Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

ape
post Aug 23 2013, 08:24 PM

849 posts

After getting my tern P9 for almost a week, i have broken my personal best of 35kmph finally with the aid of a group of dogs chasing behind. Scared like hexx...
ape
post Aug 26 2013, 11:08 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(moon_duke @ Aug 26 2013, 10:45 AM)
Hi all sifus, need advice where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl. I am planning to goto work daily by taking KTM. From KTM to office need to walk about 40mins! So I'm thinking to own a folding bike.

1) Will there be any problem getting in KTM with the folding bike?
2) please advise me the models that around budget RM1K-1.4K.
3) where to get a budget folding bike in pj or kl.

many thanks!
hi, tern c7, khs, Java Fit shall meet your budget...
ape
post Aug 30 2013, 04:07 PM

849 posts

Upgrade my tern P9 kinetix comp to wheelsport smart pro, super syiok, the wheels are so smooth like riding in the air....

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
ape
post Aug 30 2013, 04:28 PM

849 posts

will drop by roadalink afterward, hunting for glove, helmet and handpump.
ape
post Aug 30 2013, 11:20 PM

849 posts

C u all at putrajaya tomorrow.
ape
post Sep 10 2013, 07:29 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 10 2013, 04:20 PM)
Finally found the adapter for Dahon Boardwalk or Tern bikes. Now I can fit the Shimano rear derailleurs onto the Boardwalk. The propriety Neos are lousy, cage is too short! Also it looks flimsy!

The original!

The Neos mounting tread, without hanger for other brands of RD!  rclxub.gif

Fitting the adapter on.

Completed switch! It was used to be a Tiagra RD but seems the cage is also too short so changed to Sora which is taken out from a road bike which is unused since the day it was bought.  blush.gif
Can i know where can u find the adapter? I only found it in thorusa but quite expensive.
ape
post Sep 11 2013, 07:12 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 10 2013, 11:48 PM)
It is expensive!  rclxub.gif  S$38.00 without postage. I got a friend to buy it from Tern Singapore. Blardy Singkee don't want to reply my enquiry through their FB page. But usual lah! Even worse, Tern Singapore is also under the same establishment from our local importers of Tern, Le Run Industries. Seems all over the world have this accessory except our local Tern. As I said before, good brand but we have to deal with f*cktard importers. mad.gif
Thanks, i think to upgrade my p9 to p20 but the fd and rd adapter almost cost me a 53-39T crankset. cry.gif
ape
post Sep 13 2013, 12:31 AM

849 posts

i am using this, so far so good, bright enough for night ride. The battery can last for 3++hrs ride (mid brightness). Really worth for money imho.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This post has been edited by ape: Sep 13 2013, 02:20 PM
ape
post Oct 6 2013, 10:03 PM

849 posts

Sifu etigge, i am thinking to change my p9 neos rd to sram, if i change the crankset to 53-39t and 11-34 cassette, the short cage sram x9 rd can be used? Or need to use the mid size cage rd? I worry the mid size rd will touch the ground easily.
ape
post Oct 7 2013, 07:21 AM

849 posts

Thanks etigge and H2D, for aesthetic and safety reasons, i really feel that the long cage rd is not suited for fb. Will read the x9 manual first.
ape
post Oct 8 2013, 07:54 AM

849 posts

Very good said, bro etigge.
ape
post Oct 9 2013, 11:06 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(andythology @ Oct 9 2013, 02:37 PM)
No way no way haha... I love the Tern Physis post. So, the Litepro stem or Aber Hallo stem is the only way.  rclxm9.gif
The other choice is change to x10/x20 handlepost and use vro stem.
ape
post Oct 11 2013, 01:19 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(yk.chong @ Oct 11 2013, 11:09 AM)
Any idea where I can get a flat handle bar which is dia 25.4 mm,I look around many place they only have 31.8 mm only
From taobao.com they ship to Malaysia? Is tat I can register since the website only support china phone no.
U can buy through agent from taobao, there are handful of taobao agents at LYN trade zone.
ape
post Oct 11 2013, 02:30 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(yk.chong @ Oct 11 2013, 02:16 PM)
Thanks..
Do u mind to tell me who d agents
Do u know chinese? my regular agent is from cari chinese. i can pm her link to u if u want.
ape
post Oct 11 2013, 02:57 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(andythology @ Oct 11 2013, 02:51 PM)
Wonder how much is the Litepro Kinetic 20" wheel set . hm...
about rmb1400 for a pair of litepro wheelset (similar to kinetix pro with Rolf Paired Spoke Design). after conversion and postage is about RM800, still a lot cheaper than kinetix pro wheelset.
ape
post Oct 11 2013, 03:52 PM

