Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

etigge
post Sep 16 2013, 09:58 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Sep 16 2013, 08:57 PM)
Now I know why this bike gone so fast. Sam angkat sampai dua biji. I've been eyeing this model ever since I saw it on US site. But since I'm staying in ulu place, I can' t wait for it.
Malaysia has limited units only allocated. I think it's 7 units only. Sam took 2 already. Johnny has got one coming but he hasn't decided to sell or keep. Maybe you can 'gecek' him to sell. Tell you a secret. I found a used unit of Dahon IOS P8 which shares the same frame. I have decided ti stick to 20 inch wheels so I won't be taking it. It is listed in Mudah.my and it's selling quite cheap and according to the seller, it's quite unused. Go ahead! It has 8 speed but you can always upgrade the gearings though.

http://www.mudah.my/DaHon+folding+bicycle-23225739.htm

Good Luck if you are taking it. It's on public forum now. tongue.gif
aeran
post Sep 16 2013, 10:47 PM

194 posts

Is it worth it to upgrade my ride from 20" to 24" folding bike? Planning to get Eclipse P9 (currently using Link D8).
H2D
post Sep 16 2013, 11:58 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Robyn @ Sep 15 2013, 11:55 PM)
Ipoh Bike Packing 15092013

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
2 trinx in the group////// thumbup.gif

wana check out which bike suits u or compare bike...
this is better than any bike shop in town..... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Sep 16 2013, 11:59 PM
H2D
post Sep 17 2013, 12:05 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 16 2013, 05:57 PM)
Im looking on something with budget below RM700, going to use it for going back and forth my class in Uni. So I guess a budget reliable one should be enough.

Please recommend me which model/brand/shop that i can buy off that could provide delivery to Kelantan, thanks!
oscar imagine..
less than RM 500...

added by RObyn..

Kalaq Q3 RM 680..

This post has been edited by H2D: Sep 17 2013, 12:27 AM
Robyn
post Sep 17 2013, 12:22 AM

116 posts

or you may consider Kalaq as well. i got a fren riding fast with kalaq and even dash p18 also lose to him.. haha

Halia
post Sep 17 2013, 01:26 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 12 2013, 03:51 PM)
Ahhhh... Okay, I follow you now..

I get my fix with the following bikes
QUOTE(Etigge @ Sep 12 2013, 03:51 PM)
I can't say for other riders but I can tell you my side of the reason why I ride a foldie. Me and wife and also on some occasion, my daughter were very avid mountain bikers. Pit stop for a few years because of financial worries, and then sold off all bikes. Fast forward, thinking of riding again. Then to get 3 mtb of the same quality as I had before is a huge investment. So, we thought of just getting a folding bike to quench our thirst for bicycling again. We got the first and rode around the house and then after the second one, me and wife started riding in Putrajaya and then joining others for rides. I am actually quite technical in bikes so I started tinkering with the foldies and got hooked onto it.
QUOTE(H2D @ sep12, 2013)
bro actually ur question is a bit confusing la... laugh.gif
i'm not sure what u wana find out..
Thank you so much for the sharing. I must confessed, as I read Samosaurus reply, I lost count the number of bikes he owned. Way to go! It seems both Etigge and Samoaurus and alike have lived a foldies lifestyle and have tons of fun. I do hope one day I can joint you and alike, to cari-cari and Jalan-jalan, and between cranking, learn some 'philosophy of cycling.' Keep up the ride

This post has been edited by Halia: Sep 17 2013, 01:28 AM
CheaTeRz
post Sep 17 2013, 05:16 AM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 16 2013, 08:04 PM)
Something below RM700 is a bit tough unless it's a second hand one. With that budget, you can get Trinx or XDS 7 speed. You won't get an 8 speed for less than RM700. You can get an Aloeca or Oscar Imagine but don't expect much from it. I suggest you try to find a second hand unit. A good second hand one is better than a lousy new one. Know my meaning?  whistling.gif
Thanks for the opinion, i understand that and i do apply that in buying computer parts tho laugh.gif

but since im new to this, I dont know where to start looking for the used unit tho, search around mudah and lelong doesn't give me much clear answer/choice as well.

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 17 2013, 12:05 AM)
oscar imagine..
less than RM 500...

added by RObyn..

Kalaq Q3 RM 680..

thanks!

