15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

How do I get a turbo system installation, On my KIA Forte?

Vervain
post Jul 23 2013, 05:11 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Jul 23 2013, 01:38 PM)
6. God created turbolag, we created VGT, EFR, Twin Scroll, Plumb back BOV, ceramic wheels, ceramic bearings, ball bearings, billet wheels, ti-gamma wheels.

rclxms.gif well spoken by the god, Elthor. (in b4 some post his picture with a hammer ph34r.gif )

This post has been edited by Vervain: Jul 23 2013, 05:12 PM
Mavik
post Jul 23 2013, 05:20 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Jul 23 2013, 04:52 PM)
How do you arrive to the conclusion that turbo start spoolling at 1.4k rpm & instantly generate peak torque?

I langsung cannot brain your definition of turbo lag.
Well for the 1.4 TSI the peak torque does kick in around 1.4krpm to 2krpm IINM. Need to dig out my dyno graphs to show. But I agree, with these setups, it definitely runs out of breath at the higher top speeds.
alpha0201
post Jul 23 2013, 05:40 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 23 2013, 05:20 PM)
Well for the 1.4 TSI the peak torque does kick in around 1.4krpm to 2krpm IINM. Need to dig out my dyno graphs to show. But I agree, with these setups, it definitely runs out of breath at the higher top speeds.
Yes indeed. But jayraptor make it sound like turbo spool at exactly 1.4k & instant torque. Then the dyno chart would show the torque curve look like a perfect brick shape.

That would be hairy to drive slow.
Gouki
post Jul 23 2013, 06:00 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

to jayraptor's understanding, turbo basically "activate" itself at certain rpm set. laugh.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post Jul 23 2013, 06:39 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 23 2013, 06:00 PM)
to jayraptor's understanding, turbo basically "activate" itself at certain rpm set. laugh.gif
I sort of think that he "Activated" us
OC4/3
post Jul 23 2013, 10:25 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 23 2013, 05:19 AM)
Honestly I'm pretty lazy to reply this as this clearly shows your lack in technical knowledge. But since it is already 5am in the wee hours and I need to waste some energy in order for me to sleep, here's my post.

What you need to know about pressure and density? Ideal Gas Law? Boyle's Law? Charle's Law? Seriously? And talking about intake, you say straight air intake won't draw in as much air as a 'bent' air intake? Those 4age's 1600cc are pushing more than 200hp with that setup and you're telling me it's not drawing enough air? Let's go to Jet engines then, direct ram air intake. Anything to say about that? It's still basically a 4 'process' engine as it still requires intake, compression, combustion and exhaust, just that it does it all at once. Air is sucked in direct from the atmosphere and it makes use of the ram effect at high speeds and altitudes.

You're saying the efficiency of a 2.0 NA will always be better than a Turbocharged 1.6L with the same power as a 2.0NA. Seems like you're missing the knowledge about volumetric efficiency here. Turbocharged cars will always be more efficient than NA engines as the turbocharger is harnessing energy from the exhaust which on an NA engine will be wasted, then using that energy and compressing air, forcing air into the cylinders, increasing it's volumetric efficiency. About FC, as long as you drive in vacuum during normal town drive your FC will remain the same or even better than when NA, and will definitely be better than one with a higher cubic capacity.

Reason we're comparing with a Vios is because the Vios is basically in the same category as a Forte, a basic everyday-drive point A-B car. If a Vios can be turbocharged, why not a Forte?

Yes I do know the function of a twin scroll and VGT, I'm just afraid that you don't. Seriously you're making a fool out of yourself saying 'wastegate-type' turbochargers are old school tech. ALL turbochargers used in petrol engines needs a wastegate else the boost level will just climb as the RPM increase until the engine kills itself from overboosting.

The way you're describing 'turbo lag' is as if you're describing a supercharger. Activates and deactivates? Bro, a turbocharger spins even when the engine is idling. When a turbocharger starts producing usable boost is a whole different thing, it doesn't 'activates' and 'deactivates'. Newer technologies can start producing usable boost at an earlier RPM than older turbo's with older technologies and hold that boost throughout a longer RPM range than an old-school turbo, but the way you describe it is totally wrong. What vents for low pressure and high pressure? All VGT does is changes the A/R ratio and exhaust flow in order to compensate for low-rpm and high-rpm driving thus creating boost at a lower RPM and then changing the nozzle angle to accomodate higher RPM operations. Some VGT Turbo's in Diesel applications do not require a wastegate as they don't rev that high anyways and does not produce that much gas flow but most petrol engines do. Volvo's VGT turbo's does have a wastegate built-in and a twin-scroll turbo definitely have a wastegate built in. They're taking technologies that had been long used in the aviation industry in jet engines and finally putting it to use in the automotive world.

