Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

vorchiel
post Aug 15 2006, 05:25 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 15 2006, 07:38 AM)
Were you given a students or international students account? THe international one kena pay GBP5 every month!
QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Aug 15 2006, 11:26 AM)
Yup, HSBC for international student one we need to pay GBP5 EVERY MONTH.... really not good la.. so to make it short. to get a HSBC student or international student bank account we need to stay at least 2.5-3 years in UK right? then we  can open its account. unless we have so much many that can let their eye  shocking.gif  Correct?  smile.gif
mine is international students account.. they havent charge me a single penny since october 2005 rclxub.gif .. i can open my account straightaway last year.. maybe there are hidden rules difference between branches..
Smy
post Aug 15 2006, 05:38 PM

Woot !
706 posts

my next trip there 20 kilo breakdown.

10kg Milo biggrin.gif
10kg shirts , jeans , etc

for banking i use just Natwest , can easily transfer from msian bank if u're low on cash. HSBC takes 1-2 months to apply and is very troublesome for international students.

This post has been edited by Smy: Aug 15 2006, 05:39 PM
cyclonova
post Aug 15 2006, 06:11 PM

94 posts

Good news, guys.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...ec=Worldupdates

I think we are allowed to hand carry our laptops, handphones etc again. Hopefully they are not so stringent and will continue to ease back on the restrictions.
babysmile
post Aug 15 2006, 10:38 PM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

I get HSBC international student account 3 years ago and now have change to standard account..

If got chance, pls do so get the Lloyds bank.. They give VISA debit card for me and it's very useful compare with those solo card... I can do lots of stuff on VISA but not on SOLO.. but better dun get those cash card.. even worse..

Internet banking... I heard natwest charge when dealing in internet banking on natwest.. crazy.. I use HSBC internet banking and it's quite easy ... Lloyds also not bad...

Phone contract.. get O2 contract.. so you can use the free minutes to call back Malaysia landlines or mobile phones for free.. Da number ?

0844 570 0474

You will heard a gal talk blah blah blah.. when she start talking, you jus press the international code then ur destination number...
eg : to call 04 - 1234567

simple.. wink.gif
mr lappy
post Aug 15 2006, 10:54 PM

398 posts

hehe the no. i hav is not that 1,

lol... 1 more number in my liste

1 of them is only for weekends another is for weekdays, i cant remember which 1, it will tell u if its wrong.
overboard
post Aug 15 2006, 11:59 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 15 2006, 07:38 AM)
Were you given a students or international students account? THe international one kena pay GBP5 every month!
That's for new account I think. shakehead.gif moneyflies.gif
I open my account last year and luckily have not been charged. thumbup.gif
Heck if they start to charge I'll close my account. vmad.gif

sign0006.gif Anyone knows how much they sell new Man Utd shirt at SportsWorld? If it's 30 confirm get one. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by overboard: Aug 16 2006, 12:10 AM
jooku1
post Aug 16 2006, 09:21 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(babysmile @ Aug 15 2006, 10:38 PM)
I get HSBC international student account 3 years ago and now have change to standard account..

If got chance, pls do so get the Lloyds bank.. They give VISA debit card for me and it's very useful compare with those solo card... I can do lots of stuff on VISA but not on SOLO.. but better dun get those cash card.. even worse..

Internet banking... I heard natwest charge when dealing in internet banking on natwest.. crazy.. I use HSBC internet banking and it's quite easy ... Lloyds also not bad...

Phone contract.. get O2 contract.. so you can use the free minutes to call back Malaysia landlines or mobile phones for free..  Da number ?

0844 570 0474

You will heard a gal talk blah blah blah.. when she start talking, you jus press the international code then ur destination number...
eg : to call 04 - 1234567

simple.. wink.gif
So only Llyods gives a Visa debit card? Heard that Barclays gives a credit card but must minimum balance of GBP500 or something shocking.gif shocking.gif
BUt I thot you can only open one students account. So the other banks you applied. are they normal or stuednts acc? But since you're already there for 3 years, easy for you loh.
BTW, were you charged monthly for your HSBC int students acc?

THe O2 contract you're talking about, why are there "special" numbers to call? You mean O2 will not tell you these numbers and you have to search yourself? SOunds like very hush hush only blink.gif
igor_is300
post Aug 16 2006, 09:31 AM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 16 2006, 09:21 AM)
So only Llyods gives a Visa debit card? Heard that Barclays gives a credit card but must minimum balance of GBP500 or something shocking.gif  shocking.gif
BUt I thot you can only open one students account. So the other banks you applied. are they normal or stuednts acc? But since you're already there for 3 years, easy for you loh.
BTW, were you charged monthly for your HSBC int students acc?

