Why driving a safe car makes sense

dares
post Jul 24 2013, 04:55 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jul 24 2013, 04:43 PM)
This is not a fair comparison as cars from the early 90s didn't have to face strict regulations in safetly. Most cars from that era are nothing more than eggshells on wheels. They didn't build bad cars then, it is just that the regulations that they have to follow were bad.
You're right, but this wasn't a comparison anyway, just creating awareness.

Remember those threads alot of forumers banggalah because they know some big bosses/millionaires who drive old junkers? when the aspect of safety and value of life is mentioned, statements like "different ppl different thinking, deswai you are not rich like them blah blah blah...." is thrown at the face of well-meaning forumers.

Then there is those who claim drive slow no need ABS/ESC etc. etc. etc. doh.gif

dares
post Jul 24 2013, 07:24 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Martinis @ Jul 24 2013, 07:03 PM)
Can someone point me to a website to see the rankings of latest and common models of different cars? Like Honda, Toyota, Kia...different segments..which ones are affordable but safe?
For Asean cars, most relevant to our market
http://www.aseancap.org

For cars sold in Europe
http://www.euroncap.com

For cars sold in Australasia
http://www.ancap.com.au

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jul 24 2013, 07:21 PM)

what tokok u ?
Your point?
dares
post Jul 24 2013, 07:41 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jul 24 2013, 07:27 PM)
If you have to die, you have to, because GOD want you to.
I see. Pls go an sleep on the middle lane of the PLUS highway for one night and see if you survive tomorrow morning.

If you die, don't feel bad because GOD wanted you to.
dares
post Jul 24 2013, 07:51 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 24 2013, 07:41 PM)
there is always two sides to this... on a good side... everyone is safer because the cars are safer...

on the bad side...human beings are known to compensate for risks... so, when a subject is given knowledge that they are driving something safer.. they might think they have more buffer and start inducing in more risk than they would have in driving a car less safe...

and if this does happen... yes, the statistics might show less fatality in total but it might also possibly show an increase on accidents due to more risk taken (being it driving faster or multitasking while driving... etc)

so, good and bad... always do not take things for granted is the best advice... as the old people says.. buying you a superman cape does not make you a superman..
Risk Compensation theory

As more technology is developed to keep the roads safe, the weakest link has become the driver.

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 24 2013, 07:52 PM
dares
post Jul 24 2013, 11:06 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jul 24 2013, 10:38 PM)
you are plain stupid.

you cant even differentiate suicide and God's Will.
You earn enuff to buy a safe car, you can choose to
a) buy and drive a safe car
b) drive a kancil and let God decide

You are alive today, you can choose to
a) NOT sleep on the PLUS highway
b) sleep on the PLUS highway and let God decide

See my point?

Besides, if you wanna talk religion: If you think God is all-powerful and can control whether you die or not, what makes you think you can control whether you wanna suicide or not against His will?

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 24 2013, 11:06 PM
dares
post Jul 24 2013, 11:15 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Jul 24 2013, 11:08 PM)
Sorry, my POV is that there is NO WAY we can ENSURE That the car we are driving is totally SAFE. Simply because all these are assumptions. The crash test only comes out with a procedures, common encounter and put them into test. Once passed, then these cars get certified.

Do you think when (touch wood) someone is meant to get into casualty, because of the brand "Volvo" "Mercs" "BMW", then it makes the differences? Or even it is "VIOS", then the God will say,"It is a God's car, let's spare these INNOCENT lives!"??

No, even the most safety car, tend to fail. It does mean it is fail proof. Statistics have proven that the bigger the vehicle, the higher the chance of survival. If this is the case, why don't we all change our cars to trucks due to the safety issues. I think these truck can easily pass these Euro NCAP easily.

