The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

Kamm Matt
post Feb 2 2023, 11:29 AM

127 posts

neocaridina needs TDS 150 and below 350..

PH below 7.8.. above 6.2

temp below 30c

GH they prefer above 3... they dont like soft water.. n too hard water..

water flow? this is the main thing.. they dont like fast flow..

dont overfeeed.. feed once in 2/3 days only..

if u scare to buy expensive u can buy ghost shrimp (udang beras) first to test ur water tank.. if ghost shrimp survived.. neo will be ok too..

udang beras 1 plastic bag cost u just rm7.. in the plastic u will get around 100pcs
Kamm Matt
post Feb 2 2023, 11:31 AM

127 posts

1 have 40cm cube CC tank with 45cm cabinet ADA STYLE for sell..

combined with a451 45cm chihiros (app dimmer control - blueetooth) control

location shah alam.. anyone interested.. can PM..
tehoice
post Feb 2 2023, 12:14 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Kamm Matt @ Feb 2 2023, 11:29 AM)
neocaridina needs TDS 150 and below 350..

PH below 7.8.. above 6.2

temp below 30c

GH they prefer above 3... they dont like soft water.. n too hard water..

water flow? this is the main thing.. they dont like fast flow..

dont overfeeed.. feed once in 2/3 days only..

if u scare to buy expensive u can buy ghost shrimp (udang beras) first to test ur water tank.. if ghost shrimp survived.. neo will be ok too..

udang beras 1 plastic bag cost u just rm7.. in the plastic u will get around 100pcs
If you are using RO water and only add the GH by yourself, then TDS 150 is fine.
if you are using tap water, you dont know what is in your 150 of TDS.

PH no need to worry, generally our tap water is fine, and since he is using soil, it would buffer the ph a bit. plus neocaridina is okay in those condition.

if he only keep shrimps of 10 pcs of lower, don't even need to feed, at most feed once every 2-3 days would suffice.

suggest not to buy ghost shrimp. just get cherry shrimps to start with will do.

you also dont know what kind of bacteria or disease might be carried by those ghost shrimps which you might introduce into the tank and subsequently you put your neocaridina shrimps in it, they might get affected. that's why i suggest to go straight with the shrimps that you want to keep.

if you cycle your tank properly, then I do not see much issue.

By the way, I have a 3ft rack of shrimp system tank (with filter) for sale, let me know if anyone is interested, we could discuss further.
Kamm Matt
post Feb 2 2023, 02:49 PM

127 posts

been a years breeding neo.. just using tap water..
no problem at all.. and tds maintain at 250+-

if using premium soil like ADA/fluval/etc, yes it has buffer

not sure on CAY..

no problem to start with ghost shrimps.. before release in ur focus tank..
please quarantine them first.. no problem..

since i had seen alot of shrimp beginner fadeup in a halfway after 3-4-5 time buying shrimp due death.. even RCS.. price for 1 pcs roughly 3myr.. for tank 40cm at least to look nice in the tank u shud put around 20-30pcs..
megahertz
post Feb 2 2023, 03:25 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

just an update about my shrimps.bear with me as im still newbies on this shrimps.
bought around 50s low grade cherry shrimps from individual seller from fb. because im still new, better start with cheap cherry shrimp 1st, later only will buy higher grade.
and last night around 15-20 of them died. and some of them like to hang out near water surface on top of the sponge filter.

so what i do, i put airstone. maybe my water is low on oxigen.

before this im running 2 filter, HOB and sponge filter air pump. in my tanks got chrismas moss and hornwort. snail all ok and breed.
did check the water parameter before i put in, and last night.
seem ok. just that ph is lil bit high. around 7.6-7.8. my tap water is around 7.5.
tds is 180ppm, KH is around 3dGH, GH around 1dKH or less. these got from test strip. i dont hv those liquid test kit.
ammonia, nitrit all 0. tank is 2 weeks old, using bacteria starter and water from old filter media cleaning.

