MSI Gaming Notebook V.II, The Refreshed model yet more powerful!

htpkevin
post Sep 4 2013, 10:40 PM

1,052 posts

hi guys, planning to get GE60 20C-093MY. Is there any issue/problem that i should be aware of? And by the way does this model has a mSATA slot? Coz i saw some forum said it has, but the specification didn't show
htpkevin
post Sep 5 2013, 02:10 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(MSI-NB @ Sep 5 2013, 11:52 AM)
Official MSI | notebook reporting in...  cool2.gif
hi bro wanna confirm this does GE60 20C has mSATA slot? how many slots it has? And will it void warranty if we add in ourself?
htpkevin
post Sep 5 2013, 02:48 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Sep 5 2013, 02:43 PM)
GE60-2OC got 1 MSata slot bro. Opened it when adding my ram.
ah ic. Will it void warranty if we add it in ourself? But i don quite understand coz website says 'Up to 256GB Super RAID + 750GB HDD 7200rpm' so i tot got 2 slot?
htpkevin
post Sep 5 2013, 06:42 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 5 2013, 06:31 PM)
the newer batch (the one with Sharkbay based processor) has one mSATA slot
how do i tell whether the one i'm getting is newer or older batch?
htpkevin
post Sep 13 2013, 08:45 PM

1,052 posts

Guys, ge40 only comes with a 90w adapter, so if we run full load will it cause any problem?
htpkevin
post Sep 14 2013, 09:56 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 14 2013, 01:13 AM)
Run with the battery inserted AT ALL TIMES if you plan to go full load. If not...  well, if I tell my broken adapter story one more time Elysian will flip again lol.

IF you want to run with your battery out (to save battery lifespan or something), go get an MSI spec (Toshiba/Acer seems to use the same AC jack) 120w adapter from eBay or something. Otherwise you run the risk of toasting your AC adapter.

On a lighter note, my Killer WIFI arrived edi, now waiting for my delicious cheapo Hynix DDR3L to come in. Lai lai lai.
If like gaming wise encounter any problem before due to adapter?
htpkevin
post Sep 14 2013, 03:38 PM

1,052 posts

Officially a proud user of MSI notebook now xD Just received my GE40 20C, gonna install killer 1202 into it later.
htpkevin
post Sep 14 2013, 03:48 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Sep 14 2013, 03:44 PM)
good for You MATE! rclxms.gif
thx bro. But i think gonna switch back to windows 7, not really used to windows 8 and less driver problem. Now need to save up for the ssd and ram ady
htpkevin
post Sep 14 2013, 04:23 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Sep 14 2013, 04:15 PM)
keep win8... unless you want the hassle of hidden problem downgrade win7...  by way SSD design win8.. biggrin.gif
ya seems troublesome. I think i'll try to adapt to windows 8. Previously my uni access point doesn't support windows 8, now seems ok. But what if later if i decided to put a SSD? How do i transfer all these windows 8 into it?
htpkevin
post Sep 14 2013, 04:34 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Sep 14 2013, 04:29 PM)
woo im confuse...  you are using Win8 now  right?  so what you wanted to transfer?  or you already using Win7 ... rclxub.gif

Edit: just use win8 add start button by download FREEWare start button http://www.classicshell.net/ then it feel like win7 ...but faster when you using SSD boot time with win8 is 8-12 sec smile.gif
ya using windows 8, but now on hdd, so i mean if next time i wanna add in ssd and of course i would wan to boot from the ssd. So how do i transfer all these windows files i got on my hdd to that ssd
htpkevin
post Sep 14 2013, 07:11 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Sep 14 2013, 07:01 PM)
Depends on which SSD you plan to buy. Some brands include a migration software (essentially a cloning software) for example Samsung, etc. Otherwise you may use third party software like EASEUS, Acronis, Paragon, etc. Some software are freeware, some paid so choose wisely.

I suggest you do plenty of reading because Windows 8 installation is a little different. Things such as UEFI Secure Boot, GPT partitions, etc. Do remember that your Windows 8 product key is embedded in your BIOS so activation is now automated (no need to key in anything). Its important to ensure your choice of cloning software supports all these things unique to Windows 8.

Alternatively you may also start from scratch. First is to get a software to read your Windows 8 product key. Download a legit copy of Windows 8 from Microsoft using your product key. Burn them to disk or onto USB drive, then boot and install from there. MSI should provide a driver/utilities CD that will allow you to re-install all the necessary.