For those who don't know what's VGT, HERE'S a simple description on what VGT is. For twin scroll, it divides the cylinder exhaust gas, thus seperating exhaust gas pulsations and improves the scavenging effect in a 4-stroke multi-cylinder engine. And yes there are also split to a small and large turbine for lower and higher engine rpm efficiency.

About your last paragraph, so basically a bolted-on turbo engine will die because it would choke the engine, eventhough with a turbo you're basically forcing air in? What a joke. I do agree that the wear and tear in a turbo engine would be slightly higher than an NA engine but with proper maintenance, both NA and turbo engines will last pretty damn long. What cleaning in specific are you talking about? Throttle body cleaning? top overhaul? Engine bay cleaning(LOL)?

Before you comment any further, do share what car are you driving and what car had you driven? Plus what had you modded on your car(or any cars) in that aspect? I see you have an atrocious reputation in AutoWorld forum i see rolleyes.gif

Anyways, good night.
Awesome post but i doubt the fella understand anyway laugh.gif
Nothing much to add
dreamsquall
post Jul 23 2013, 10:50 PM

87 posts

Jaycraptheory never heard b4 meh? 1.4k rpm instant high speed spin, powered by jaycraptheology innovation vgthai from thailand with kerb weight of 50kg.

Quazacolt
post Jul 23 2013, 11:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Jul 23 2013, 06:39 PM)
observant! laugh.gif
alpha0201
post Jul 23 2013, 11:22 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(dreamsquall @ Jul 23 2013, 10:50 PM)
Jaycraptheory never heard b4 meh? 1.4k rpm instant high speed spin, powered by jaycraptheology innovation vgthai from thailand with kerb weight of 50kg.
His tech very weird. If I hit 3.2k not only I get turbo lag, my car would decelerate. Worst than old campro torque dip.
dreamsquall
post Jul 23 2013, 11:33 PM

87 posts

Nono, with his innovation, he means when u decelerate at 3.2k rpm and u wan to accelerate back, u will feel turbo lag becoz his system only.activate full speed boast at 1.4k rpm. Thus u need wait ur rpm drop back to 1.4k rpm first only u accelerate. Oo man.... u still need learn lot from jaycraptheory.
alpha0201
post Jul 24 2013, 12:05 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(dreamsquall @ Jul 23 2013, 11:33 PM)
Nono, with his innovation, he means when u decelerate at 3.2k rpm and u wan to accelerate back, u will feel turbo lag becoz his system only.activate full speed boast at 1.4k rpm. Thus u need wait ur rpm drop back to 1.4k rpm first only u accelerate. Oo man.... u still need learn lot from jaycraptheory.
notworthy.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Jul 24 2013, 04:05 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Jul 23 2013, 02:01 PM)
HAHAHAHAHAHA God created turbolag lolsssssss tak boley tahan lols
God created turbo lag so the Vios peeps will *think* they stand a chance rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 23 2013, 02:47 PM)
exactly what i had in mind. lol. to add on, VGT and twin scrolls turbos do not eliminate turbo lag, they only minimise it. there is still turbo lag no matter what. and when jayraptor said turbo "activates" after 1400rpm in his pug508 example, that's turbo lag before 1400rpm. and jayraptor, do u know this puny VGT turbos has it downside too? they tend to lose their breath earlier when approaching redline?  laugh.gif
even the mighty GTR have turbo lag. Turbo's dont have enough air to spool at 1500rpm yo'

And also about VGT, just encountered just now at my regular workshop. A Hyundai Starex diesel turbo VGT had it's VGT vanes and actuator jammed so it was stuck at 'high rpm/load' setting the whole while. Had to replace the whole turbo as you can't just install an external one whistling.gif

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 23 2013, 06:00 PM)
he ingat VTEC kot... after 5000rpm solenoid gerak laugh.gif

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jul 23 2013, 10:25 PM)
Awesome post but i doubt the fella understand anyway laugh.gif
Nothing much to add
well, i had too much time on my hand. couldn't sleep yesterday sweat.gif

QUOTE(dreamsquall @ Jul 23 2013, 11:33 PM)
nola you decelerate around 2000rpm not good, carbon buildup in your pistons will be damn alot and needs regular top overhaul doh.gif
OC4/3
post Jul 24 2013, 10:57 AM

4,746 posts

LOL at carbon buildup part laugh.gif
If you whack your car at warmed up temperature,all carbon deposit will be cleared anyway tongue.gif
mxsteven
post Jul 24 2013, 11:01 AM

58 posts

Use decarbo It will kill clean your engine
post Jul 24 2013, 08:20 PM

Henshin
2,157 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Jul 23 2013, 06:39 PM)
no no, according to jayraptor your guys' siggies show you are salesman, hence your points are not valid. You will be labelled as parasite salesman out to gain more sales and give misleading info to genuine car enthuasists.
jayraptor
post Jul 24 2013, 11:12 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 23 2013, 12:24 AM)
hahahahahahahaha, pls stop making you more looking like a fool lah. i wonder have u ever own and maintain a turbo car your own. (dont tell me mere test drives) do you even ever mod a turbo car? do you ever understand how turbo works? omfg. LMAO! shocking.gif  laugh.gif  doh.gif
I doubt you know what pressure means and what purpose it serves in combustion engine. You don't know anything don't go and influence others to install turbo without consideration. You'll end up causing him killing the engine early and also causing him dearly should FC goes too high and his car lost resale value. Having wiring messed up could hardly get proper wireman to fix. Most of them can't fix, just to keep the electrical part barely functioning.

