Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

chamelion
post Aug 4 2006, 10:57 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ Aug 4 2006, 10:10 AM)
Dude, u obviously haven't been to scotland eh?

ALso, when I was in Uni it was during the strange phenomenon of siberian cold stream or some such thing. I lived mainly in Nottingham and the temp over Xmas holidays was minus 10. Inside my heated house. I can't imagine it outside. Blizzard conditions where we got snowed in 3 days. 3 1/2 feet snow,wheehay!
Another robinhood agent? laugh.gif

When i was there last time, it reach minus 14 wub.gif

Miss nottingham wub.gif

Btw, as for clothing, best is wear 2-3 t-shirt with 1 jacket. but if you just reach uk, need couple weeks to use to the temp.

forget glove and internal thema clothing.

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 4 2006, 11:01 AM
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 12:19 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jiaxuan @ Aug 9 2006, 12:14 AM)
Is there anything "wrong" if I buy a mobile phone package from tesco? everyone was asking me why would i wanna buy it from TESCO. blink.gif  blink.gif
Dont decide yet, cause if you look around, there is actually lobang for phone.

last time when i was there, i manage to buy 10 nokia 8210 (this was woot during my time yawn.gif ) for 10 pound each cause there is a glitch in the contract. laugh.gif

Ask around 1st before signing contract cause some need to sign 24 months.
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 12:31 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jiaxuan @ Aug 9 2006, 12:22 AM)
wow!! how did you do THAT? 10 for 10 pounds EACH?! wow....!! good eye sight. tongue.gif and i don't think i'm going to be THAT smart ! really!
blush.gif

so, i suppose i not getting my UK number within the first 2 days i arrive right?
Depend your uni arrangement la.

When i arrive my dept head give me 5 pound phone card to call home at airport.

Phone is activated immeadiate (2 hours to activate), all sim card come with 10 pound free prepaid so you can start calling already.

But norm we use IDD card la cause very cheap compare to direct line.
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 01:04 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jiaxuan @ Aug 9 2006, 12:54 AM)
actually i never plan to call home frequently, gonna use internet more - email or skype.

so which is the better for sms-ing home? pay as u go or monthly contract? or it doesn't matter as long as i don't call?

btw, i read that o2 monthly contract users can call back to malaysia for free. do they still provide this service now?
Then no need cause most uni have fast line. Can just use uni's.

Last time my uni got about 600-800 pc spread around the campus so getting an un-occupy terminal is not an issue.

My uni block the whole hostel netwrok cause we were abusing the net laugh.gif

We were also play with fire-siren when nbtd laugh.gif still have my pic taken next to the fire truck...

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 9 2006, 01:05 AM
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 01:08 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Btw, if even you dont smoke, remember to buy 2 carton of common brand ciggy to there. After 2-3 months, can earn you some fish and chips by selling to your course mate.

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 9 2006, 01:11 AM
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 11:10 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Aug 9 2006, 10:55 AM)
and i wish to know for one more thing is-- if i use original windows but the remaining softweres inside like photoshop, acd... are not actual one. will the people in the airport will switch on my laptop to check. or they just want to see the window licence only? 

or it is better not to install anything? thanksss
If they check, they check because they wanna make sure there is no bomb not pirate sw. So it going to be phisical checking only.
chamelion
post Aug 11 2006, 07:51 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 11 2006, 07:46 AM)
Breaking news!
After the foiled mid-air bombing threat involving British Airways flights from LHR, UK cuctoms has banned all hand carry luggage and specifically said NO LAPTOPS in the cabin!!  shocking.gif
So have to check-in ah??

Those forumers who are over there, please update us here about latest situation.

PS Damn those #$^#$%^#@$ terrorists!!!! vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Maybe from UK but not from M'sia.

chamelion
post Aug 11 2006, 11:40 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Aug 11 2006, 11:29 AM)
anyways, i have a question

What are the odds of settling htere after getting a degree, letss ay an engineering. Will they employ malaysian to work?
You must do some very specific final project so that you can have knowledge in that very specific area.

The reason is any company that going to hire you must prove that no one in whole EU can undertake the you role.

Norm electronic engineer is easier cause lots new technology is invent daily compare to civic or mechanical.

