4 cherry in a glass...

errr... have problem upload a pic...

This post has been edited by myak9: Oct 30 2013, 08:43 PM
TSarrow
post Oct 30 2013, 09:09 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 30 2013, 03:17 PM)
Btw, what is the moss name you using for the carpet grass?
Normally ppl use java moss. Just depend on you. Java moss is the most easier and grow fastest too. Mini fissiden and coral moss is nice bur slow grow and more demanding.
myak9
post Oct 30 2013, 09:40 PM

my mini shrimp tank...
4 cherry in a glass...
TSarrow
post Oct 31 2013, 12:42 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 30 2013, 09:40 PM)
my mini shrimp tank...
4 cherry in a glass...
Don't do that , they won't last long without proper tank cycle and filtration.
-kytz-
post Oct 31 2013, 01:14 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 30 2013, 07:02 PM)
hi actually how long we need to acclimatize the shrimps. i just received RCS this afternoon and acclimate for 2 hours before put inside the aquarium. i know the period too short because i need to go out...hope do not get any casualitites... i saw 1 shrimp lying below 1 rock, i think it moulting...
One lesson I learned is that you need to acclimatize shrimps much longer than for fish because they're more sensitive to water chemistry. I learned the hard way because most of my Malayan shrimps died, highly likely due to this.
whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 02:39 AM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 31 2013, 01:14 AM)
One lesson I learned is that you need to acclimatize shrimps much longer than for fish because they're more sensitive to water chemistry. I learned the hard way because most of my Malayan shrimps died, highly likely due to this.
hurm
lesson learn cry.gif
9 casualty already and left 6 more
hope they can survive...
myak9
post Oct 31 2013, 07:48 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 31 2013, 12:42 AM)
Don't do that , they won't last long without proper tank cycle and filtration.

arrr...I have upload issue...
my glass tank have mini filter in it...it's 250L/H (is it too fast...)
9w lighting...marsilia...anubias nana mini...
with 4 cherry (it's been a week now...)

want to asked...
what do you guys feed them...I only feed then with fish pallets...
what vitamins do I need to add...
how sensitive are they to seachem ferts...
GTBlackIce
post Oct 31 2013, 10:47 AM

Hi folks.... how are y'all doing? Good to see the thread is still active... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 31 2013, 01:14 AM)
5-6 hours.... my goodness THAT is a long duration. Have you got air pump in the bucket/container when you do that? Malayans are very hardy... probably wasn't because of short acclimation but something else? What's the TDS difference between the lfs/seller compared to yours?

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 31 2013, 02:39 AM)
hurm
lesson learn  cry.gif
9 casualty already and left 6 more
hope they can survive...
My max period of acclimation thus far is only 2hrs... this apply to malayans, fire red, crs & oebt. Even the solo oto I have had been acclimated for about 2hrs. One thing to note is I don't put any air pumps during acclimation... just drip method on the bucket. Sure you've got no ammonia/nitrite reading in your tank and nitrate is still low?

Apart from 1 casualty of each batch bought previously... I've got no 'major' casualties. CRS being the most sensitive of the lot I have... only 1 casualty and none on 2nd batch. Guess it also depends on how the shrimp is before we bought it... it may have already been weak then. Still believe luck plays a part sometimes.

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 31 2013, 07:48 AM)

arrr...I have upload issue...
my glass tank have mini filter in it...it's 250L/H (is it too fast...)
9w lighting...marsilia...anubias nana mini...
with 4 cherry (it's been a week now...)

want to asked...
what do you guys feed them...I only feed then with fish pallets...
what vitamins do I need to add...
how sensitive are they to seachem ferts...
Wow that is a mini tank indeed! Quite similar to what I had previously... thumbup.gif But wasn't rearing any shrimps back then.

Yes, your filter is too strong but then again if it comes with the tank...well, sometimes it could be overrated. What's the water volume in the tank? Just monitor the flow in the tank... see if it's affecting your flora/fauna.

Shrimp food and spinach. Hook up with Arrow bro if you want some shrimp food in small quantities.

Ferts wise... try to get those 'shrimp safe' or no/very less (0.000x) copper if possible. I'm dosing Seachem Flourish, BW Lush and Essence K in my tank... no issues. Since you're only having RCS it should be fine but do monitor the water parameters.

In planted/shrimp tanks... it's more about taking care of the water parameters than the flora/fauna itself.

sniper on the roof
post Oct 31 2013, 11:40 AM

23,414 posts

Update to my last post on the leech. Had another death yesterday and today, one of the shrimps looks like its in trouble too. Lethargic and got swept by weak current.
lily64my
post Oct 31 2013, 12:42 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 31 2013, 11:40 AM)
Update to my last post on the leech. Had another death yesterday and today, one of the shrimps looks like its in trouble too. Lethargic and got swept by weak current.
Oh dear! maybe need to redo the whole tank....
sniper on the roof
post Oct 31 2013, 01:34 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 31 2013, 12:42 PM)
Oh dear! maybe need to redo the whole tank....
I don't think its a bug issue because except the odd seed shrimp, nematode and snail, I didn't see anything else.
whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 01:49 PM

just checked this morning
saw only 1 shrimp still alive
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
GTBlackIce
post Oct 31 2013, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 31 2013, 11:40 AM)
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 31 2013, 01:34 PM)
I don't think its a bug issue because except the odd seed shrimp, nematode and snail, I didn't see anything else.
Ouch... sorry to hear that bro. Any idea on what's the root cause?