It all depends on how vehicles collide, how is the casualty happens and the impact of the casualty. These design can prevent but NOT avoid it some vehicles would get involved into the casualties.
Read more here: http://www.trucktrend.com/features/consume...l#ixzz2ZyZ86V8j
The whole point for safer cars is about the INCREASING THE POSSIBILITY of surviving an accident, not a GUARANTEE.

If someone gets killed in a Viva after ramming a tree, perhaps that person would've survived in a Vios? But would a Vios survive a collision with a 10 tonne truck? probably not, but it is even less likely for a Viva.

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 24 2013, 11:15 PM
dares
post Jul 24 2013, 11:42 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Jul 24 2013, 11:22 PM)
Exactly what I am trying to say. It all depends on the driver and sometimes probabilities. All these are out of our controls. There are so many parameters on the road. It doesn't mean if we are careful, and driving a very safety branded car, then it is an "immunity" to all casualties! (in other word, it doesn't means once one has shone the brand of incredible "VIOS" = ultimately spare!).

There are many way a casualty can happen. It can happen that a vehicle losses control, some obstacles on road during high speed driving and can be even (the story inspira vs lancer) that a vehicle lost control and flying over from the opposite side of the road! There are just many possibilities. It doesn't mean that if we have a safe car, we drive recklessly = God saves the poor driver.  wink.gif
Fair point. You can only do your best to increase the chance of survival for yourself and your passengers, that's all.
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 12:47 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(lunacy @ Jul 25 2013, 12:08 AM)
im driving viva . thinking of upgrade with 70k budget make taken service charge into consideration.

so alza, almera, preve which one is safer ?
Between this 3, of course Preve.

If you can drive a manual, then Fiesta 1.4l manual at RM69k.

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 25 2013, 12:47 AM
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 04:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2013, 03:32 PM)
Actually I'm being very serious with safety...

Hence I booked the Ford WildTrak and is just waiting for delivery...

ps : I do take offense to you insinuating Toyota Vios is unsafe though..
You managed to book one? You Nissan manager manyak kuat flex.gif
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 04:36 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2013, 04:33 PM)
whistling.gif

Nissan all powderfool bro! Someone even booked and took delivery of their Inspira at Nissan showroom! (not me)
Nak absorb JDM smell ma

kadajawi Sorry tongue.gif I'm gonna stop now
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 04:52 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jul 25 2013, 04:49 PM)
There is. But it was put on hold because of cars manufacturer are not willing/or not ready.

But Proton EDAR urged the government to withdraw this exemption and enforce the rule.  So, it shows that Proton cars are more comply than import cars for malaysian specs.

Some of the car listed in JPJ which been given exemption, but not comply with UN R94 and UN R95.

http://www.jpj.gov.my/c/document_library/g...5&groupId=10157

http://arminbaniaz.com/2013/02/peda-called...thdraw-all.html
Kinda ironic, since Proton is one of the few carmakers in the M'sia market that still sells single airbag cars (alongside Suzuki and Nissan)
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 04:57 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 25 2013, 04:55 PM)
Saga SV got 2 airbags, no?
Not the Saga....the Persona.
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 04:58 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jul 25 2013, 04:57 PM)
SV 2 airbags but there is one variant of Saga (executive i think) with driver's airbag only.
Nah....all Saga variants comes with 2 airbags now.

Only left the Persona that only have driver airbag.
dares
post Jul 25 2013, 05:04 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jul 25 2013, 04:59 PM)
Proton GSC will follow strict latest Euro NCAP requirement.  brows.gif
Let's hope it is not another 5-star safety, 1-star quality like how Preve did in Australia doh.gif
dares
post Jul 27 2013, 10:39 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 27 2013, 03:09 AM)
There is no absolute safety. But you can do a lot to be as safe as possible. You don't go through a dangerous area wearing an expensive suit, expensive watch, sunglasses, ... you avoid going there or at least try to stay low profile. Driving an unsafe car is like asking for trouble. The difference between an unsafe and a safe car can be the difference between life and death, though of course there can never be 100% safety.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_count...ated_death_rate