I do found brand new kalaq Q3 for RM650 on FB, is it good for entry level like me? thumbup.gif

thanks all for the opinion ^^

This post has been edited by CheaTeRz: Sep 17 2013, 05:17 AM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 08:39 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

My light offroad adventure from Setia Alam - Bkt Bandaraya - Tmn Cahaya yesterday morning. tongue.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
etigge
post Sep 17 2013, 09:01 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 17 2013, 05:16 AM)
Thanks for the opinion, i understand that and i do apply that in buying computer parts tho  laugh.gif

but since im new to this, I dont know where to start looking for the used unit tho, search around mudah and lelong doesn't give me much clear answer/choice as well.
thanks!

I do found brand new kalaq Q3 for RM650 on FB, is it good for entry level like me?  thumbup.gif

thanks all for the opinion ^^
During our trip to Ipoh, there was 2 Kalaqs and they have no problem riding the bikes even on the 60 km ride we had. It's never the bike (that is if you take care of it). It all depends on yourself, you are the engine of any bikes. No point having 10K bike but can't cycle even 20km. I have seen many. I have seen also a guy who owns 3 bikes and ferries them on rooftop racks and drives to Gap with all three but rides only one. Once on the peak ( a mere 8km from Gap) and then carries his bike over his shoulders at the clock tower for a victory snapshot. As I say again, it our legs! Here's a shot of the 2 Kalaqs. Even a SYT can ride 60 km on a Kalaq!

For Kalaq, you just have to dry and clean your bike more carefully and it's a bit heavier as it is a steel frame foldie. icon_rolleyes.gif

budgee
post Sep 17 2013, 09:44 AM

28 posts

I am also looking for a cheap foldable... saw some XDS, very good value too.
CheaTeRz
post Sep 17 2013, 09:56 AM

1,400 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 17 2013, 09:01 AM)
During our trip to Ipoh, there was 2 Kalaqs and they have no problem riding the bikes even on the 60 km ride we had. It's never the bike (that is if you take care of it). It all depends on yourself, you are the engine of any bikes. No point having 10K bike but can't cycle even 20km. I have seen many. I have seen also a guy who owns 3 bikes and ferries them on rooftop racks and drives to Gap with all three but rides only one. Once on the peak ( a mere 8km from Gap) and then carries his bike over his shoulders at the clock tower for a victory snapshot. As I say again, it our legs! Here's a shot of the 2 Kalaqs. Even a SYT can ride 60 km on a Kalaq!

For Kalaq, you just have to dry and clean your bike more carefully and it's a bit heavier as it is a steel frame foldie.  icon_rolleyes.gif

blush.gif

thanks for the detailed concern, but what i more concern is the build. If it only need more proper cleaning then it should be good for me smile.gif

and I saw kalaq Q3 and Q5. what's the different?

budgee
post Sep 17 2013, 10:09 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 17 2013, 09:56 AM)
blush.gif

thanks for the detailed concern, but what i more concern is the build. If it only need more proper cleaning then it should be good for me smile.gif

and I saw kalaq Q3 and Q5. what's the different?
Kalaq Q5 has disc brakes while Q3 has V brakes.

but weight is like 14 kg! I think its a bit heavy to carry up stairs and around the LRT / train stations.

Anyone knows where I can get a good price for a new XDS 16 inch foldable? XDS FA16 . Last price I got was RM750

This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 17 2013, 10:13 AM
CheaTeRz
post Sep 17 2013, 10:53 AM

1,400 posts

QUOTE(budgee @ Sep 17 2013, 10:09 AM)
Kalaq Q5 has disc brakes while Q3 has V brakes.

but weight is like 14 kg!  I think its a bit heavy to carry up stairs and around the LRT / train stations.
Anyone knows where I can get a good price for a new XDS 16 inch foldable?  XDS FA16 .  Last price I got was RM750
between v brake and and disc brake which is better?

anyway, thanks for the detail.

that XDS is good? where to get one? got any link drool.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 11:00 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 17 2013, 10:53 AM)

anyway, thanks for the detail.

that XDS is good? where to get one? got any link  drool.gif
Of course disc brake is better. tongue.gif
Robyn
post Sep 17 2013, 11:10 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 17 2013, 11:00 AM)
Of course disc brake is better.  tongue.gif
but v-brake easy for maintenance... haha .... infact both have pros and cons, it depends on what wan biggrin.gif
myak9
post Sep 17 2013, 11:20 AM

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 17 2013, 10:53 AM)

disc vs V brakes... hmm.gif

tooo lazy to think... just cut and paste from internet...

