17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Why driving a safe car makes sense

N1ck
post Jul 25 2013, 02:50 PM

572 posts

Not only cars, roads like the one in the video should be minimized.

Drive in KL and Subang Jaya and the chance for a head on collision is very little due to seperation between the lanes.

Having lived most of my live in what I think are safe roads, whenever I go kampung on thoose ulu roads I try to be very very alert. Somemore ulu roads but speed limit 90km/h but then some good roads speed limit 80 km/h wtf right.
BravoZeroTwo
post Jul 25 2013, 02:52 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jul 25 2013, 03:46 PM)
Is there any good RV with 6 air bags below 100k new car?
That's why better to buy a car with good resale value so that when your time's up, you leave something with cash compensation from the insurance company. Low resale value gets lower cash compensation.
BravoZeroTwo
post Jul 25 2013, 02:54 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Jul 25 2013, 03:48 PM)
Buy a tank and put in massive amount of turbo.. biggrin.gif

Car bang you.. no feel..
haha, agree, Twenty air bags also goners.
MeToo
post Jul 25 2013, 02:54 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Jul 25 2013, 12:27 PM)
sry is VIOS is a safe car ?
VIos is B-segment smaller but still safe.

Try the ViosTRD, I read in FnF that its a C-Segment car, hence bigger and much safer.
MeToo
post Jul 25 2013, 02:56 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jul 25 2013, 02:52 PM)
That's why better to buy a car with good resale value so that when your time's up, you leave something with cash compensation from the insurance company. Low resale value gets lower cash compensation.
Buy this got 4 airbag and abit safer then sedans when it comes to collisions...

BravoZeroTwo
post Jul 25 2013, 02:59 PM

1,128 posts

bro MeToo,
Agree with your suggestion.
ruffstuff
post Jul 25 2013, 03:11 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2013, 02:54 PM)
VIos is B-segment smaller but still safe.

Try the ViosTRD, I read in FnF that its a C-Segment car, hence bigger and much safer.
Without ESP, vios probably only achieve 3 star rating.
TSkadajawi
post Jul 25 2013, 03:18 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 25 2013, 11:33 AM)
I've noticed a lot of people arguing about the extremes. Not to disagree but just to add another point of view. There are 3 types of accidents in my opinion.

1. minor accidents where no matter what car you drive, you'll walk away
2. fatal accidents where no matter what car you drive, you'll die
3. everything in between

Most accidents will likely be #3. A safe car will ensure that the chances of you surviving is higher in this category.

More thoughts about safety:

- a safe car is a combination of features including seat belts. Wear your seatbelts. Princess Diana was traveling in one of the safest cars in the era. The only person to survive the crash was the bodyguard who was wearing a seat belt

- a safe car can be hampered when rescuers can't break the windscreen to save you in an accident because you put safety tint on it

- a safe car can become unsafe when loose items in the car fly around during impact. This is particularly true in SUV where there's no separation between the luggage and passenger sections
Good points. I often see people put things on the airbag openings. Don't do that. That area will explode in a crash, and whatever is placed on there will turn into bullets flying through the air, and quite possible towards you. Also seatbelts are crucial at any speeds, even in a car park.

I think it's best to just auto unlock when the car deploys the airbags. At that point chances are also best that the central locking system is unharmed. When you turn off the engine it may auto unlock when you don't want it to. Besides, my car auto unlocks when I try to open one of both front doors. The problem with cars that don't auto unlock in an accident is that the passengers may be unconscious, and thus not able to unlock the car themselves while rescuers are outside and can't get into the car.

@MeToo: I'd appreciate a lack of bullshitting and trolling in this thread. Some people may actually think the Vios is a safe car. It is a bit safer than the Saga SV (which itself is safer than the Myvi). But it is still a relatively poor car that offers acceptable protection from frontal collisions but poor protection from side impacts (likewise the City, though it does pretty good for frontal ones).