i did drip acclimation about 1 hour before i put them in. 1 drip of water per seconds until water is almost double from original water in the plastic i bought them from.
after put in, i see all them happy, and keep eating the algae. now my plants is clear of green algae.

and some of them also died because of the white ring of death. mybe they didnt properly molt after put in new tank.
or mybe stress to due transport or mybe because of my water parameter changes is diff than their previous water.

so finger cross for today, if still got more shrimp dies.

yes, im using CAY branded soil, and based on review, most people said this soil low on nutrient.
Kamm Matt
post Feb 3 2023, 11:35 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Feb 2 2023, 03:25 PM)
just an update about my shrimps.bear with me as im still newbies on this shrimps.
bought around 50s low grade cherry shrimps from individual seller from fb. because im still new, better start with cheap cherry shrimp 1st, later only will buy higher grade.
and last night around 15-20 of them died. and some of them like to hang out near water surface on top of the sponge filter.

so what i do, i put airstone. maybe my water is low on oxigen.

before this im running 2 filter, HOB and sponge filter air pump. in my tanks got chrismas moss and hornwort. snail all ok and breed.
did check the water parameter before i put in, and last night.
seem ok. just that ph is lil bit high. around 7.6-7.8. my tap water is around 7.5.
tds is 180ppm, KH is around 3dGH, GH around 1dKH or less. these got from test strip. i dont hv those liquid test kit.
ammonia, nitrit all 0. tank is 2 weeks old, using bacteria starter and water from old filter media cleaning.

i did drip acclimation about 1 hour before i put them in. 1 drip of water per seconds until water is almost double from original water in the plastic i bought them from.
after put in, i see all them happy, and keep eating the algae. now my plants is clear of green algae.

and some of them also died because of the white ring of death. mybe they didnt properly molt after put in new tank.
or mybe stress to due transport or mybe because of my water parameter changes is diff than their previous water.

so finger cross for today, if still got more shrimp dies.

yes, im using CAY branded soil, and based on review, most people said this soil low on nutrient.
ur gh kinda very low mate.. neo need slightly hi gh atleast min 5.. ur tank is 1.. huhuhu...
put seriyu stone or can use gh+ mineral
and mine neo shrimp dont like tds below 180.. they remain happy at 230-270
and temperature i keep them at 26.5 - 28 max.. not more than that.. plus my neo sharing same tank with a few udang beras (ghost shrimp)

This post has been edited by Kamm Matt: Feb 3 2023, 11:41 AM
megahertz
post Feb 3 2023, 12:50 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Kamm Matt @ Feb 3 2023, 11:35 AM)
ur gh kinda very low mate.. neo need slightly hi gh atleast min 5.. ur tank is 1.. huhuhu...
put seriyu stone or can use gh+ mineral
and mine neo shrimp dont like tds below 180.. they remain happy at 230-270
and temperature i keep them at 26.5 - 28 max.. not more than that.. plus my neo sharing same tank with a few udang beras (ghost shrimp)
yeah.i have added some crushed coral. added slowly few bits by bits and monitor if the GH will increase or not.

if not, then need to find gh mineral.
Stakaroo P
post Feb 28 2023, 11:47 AM

Probation

Hello, I'm new here. Recently i put ghost shrimp in my new tank to test the water. They live happily. Then i decided to buy cherry shrimp and replace the ghost shrimp.

The weird thing is, my ghost shrimp start dying after few days living with cherry, while the cherry is happily living. A few even got berried. Why did the ghost die tho?
haturaya
post Feb 25 2024, 11:35 AM

2,552 posts

More than a year no activity... no more shrimp?
niloc
post Jun 7 2025, 09:55 PM

17 posts

Wah now got levelup colours liao:
https://teacherspetnw.com/products/koi-sunb...caridina-shrimp

So beautiful!!

96 Pages « < 94 95 96Top

0.0293sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:51 AM