. It does comes with 10 year warranty of defect and 10 years on performance to build on their brand reputation as they are quite new in the market. I add them in the option as I have personally tried and installed them on all my cars but their highest range is only at 60% VLT vs 70% of others if you want bright clear tint. It is also one of the few tints with 3mil thickness vs common 2mil due to extra HEV (blue light protection) layers and double layers of metallic sputters. I have reviewed their strength and weakness in many post liao based on my own real life experience. Do read my latest post on their tint colour improvement over earlier post on colour mismatch if you are interested in the brand.

Totalgard is a popular budget brands tho review on its quality got both good and bad comments. It really depends on your budget and expectation based on your tint budget. You cannot expect it to perform like more premium brands at a fraction of the their price.

You get what you paid for. Some like to sleep (haha) in their car, worth to pay for premium tint, some say they not sleep in car, so tint ok ok quality can already, no need that good, then pay for lower pricing tint lor.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jul 9 2024, 10:59 AM
ayamxxx
post Jul 9 2024, 11:02 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jul 5 2024, 06:00 PM)
budget and Spec. Make sure IRR99%-100% for best tint against our hot weather. Brand, depending on your budget. Warranty, some brands offered with Degradation warranty, that's a good thing for consumer
Wolgie
post Jul 9 2024, 06:01 PM

2,640 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 9 2024, 10:55 AM)
The years are usually the warranty given, it shows how confidence they have in their product quality or/and durability or how much they manufacturer wanted to show their commitment in their product.

IMO, VKool is technically the best metallic sputter tint but also comes with very expensive price tag but they only offer 5 years warranty. VKool are generally very durable and lasting (unless you got a fake, yes, VKool has fake imitation outside), but I figure the std warranty years vs some other competitors (7-10 years) are also due to VKool might also face tint decoloring (metallic sputter rusting due to installation issues that can appear years later). Most have no problem tho.

3M is a very good alternative BUT it has has problem with smart tags for lots of cars if you run on highway a lot. There are also fake 3M outside, so watch out.

Raytech are also quite premium priced, they are ceramic based and their best Windscreen range is also not compatible with smart tag. One of my earlier option when looking for tint replacement.

Irispro is a local premium metalllic sputter tint brand that can also be considered as direct alternative to VKool but less expensive pricing. Very good heat resistance but pricing also on par with 3M but definitely cheaper than VKool. It does comes with 10 year warranty of defect and 10 years on performance to build on their brand reputation as they are quite new in the market. I add them in the option as I have personally tried and installed them on all my cars but their highest range is only at 60% VLT vs 70% of others if you want bright clear tint. It is also one of the few tints with 3mil thickness vs common 2mil due to extra HEV (blue light protection) layers and double layers of metallic sputters. I have reviewed their strength and weakness in many post liao based on my own real life experience. Do read my latest post on their tint colour improvement over earlier post on colour mismatch if you are interested in the brand.

Totalgard is a popular budget brands tho review on its quality got both good and bad comments. It really depends on your budget and expectation based on your tint budget. You cannot expect it to perform like more premium brands at a fraction of the their price.

You get what you paid for. Some like to sleep (haha) in their car, worth to pay for premium tint, some say they not sleep in car, so tint ok ok quality can already, no need that good, then pay for lower pricing tint lor.
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 9 2024, 11:02 AM)
budget and Spec. Make sure IRR99%-100% for best tint against our hot weather. Brand, depending on your budget. Warranty, some brands offered with Degradation warranty, that's a good thing for consumer
My Location is sabah.
My Car is Chery Tiggo 8.
They offer me 3900. and 95%-99% . the highest.
It said also protect from break... (do really need it?)
warranty 5years
Cavino
post Jul 9 2024, 06:19 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jul 9 2024, 06:01 PM)
My Location is sabah.
My Car is Chery Tiggo 8.
warranty 5years
You never mention what brand and what range in that brands you are quoted for?

Is it quoted for security tint or normal solar tint?

Be wary of quoted high IRR thing. It really depends on brands. Many unknown brands quoted super high IRR but in reality does not work as expected or does not last.
Branded tints quoted IRR like VKool, 3M, etc are more reliable and nearer to expectation.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jul 9 2024, 06:29 PM
Wolgie
post Jul 10 2024, 09:06 AM

2,640 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 9 2024, 06:19 PM)
You never mention what brand and what range in that brands you are quoted for?