Lastly remember to make a copy of your factory image by running Burn Recovery. Very important. If you screwed up, at least you can start all over again.
thx a lot bro, it pretty much clear everything notworthy.gif
htpkevin
post Sep 14 2013, 11:01 PM

1,052 posts

hmm, after fitting killer wireless 1202, my signal strength seems weaker a bit compared to stock. Anyone experience this?
htpkevin
post Sep 15 2013, 12:20 AM

1,052 posts

320.49 could not find the compatible hardware swt. Any solution to this?
htpkevin
post Sep 16 2013, 01:59 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Sep 16 2013, 12:48 PM)
As you all know,I'm still new gaming using notebook  sweat.gif

Now I only have HWiNFO64 app to monitor my cpu and gpu temps

How do I get the one showing in game? icon_question.gif

Just started playing Hitman Absolution in Ultra settings for graphic settings tongue.gif can't tell if the fps is good
u can try get fraps/razer game booster to monitor ur fps. I use game booster coz everything is included in it already
htpkevin
post Sep 16 2013, 06:06 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 16 2013, 04:16 PM)
Damn. I can actually make a research paper on WIFI cards now.

Long story short: I'm back on the Intel Advanced-N 6235. Supposedly it's the card with the WORST driver issues but right now, it's the only one pushing 1.2MBps through my home WIFI - without ANY problems (on STOCK Win 8 drivers of course).

Stock Realtek/Azurewave - Disconnection issues. Single Band.
Killer 1202 - Connection instability. Disconnection issues. Dropouts. Timeouts. Bluetooth mouse problems. Just thankful I didn't buy this crap for full price.
Broadcom Dual-Band N + 4.0 BT - Damn thing didn't even start.

Granted, all WIFI problems come in 2 parts: a) Adapter Issues and b) Router Issues, and my router (TP-Link Gigabit Single Band Advanced N) isn't quite the best out there, but right now, the 6235 is surprisingly giving me the least grief.

Maybe later when I've upgraded my home router I'll give the Killer another chance. But right now, I'm simply surprised that it's "GAMING GRADE" when it can't even download anything for more than 3 minutes without disconnecting.
i am using 1202 too with driver from their official, but i'm not getting any disconnection problem. Am getting 2.5mb/s dl speed from my uni line at peak hour, blue tooth works well too. Probably is router?
htpkevin
post Sep 16 2013, 06:22 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 16 2013, 06:11 PM)
Yep, probably router. What routers are you connecting to?

Right now everything's working best with the Intel though so I'll stick with that. I'll check out the Killer again later. It worked BETTER with the "connection manager" turned off though so that was peculiar.

As for bluetooth, like I said it's not really an issue unless you have a Bluetooth mouse that likes to sleep like the Orochi.

BTW, running full 16GB of DRR3L feels like... what I was running before LOL - besides being able to confidently claim warranty now lol.
at home just normal dual band dlink provided by streamyx one. At uni is cisco one, can't sure which model but its dual band one though, i'm not sure about single band router in this case...
htpkevin
post Sep 27 2013, 02:18 PM

1,052 posts

anyone manage to OC ur GTX760m to the clock speed of GTX765m? Basically they are same card but different clock speed only. Just asking tongue.gif
htpkevin
post Oct 29 2013, 01:01 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(hawk @ Oct 29 2013, 12:10 AM)
Sifu, how hot can GE40 be when not playing high end game?
Not a hardcore gamer, but want to get a laptop for work and capable to run games like CS, SG, and maybe Warcraft or Diablo.
like the weight and battery life (6.5hours?), but worry of the heat.
So, I am thinking of GP60, GE40, or GE60
yes the battery life and weight is really great(i tried browsing only can up to nearly 7 hours). And currently i'm running games like batman arkham origin without cooler and no aircon so far so good no problem. For me the heat is not really a big issue(except the palm rest is a bit warm after a while), still can maintain below 90C without cooler
htpkevin
post Nov 2 2013, 09:39 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Nov 2 2013, 11:07 AM)
Read this before buy
irresponsible seller
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3012662&hl=
dude, in case u didn't notice, the thread is named MSI GAMING NOTEBOOK V II. Its for us to discuss about things about MSI notebook. U have personal grudge with storm88, fine, go settle urself. Spamming around won't help.

p.s yes this thread is started by storm88, so we can discuss MSI stuff here. It doesn't mean he started this thread then all ppl who read this thread buy our MSI stuff from him. We do our research and choose our seller.

This post has been edited by htpkevin: Nov 2 2013, 09:43 PM
htpkevin
post Jan 2 2014, 08:17 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jan 2 2014, 02:43 AM)
IS GE40 worth for gaming? (I mean it does not come with steel series keyboard and no backlight)
Can reviewed it to me?

How about battery life?
How is the screen quality?
Can tell me the heat?

BTW, I'm a little tight budget, any better model if I topup a little bit?
Sorry for long question...
It does not come with steel series keyboard and no backlight, but i use it to game just fine. Overall GE40 the build is quite good. Light weight(1.9kg with battery), long battery life(i used up to 6 hour with wifi on, browsing and constant downloading and still left with 20%). The screen wise, i would say its only an average screen, for me, i use it for movies and gaming and its more than enough(i don do photo editing which needs good screen). Heat wise, i'm still using stock thermal paste, even after prolong gaming, the temperature barely touch 90 degree in room temperature and a CM cooler. After prolong gaming the palm rest can get a bit warm.

0.0399sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:08 AM