Just sharing,fortunately, ALL-IT also have LoVo. Mushkin 8gb ddr3L 1600mhz c11 with a price tag of rm230.
Pretty rare to spot a mushkin ram nowdays.
MSI Gaming Notebook V.II, The Refreshed model yet more powerful!
Sep 4 2013, 02:50 PM
14 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
Just sharing,fortunately, ALL-IT also have LoVo. Mushkin 8gb ddr3L 1600mhz c11 with a price tag of rm230.
Pretty rare to spot a mushkin ram nowdays. |
Sep 4 2013, 03:05 PM
3,038 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 4 2013, 02:21 PM) @Horns: Dangit. Well I'll have to recheck reviews for power consumption figures and see if the vanilla M5P is comparable to the M4 in terms of power consumption. haha i misread sorry about that The Sammys are king in power consumption at the low end though, if only they had a well priced MLC based SSD. true. the sammys are good. i got the 830 and 840 pro (they're nice.. except for the price tags). it's too bad 840 evo uses tlc. i'm still hoping for their new mlc-based ssd's. |
Sep 4 2013, 05:09 PM
5,595 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Between Hell and Heaven |
QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Sep 4 2013, 03:35 PM) Well,F3+Function button didn't work. @storm88 your F3 recovery would not be work because you are running on your SSD, not on your original harddrive why does my F3 button didn't work? I tried entering F3 recovery and failed. Can anyone provide me with the software for this shortcut? and for your touchpad issue, do you connecting any mouse into your laptop right now? |
Sep 4 2013, 06:17 PM
2,337 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KING CANNEL JB |
QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Sep 4 2013, 12:34 PM) Guys, my GS70 touchpad can't be used. Restarted a few times but still havin problems. Can anyone help? Haven't use ot for a week :-( have you try to do fresh win8 restore? win+c > setting > change pc setting > General > here 2 option refresh win8 keep file or restore as new..? please back up before... hmm x i am using ssd and my FN+f3 work like normal so does my F3 recovey... |
Sep 4 2013, 06:25 PM
Sep 4 2013, 10:36 PM
1,836 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 4 2013, 05:09 PM) your F3 recovery would not be work because you are running on your SSD, not on your original harddrive hi bro, problem solved. Reinstalled my software.As for MSI, since GE60, when you connect the mouse the touchpad is disabled. That's common :-)and for your touchpad issue, do you connecting any mouse into your laptop right now? |
Sep 4 2013, 10:37 PM
1,836 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Sep 4 2013, 10:40 PM
1,052 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
hi guys, planning to get GE60 20C-093MY. Is there any issue/problem that i should be aware of? And by the way does this model has a mSATA slot? Coz i saw some forum said it has, but the specification didn't show
Sep 4 2013, 11:25 PM
142 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Subang Jaya / Melaka |
QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Sep 4 2013, 01:05 AM) QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 4 2013, 01:27 AM) I've read that too. But: yea i read those too .. but i cant find any confirmation on MSI GS 70 Countersauce (From Intel's own dev conference): ![]() Note all 3 voltage profiles being supported on the upper right side of the slide. However, keep in mind this might simply apply to the Haswell architecture in general, the Desktop side included. More importantly, I've been hearing a lot of chatter that Haswell mobile ONLY pushes 1.35v to the RAM, which means that any 1.5/1.65v RAM stick used is simply "undervolted" down to 1.35v. This is MUCH more plausible (vs the the "it can ONLY use 1.35v or thar be dragons!" theory) and it sufficiently explains why only SOME 1.5/1.65v RAMs cause certain Haswell laptops to be unbootable, as NOT all 1.5/1.65v RAM sticks can handle running at 1.35v at default timings. In short, if the RAM used cannot run on 1.35v, the laptop will simply not boot. No matter what voltage RAM you stuff inside. The plus side is that no harm should come to the laptop in this case, because the motherboard isn't really supplying RAM voltage out-of-spec. It's simply a question of whether or not your RAM will run with the given voltage. In the worse case, the RAM sticks in question will simply not work (or die off) due to lack of power. Besides, there are ONLY 2 sites WARNING people of the dangers using anything over 1.35v with Haswell, on the ENTIRE Internet - and both of them forum posts. That has to count for something. If it'll really burn out stuff, you'd expect something like this to be ALL over the Internet, especially on "tech sites" like Anandtech and the like. But no, zero, nada, zilch. Even the senior members at NBR are running 1.5v RAM on Haswell with little issue (HTWingNut on his W230ST for example). Even with 2133Mhz RAM (which is running at 1866Mhz max on his W230ST). So it actually boils down to luck with any 1.5v (or even 1.65v) RAM sticks you plan to use. If it does 1.35v, you're fine. If not, well, tough luck. Hence the "recommendation" to use DDR3L, which are simply RAM that WILL work for sure at 1.35v. With that said, I'm fully planning to get another ADATA DDR3L stick anyway, or - like I said before - some fancy matched RAM set. It just feels better to run a matched pair in the end. But FIRST, I gotta get me some SSD love. @horns: Do you have to re-direct your cache and temps to the RAMdrive every time you cold boot? Because I don't run my laptop 24/7, and setting up startup batch commands for all that sounds like a real hassle. i using Corsair Vengeance on my Y580 |
