Lets talk salary v6

piggy2008
post May 23 2014, 11:12 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(Belieber @ May 23 2014, 09:21 PM)
Wow,you're seriously underpaid! salary 1.8k for degree,6 days,9 hours. mid telling me what your qualification is?
I think better if you just move on. There're opportunities out there, don't  confine yourself to such extent.move on! icon_rolleyes.gif
It is sad to say my CGPA is below 2.7. It is a degree from UTAR. I was desperate to join an audit firm because I think it will be a good exposure for me plus audit experience is valued by employers in commercial industries.
I felt lucky I was offered a position in this firm. Now, I feel like crap. The boss is stingy as hell and very VERY demanding. She do not care if you die as long as you get the job done within the tightest budget EVAR. Then everyday she will ask all the auditors to assemble in front of her so she can add more senseless procedures that are redundant so that we can fit them in into our tight time budget. When we never finish the work on time, we have stay after office hours (no OT incentives). I will never ever be able to meet her deadline without skimping on some procedures. This make me feel miserable. I am just spitting out audited reports with no quality whatsoever. I do not feel proud and I gain 0 sense of accomplishment.

I had worked in McDonalds, Sushi King and hotel assistant before. Nothing ever come close to this job in terms of making my body and soul numb. No wonder the turnover rate is 1staff/3months. If I leave too early, I am afraid my resume will be tainted. I need to brace myself for another daunting year....sigh. I guess.... this is the only way I can make up for being a loser in uni.

Ahhh...tomorrow work again. Tired...very tired.

(*Rambles on in sleep)

This post has been edited by piggy2008: May 23 2014, 11:16 PM
Striverly
post May 23 2014, 11:54 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 23 2014, 06:30 PM)
sounds like British American Tobacco... I work there as outsource for IT before.

they pay really well.. even for ppl that help them sell ciggys... not for outsource tho zz.. my ex company take a big chunk out of our salary last time.
Tobacco company all pay well. Lol.
samtbt38
post May 24 2014, 06:03 PM

40 posts

Job Title : Software Engineer
Years spent in company : 8 months
Company : Malaysia IT company
Industry : IT
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : 2 Years 9 Months
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Salary : RM3.5k
Dixon93
post May 25 2014, 10:51 AM

huh what?
921 posts

Job Title : IT Manager
Job Desciption : One man show on all IT related aspects; Server admin, Tech support, IT Security, Asset Management etc.. (multiple role)

Years spent in company : 2 months
Company : SG based company
Tenure : 1year
Experience before joining : N/A
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma from SG
salary : RM 5500 after conversion.

Not sure should I keep this job as I have to travel to SG daily from JB ==
youloke
post May 25 2014, 05:48 PM

596 posts

hi, sorry but I'm quite new here, I been offered a management trainee position by a MNC company, quite good, but salary is not that attractive, 2.4k, is it negotiable in some way? and usually company does provide what types of benefits? thanks!
alpha team
post May 26 2014, 09:34 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ May 23 2014, 11:12 PM)
It is sad to say my CGPA is below 2.7. It is a degree from UTAR. I was desperate to join an audit firm because I think it will be a good exposure for me plus audit experience is valued by employers in commercial industries.
I felt lucky I was offered a position in this firm. Now, I feel like crap. The boss is stingy as hell and very VERY demanding. She do not care if you die as long as you get the job done within the tightest budget EVAR. Then everyday she will ask all the auditors to assemble in front of her so she can add more senseless procedures that are redundant so that we can fit them in into our tight time budget. When we never finish the work on time, we have stay after office hours (no OT incentives). I will never ever be able to meet her deadline without skimping on some procedures. This make me feel miserable. I am just spitting out audited reports with no quality whatsoever. I do not feel proud and I gain 0 sense of accomplishment.

I had worked in McDonalds, Sushi King and hotel assistant before. Nothing ever come close to this job in terms of making my body and soul numb. No wonder the turnover rate is 1staff/3months. If I leave too early, I am afraid my resume will be tainted. I need to brace myself for another daunting year....sigh. I guess.... this is the only way I can make up for being a loser in uni.

Ahhh...tomorrow work again. Tired...very tired.

(*Rambles on in sleep)
im in audit line for 4+ years as well. now doing advisory . im grad from UPM.

ur result is not good, tat y u cannot get bigger firm, big firm starting pay at least 2.5k

normally small firm not required to work long time, my wife work in small firm audit 5+ years, starting salary oso low like you. but she not required to work long time. unlike me, work in bigger firm, so always OT and work on weekend, but I deserve it as my pay is high.

I think you better quit this job and get other bigger firm audit. no doubt most of the account graduate join audit at 1st, and commercial later. but this is not the rules. if u do not like audit, u may try something else. if ur goal is join commercial in future, then u better stay in audit at least 3 years and get ur MIA.

feel free to PM me if u have doubt, I will give u my view on our industry.
rayhvs
post May 26 2014, 03:13 PM

321 posts

Job Title : Relationship Analyst
Company : Foreign Bank
Industry : Banking
Employment Level : Assistant Manager (sort of senior executive level)
Experience before joining : 4 Years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree + CCP
Salary : RM4.8k

Am I consider well pay or average or under pay? Please advise. hmm.gif
Davidtcf
post May 27 2014, 11:17 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ May 26 2014, 03:13 PM)
Job Title : Relationship Analyst
Company : Foreign Bank
Industry : Banking
Employment Level : Assistant Manager (sort of senior executive level)
Experience before joining : 4 Years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree + CCP
Salary : RM4.8k

Am I consider well pay or average or under pay? Please advise.  hmm.gif
ok la bank got bright future de if you know how to talk and climb the ladder..