I also agree that every car should have a reasonable set of safety features, which in the B segment means 6 airbags and stability control. That's base spec. Then on top you can add electric windows, electric folding mirrors, sunroof, leather, radio, fancy HU, ... but any car, no matter how empty the specs, should have the full set of safety features.

QUOTE(Bankub @ Jul 25 2013, 12:46 PM)
the other guy needs to drive safely too....but yes I agree with u....sometimes it depends on luck and fate...if ur time is up...drive watever safe car...times up buddy
In this case it seems like a 3rd party may have driven unsafe, and caused 2 others to crash. The driver of the safe car survived easily, but those in the unsafe one died on the spot. So really it makes sense to get something that protects you as good as possible. Mind you, if the difference between cars is small, then I wouldn't care too much. Other things get more important. But at least a certain high safety standard has to be achieved to be worthy of consideration.

QUOTE(Bankub @ Jul 25 2013, 01:33 PM)
wat u said is true, no doubt about it....and TS story is also very true....can happen to anyone...

but what if Car A was Car B...would the outcome change? what if both are Car A and vice versa....
If the Tesla was crashed into I think the Tesla driver and passenger would still be fine, while the Honda that crashed into it coming from the other lane would have died. Both cars Teslas, then I think both drivers would have suffered from more serious injuries, but both would have survived. Both cars the old Honda, everyone probably dead. Maybe not so dead, but dead enough to be dead.

QUOTE(kww @ Jul 25 2013, 02:41 PM)
For below 100k, there are a few with 6 air bags or more. Toyota Prius C, ford fiesta, Kia rio, Kia forte, Kia serato, Mazda 2
Anymore to add?
Peugeot 208 6 airbags. VW Polo sedan 4 airbags. Preve CFE 4 airbags.

You can also buy a second hand Focus for example, which will cost way less than that and I believe should be well speced...?

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jul 25 2013, 03:31 PM
Bankub
post Jul 25 2013, 03:29 PM

hehehe....agree 100%
MeToo
post Jul 25 2013, 03:32 PM

9,338 posts

Actually I'm being very serious with safety...

Hence I booked the Ford WildTrak and is just waiting for delivery...

ps : I do take offense to you insinuating Toyota Vios is unsafe though..
TSkadajawi
post Jul 25 2013, 03:34 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Jul 25 2013, 02:48 PM)
Buy a tank and put in massive amount of turbo.. biggrin.gif

Car bang you.. no feel..
Fuel consumption very high bro, and maybe at some point the cops will want to stop you for killing too many people. laugh.gif

The Vios, when only tested for frontal collisions got 4 stars. That's how safe it is, and even if it were safer it couldn't get more because of the lack of ESP. However, side impacts weren't tested. If they were, that rating would have to go down quite a bit because of the complete lack of protection during a side impact. The same should happen to the City.

@MeToo: The Vios is not a very unsafe car per se, the problem is just: It is about as safe as a 35k car. Sold at that price I'd say yeah, go get it. But they are charging 2x as much, MINIMUM. And in that price range you can find much, much safer choices.

Also one thing I don't like about SUVs and pick-ups is that their crash compatibility is usually quite poor. Yes, you'll survive, but you may very well kill others. A Fiesta that crashes into a Vios, both may survive, the Fiesta with fewer injuries, but both will be ok. But same speed, and a Ranger crashes into a Vios... Ranger driver will be fine, the Vios driver will be crushed. Even if it crashes into the Fiesta, the Fiesta driver will at least carry away serious injuries.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jul 25 2013, 03:39 PM
Martinis
post Jul 25 2013, 03:44 PM

219 posts

I wonder how effective side airbags are. I mean, in a frontal collision, the design can make the frontal portion absorb the impact and then the airbags "supplement" the absorption. But in a side impact, anything beyond mild impact is likely to penetrate deep into cabin. Are airbags useful in such cases?

Are there any studies indicating how effective are

1) safety belts
2) frontal airbags
3) side and/or curtain airbags

in minimising damage in terms of % of importance?
edison1437
post Jul 25 2013, 03:51 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2013, 02:56 PM)
with this hardly you can find challenger
MeToo
post Jul 25 2013, 03:58 PM

9,338 posts

Bro.... although i'm an overall decent enuf guy...

