144 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

myak9
post Sep 17 2013, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 17 2013, 11:43 AM)
Tern Link Uno. Nuff said.
adrian...

you ride uno arrr... rclxms.gif

any guys out there that ride uno...

would like to know how you guys brake in high speed (about 15-20km/h)...
it takes me like 2meter to stop...
2 times during emergency...I crash into car that come out from no where...
during those 2 times...even I back paddle and used hand brake...it skided and my body slamed to those cars...
of couse when I get down from my bike...I start @#@%$$@# that person looorrrr... tongue.gif

now I dun crash anymore...I also installed air horn... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by myak9: Sep 17 2013, 12:31 PM
samosaurus
post Sep 17 2013, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(Halia @ Sep 17 2013, 11:34 AM)
Any one can recommend a fun, inner city cycling route where the aim is to explore lorong-lorong, jalan-jalan kecil, or areas hard to reach by car?  Of course, I have no intention to compete the road with the City Liner, taxi, truck, SUV alike like Chow Keat.  If there a light traffic route in the inner city for exploration away from the hustler and bustler of traffic?  Would like to hear from you all.  Keep up the ride
For city exploration ride, one guy Jeffery is doing it here is the link: KL Cycling Map project

These fellas gather every Saturdays and explore the city for their mapping project. There is a bunch of 20 people in the group, some really psycho road warriors who don't believe in wearing head protection... rclxub.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif

Another person who actively cycles around KL is Master Urban Explorer Sin Tai Lim.. You can read about his exploits here: Master Sin's blog

Here's an article I wrote about him: Journey into the inner city

Sin, riding along the Klang riverbank..

Murals along the riverbank..

With Master Sin (right) at the Royal Selangor Club..

Sam
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 01:42 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(love428 @ Sep 17 2013, 12:22 PM)
suggest some comfortable saddle for folding bike plz.... or show your saddle....
SR Freedom or Velo Plush tongue.gif
etigge
post Sep 17 2013, 01:42 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 17 2013, 11:00 AM)
Of course disc brake is better.  tongue.gif
Are you sure? tongue.gif Most foldies comes with cheap mechanical ( or cable operated ) disc brakes and this I have tried, you have to really pull hard to stop. On the same note, a lot of foldies with V-brakes also comes with mushy brake levers. There's a tendency for the inferior brake levers to flex and this makes braking mushy! Anyway, to change a brake levers is not expensive anyway. An Avid levers (used by the older Dahons Speeds and MUs) cost RM70 a pair. But after upgrading, the brakes are good. Days before disc brake in the late 90s, all MTBs flying down hill slopes also have V-brakes. The range was more those days and the stopping power is good. I still miss the Avid Arch Rival 50s but it is discontinued now.

Shimano still manufactures good V-brakes. There's Deore V-brakes and also Alivio Vs. Avid has the Single Digit 3s, 5s and the 7s. The higher the number the lighter it is and more expensive. Check with eBay and you can still find good V brakes that are still sold every where else except Malaysia. sad.gif

As for disc brakes, I can only trust hydraulics, if not I am not really confident. Also mechanicals are heavy with the rotors and calipers. I have zoomed down from Fraser's Hill at 50 km/h and my Shimano Vs are good. Like everything else, care for the components are a must! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Sep 17 2013, 01:52 PM
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 01:43 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Sep 17 2013, 12:28 PM)
adrian...

you ride uno arrr... rclxms.gif

any guys out there that ride uno...

would like to know how you guys brake in high speed (about 15-20km/h)...
it takes me like 2meter to stop...
2 times during emergency...I crash into car that come out from no where...
during those 2 times...even I back paddle and used hand brake...it skided and my body slamed to those cars...
of couse when I get down from my bike...I start @#@%$$@# that person looorrrr... tongue.gif

now I dun crash anymore...I also installed air horn... thumbup.gif
Nope, it's jes my spontenaus suggestion when he say relax riding in city. tongue.gif
etigge
post Sep 17 2013, 01:47 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 17 2013, 11:32 AM)
You got your facts wrong...

The 24" Terns made its debut in KL back in 2011.

A few sample bikes were shown here: Eclipse S11i, P24h (now, with a proud owner in Ipoh, Perak) and a P7i (going around RM3.3K at the Rodalink sale - ex sample bike, pretty thrashed up).

As for the Eclipse X20 (Pirate-Ninja), production was delayed after it was announced in July 2012. It only went into full production sometime in May this year and the priority was Europe and North America. The first EX20 came to Malaysia sometime in early June. Subsequent batches (5 in one shipment) went to two owners in Taiping, three more private owners in KL. Another 9 units are expected to arrive here anytime now.

On the latest shipment for the Eclipse P9, only one came through. And that one belonged to Mrs Samo.

One issue that plagued the importer was the fact that demand for 24" bikes is low. They are only interested in cashing-in on the 20" Terns..

Speaking of the Dahon IOS, there were two models: IOS XL (11-speed Alfine IHG) and the P8. There's still one new bike in Chin Aik, Penang.

The design is similar to the eclipse, but if you look closely, there are stark differences.

Sam
Thanks for the correction. I also got my info from another source. Blind leading the blind, probably. tongue.gif I gave up the idea of getting the Dahon IOS P8. I was thinking of the trouble in getting 3 bikes in a car if I take a bigger folding bike. I rather stick to 20 inches wheels for now. Now to go look for Pacific IF Reach! tongue.gif The one in Chin Aik is P8 or XL?
samosaurus
post Sep 17 2013, 01:56 PM

Thanks for the correction. I also got my info from another source. Blind leading the blind, probably.  tongue.gif I gave up the idea of getting the Dahon IOS P8. I was thinking of the trouble in getting 3 bikes in a car if I take a bigger folding bike. I rather stick to 20 inches wheels for now. Now to go look for Pacific IF Reach!  tongue.gif The one in Chin Aik is P8 or XL?