Is it quoted for security tint or normal solar tint?

Be wary of quoted high IRR thing. It really depends on brands. Many unknown brands quoted super high IRR but in reality does not work as expected or does not last.
Branded tints quoted IRR like VKool, 3M, etc are more reliable and nearer to expectation.
Raytech vs 3M
7yrs vs 5yrs.
Cavino
post Jul 10 2024, 09:11 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jul 10 2024, 09:06 AM)
Raytech vs 3M
7yrs vs 5yrs.
Raytech RX series (security tint) vs 3M Crystalline (solar) range?
Wolgie
post Jul 10 2024, 04:08 PM

2,640 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 10 2024, 09:11 AM)
Yup
Wolgie
post Jul 11 2024, 10:46 AM

2,640 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 10 2024, 09:11 AM)
Solarguard. Heard before? Also 3900 for Tiggo. 7yrs warranty
Cavino
post Jul 11 2024, 02:51 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jul 11 2024, 10:46 AM)
Solarguard. Heard before? Also 3900 for Tiggo. 7yrs warranty
Solar Gard, is it? That is a branded American tint brand. Top LX range?

Last time also I look into that when looking for metallic sputter tints. However there is little to no local reviews on this tint.
So I got no further comment on quality of this tint. It does not have detail of film material online.

Although the LX70 specs listed near on par with VKool Elite, the oversea comments I read mentioned it does not match up (then again, many other tints did the same with specs thingy, we cannot say for sure). It is cheaper than VKool, so you can decide for yourself.

Be wary that 3M also got fake imitation outside, so make sure get from trusted vendor.

For the 5 years vs 7 years warranty, I think no need bother coz by 5 years, tint still looks good the extra 2 years not much difference. Note that this is should be defect and installation (bubble and peeling) warranty. Does not cover performance degradation. It does give you 2 extra years of peace of mind, as long as the shop installing for you is official partner of the tint your want and does not renegade or close shop. whistling.gif sweat.gif

For 3M, it is already well established. In 5 years generally not much issue was heard with performance degradation. Cannot comment on solar gard tho since not much local reviews on that.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jul 11 2024, 03:23 PM
Wolgie
post Jul 11 2024, 05:23 PM

2,640 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 11 2024, 02:51 PM)
Solar Gard, is it? That is a branded American tint brand. Top LX range?

Last time also I look into that when looking for metallic sputter tints. However there is little to no local reviews on this tint.
So I got no further comment on quality of this tint. It does not have detail of film material online.

Although the LX70 specs listed near on par with VKool Elite, the oversea comments I read mentioned it does not match up (then again, many other tints did the same with specs thingy, we cannot say for sure). It is cheaper than VKool, so you can decide for yourself.

Be wary that 3M also got fake imitation outside, so make sure get from trusted vendor.

For the 5 years vs 7 years warranty, I think no need bother coz by 5 years, tint still looks good the extra 2 years not much difference. Note that this is should be defect and installation (bubble and peeling) warranty. Does not cover performance degradation. It does give you 2 extra years of peace of mind, as long as the shop installing for you is official partner of the tint your want and does not renegade or close shop.  whistling.gif  sweat.gif

For 3M, it is already well established. In 5 years generally not much issue was heard with performance degradation. Cannot comment on solar gard tho since not much local reviews on that.
Mhmm. then i better choose much for trust seller or workshop.
As the 3M one, the shop still there, my friend 1yrs ago fixed it, now seem a bit ...... need warranty as he said. (maybe the tint guy not good). his tint car got mid logo 3M, 3M, 3M.(so means genuine bah)
FOR Raytech no friend try before. only because the advertising in facebook and news, and car seller recommend. (offer price, but still 3.9k) doh.gif
VKool cannot find near here. laugh.gif
Finallize i think i choose Solar Gard. As i search really quite popular out there. as my friend doing there 3 yrs ago, and tint still nice and the shop still there + trust the boss. YUp. is LX.
+ he also free include the rooftop tint too. but not LX, he said too expensive, he put Quantum. but also good for view. rolleyes.gif
https://solargard.com.my/products/