But if given a choice of whether my family get hurt or the other guy... sorry to say the safety of my family always comes first

Edit : Let those fella who wanna be cool driving sportscars like CRZ, Fairlady, Elise etc live with their decision...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jul 25 2013, 03:59 PM
sleepwalker
post Jul 25 2013, 04:05 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2013, 02:56 PM)
You'd be surprised that not all big tanks comes out better than sedans. A collision between a tank and a soft MPV resulted in the MPV having less intrusion into the cabin and test dummies came out in better condition.

MeToo
post Jul 25 2013, 04:09 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jul 25 2013, 04:05 PM)
You'd be surprised that not all big tanks comes out better than sedans. A collision between a tank and a soft MPV resulted in the MPV having less intrusion into the cabin and test dummies came out in better condition.

Hmm... cant access youtube in office...

I'm sure we can find exceptions in every scenario...

However, I do believe that in general driving that vs a B/C-segment sedan.... I would come out in a better condition...
sleepwalker
post Jul 25 2013, 04:18 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2013, 04:09 PM)
Hmm... cant access youtube in office...

I'm sure we can find exceptions in every scenario...

However, I do believe that in general driving that vs a B/C-segment sedan.... I would come out in a better condition...
The video shows a direct head on collision between a Range Rover tank and a soft MPV. Due to the softness of the MPV, the crumple zone absorbs and defects the forces around the driver. However, in the Range Rover, the tough chassis actually pushed the cabin into the driver, crushing the test dummy instead of saving him.
MeToo
post Jul 25 2013, 04:25 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jul 25 2013, 04:18 PM)
The video shows a direct head on collision between a Range Rover tank and a soft MPV. Due to the softness of the MPV, the crumple zone absorbs and defects the forces around the driver. However, in the Range Rover, the tough chassis actually pushed the cabin into the driver, crushing the test dummy instead of saving him.
Er... I used my phone to watch it....

Are those 2 cars from the same period? Heck... I noticed the Range rover dont even have airbags lol
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 04:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2013, 03:32 PM)
Actually I'm being very serious with safety...

Hence I booked the Ford WildTrak and is just waiting for delivery...

ps : I do take offense to you insinuating Toyota Vios is unsafe though..
You managed to book one? You Nissan manager manyak kuat flex.gif
TSkadajawi
post Jul 25 2013, 04:28 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Martinis @ Jul 25 2013, 03:44 PM)
I wonder how effective side airbags are. I mean, in a frontal collision, the design can make the frontal portion absorb the impact and then the airbags "supplement" the absorption. But in a side impact, anything beyond mild impact is likely to penetrate deep into cabin. Are airbags useful in such cases?

Are there any studies indicating how effective are

1) safety belts
2) frontal airbags
3) side and/or curtain airbags

in minimising damage in terms of % of importance?
Side airbags are obviously useless for frontal impacts. But they do work for side impacts.

Otherwise they are the same car. Just side airbag vs no side airbag.

Safety belts are the by far most important system though. Without them, airbags won't be able to work properly and can very well kill you. With seatbelt and airbag the accident would have been harmless, with seatbelt alone it would have been survivable, and without seatbelt and without airbag it might have been survivable too. So really, airbags can be deadly when deployed without seatbelts.

Frontal airbags are important for frontal collisions, side/curtain airbags are important for side impacts. It's good to have all these safety systems. Side impacts are especially dangerous, and the airbags can make a big difference.

The reason why the Espace won was because it is much more modern car. Again, this shows the difference between modern and old cars. I doubt the test says much more than that though. However pickups are usually designed as work horses. For employees, not for families. I wouldn't be surprised if there is less thought and money invested there to protect passengers than in a family car.

Btw.: Isn't it nice that whenever they try to show a car is safer than another car, they use a Renault? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jul 25 2013, 04:30 PM

17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:39 PM