No problem Master Wong..

Contrary to what you believe, the 24" is "slightly" bigger than a 20". If you know how to pack, then certainly, its no issue...

The Dahon IOS in Chin Aik is the P8 model..

What the seller was asking for is Mudah.com is a very decent price, given the fact that he paid much more for it..

Sam
croomaniac
post Sep 17 2013, 02:14 PM

269 posts

No bicycles that i know has ABS equipped. No matter how good the brakes are, once the tire is locked, it'll just slide.. Now, it comes to your tires for that extra grip and extra drag? I think everyone should know how to brake instead of changing to better brakes.. If you braking hard on your front brake with your best brake, be ready to become a superman. If you brake hard on your rear brake, be prepared to slide on dude!~

The best is to know how to brake.. Do a sprint and brake all you can to stop.. See how you handle that situation..

Maybe i ride motorcycles before, my balance is there though my rear wheels are locked. That was during my encounter, a near miss running through a child as he came out from in between parked cars (I rode along my housing area) and that time i was using my highest gear (to sprint)..

Don't panic, keep your balance.. that is the most important part..

And i'm using stock el-cheapo factory disc brakes.. They still do brakes though.. Heheh..
samosaurus
post Sep 17 2013, 02:54 PM

No bicycles that i know has ABS equipped.

Actually, there is..

This is the APV - Ashima Power Valve.. Two-stage braking. But it's pending revision as the EN Standards does not allow two-stage braking..

Sam
budgee
post Sep 17 2013, 03:16 PM

28 posts

Oh, this Sunday 7am got bicycle group ride , PJ to KL. total trip is about 25 to 30km.

https://www.facebook.com/events/19612874389...f_t=plan_edited

"All will meet up first 7am at P.J Section 8 opposite P.J Traffic Police Station car park to set up your bicycle and probably will start to roll out around 7.40am-8am.

Route: From P.J using Federal Highway motorbike lane pass true MidVally to Brickfield to K.L than to Ampang(95% Mostly Flat Road).
We will cycle to K.L Imbi for brunch than to Ampang(Hutan Lipur)relex & makan again than back to P.J starting point.

This event is open to everyone and anyone are most welcome to join in the ride and you may invite your friends too.

This is a leisure ride no time limit & is a self support ride.
"NO HELMET NO RIDE"!
Always Safety Comes First. Thanks! "

This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 17 2013, 03:23 PM
croomaniac
post Sep 17 2013, 03:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 17 2013, 02:54 PM)
Actually, there is..

This is the APV - Ashima Power Valve.. Two-stage braking. But it's pending revision as the EN Standards does not allow two-stage braking..

Sam
Now i know.. whistling.gif

Thanks Sam..
H2D
post Sep 17 2013, 03:19 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 17 2013, 01:47 PM)
Now to go look for Pacific IF Reach! 
wah if reach(rich)... $$$$ oh.... laugh.gif

blehland got sell oredi??

This post has been edited by H2D: Sep 17 2013, 03:23 PM
H2D
post Sep 17 2013, 03:26 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(love428 @ Sep 17 2013, 12:22 PM)
suggest some comfortable saddle for folding bike plz.... or show your saddle....
goto version 1 topic..
put saddle in the search..
alot will come out.... laugh.gif
discussed few times already.....
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 03:37 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 17 2013, 03:19 PM)
wah if reach(rich)... $$$$ oh....  laugh.gif

blehland got sell oredi??
Saw it at Gw Cycle at Kota Kemuning selling at RM4.5k a pop if I am not mistaken
H2D
post Sep 17 2013, 03:50 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 17 2013, 03:37 PM)
Saw it at Gw Cycle at Kota Kemuning selling at RM4.5k a pop if I am not mistaken
(edited)
since it is just frame n fork @ GW....
for the 2 suspension u need to add RM X? k...
if compared with the old Dash P18.....

This post has been edited by H2D: Sep 17 2013, 04:57 PM
love428
post Sep 17 2013, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 17 2013, 03:26 PM)
goto version 1 topic..
put saddle in the search..
alot will come out....  laugh.gif
discussed few times already.....
TQ bro
CheaTeRz
post Sep 17 2013, 04:41 PM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

I saw some that I can afford in the GW Cycle blogshop, brand named GTA and Nakxus (labeled under XDS). I wonder if these brand are reliable tho, I dont want something that later spoil easily.

lets say Ill increase my budget up to BELOW RM1000, what's the best bet?

Sorry for non-stop question tongue.gif
etigge
post Sep 17 2013, 04:46 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 17 2013, 03:37 PM)
That's just the frame and fork.
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 04:59 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 17 2013, 04:41 PM)
I saw some that I can afford in the GW Cycle blogshop, brand named GTA and Nakxus (labeled under XDS). I wonder if these brand are reliable tho, I dont want something that later spoil easily.

lets say Ill increase my budget up to BELOW RM1000, what's the best bet?

Sorry for non-stop question tongue.gif
Dr Hon Vybe C7
adriankhoo153
post Sep 17 2013, 05:00 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 17 2013, 04:46 PM)
That's just the frame and fork.
Expensive shocking.gif
I rather get a Scott Scale notworthy.gif

144 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top