Working in Singapore V15

Tigerr
post Apr 15 2014, 01:38 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 15 2014, 01:15 PM)
You just quote one small part that is summarised from part of the clauses from the acts. If you read properly what I said, there are still many many clauses gazetted that me and you don't even know. Many of the people here did not have their documents translated but still success in the application, some are required or their application put on hold. There is a discrepancy here. Either one of the officers are not following the rules.
None of the documents I submitted need translation...chinese lady who processed my application few years back...
LiangZhuge
post Apr 15 2014, 02:40 PM

451 posts

This looks interesting,

http://randomalphabets.com/ks14/

Anyone up for it here ? Kena ambil permit dulu right ? smile.gif
quintesson
post Apr 15 2014, 08:57 PM

564 posts

I've posted in Let's talk about salary thread but no answer perhaps it's more appropriate to post it here:

QUOTE(quintesson @ Apr 12 2014, 12:44 PM)
What is the average salary scale in SG? Is sg$3.5-4k consider high or on average taking into consideration to minus at least 1k for food & accommodation? Is there any levy exemption for diploma or stpm holder?
This is for a post with few years experience.
Hope someone can enlighten this.

This post has been edited by quintesson: Apr 15 2014, 09:00 PM
cheeyt
post Apr 15 2014, 10:06 PM

62 posts

Hi all, I m not posting my experience to make anyone angry. I just want to share my experience. I did told the malay officer that I thought msian birth certificate does not need to be translated and immediately she got upset and said that she will put my application on hold and will wait for my translated birth certificate, I dare not annoyed her further.
deodorant
post Apr 15 2014, 10:08 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Apr 15 2014, 08:57 PM)

different industries different payscales
"few years experience" is vague. 2? 5? 8?
http://www.robertwalters.com.sg/career-adv...ary-survey.html
hydragyrum
post Apr 15 2014, 10:21 PM

29 posts

I've posted in Let's talk about salary thread but no answer perhaps it's more appropriate to post it here:

You can check this site
http://www.salary.sg/
reeve-826
post Apr 15 2014, 11:20 PM

334 posts

I have a enquiry about working night shift. How they return to their home after 12am? Since there do not have bus and lrt during weekdays after 12am
rawrkun
post Apr 16 2014, 12:20 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(reeve-826 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:20 PM)
I have a enquiry about working night shift. How they return to their home after 12am? Since there do not have bus and lrt during weekdays after 12am
Night rider, taxi, cycle, company car, walk, etc
razo2
post Apr 16 2014, 09:25 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 13 2014, 08:07 PM)
O can? Loan sharks love you~
Have, you need to read  those sign board around custom. 5kg for each type of meat, beef, chicken, seafood, vege etc. No pork from Malaysia. I just smuggled in 10kg of frozen seafood and few kg of vege through air. No question asked. I have been doing this weekly for years, its hard running a family for aunties... Just bring in reasonable amount, don't fill those 30 plus inches luggage all with meat then you are ok.
Dont the food get spoiled from all those throwing at the customs?
razo2
post Apr 16 2014, 09:34 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Apr 15 2014, 10:37 AM)
and I am suppose to believe you and your words, against the official terms that have been spelt out ? ...
Very simple, just call the immigration department and ask. There is a good reason why telephone line was created.

No point fighting over the internet when the butt that is on the fire is yours.
razo2
post Apr 16 2014, 09:39 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Apr 15 2014, 10:06 PM)
Hi all, I m not posting my experience to make anyone angry. I just want to share my experience. I did told the malay officer that I thought msian birth certificate does not need to be translated and immediately she got upset and said that she will put my application on hold and will wait for my translated birth certificate, I dare not annoyed her further.
Different people act differently. Sometimes when the officer got a bad day also can cause problems in the application. In the end of the day is your luck and ability to talk to people. If immigration is hard to handle, try shipyard. They are 10 times harder. But sometimes it is good to approach people in a warm manner, make some jokes to brighten up their day.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 16 2014, 12:12 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Apr 16 2014, 09:25 AM)
Dont the food get spoiled from all those throwing at the customs?
Hand carry.