Thanks for all the info

This post has been edited by Wolgie: Jul 11 2024, 05:27 PM
Cavino
post Jul 12 2024, 08:47 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jul 11 2024, 05:23 PM)
Mhmm. then i better choose much for trust seller or workshop.
As the 3M one, the shop still there, my friend 1yrs ago fixed it, now seem a bit ...... need warranty as he said. (maybe the tint guy not good). his tint car got mid logo 3M, 3M, 3M.(so means genuine bah)
FOR Raytech no friend try before. only because the advertising in facebook and news, and car seller recommend. (offer price, but still 3.9k)  doh.gif
VKool cannot find near here.  laugh.gif
Finallize i think i choose Solar Gard. As i search really quite popular out there. as my friend doing there 3 yrs ago, and tint still nice and the shop still there + trust the boss. YUp. is LX.
+ he also free include the rooftop tint too. but not LX, he said too expensive, he put Quantum. but also good for view.  rolleyes.gif
https://solargard.com.my/products/
Thanks for all the info
Oh...you actually also considering Raytech. Raytech is also an established brand here with many branches. Their warranty from official shops (listed in their website) are valid in any of their official installation sites, not just from the shop you install only. Their top range RX (Security) and R (Solar) series have good review too. Trusted brand but the price is quite high thus many might just opt for 3M for 3M branding. The TSER for the top range are pretty good. It is actually one of my top choice last time when I looking for tint. Unfortunately for Klang Valley highway users, their top range windscreen cannot pass smart tag just like 3M but that is a non issue in Sabah. Ceramic based tho and my preference is metallic sputter anyway.

Oh....I remember now why I did not look into solar gard last time. I am looking for metallic sputter films then but their top LX range did not list if it is metallic sputter. Then their TSER for LX55 and LX25 are quite low when compared to some of its competitor. One thing, at least their site is being honest about lower TSER coz some other tints listed sky high TSER for the same VLT but cannot match the performance that they listed. FYI, TSER is the general estimate numbers to show the total combined heat resistance.

Too bad Irispro is not there in Sabah coz that local tint brand do worked with their listed high TSER (at least I can feel that in my cars) of their metallic sputter top range D and DX series. Just a bit thick thus harder to install and takes longer to dry out and their brand is too new for some and local brand some more.
dwRK
post Jul 12 2024, 08:55 AM

the consummate chartist
6,238 posts

had solargard 30± years ago... can only attest to brand longitivity... cant recall its performance... my first tint film... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jul 12 2024, 08:56 AM
ayamxxx
post Jul 12 2024, 09:28 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jul 9 2024, 06:01 PM)
My Location is sabah.
My Car is Chery Tiggo 8.
warranty 5years
Tbf those safety tint was big thing 10 years ago, now almost all brand just advertise their tint heat rejection quality, materials used instead of tint strength.
Fukatsu
post Jul 12 2024, 06:41 PM

31 posts

Hi guys, I just took a new Bezza, I’d read through the last 10 pages, but still can’t decide which to get as most of the post stating clear tint but I want darkest tint with highest heat resistant, no need security or other just darkest and highest heat resistant, which suitable my needs?
sitescope
post Jul 13 2024, 12:30 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(Fukatsu @ Jul 12 2024, 06:41 PM)
Hi guys, I just took a new Bezza, I’d read through the last 10 pages, but still can’t decide which to get as most of the post stating clear tint but I want darkest tint with highest heat resistant, no need security or other just darkest and highest heat resistant, which suitable my needs?
All are down to ur wallet
I'm using 5% vlt (i think this is the lowest i can find, there's no 0% vlt so far) on both rear side windows n rear ws with no security

This post has been edited by sitescope: Jul 13 2024, 12:40 AM
sitescope
post Jul 13 2024, 12:38 AM

4,494 posts

After a few mths using 99% irr tint, 1 thing keeps confusing me.
99% of all tolls i tested from perlis to johor with stag only 1 toll is able to read stag frm inside my car which is tol hosp sbuloh
The rest will fail n i need to lower down my side window n hold the stag outside.

Does reader using by PLUS is able to penetrate 99% irr ? And why only at 1 toll ?

This post has been edited by sitescope: Jul 13 2024, 12:47 AM

491 Pages « < 462 463 464 465 466 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:34 PM