116 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 20 2013, 11:32 PM)
oh the old java fit is different? i saw online its
like this...
this one reviewed by samo...
frm baikbike article...

if urs can fully open then no nid the adapter lor...
haha.. that is 2013 model ... 2014 model is different now..... so in this case i can jz open up and change to drop down bar easily right ?? tongue.gif

normally how much for drop down bar ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Robyn: Aug 20 2013, 11:37 PM
budgee
post Aug 20 2013, 11:42 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 20 2013, 11:15 PM)
use this adapter... i think can mod...

I am looking for this lah! Any one knows of a local shop which sells these? So I can test them as well before buying.

In taobao, the chinese characters are foreign to me... sad.gif
kkm
post Aug 20 2013, 11:43 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 20 2013, 10:56 PM)
Are you talking about the one in BU?  They are probably very engrossed in their conversation to notice much else.  There are mostly big boys who want to pass the time and talk more than anything else. 

Just go up to the boss and say:  Hi ! I am looking for a foldable bike,  and he'll show you what's available.

Once I asked for a model that he did not have and he right away called up the main distributor to check...
Well, the boss was the one deep in chit chat with his foldie biker friends, so it was difficult (and probably very rude too) for me to break into their buddy-buddy conversation. I did try to catch his eye, but they were too engrossed with talking about replacement rims, and powdering new tires, and such bike stuff, didn't even look at me standing there next to them. So after 10 mins, I left.
etigge
post Aug 20 2013, 11:43 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Aug 20 2013, 10:41 PM)
I'm looking for my first foldie too, been to a few shops to check things out. There was this place where the taikors here say the owner is so friendly. He was, but only to his friends who were chatting with him there. I came in the rain, stood there for 10 minutes, and they totally ignored me. Didn't even glance at me, and their closed conversation didn't give me any chance.

Never going back there again...
I think I saw you. Are you in glasses and darkish standing behind the boxes. If it was, you didn't walk into the shop at all. Give the place another chance. You didn't sound a word.
TSearl-ku
post Aug 20 2013, 11:45 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 20 2013, 11:43 PM)
I think I saw you. Are you in glasses and darkish standing behind the boxes. If it was, you didn't walk into the shop at all. Give the place another chance. You didn't sound a word.
kkm look for Mr Wong here if you are there ... he is among the bunch of big boys engrossed in those talks ... kekeke

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Aug 20 2013, 11:45 PM
H2D
post Aug 20 2013, 11:45 PM

598 posts

ohhhhhh... etiq is the one engrossed chatting wit the boss.... icon_idea.gif
kkm
post Aug 20 2013, 11:48 PM

1,258 posts

Nope, that wasn't me. I actually stood right in front of the group, it was drizzling, about 4pm. But nvm lah, I'm starting to sound like I'm whining. Just wanted to let off some steam, now I'll move on.
H2D
post Aug 20 2013, 11:51 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 20 2013, 11:42 PM)
I am looking for this lah!  Any one knows of a local shop which sells these?  So I can test them as well before buying.

In taobao, the chinese characters are foreign to me...  sad.gif
this one... kinda specific to folding bikes...
mebe u hv to try bbs or facebook...

bike shops hv to ask taikors here... who actively prowls those shops... biggrin.gif
2kia
post Aug 21 2013, 12:41 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 20 2013, 08:36 AM)
Just tighten the QR until it doesn't move. It tend s to move a bit after much usaga and makes the handlebar alignment go off. Another rider can't get the handlebar lower and he has to cut off an inch off even.
guess i'll just have to do exactly that.. thx brah cheers.gif

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 20 2013, 09:29 AM)

Ahhhh... Okay, your telescopic stem's clamp.. I get it..

Well, this is a pain when it comes to older Dahon bikes with telescopic stems. You will have to to adjust the nut on the "turtleneck" clamp to get a good grip. Do not overtighten it as you may damage the collar used to fasten the turtleneck clamp.

