Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

overboard
post Jul 19 2006, 06:29 PM

411 posts

There's more to life than just studying there. rclxms.gif

You can improve your social life there by get along with locals.
Not to mention go to gigs, watch football, travel around Europe, etc. rclxm9.gif

But be sure that academic is your first priority, and remember your roots. sweat.gif
overboard
post Aug 15 2006, 11:59 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 15 2006, 07:38 AM)
Were you given a students or international students account? THe international one kena pay GBP5 every month!
That's for new account I think. shakehead.gif moneyflies.gif
I open my account last year and luckily have not been charged. thumbup.gif
Heck if they start to charge I'll close my account. vmad.gif

sign0006.gif Anyone knows how much they sell new Man Utd shirt at SportsWorld? If it's £30 confirm get one. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by overboard: Aug 16 2006, 12:10 AM
overboard
post Aug 16 2006, 04:04 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 16 2006, 02:49 PM)
Which branch did you open your acc with? I'm going to UCL. Any recommended branches nearby?
More keen on HSBC, coz the other banks (Natwest etc) require you to be resident in the UK for 3 years or more to open a students acc and I don't see anything on it;s website about an interantional acc.
Maybe can switch banks after a year, if they're really sucking me of GBP5 every month!
Opening Step Account with NatWest is very easy, you just need university acceptance latter, passport and document to verify your address. icon_rolleyes.gif
Why pay £5/month for HSBC International Student Account when you can get a free account with NatWest? icon_idea.gif

But I have to admit NatWest Step Account is a really shitty bank account, you can't even pay your credit card bill online with it. rclxub.gif
Anyone has NatWest Advantage Blue Account?

BTW, you can't pay train tickets from National Rail using Solo card.
It happened to me once, after a long wait in line, managed to get to the counter only to be told they don't accept Solo card. vmad.gif

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 16 2006, 03:34 PM)
On the other hand, please make sure that your bank account has sufficient amount of money in it to do direct debit. Else, the bank will charge you £30 (I think) for penalty.
It's ridiculously £38 (for NatWest)! vmad.gif

0.0479sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:46 PM