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 31 2013, 01:49 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Yikes that's bad! Something is definitely wrong... have you checked your water parameters yet? Added anything new in your tank recently?
sniper on the roof
post Oct 31 2013, 02:55 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 31 2013, 02:07 PM)
Yikes that's bad! Something is definitely wrong... have you checked your water parameters yet? Added anything new in your tank recently?
I've no idea. I find that they're all ok whenever I totally ignore the tank

But those deaths happened after I clear some algae and did small (like ~5%) water change.

I even drip the top up water slowly.

whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 31 2013, 02:07 PM)
hurm
i didnt check water parameter yet because dont have test kit
but i saw all fish doing fine in the tank except for jumper... cry.gif
now changes i made since 1st setup...
TSarrow
post Oct 31 2013, 03:55 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 31 2013, 01:49 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Just one alive? Can descibe your tank setup and can confirm it is indeed fully cycled.

whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 31 2013, 03:55 PM)
Just one alive? Can descibe your tank setup and can confirm it is indeed fully cycled.
hi sifu arrow
i think all dead because didnt see them anymore
my tank setup

45cmX30cmX20cm
substrate ADA amazonia
HOB filter
DIY CO2
air stone
flora - mini java fern, flame moss, java moss, HC, US and mini Fissiden, Crypto Albida
1 big stone (already test), lava rock, wood
fauna - RCS X 15 (dead already), Neon Tetra X 6

i think the tank full cycled because almost 2 month already
i didnt check for nitrate,nitrite and ammonia

i hope all sifu can help me icon_question.gif
TSarrow
post Nov 1 2013, 01:51 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 31 2013, 06:35 PM)
hi sifu arrow
i think all dead because didnt see them anymore
my tank setup

45cmX30cmX20cm
substrate ADA amazonia
HOB filter
DIY CO2
air stone
flora - mini java fern, flame moss, java moss, HC, US and mini Fissiden, Crypto Albida
1 big stone (already test), lava rock, wood
fauna - RCS X 15 (dead already), Neon Tetra X 6

i think the tank full cycled because almost 2 month already
i didnt check for nitrate,nitrite and ammonia

i hope all sifu can help me  icon_question.gif
Q,
-how thick is your ADA soil ?
-Did you add in any powder/liquid bacteria to aid in tank cycle?
-and did you add in any new plant/moss few days or during the time you put in the shrimp?
-Have you done few large water change prior on getting the shrimp?
-Your shrimp swim/dash fast all over your tank before drop down and died? or they keep themselves under rock/plant all the time?
-How high is your tank temperature?

Few reasons why your shrimp died,
-Tank not fully cycle, 2 mth may not be enough to fully cycle a ADA soil based tank esp without adding any bacteria additive or provide optimum
environment to speed up bacteria colonization.
-DIY co2 , if you run it for 24hrs, and have too much of it, shrimp may died of suffocation and also swing ph too low. Bacteria in filter will died off if ph go lower then 5.0.
-New Plant or plant/moss still have fert/pesticide on them (never induce any new plant/moss into shrimp without testing it first with one shrimp in a bucket) unless you got it from your friend healthy shrimp tank.
-Try use a long thin stick poke the soil to release air bubble if you haven't done that, this will help release trapped ammonia in the soil.
-Adding fert that not shrimp safe or adding stuff that contain copper.
-Anyone spray insecticide nearby your tank? like less than 10 feet away?
-Never wash properly your hand (got shampoo/oil residue on your hand when handling your tank)?

whitehawk
post Nov 1 2013, 02:05 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 1 2013, 01:51 AM)
my ADA soil 2cm thick

yes. i put 5 ADA element below the soil. Bacter 100, Clear super, Tourmaline BC, Penac P and Penac W

-and did you add in any new plant/moss few days or during the time you put in the shrimp?
Nope

i do 50% water change two days before getting the shrimp

-Your shrimp swim/dash fast all over your tank before drop down and died? or they keep themselves under rock/plant all the time?
they keep themselves under rock/plant and sometimes swimming around

my range temperature between 26-29

i think my tank not fully cycled yet and ph too low
tzuen
post Nov 1 2013, 09:19 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Nov 1 2013, 02:05 AM)
my ADA soil 2cm thick

yes. i put 5 ADA element below the soil.  Bacter 100, Clear super, Tourmaline BC, Penac P and Penac W

Nope

they keep themselves under rock/plant and sometimes swimming around

my range temperature between 26-29

i think my tank not fully cycled yet and ph too low

This probably the cause of the casualties, shrimp tank need to be cycle a lot more longer than planted tank.

96 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:00 AM