THe O2 contract you're talking about, why are there "special" numbers to call? You mean O2 will not tell you these numbers and you have to search yourself? SOunds like very hush hush only blink.gif
Last time I'm using Solo/Switch debit card from Natwest. It's free and compatible all round in UK (including ebay.co.uk).

This post has been edited by igor_is300: Aug 16 2006, 09:34 AM
goliath
post Aug 16 2006, 09:38 AM

5,532 posts

Last time, I was given two accounts by Natwest; Step and Saving account. A year after that, I applied for Master Card and they approved my application.

It is not necessary to get Switch card actually. Normally, places like Tesco, Sainsbury etc accept Solo card. On the other note, you need to key in your pin number whenever you make a purchase with your card. Unlikely over here, they fully utilise the microchip system. smile.gif
felixwhoals
post Aug 16 2006, 10:16 AM

455 posts

You can apply for mastercard in 4 - 5 months time. Usually it's easy to apply for credit card.

It would be better to get a switch card. IF you manage to get a switch card, this means you get a student account!! Only step account gives you solo card which is bad cause you can't use cheques.. You need cheque book if you decide to pay ur rental fees to ur landlord in installments. U need to write a postdated cheque for ur landlord to bank in. Solo card is quite common in the UK, i mean it doesn't make much different if you have a switch/visa or a solo debit card in UK.
jooku1
post Aug 16 2006, 02:28 PM

704 posts

Sorry noob question again.
What's the diff between all these cards you guys are mentioning? Switch, Solo, credit card?
All banks offer them or only selected ones? Which has wider coverage and acceptance?

goliath
post Aug 16 2006, 02:35 PM

5,532 posts

Switch and Solo card are debit cards. Once you made a payment with one of these cards, it will directly deduct from your bank account.

All banks offer these cards. Switch is widely acceptable compare to that of Solo. However, you have to meet certain requirements before you are eligible for Switch card.
jooku1
post Aug 16 2006, 02:49 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Aug 15 2006, 05:25 PM)
mine is international students account.. they havent charge me a single penny since october 2005  rclxub.gif .. i can open my account straightaway last year.. maybe there are hidden rules difference between branches..
Which branch did you open your acc with? I'm going to UCL. Any recommended branches nearby?
More keen on HSBC, coz the other banks (Natwest etc) require you to be resident in the UK for 3 years or more to open a students acc and I don't see anything on it;s website about an interantional acc.
Maybe can switch banks after a year, if they're really sucking me of GBP5 every month!
triangle-sun
post Aug 16 2006, 03:00 PM

170 posts

i would like to ask as well, if buying a handphone there is more worth it or getting their contract thingy there is better.

opinions are all welcome. thank u.
Geminist
post Aug 16 2006, 03:06 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(triangle-sun @ Aug 16 2006, 03:00 PM)
i would like to ask as well, if buying a handphone there is more worth it or getting their contract thingy there is better.

I believe getting a contract is much better because alot of phones are free by contract smile.gif
chamelion
post Aug 16 2006, 03:07 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

About where to open acct. check with your uni 1st. Norm uni will appoint/recommend a branch.

These branch should be consider 1st as they may simplified the registration process and give extra benefit due the agreement between the uni and that particular bank's branch.
goliath
post Aug 16 2006, 03:08 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(triangle-sun @ Aug 16 2006, 03:00 PM)

Get their contract offers. Some contracts come with free handphone (not the latest one though). You have to spend quite alot to get a brand new handphone itself (unless you get it from ebay.co.uk).
triangle-sun
post Aug 16 2006, 03:22 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 16 2006, 03:06 PM)
I believe getting a contract is much better because alot of phones are free by contract smile.gif
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 16 2006, 03:08 PM)
Get their contract offers. Some contracts come with free handphone (not the latest one though). You have to spend quite alot to get a brand new handphone itself (unless you get it from ebay.co.uk).
the contract, minimum is about a year contract eh?
but i dont think i'll be there till a year. that's what i'm afraid right now. even if its contract, is it cheaper? as in the call rates.
goliath
post Aug 16 2006, 03:24 PM

5,532 posts

The contract period will varies. Some are 12 months while some are 18 months.

And yes, call charges are cheaper. Just like pre-paid and post-paid in Malaysia.
triangle-sun
post Aug 16 2006, 03:27 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 16 2006, 03:24 PM)
The contract period will varies. Some are 12 months while some are 18 months.

And yes, call charges are cheaper. Just like pre-paid and post-paid in Malaysia.
12 months... is quite long tongue.gif
going there for my final year only.
thanks for the info smile.gif

125 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:59 AM