Also, there is a "red dot" to indicate the telescopic stem's maximum height, do not fasten the stem beyond the recommended height as it will twist.

With stems using this adjustable height system, the handlebar tends to sway from left to right due to loosening.

One way to overcome this is to have a fixed stem. Handling is also much better with it..

I've been using my Dahon Speed P8 for five years, and the clamp tension on the handlebar's telescopic stem is something I check from time-to-time..

Sam
well the thing is i like riding it short/low.. however when i fold it i needa adjust it to the max height or else it'd interfere with the folding.. so fixed stem is outta the question sad.gif
2kia
post Aug 21 2013, 12:42 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

btw u guys seem to have found a home for all the foldie lovie huh

esp sam i think, seen him posted at a few other forums with not much responses tongue.gif
H2D
post Aug 21 2013, 12:54 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Aug 21 2013, 12:41 AM)
. so fixed stem is outta the question  sad.gif
the ones selling have 2 options.. one folds inwards, n another folds outside like terns...
but not sure if it will fold correctly... if pasang on dahons that originally folds inwards..
etigge
post Aug 21 2013, 02:14 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 20 2013, 11:42 PM)
I am looking for this lah!  Any one knows of a local shop which sells these?  So I can test them as well before buying.

In taobao, the chinese characters are foreign to me...  sad.gif
GW Cycle stocks them. Not Litepro as in the pictures but have something similar. You can check it out. But don't expect Taobao price though, far from it!! biggrin.gif
etigge
post Aug 21 2013, 02:43 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 20 2013, 11:22 PM)
I think who u join for cycling is very important... if u can found ppl like Sam and also some TaiKo in this forum then u will enjoy cycling n cycling...
A few of my regular riding kakis are actually from this forum. It started from their research on what to buy then progress to me taking them for a beginners ride and then to Genting Peras and any other rides that comes along later. Also we will bridge together riders from elsewhere into a group. Trying to get more into a group as many can't accomodate the same date and when that happens, at least we have a small number and we can ride. So, there's a ride everyweek.

I feel many riders just gets intimidated by long rides. Frankly, I am not a fast rider, just that if I ride, I got the whole day to ride. I don't rush! Also, I can turn back anytime if any rider decides to give up, or if the route is hard, the weaker rider can take a rest and then head back first. There's no busted ego here as every rider has to start from somewhere. I mean, let's face it! I am over 50 years of age, and those I took along are in their mid 20s, given time, after they train up, they might have to sweep me and my wife in the future.

Just like the KKB-Fraser's Hill route. I ride there every week if I can. First we do KKB to Chilling which is just 12.5 km and 25 km return. One can do that in 2 hours or 3 the most. Later, we do Chilling to GAP. Get used to riding in undulating terrain and then we can do Chilling to Fraser's Hill and one day, finally we do the full route. After that, you will be mentally strong enough to tackle any route. That route sound intimidating but it is actually easy, one just need to get used to it. Of the 4 routes I ride, Genting Sempah, Genting Peras , Putrajaya and KKB-Fraser's, the latter is still the best! thumbup.gif Cooling, there's ups and there downhill ride, less traffic, clean air and SAFE! We just need the number of riders.

Rather than serious riding, we joke, banter, eat, ride, laugh, help with each other and we sweat it out, workout. Nothing else is important. icon_rolleyes.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 21 2013, 09:11 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I was looking for an upgraded bike and Tern C7 looks like a good upgrade from Raleigh Ugo. But I was told by the shop that if I were to upgrade, Tern C7 are the same. Even Tern D8 too.

Is this true? He said I wont feel any significant improvement over the bike. Hence intro me Tern P9 or Java Fit.

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Aug 21 2013, 09:18 AM
etigge
post Aug 21 2013, 09:17 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 21 2013, 09:11 AM)
I was looking for an upgraded bike and Tern C7 looks like a good upgrade from Raleigh Ugo. But I was told by the shop that if I were to upgrade, Tern C7 are the same. Even Tern D8 too.

