Do you guys experience rim spoke losen and it keep giving "ngeh ngeh" sound when the road condition not flat. Is that normaly for wear and tear ?? We can tighten it bk right ??
Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons
Aug 21 2013, 10:25 PM
116 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Do you guys experience rim spoke losen and it keep giving "ngeh ngeh" sound when the road condition not flat. Is that normaly for wear and tear ?? We can tighten it bk right ??
Aug 21 2013, 10:31 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(Robyn @ Aug 21 2013, 10:25 PM) Do you guys experience rim spoke losen and it keep giving "ngeh ngeh" sound when the road condition not flat. Is that normaly for wear and tear ?? We can tighten it bk right ?? wah urs new bike wor... y so many sound wan... ???bought from ksh.. they r expert ... hv to bring back n fix all..... |
Aug 21 2013, 10:35 PM
Sent by to pedalsport to tighten bk.. Now ok ... Was because the spoke losen..... So I wondering is that normal spoke will lose ?
Aug 21 2013, 11:18 PM
28 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(Robyn @ Aug 21 2013, 10:35 PM) Sent by to pedalsport to tighten bk.. Now ok ... Was because the spoke losen..... So I wondering is that normal spoke will lose ? These things do happen. As long its fixed, then ok.It is not normal for the spoke to loosen by itself. Could be that when you bought it, the spoke was already slightly loose. You can do a check yourself on all the spokes on whether any is loose or not. Just use your fingers to try and move the spokes to see if any are loose. The spokes should not be moving sideways. If they are, you can ask the Bike shop to tighten. If you do not know how to do it and tighten it yourself, the rim may go out of true. But truing a wheel can be learnt, just need to get the right tools to do it. To true a wheel, see => http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a25vC5zsf6A |
Aug 22 2013, 01:19 AM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Aug 22 2013, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 21 2013, 11:18 PM) These things do happen. As long its fixed, then ok. got it .. thanks lawrence ! It is not normal for the spoke to loosen by itself. Could be that when you bought it, the spoke was already slightly loose. You can do a check yourself on all the spokes on whether any is loose or not. Just use your fingers to try and move the spokes to see if any are loose. The spokes should not be moving sideways. If they are, you can ask the Bike shop to tighten. If you do not know how to do it and tighten it yourself, the rim may go out of true. But truing a wheel can be learnt, just need to get the right tools to do it. To true a wheel, see => http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a25vC5zsf6A |
Aug 22 2013, 04:06 AM
1 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(Robyn @ Aug 20 2013, 12:24 AM) QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 21 2013, 09:14 PM) robyn plans to get oneperhaps he know wic shop selling it or go to johnys mbs sometimes he got unexpected things in stock hehe if not no choice have to taobao ler QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 22 2013, 01:19 AM) cheers |
Aug 22 2013, 08:38 AM
386 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 22 2013, 01:19 AM) My chinese fail 1(only can read 4-5 word out of 10 But this think is cheap, can giv a try. Want to ask, -Its i see the item, -then i pass to the agent, -they will quot me a price, -then we pay and wait for item to reach? Any good agent recommend? |
Aug 22 2013, 09:46 AM
10 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Some MTB bikers prefer not to use the rear derailleur guards/protectors because when it hits the rock, the force may rip out the whole bike dropout. It would be costly to replace the frame.
You can buy a used protector. Spray with black paint and it will become new. Once I saw about 15 pieces of used protectors in the toolbox in a bicycle shop. I believe that after servicing those used Japanese bicycles, they prefer not to install them back. No need those guards for city or taman riding.... |
Aug 22 2013, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(gataddhin @ Aug 22 2013, 09:46 AM) Some MTB bikers prefer not to use the rear derailleur guards/protectors because when it hits the rock, the force may rip out the whole bike dropout. It would be costly to replace the frame. I want to try(if its not big n gam gam cover the gear) cos when i fold my bike put inside car, either i it will kena the gear or kena the brake..You can buy a used protector. Spray with black paint and it will become new. Once I saw about 15 pieces of used protectors in the toolbox in a bicycle shop. I believe that after servicing those used Japanese bicycles, they prefer not to install them back. No need those guards for city or taman riding.... Thank for the info. I wil try ask the bicycle shop n see.. |
Aug 22 2013, 02:40 PM
1,258 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Ok, to the many sifus here, I've been looking around at getting a foldie, I'm not really a serious biker, so more for fresh air and exercise. I've been to a few shops, and looked at the availability of different models at or under my budget of slightly over rm1k.
