The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

whitehawk
post Oct 8 2013, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 8 2013, 12:06 PM)
Still no ammonia detected

wow nice tank
what plant you used for carpet?
whitehawk
post Oct 18 2013, 04:57 PM

hi guys
(i'm newbie and my 1st attempt to have shrimp) smile.gif
i want to ask about water parameter for Red Cherry Shrimp
i just test water ph in my tank and it show 6
do i need to increase the ph or just ignore
currently there no shrimp yet, and it will arrive on this monday or tuesday
i'm using ADA soil

whitehawk
post Oct 18 2013, 08:23 PM

thank for the advice mr arrow & lily64my
i will do the wc before the shrimp arrive
whitehawk
post Oct 19 2013, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 19 2013, 01:18 PM)
You can share your shrimp tank in the making picture now even without shrimp yet.
this is my tank
sorry for the blur picture because i taking using phone camera

the fish will be remove after the shrimp arrive
the tank almost 2 month after setup
whitehawk
post Oct 19 2013, 07:02 PM

thank for the advice mr arrow
i will cover the filter intake with sponge, all the fish i will remove because they all too big
i need to survey where can i get spotted rasbora
for the temperature i already install a fan and the avg temperature around 26-29
whitehawk
post Oct 19 2013, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 19 2013, 06:05 PM)
Good tank....wow 2 months setup...i cant wait...lol
Perhaps check the water to make it suitable for shrimp.
Got diy co2?
i only have ph tester only
yup, i using diy co2 (no money to buy pressurized tank ) cry.gif

whitehawk
post Oct 20 2013, 02:54 AM

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 20 2013, 12:52 AM)

can someone confirm whether I set the filter correctly ?

First time and my friend just passed me the tank  sweat.gif

or the other tube need to point into the water?
hi
i think u need to add more water until water level same as water outlet
this is to avoid waterfall effect and to avoid disturbance to the soil if u have

whitehawk
post Oct 23 2013, 10:24 PM

i also want to find stainless steel mesh
but didnt find at hardware shop at my place...
whitehawk
post Oct 30 2013, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 30 2013, 06:06 PM)
Got a new batch of Cherry shrimps in the mailbox just now. Thanks a lot deric79k

Acclimatize the shrimps by using drip method for about 5-6 hours now. Just only put the shrimps into the aquarium, hope I do not get any casualties smile.gif
hi actually how long we need to acclimatize the shrimps. i just received RCS this afternoon and acclimate for 2 hours before put inside the aquarium. i know the period too short because i need to go out...hope do not get any casualitites... i saw 1 shrimp lying below 1 rock, i think it moulting...
whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 02:39 AM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 31 2013, 01:14 AM)
One lesson I learned is that you need to acclimatize shrimps much longer than for fish because they're more sensitive to water chemistry. I learned the hard way because most of my Malayan shrimps died, highly likely due to this.
hurm
lesson learn cry.gif
9 casualty already and left 6 more
hope they can survive...
whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 01:49 PM

just checked this morning
saw only 1 shrimp still alive
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 31 2013, 02:07 PM)
Ouch... sorry to hear that bro. Any idea on what's the root cause?
Yikes that's bad! Something is definitely wrong... have you checked your water parameters yet? Added anything new in your tank recently?
hurm
i didnt check water parameter yet because dont have test kit
but i saw all fish doing fine in the tank except for jumper... cry.gif
now changes i made since 1st setup...
whitehawk
post Oct 31 2013, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 31 2013, 03:55 PM)
Just one alive? Can descibe your tank setup and can confirm it is indeed fully cycled.
hi sifu arrow
i think all dead because didnt see them anymore
my tank setup

45cmX30cmX20cm
substrate ADA amazonia
HOB filter
DIY CO2
air stone
flora - mini java fern, flame moss, java moss, HC, US and mini Fissiden, Crypto Albida
1 big stone (already test), lava rock, wood
fauna - RCS X 15 (dead already), Neon Tetra X 6

i think the tank full cycled because almost 2 month already
i didnt check for nitrate,nitrite and ammonia

i hope all sifu can help me icon_question.gif
whitehawk
post Nov 1 2013, 02:05 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 1 2013, 01:51 AM)
-how thick is your ADA soil ?
my ADA soil 2cm thick

-Did you add in any powder/liquid bacteria to aid in tank cycle?
yes. i put 5 ADA element below the soil. Bacter 100, Clear super, Tourmaline BC, Penac P and Penac W

-and did you add in any new plant/moss few days or during the time you put in the shrimp?
Nope

-Have you done few large water change prior on getting the shrimp?
i do 50% water change two days before getting the shrimp

-Your shrimp swim/dash fast all over your tank before drop down and died? or they keep themselves under rock/plant all the time?
they keep themselves under rock/plant and sometimes swimming around

-How high is your tank temperature?
my range temperature between 26-29

i think my tank not fully cycled yet and ph too low
whitehawk
post Nov 1 2013, 10:40 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 1 2013, 04:30 PM)
thank Mr Arrow
i will find test kit for checking the water parameter
currently only 1 shrimp survive
pity him swimming alone cry.gif
whitehawk
post Nov 12 2013, 05:46 PM

wow
so nice...
i hope i can rear shrimp in my tank like u guys...
whitehawk
post Dec 18 2013, 05:07 PM

hurm
my second attempt to have shrimp in my tank fail today
all shrimp die after 1 hour in the tank
i already acclimate the shrimp for 2 hour
the tank already cycle for 2 month

i think something wrong with my tap water....
whitehawk
post Dec 18 2013, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Dec 18 2013, 07:39 PM)
There is just lot of possibilities of shrimps died.
Pls post a picture of your tank setup.
Did you check if the tank finish cycle? by testing ammonia and nitrite ?
Have any new plants in tank less then 2 week ?  (the plants may have pesticide/fert residue that contain copper which very fatal to shrimps).
this is my tank pic

here some info about the tank

hob filter
black sand @ gravel
cfl light
air pump
mineral stone in hob filter
tank size 45cm X 25 cm X 25 cm

flora - Sagittaria subulata , Flame moss, Java moss all already in the tank from it start

i didn't check the ammonia and nitrite and the ph around 6.4
the fish inside the tank is new
whitehawk
post Dec 20 2013, 03:24 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Dec 20 2013, 01:43 PM)
From the picture there is 2 dead fire red.
The fish look quite big to be consider safe in a tank with dwarf shrimps especially if got shrimplets later.
Big fish will stress out shrimps especially without hiding spot like in your tank.

Without kits to check out ammonia and nitrite , it is hard to conclude the tank is indeed cycled or not, un-cycled tank
will sure kill shrimps no matter what shrimp you put in. if on budget, try get one tester , the No2 - Nitrite test kit.
Since your tank already around 3 week, if the tank not cycled , it will be in stage 2 cycle where nitrite will be detected,
if Nitrite is zero, then do a large 80% water change, this will remove excess No3- Nitrate that converted from nitrite by your beneficial bacteria in your filter. After this you only need to do 10-15% water change every week.
Get some mineral stone or powder for your tank.
thank Mr Arrow for the advice
actually the fish i put after all the shrimp die
maybe i need to test the water parameter after this
actually there are mineral stone in the filter
next time i will try again rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

whitehawk
post Jan 16 2014, 03:01 PM

hi guys
need opinion
Yamato and RCS which one is hard to die?

0.0502sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:01 AM