But bear in mind to be specific good is also double edge sword cause you might dif get the job cause no company in UK looking into your specific field. but still ok cause still can do eng job back in m'sia.

chamelion
post Aug 11 2006, 12:01 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Depend on what you aiming, actually BEM is not even in mind of most graduate eng.

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 11 2006, 12:01 PM
chamelion
post Aug 12 2006, 09:49 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Aug 11 2006, 08:49 PM)
(as in the companies do not have to write a detailed report to prove that they have not managed to find anyone else suitable within the EU for that job, etc etc).
They amend the law already?
chamelion
post Aug 14 2006, 10:35 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 14 2006, 09:52 PM)
Ok dumbass question.
Hiking/walking boots. Get here or there?
Get sliper here, get boot there.

Tons of outdoor boot compare to here. from various brand. For those like backpack, then get a most cheapo carrier bag here then buy the backpack there; cheaps and tons of variety brand.

Why get sliper here? well i spend 3 days looking for sliper in notingham after mine putus laugh.gif At the end no choice but to fork out 10 pound for a nike 1 cause they dont have selipar jepun there laugh.gif Maybe cold to wear laugh.gif
chamelion
post Aug 14 2006, 10:45 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

NIke la (still cheap though compare here).

but still abit overkill for pangsai and taking bath only laugh.gif

Norm day hardly wearable outside due to the cold.

chamelion
post Aug 14 2006, 11:17 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Aug 14 2006, 11:10 PM)
In the UK, only one student account can be opened per person. This includes Natwest's Step Account and HSBC's Student/International Student Account.

If you are planning to get a credit card here, try to open a Natwest's Step Account. starting june 2005, international student must stay in the UK for at least 3 years before they can get credit card from HSBC, but Natwest can grant a credit card straight away for Step Account holder.

According to some of my friends' opinion, HSBC's internet banking is better than Natwest's. 

Some of my friends opened Natwest's step account and HSBC's international student account simultaneously. by doing that, both of the banks can not check whether you already opened a student account from another bank. With this, you can get a credit card from Natwest and a convenient internet banking from HSBC.

However, policies can change. Make sure you check the fine print properly, as they change their policies quite frequent.
Last time i open Natwest cause HSBC need the student to stay at least 2.5 years and blah blah t&c. But my course mate manage to open in HSBC cause his bank draft is 25k pound where as mine is only 3k laugh.gif

So if you still want to open hsbc yet not meeting the requirement, make sure your old man give you big bank draft laugh.gif
chamelion
post Aug 14 2006, 11:40 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Aug 14 2006, 11:21 PM)
when i opened my account with HSBC last year, they didnt even ask for bank draft or anything, they just need a letter of attendance from my university, and that's all.  smile.gif

edit:

and passport of course..  tongue.gif
Then where is your money come from? laugh.gif

When i ask at HSBC, the old women told me i am not qualified as i didnt stay long enuf, then my friend ask "sure not" and show the lady his bank draft.

The lady reply "Oh! I can help you on this matter... shocking.gif ". Then i asked "what about me?" showing my bank draft sweat.gif

She just smile and said " i am sorry.." shakehead.gif

My friend and i look at each other and lol, cause we already know the bank's t&c before went there but we just nbtd and wanna test the bank doh.gif
chamelion
post Aug 15 2006, 02:46 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(tommy141184 @ Aug 15 2006, 02:39 PM)
is 20 kg enough for a student luggages? i am planning to take Mas, because of direct flight, but i heard Bristish airway offers 30 kg for student luggages. But anyway, i prefer Mas, cause i heard that the seat in Bristish airway is not that as comfortable as Mas. For sure we should get the one has comfortable seat one since this is a long journey flight...11 hours...cool..my ass gonna burn. I am leaving probably on 26/9 or 27/9..how's about your guy?
The flight seat is same. It's depend what type of plane they use, Airbus or Boeing.

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 15 2006, 02:47 PM
chamelion
post Aug 16 2006, 03:07 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

About where to open acct. check with your uni 1st. Norm uni will appoint/recommend a branch.

These branch should be consider 1st as they may simplified the registration process and give extra benefit due the agreement between the uni and that particular bank's branch.
chamelion
post Aug 25 2006, 10:50 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(tommy141184 @ Aug 25 2006, 10:48 AM)
thx geminist, then how about MILO? is there any MIlO there? I just can't live without MILO..lol
No Milo, only hot choco. Grow up... wink.gif

0.0512sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:31 AM