Is this true? He said I wont feel any significant improvement over the bike. Hence intro me Tern P9 or Java Fit.
If you look carefully, Tern D8 has better handle post and also better locking flaps than the Link C7. D8 is also shodded with Schwalbe tires while the C7 is not. D8 has 8 speed, that off course is easy to spot. Only thing is D8 needs an adapter RD hanger if you want to use Shimano or SRAM RD.
adriankhoo153
post Aug 21 2013, 09:20 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 21 2013, 09:17 AM)
If you look carefully, Tern D8 has better handle post and also better locking flaps than the Link C7. D8 is also shodded with Schwalbe tires while the C7 is not. D8 has 8 speed, that off course is easy to spot. Only thing is D8 needs an adapter RD hanger if you want to use Shimano or SRAM RD.
Yeah, C7 does look a little 'cheap' compare with D8 and P9. The folding mechanism is also different from D8 and P9. It takes longer and more step to fold than D8. VU selling RM2.5k for a display unit of P9. ohmy.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 21 2013, 10:05 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

There is a constant thud thud thud sound each time I pedal. Not sure where it come from. If not pedaling but bike is rolling, there is no such sound. Hence it could be crankset or gear etc? Anyone can help me on this issue?
samosaurus
post Aug 21 2013, 10:30 AM

btw u guys seem to have found a home for all the foldie lovie huh

esp sam i think, seen him posted at a few other forums with not much responses

The Malaysian Culture is to see and read. So, a dedicated folding bike forum can hardly attract regular contributors.

I do post in the Tern Forums, Bike Forums and Photo Malaysia. Mostly sharing my journey and photos.

Here in LYN, I see that there are more people asking about "which bike to buy?", "how to upgrade?". Lucky there are people like H2D and Etigge who are knowledgeable. I stumbled upon this place when I saw my wife's old photo posted. I was looking for Lego toys.. hahah!

Well, the boss was the one deep in chit chat with his foldie biker friends, so it was difficult (and probably very rude too) for me to break into their buddy-buddy conversation. I did try to catch his eye, but they were too engrossed with talking about replacement rims, and powdering new tires, and such bike stuff, didn't even look at me standing there next to them. So after 10 mins, I left.

Alamak, kesian.. Johnny is alone all the time, he is usually bogged-down with customers and when he's free, there are usually some "regulars" as well as MBS sponsored cyclists at the shop hanging out.

So, in his defense, it was rather unfortunate that you got "left out", but let me assure you that if you ask Johnny, he will be glad to assist you.

And for the record, MBS is one of the best service outlet for folding bicycles in the Klang Valley.

Talk about other basikal shops, I had a similar experience in Van Urban Cycle sometime back.. I went there to ask about a KHS folding bike, and the tech guy actually gave me fart face and told me off. To sum it up, I was not the only person who experienced the same treatment..

Sam I really admire u can pedal uphill so easily. U must be very fit. I really need to work harder, cos ppl ask me join them go uphill or round Island, I not dare go... sweat.gif

Dun know when i can be ready...

Hahah!! Where got easy la? The answer to your question is regular training and conditioning. Get used to climbing, strengthen your heart and your legs will follow.. We are going back to Penang on Sept 08 to do the round island ride.. It will be our third outing..

Sam

This post has been edited by samosaurus: Aug 21 2013, 10:33 AM
TSearl-ku
post Aug 21 2013, 10:35 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

Anyone interested in cycling around Putrajaya this Saturday? An evening ride which will likely last till early night ...

Last done with etigge was bout less than 20km circle around the lake ..
Robyn
post Aug 21 2013, 10:39 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 21 2013, 10:35 AM)
Anyone interested in cycling around Putrajaya this Saturday? An evening ride which will likely last till early night ...

Last done with etigge was bout less than 20km circle around the lake ..
COUNT ME IN brows.gif brows.gif

144 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:02 AM