QUOTE(razo2 @ Apr 16 2014, 09:39 AM)
Different people act differently. Sometimes when the officer got a bad day also can cause problems in the application. In the end of the day is your luck and ability to talk to people. If immigration is hard to handle, try shipyard. They are 10 times harder. But sometimes it is good to approach people in a warm manner, make some jokes to brighten up their day.
Private no people care you. Government they need to follow the book, no accept if good mood reject if don't like your face. Don't follow the procedure then we do our NS by complaining.
hitsugaya2010
post Apr 16 2014, 01:30 PM

946 posts

Salary for Singaporeans and Malaysians is different depending on the company. Fresh grads from Malaysia tends to earn lower than fresh grads from Singapore.

few years experience, from what I know if you are earning let's say 5k in malaysia, in singapore you might get around 3.5k-4k. Again, this depends on your negotiation skill in the interview and how much you are qualified for the job.

This is what I did last time, I asked for a one to one dollar salary. Somehow they accepted it. lucky me. but if they can't offer one to one dollar, then you might need to lower down your expectation.
ivanswk
post Apr 16 2014, 01:37 PM

+J
2,110 posts

quite high for stpm/dilploma holder
crazy25kid
post Apr 16 2014, 01:44 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 16 2014, 12:12 PM)
Private no people care you. Government they need to follow the book, no accept if good mood reject if don't like your face. Don't follow the procedure then we do our NS by complaining.

in the end, the officer is still human.
like it or not, human will definitely be influenced by their emotion consciously or unconsciously.
cases of whether they accept during good mood and reject when they do not like you...this may and will happen.
u may argue with whatever procedure that should have been followed and the person can argue with you using another point.
how do you know that there aren't cases where applications were accepted because the officer was in a good mood?
no1 will be complaining for that case so how can you be so sure

take a police officer for example...when you drive over the speed limit, why do they sometimes let you off with a warning instead of a summon? by procedure, you should have been summoned (we are not talking about bribing the police)
everything going by the book will only work in theory or with robots

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Apr 16 2014, 01:45 PM
razo2
post Apr 16 2014, 02:46 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 16 2014, 12:12 PM)
Hand carry.
Hand carry. 10 kg a bit heavy, you very strong woman.

lol. is it? i thought play a bit of feelings can get things going brows.gif . So robot want their feelings...

razo2
post Apr 16 2014, 02:48 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Apr 16 2014, 01:30 PM)
Salary for Singaporeans and Malaysians is different depending on the company. Fresh grads from Malaysia tends to earn lower than fresh grads from Singapore.

few years experience, from what I know if you are earning let's say 5k in malaysia, in singapore you might get around 3.5k-4k. Again, this depends on your negotiation skill in the interview and how much you are qualified for the job.

This is what I did last time, I asked for a one to one dollar salary. Somehow they accepted it. lucky me. but if they can't offer one to one dollar, then you might need to lower down your expectation.
of course they do that. like buying stuff mah, must win about in the negotiation.
razo2
post Apr 16 2014, 03:17 PM

534 posts

can i get tax free ciggies, perfume and alcohol if i fly during this 3 days weekend to Malaysia?
crazy25kid
post Apr 16 2014, 03:26 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Apr 16 2014, 03:17 PM)
can i get tax free ciggies, perfume and alcohol if i fly during this 3 days weekend to Malaysia?

bring in to my or sg?
my...yes
sg...no
deodorant
post Apr 16 2014, 03:51 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Apr 16 2014, 03:17 PM)

cigs into singapore = no, full stop
alcohol into singapore = yes if you are flying in from countries other than malaysia (possibly including east malaysia, not sure)
perfume into singapore = not sure

anything into malaysia = yes

125 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0291sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:02 AM