Sep 5 2013, 01:05 AM
521 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 4 2013, 03:16 AM) Because Nvidia doesn't really support the 76x series on laptops DIRECTLY (similar to a lot of their other laptop GPUs actually). They expect vendors (MSI/Clevo/Dell/Lenovo/Whoever) to come up with the drivers. but i cant play splinter cell black list, it always detected the intel gpu instead of gtx 760mYou need to mod the Nvidia driver ".inf" file if you STILL want to update. If you can't, don't bother updating unless you have a serious issue with any of the games you have. I personally don't see THAT much improvement over stock 311 in the games I play anyway, at least not as much as actually optimising the settings for each game myself. |
Sep 5 2013, 02:26 AM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(wztech @ Sep 5 2013, 01:05 AM) Cannot force SC:BL to use Nvidia meh? 1) Right click on the shortcut 2) Choose "run with graphics processor" 3) "Change default graphics processor" 4) Click "Add" 5) Find the SC:BL executable file 6) Go to "2. Select the preferred graphics processor for this program" and choose "Nvidia graphics processor". 7) Click "apply" .... 8) PROFIT!!! So far it works for me every time I need to force Nvidia to work. Not sure if it applies to SC:BL though. @zaicon: Damn LoVo is STILL quite expensive compared to standard DDR3. I got my standard 8GB stick at 200 but even that is marked up laptop seller RAM pricing, normal DDR3 prices should be considerably lower. @K.E: The GS70 should work like every other Haswell out there, nothing special added also. Rule of thumb for Haswell RAM: 1) 1.35v LoVo will CONFIRM work. 2) 1.5v Standard/XPG MIGHT work. 3) 1.65v Standard/XPG LESS CHANCES of working. But really, RAM compatibility has always been up to luck lol, other than the sticks the laptop manufacturer gives you. I remember using RAM sticks that are perfectly matched in terms of specs... and one still makes my old laptop fail POST lol. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 5 2013, 09:38 AM |
Sep 5 2013, 10:00 AM
hmm GT 60/70 it work on 1.5Volt ram it even show on dimms it support 1.5v ram lol i think i post pic on old msi threads
Sep 5 2013, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Sep 5 2013, 10:00 AM) hmm GT 60/70 it work on 1.5Volt ram it even show on dimms it support 1.5v ram lol i think i post pic on old msi threads I'm running one stick 1.5v myself (if you check the previous version thread I thought it was 1.35v lol), so no questions 1.5v CAN run on Haswell, but is it running at 1.5v? Even on CPU-Z's SPD tab there written 1.5v RAM that's the speeds the RAM is rated to run at (data from the RAM info chips themselves) NOT the voltage that the RAM is actually running AT. AFAIK ALL RAM runs at 1.35v with Haswell. Like I said, whether or not it runs depends on the RAM itself, similar to undervolting a Processor. Some 1.5v RAM can run 1.35v no problem, others cannot. Now waiting for gaji for SSD project I gatal edi... Wanna wrap my laptop in carbon fiber vinyl this weekend. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 5 2013, 11:12 AM |
Sep 5 2013, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Sep 4 2013, 06:25 PM) QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 5 2013, 10:55 AM) AFAIK ALL RAM runs at 1.35v with Haswell. Like I said, whether or not it runs depends on the RAM itself, similar to undervolting a Processor. Some 1.5v RAM can run 1.35v no problem, others cannot. Ya, but we all can agree from your previous quote. "depends on luck" ANYWHO, I manage to get a hold of MSI-MY, and luckily,(and hopefully) a colleague of his, will be monitoring our thread for further clarification. This post has been edited by zaicon: Sep 5 2013, 11:37 AM |
Sep 5 2013, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(zaicon @ Sep 5 2013, 11:36 AM) ANYWHO, I manage to get a hold of MSI-MY, and luckily,(and hopefully) a colleague of his, will be monitoring our thread for further clarification. GREAT NEWS bro. Hopefully it's someone with ample knowledge and good CSR skills. Anyhow, RAM wise what I want is that delicious CL9 goodness Storm88 has got coming in lol. |
Sep 5 2013, 11:52 AM
120 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Official MSI | notebook reporting in...
Sep 5 2013, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 5 2013, 11:51 AM) GREAT NEWS bro. Hopefully it's someone with ample knowledge and good CSR skills. Dont fret!! there he is ! Anyhow, RAM wise what I want is that delicious CL9 goodness Storm88 has got coming in lol. QUOTE(MSI-NB @ Sep 5 2013, 11:52 AM) Welcome sir ! |
Sep 5 2013, 11:58 AM
Sep 5 2013, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(zaicon @ Sep 5 2013, 11:36 AM) Ya. Brother storm88 price is cheap. I even recommend people getting LoVo's from him as well. Ya, but we all can agree from your previous quote. "depends on luck" ANYWHO, I manage to get a hold of MSI-MY, and luckily,(and hopefully) a colleague of his, will be monitoring our thread for further clarification. |
Sep 5 2013, 12:06 PM
| Change to: | 0.0220sec