many branches to move into within the banking industry as well. I have friends working at bank (all quite high level liao) so I know..
Striverly
post May 27 2014, 03:53 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ May 25 2014, 06:48 PM)
hi, sorry but I'm quite new here, I been offered a management trainee position by a MNC company, quite good, but salary is not that attractive, 2.4k, is it negotiable in some way? and usually company does provide what types of benefits? thanks!
What company?

xpole
post May 27 2014, 05:41 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 22 2014, 05:50 PM)
I'm not that smart  tongue.gif

Rewards is a HR component, just happened to be a specialist in a finance field at the moment. I have received offers to move cross industry (FMCG, MLM and O&G) but I'm not as keen currently.
If I don't have HR Degree, I can still work at HR Department? unsure.gif
ahhann
post May 27 2014, 06:05 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

Job Title : Senior IT Security Engineer
Years spent in company : - 1 months (joining soon)
Company : MNC
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : 8 years
Salary : RM6500 + RM600 allowance + 1 months bonus
* I'm leaving from FI to MNC for the sake of pursue more technical oriented environment. Doing so, i lost my annual 5-6 month bonus & extra 3% EPF
leeengleng1990
post May 27 2014, 09:34 PM

Job Title : Claims assessor
Years spent in company : 11M
Company : Sg company
Industry : insurance
Experience before joining : Nil

This post has been edited by leeengleng1990: May 29 2014, 09:40 PM
Striverly
post May 27 2014, 09:39 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(leeengleng1990 @ May 27 2014, 10:34 PM)
Job Title : Claims assessor
Years spent in company : 11M
Company : Sg company
Industry : insurance
Experience before joining : Nil
salary : RM2.5k

Somewhat felt underpaid  cry.gif as I'm doing a lot more and a lot better than those "seniors"
No increment after probation?

leeengleng1990
post May 27 2014, 10:01 PM

QUOTE(Striverly @ May 27 2014, 09:39 PM)
No increment after probation?
Yes..no increment. sad.gif
WallChecker
post May 28 2014, 12:56 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ May 27 2014, 05:41 PM)
Of course why not. If you can prove that you are exceptional outstanding and better compared to those majored in HR smile.gif

This post has been edited by WallChecker: May 28 2014, 12:56 AM
win0209
post May 28 2014, 10:29 AM

Job Title : Network Engineer
Years spent in company : Just ready to join
Company : China company
Experience before joining : 2 years 7 month
salary : RM3.5 (After probation increase to RM3.8)
Benefit : 1) All parking and Toll can claim (Only relevant to Company)
2) Work after 1 year, the remaining other every year will give some share depends on performance)
3) OT can claim dinner allowance only

What do you guys think of this offer?
SUSfuzzy
post May 28 2014, 11:34 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 23 2014, 09:01 AM)
Morning fuzzy,

mind to share your work challenges ?
Well, perhaps not a specific challenge that I face, but in general what Rewards team face.

1) Sensitivity to data - we deal in one of the most sensitive area (especially in Asia) of a workplace, your compensation. Rewards team gets access to everyone's pay data so it is crucial that they understand the importance that role and be able to keep it confidential. You won't believe how many people do try and tease out details such as how much bonus they can expect, and we have had odd cases where a spouse had called the Rewards team to try to find out how much bonus his/her partner got because they think some cheating is going on.

2) Availability of data - Pay data is hard to get at times. While you have compensation surveys around, you can face challenges in verifying those details and for some positions, no one is willing to share those details. Even between your internal counterparts, some might be hesitant to share data simply because it is sensitive in their view.

3) Reconciling what we say and what we do - In a way, I'm lucky to have spend most of my young career in areas which takes a real concern in the area of remuneration and benefits. Many large organisation (including some of the listed companies) takes HR as a largely administrative function of no value, I have gone to interviews where the organisation was just starting a rewards team and the role offered was to create and head such a team, yet they were only willing to pay my current salary.

Many organisation still doesn't see that their human capital is the most valuable asset they have and how much hidden losses they occur because they didn't bother to implement proper structures on hiring, rewarding, training and retaining talents because they were far too focus on products.

So, while it is easy for anyone to blurt out how important their people is to the organisation, getting them to really believing in that mantra and carry out initiatives that supports that mantra is really hard.

QUOTE(xpole @ May 27 2014, 05:41 PM)
Definitely. I know some of the department heads that holds engineering degrees, some are MBA holders and you can also see some of the CEO of large companies have held some HR roles in the past. HR is more than just mere administrative, as companies begin to invest in talents, you can see some strategic functions (i.e Rewards, Talent Management, etc) popping up that requires very different skillset than the traditional HR functions.
JungWoo
post May 28 2014, 01:57 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(win0209 @ May 28 2014, 10:29 AM)
Job Title : Network Engineer
Years spent in company : Just ready to join
Company : China company
Experience before joining : 2 years 7 month
salary : RM3.5 (After probation increase to RM3.8)
Benefit : 1) All parking and Toll can claim (Only relevant to Company)
            2) Work after 1 year, the remaining  other every year will give some share depends on performance)
            3) OT can claim dinner allowance only

What do you guys think of this offer?
Good.
carrozaria
post May 28 2014, 05:49 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(dummiesoflife @ May 28 2014, 05:21 PM)
Job Title : marketing exective
Job Desciption : plan strategy
Years spent in company : 6months
Company : private small company
Industry : advertising
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : fresh grad
Experience before joining : none
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma in Mass Comm
salary : RM 2.6K
2.6k is reasonable for diploma holder but will they hire?
nyra
post May 28 2014, 08:18 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(dummiesoflife @ May 28 2014, 05:58 PM)
lol im already working in there
much ppl say my salary is beyond a diploma holder
Yes... you are overpaid. rclxms.gif
In fact MNC won't pay that much now.

144 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:14 AM