849 posts

Robyn, this red wheelset is very nice, match the color of yr 'crap' P9 wink.gif

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=21034295742
ape
post Oct 13 2013, 05:03 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(Robyn @ Oct 12 2013, 11:26 AM)
you guy really hantu la..... how much was ur wheelsport wheelset ?  tongue.gif
Haha..u can check with fei lee from gw, good price with trade in of yr kinetix comp.
ape
post Oct 14 2013, 11:27 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 14 2013, 04:29 PM)
I have just TRIED to mod another forummer's Tern P9 to dual chain rings. Everything was OK until we found out that the Neos RD cannot accommodate multiple chain rings, maybe 52/42T is possible but what I have is a 39T chain ring. Added to the original 53.  The chain lag is too much when on the smaller chain ring and the smallest cog at the rear and when cut short it cannot accommodate the larger chain ring with the largest 32T cog at the rear. The Neos RD cage is TOO SHORT!. Also noted that the Neos 3.0, 9 speed unit, the quality is even inferior to the unit on Speed P8. There's some freeplay on the RD's spring sections which is not on the old Speed P8's unit. Since the only issue he wants to change is to alleviate the Frogging Chains, I then just took everything out and put in an old Speed P8 chain guard which was slightly thicker and harder. Also, the same rubber dust cap on the Kinetix hubs is resisting the smooth turning of the rims.

Also the SRAM Attack propriecty shifter for Neos is one F**kup shifter  vmad.gif . Try changing the cable and you will know. I even took it to a Tern dealer and he too can't figure it out unless you 'kopak' everything out. Anyway, I am still figuring the real way to change the cables. Hahaha. I wonder why they want to make it so complicated. Complicated means sophisticated to them, maybe,

So, those who wants to mod the P9s to dual chainrings, factor in changing RDs as well. Also get the adapter as well for the RD.

Also anyone here rides a Trinx 16 speed, 22inch bike? I was calibrating the brakes when I realize that the left levers controls the front and right levers controls the back. It should be the other way round. Rule of thumb! Front shifters side front brakes and back shifters side, rear brakes. Anyone here ridng Trinx, can you confirm?  hmm.gif
Bro etigge, since u have lot of experience on tern p9, do u mind also helping me to mod my p9 to p20? notworthy.gif
ape
post Oct 15 2013, 09:38 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 15 2013, 02:38 AM)
Already have a fellow rider modded to P20. He has a Deore 2014 shifter, Shimano 105 crank, 105 RD, 105 FD with FD adapter, 105 cassette. Now awaiting K-Pro wheelsets, Dahon's handlepost and sealed bearings headset, LitePro seat post. It's good if you join us for a ride and maybe look at his bike too. I will be happy to help you upgrade. Decided on your components yet?
Thanks, my components shall arrive this week, i am using ultegra crankset, x9 shifter and rd, rival fd, sram cassette and chain, rd and fd adapters, ergon grip. Anything i have missing?
ape
post Oct 15 2013, 11:27 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 15 2013, 09:56 AM)
Except for the bottom bracket which I think comes with the Ultegra crank, I think that should be about it. How about cable housings and cables. The rear RD cable/housing can be used as the front FD  and a new rear RD ones has to be bought. But no worries, there's a bike shop here that sells it. icon_idea.gif
Yup, miss out the fd housing and cable. Can pm yr address, cfu wong?

0.0487sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:25 PM