Road fatalities per 100000 motor vehicles:
Japan: 6.8.
Switzerland, Sweden, Netherlands, UK: 7.
Germany: 7.2. (Remember, no speed limit on 50% of the highways, and a country of notorious speeders. Drive at the speed limit and you'll have a long queue of angry tailgating drivers behind you, driving 10-20 km/h faster than allowed is the norm)
Australia, Norway: 8.
USA: 15. (Pickups aren't that safe I suppose? Also very distracted drivers who don't like to wear seatbelts... Wear your seatbelt campaigns seem common, haven't seen anything like that in Germany in ages, people just wear their seatbelt there. Makes a big difference...)
Singapore: 30.4. (How?!)
China: 36. (Better than Malaysia? Driving Chinese cars?)
Malaysia: 36.5.
Middle Eastern countries, African countries are even worse. I guess we can be lucky not to be in Togo.

A country where people love to speed... 7.2. Malaysia... 36.5. I suppose driving education and the cars driven make a difference...

But it's funny how Europe is clearly leading (together with a few other countries, but most European countries are on top).
Bro, dun waste your energy to explain to him.

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 27 2013, 10:39 AM
dares
post Jul 28 2013, 01:13 AM

834 posts

Not even a Myvi/Saga would crumple on the side like that if it is just a solely full-frontal impact.

My take on it: The Golf tried to evade the Vios by swerving to the right (into the grass), and the dugong T-boned it at an angle. Of course, I'm just making up stories based on the picture.

Anyway, can see in the pic that the driver's airbag in the Vios was deployed.
dares
post Jul 28 2013, 01:52 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(E34E36E46 @ Jul 28 2013, 01:37 AM)
You need a wedge-like object (tree trunk or lamp post) to create that kind of damage to the Golf. The front end of a Vios is too wide and blunt(don't want to use "soft crumple zone", lest I get bash for bashing Vios) to have such a penetrating damage inflicted. Sometime the car was being sliced into two pieces (seen a picture of a "Potong" suffered this fate). sweat.gif
It's late and I can't sleep, so here's a little illustration of my take of the accident.

disclaimer: uneducated guess base on the NST picture whistling.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 28 2013, 01:52 AM
dares
post Jul 28 2013, 02:10 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(N1ck @ Jul 28 2013, 02:01 AM)
+1 for illustration

but I think its more angled(Tboned+ few more degrees). Probably the Golf was already spinning since the golf ended at its right of way side of the road(right of illustration)
I tot the Golf is on the opposite side hmm.gif (as in, the angle of the photo was taken from the top of my illustration looking downwards....the Vios ended up facing the wrong direction of his lane.)
dares
post Jul 28 2013, 11:42 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 28 2013, 10:57 AM)
Come to think of it why few adults like us wasting time to think how the accident occurred base on single photo, what ever it is, it's water under the bridge, take it as a lesson that no car is perfectly safe, drive carefully, have patient, don't speed, never drink & drive, avoid using cellphone in car unless u r passenger.
Cheer up its a Sunday, let's enjoy it with friends & family, again drive carefully.
It's an inexplicable, morbid fascination for me unsure.gif

Anyway, I agree with you, enjoy your weekend notworthy.gif
dares
post Aug 20 2013, 09:49 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 19 2013, 06:05 PM)
Yeah. Those would make up for a good headline. But if you bring such a headline, do you think you'll still get ads? Nope sir.

You can see sites as Paultan... the only place where they would actually criticize a car during a review is when another car is being reviewed. Say they review a Golf... then in that review they'd say it is a bit better than an Altis. In an Altis review it'd be better than a Golf. laugh.gif Car journalists are a bit useless, sadly, because most of them do want to get those nice all expenses paid trips to Europe, America, ...

The new Mazdas shouldn't be related to Ford anymore, right?
New Mazdas are completely separated from Ford now. Skyactiv is the buzzword now brows.gif

0.0250sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:10 PM