Yes, I owned and also maintained proper turbocharged engines and they come together with the SUVs, pickup trucks and cars. They were well made by Engineers that work for R&D in the respective brands, Ford, Hyundai, MMC, Toyota, Pug, etc.

Definitely not any Ah Beng with trial and error background that mod car like they think look like Need For Speed Underground or Fast & Furious means very good. They don't even know what pressure is. All they do, quote you custom ECU + intercooler + self made steel piping with style (not proper pressure calculation), normal wastegate turbocharger (prone to much lag), and have the diagnostic like machine to tell how much to boost. That's all. Nothing else, just tune according to how much the customer wanted. Then change large noisy & polluting exhaust. Final artwork, a car that would need to rev harder to move. Low end torque failed one.

WilliamHoo
post Jul 24 2013, 11:37 PM

Sei noob hai JayCraptor

TAK TAU MALU PUNYA BODOHHHHH

go ham 7 larrr

KNNBCCB

Gouki
post Jul 25 2013, 12:06 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 24 2013, 11:12 PM)
I doubt you know what pressure means and what purpose it serves in combustion engine. You don't know anything don't go and influence others to install turbo without consideration. You'll end up causing him killing the engine early and also causing him dearly should FC goes too high and his car lost resale value. Having wiring messed up could hardly get proper wireman to fix. Most of them can't fix, just to keep the electrical part barely functioning.

Yes, I owned and also maintained proper turbocharged engines and they come together with the SUVs, pickup trucks and cars. They were well made by Engineers that work for R&D in the respective brands, Ford, Hyundai, MMC, Toyota, Pug, etc.

Definitely not any Ah Beng with trial and error background that mod car like they think look like Need For Speed Underground or Fast & Furious means very good. They don't even know what pressure is. All they do, quote you custom ECU + intercooler + self made steel piping with style (not proper pressure calculation), normal wastegate turbocharger (prone to much lag), and have the diagnostic like machine to tell how much to boost. That's all. Nothing else, just tune according to how much the customer wanted. Then change large noisy & polluting exhaust. Final artwork, a car that would need to rev harder to move. Low end torque failed one.
lol. you and your "pressure" theory. my god. i dont know anything? its funny for you to ask a person with degree holder major in engineering that question. and since when i influence anyone to install bolt-on turbo in their ride in this thread? do not put words into my mouth you idiot. stop acting like you are some pro with your theory jargons based on engineers in those automotive companies. i have workshop owners and friends that are graduates in automotive engineering, ex-professional mechanics in various carmaker companies and trained professionals in car modding and tuning from overseas. stop acting smart but making a fool out of you here. doh.gif

Jason @ sleepwalker, if you reading this bro, pls look thru all his posts. deserve a holiday. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Jul 25 2013, 12:10 AM
K3nnYkl82
post Jul 25 2013, 12:13 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 25 2013, 12:06 AM)
lol. you and your "pressure" theory. my god. i dont know anything? its funny for you to ask a person with degree holder major in engineering that question. and since when i influence anyone to install bolt-on turbo in their ride in this thread? do not put words into my mouth you idiot. stop acting like you are some pro with your theory jargons based on engineers in those automotive companies. i have workshop owners and friends that are graduates in automotive engineering, ex-professional mechanics in various carmaker companies and trained professionals in car modding and tuning from overseas. stop acting smart but making a fool out of you here.  doh.gif

Jason @ sleepwalker, if you reading this bro, pls look thru all his posts. deserve a holiday. shakehead.gif
LoLzz

Yoyr frens from thailand or not??
brows.gif

Sorry bro cant help it..

His crapping is until a level I dun even wan to read. Lolz
nzh0920
post Jul 25 2013, 12:22 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 25 2013, 12:06 AM)
lol. you and your "pressure" theory. my god. i dont know anything? its funny for you to ask a person with degree holder major in engineering that question. and since when i influence anyone to install bolt-on turbo in their ride in this thread? do not put words into my mouth you idiot. stop acting like you are some pro with your theory jargons based on engineers in those automotive companies. i have workshop owners and friends that are graduates in automotive engineering, ex-professional mechanics in various carmaker companies and trained professionals in car modding and tuning from overseas. stop acting smart but making a fool out of you here.  doh.gif

I dont read what he type at all, all crap tongue.gif tongue.gif

HOLIDAY HOLIDAY tongue.gif

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0176sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:58 AM