I'm now looking at either something basic like the Tern c7, or better spec bikes like the Hasa F1 or the Java Fit or even the XDS AFB320. Van's currently doing a promo on the c7, so quite attractive, but if I were to ever get better, would need to spend on upgrades. I have read a lot on the Tern c7. Anybody have comments or opinions to share on the other bikes mentioned above? Would really be helpful... |
Aug 22 2013, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(kkm @ Aug 22 2013, 02:40 PM) Ok, to the many sifus here, I've been looking around at getting a foldie, I'm not really a serious biker, so more for fresh air and exercise. I've been to a few shops, and looked at the availability of different models at or under my budget of slightly over rm1k. Like Sam say.... Any functional bike is good. Get urself fit, cos ur bike will be as good as the rider....hahahaha I'm now looking at either something basic like the Tern c7, or better spec bikes like the Hasa F1 or the Java Fit or even the XDS AFB320. Van's currently doing a promo on the c7, so quite attractive, but if I were to ever get better, would need to spend on upgrades. I have read a lot on the Tern c7. Anybody have comments or opinions to share on the other bikes mentioned above? Would really be helpful... |
Aug 22 2013, 02:45 PM
Aug 22 2013, 02:48 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE Do you guys experience rim spoke losen and it keep giving "ngeh ngeh" sound when the road condition not flat. Is that normaly for wear and tear ?? We can tighten it bk right ?? New bike, straight from the shop, this should NOT happen. Riding with a loose spoke can be very damaging to your bike's rim. Way it sounds, the store where you bought your bike from had done a really poor job in pre-delivery tune-up... Also, make it a point to check your spoke's nipples from time to time to ensure that the tension is correct and that there is no loosening.. Sam |
Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE Ok, to the many sifus here, I've been looking around at getting a foldie, I'm not really a serious biker, so more for fresh air and exercise. I've been to a few shops, and looked at the availability of different models at or under my budget of slightly over rm1k. I'm now looking at either something basic like the Tern c7, or better spec bikes like the Hasa F1 or the Java Fit or even the XDS AFB320. Van's currently doing a promo on the c7, so quite attractive, but if I were to ever get better, would need to spend on upgrades. I have read a lot on the Tern c7. Anybody have comments or opinions to share on the other bikes mentioned above? Would really be helpful... It's hard to purchase a good bike at your preferred budget. Even the Tern Link C7 is sold at RM1.4K, (I believe that Van cycles has some freebies thrown-in at that price). For that price, you can also consider the Dahon Boardwalk D7, a proven bike with a decent component package... XDS bikes are quite pricey considering the fact that they give lower-grade components. Another bike that you can consider is the Dahon Vybe (7-speed under RM1K). Sam |
Aug 22 2013, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM) It's hard to purchase a good bike at your preferred budget. Even the Tern Link C7 is sold at RM1.4K, (I believe that Van cycles has some freebies thrown-in at that price). Buy like my 1 better la... got the look... hahahahahah For that price, you can also consider the Dahon Boardwalk D7, a proven bike with a decent component package... XDS bikes are quite pricey considering the fact that they give lower-grade components. Another bike that you can consider is the Dahon Vybe (7-speed under RM1K). Sam |
Aug 22 2013, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM) It's hard to purchase a good bike at your preferred budget. Even the Tern Link C7 is sold at RM1.4K, (I believe that Van cycles has some freebies thrown-in at that price). Thanks Sam. As you can see my budget is already straying northwards. It's just that once I think of spending more, so-called "value for money" gets into the equation. Hence the Hasa/XDS/Java thoughts.For that price, you can also consider the Dahon Boardwalk D7, a proven bike with a decent component package... XDS bikes are quite pricey considering the fact that they give lower-grade components. Another bike that you can consider is the Dahon Vybe (7-speed under RM1K). Sam |
Aug 22 2013, 03:00 PM
Aug 22 2013, 03:03 PM