"Nobody makes a bike with really good v-brakes anymore. By the time you get to the good quality bikes, they all have disc brakes. This leads to the mistaken impression that v-brakes don't have as much stopping power as disc brakes. Actually, your stopping power is only as good as the amount of traction your tire can generate, and any top level v-brake can generate enough stopping power to lock up the wheel, as can any decent disc brake. However, entry level cable operated disc brakes are no better, perhaps not even as good as high end v-brakes. Disc brakes do have an advantage in the wet, but a good set of v-brakes will be quite a bit lighter than entry level disc brakes. Usually when a bike comes in versions with and without disc brakes, the upgrade is well worth the money spent. It could cost 3-4 times as much to upgrade at a later date. Often the disc brake package includes other component upgrades as well. I would spend the extra money for the disc brakes, the v-brakes on the cheaper model are probably not all that good, and you might regret not buying the disc brake model later"

than again...foldie with 20" wheels...hardly any difference...unless you used hydraulic disc brake...
know your bike...as a coaster brake foldie rider...I crash my bike 3 times since I got it 3 weeks ago...until recent days I manage to learn how to stop...
now I dun crash anymore... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by myak9: Sep 17 2013, 11:39 AM
samosaurus
post Sep 17 2013, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 16 2013, 09:58 PM)
Malaysia has limited units only allocated. I think it's 7 units only. Sam took 2 already. Johnny has got one coming but he hasn't decided to sell or keep. Maybe you can 'gecek' him to sell. Tell you a secret. I found a used unit of Dahon IOS P8 which shares the same frame. I have decided ti stick to 20 inch wheels so I won't be taking it. It is listed in Mudah.my and it's selling quite cheap and according to the seller, it's quite unused. Go ahead! It has 8 speed but you can always upgrade the gearings though.

http://www.mudah.my/DaHon+folding+bicycle-23225739.htm

Good Luck if you are taking it. It's on public forum now.  tongue.gif
You got your facts wrong...

The 24" Terns made its debut in KL back in 2011.

A few sample bikes were shown here: Eclipse S11i, P24h (now, with a proud owner in Ipoh, Perak) and a P7i (going around RM3.3K at the Rodalink sale - ex sample bike, pretty thrashed up).

As for the Eclipse X20 (Pirate-Ninja), production was delayed after it was announced in July 2012. It only went into full production sometime in May this year and the priority was Europe and North America. The first EX20 came to Malaysia sometime in early June. Subsequent batches (5 in one shipment) went to two owners in Taiping, three more private owners in KL. Another 9 units are expected to arrive here anytime now.

On the latest shipment for the Eclipse P9, only one came through. And that one belonged to Mrs Samo.

One issue that plagued the importer was the fact that demand for 24" bikes is low. They are only interested in cashing-in on the 20" Terns..

Speaking of the Dahon IOS, there were two models: IOS XL (11-speed Alfine IHG) and the P8. There's still one new bike in Chin Aik, Penang.

The design is similar to the eclipse, but if you look closely, there are stark differences.

The Eclipse P9

This is one bike that is compact and handles like a large bike..

The Eclipse S11i, I tested this bike and rode it to work... Very elegant, graceful and efficient with the Shimano Alfine 11 drivetrain...

Eclipse P7i, this is the last one at Rodalink Botanic..

Sam

This post has been edited by samosaurus: Sep 17 2013, 11:35 AM
Halia
post Sep 17 2013, 11:34 AM

49 posts

Any one can recommend a fun, inner city cycling route where the aim is to explore lorong-lorong, jalan-jalan kecil, or areas hard to reach by car? Of course, I have no intention to compete the road with the City Liner, taxi, truck, SUV alike like Chow Keat. If there a light traffic route in the inner city for exploration away from the hustler and bustler of traffic? Would like to hear from you all. Keep up the ride
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 11:43 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(Halia @ Sep 17 2013, 11:34 AM)
Any one can recommend a fun, inner city cycling route where the aim is to explore lorong-lorong, jalan-jalan kecil, or areas hard to reach by car?  Of course, I have no intention to compete the road with the City Liner, taxi, truck, SUV alike like Chow Keat.  If there a light traffic route in the inner city for exploration away from the hustler and bustler of traffic?  Would like to hear from you all.  Keep up the ride
Tern Link Uno. Nuff said.
love428
post Sep 17 2013, 12:22 PM

suggest some comfortable saddle for folding bike plz.... or show your saddle....

144 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:45 AM