15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

How do I get a turbo system installation, On my KIA Forte?

K3nnYkl82
post Jul 28 2013, 09:48 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Jul 28 2013, 08:11 AM)
i cannot brain him....
i'm currently in aerostucture manufacturing industry and i believe i can get the so called limited tools  brows.gif  brows.gif
materials play a part but "Dimension" is more important laugh.gif
Apa lu tau?
Ppl got fren in automotive industry .. Aerostructure..??? We talk car not aero.. Not aftermarket stuff!
I think he got fren in brochure industry as well
WilliamHoo
post Jul 28 2013, 10:05 AM

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 28 2013, 09:48 AM)
Apa lu tau?
Ppl got fren in automotive industry .. Aerostructure..??? We talk car not aero.. Not aftermarket stuff!
Made in Thailand to be exact

Sawaaa D Cup
unitron
post Jul 28 2013, 10:18 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Apa lu tau?
No la... All the brochure they consult him first and need his approval I think.
edison1437
post Jul 28 2013, 11:19 AM

819 posts

Apa lu tau?
sorry boss sad.gif
i also forgot that i'm not in thai sad.gif

This post has been edited by edison1437: Jul 28 2013, 11:19 AM
mxsteven
post Jul 28 2013, 02:37 PM

58 posts

FYI, im also in manufacturing RnD design engineer.... there is lotsa things that I could have design better if my factory allow just a little more budget... it is simple as that... everything had a budget in OEM manufacturing designs except aftermarket parts....however after market parts also had been infected with a lot of scam products such as surbo, magnet fuel saver, e-power and etc etc therefore if you opt to mod aftermarket products i would suggest to learn from the pro or experience people..

last time there used to be a healthy debate such as turbocharger vs supercharger....... i would love Jay to comment on this topic since my Astro suda kena cut off so i would need some entertainment...
K3nnYkl82
post Jul 28 2013, 04:56 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Jul 28 2013, 02:37 PM)
FYI, im also in manufacturing RnD design engineer.... there is lotsa things that I could have design better if my factory allow just a little more budget... it is simple as that... everything had a budget in OEM manufacturing designs except aftermarket parts....however after market parts also had been infected with a lot of scam products such as surbo, magnet fuel saver, e-power and etc etc therefore if you opt to mod aftermarket products i would suggest to learn from the pro or experience people..

last time there used to be a healthy debate such as turbocharger vs supercharger....... i would love Jay to comment on this topic since my Astro suda kena cut off so i would need some entertainment...
I like your comment ..

I thank you for the compliment on behalf of JayRaptor the professional ..

rclxm9.gif
mxsteven
post Jul 28 2013, 07:43 PM

58 posts

hahahaha that one beyond pro edi....

Well let me start an interesting topic next week when im back to Malaysia... I will be gone for 1 freaking week in US Military camp for some fun hahaha yeah it is a HARD FUN!
AlexLee277
post Jul 29 2013, 12:12 AM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Jul 25 2013, 06:29 PM)
Hey guys, I am finding all this really interesting. Didn't know it would last this long and generate into a turbo discussion thread.

No, I have not gone invisible, I have been reading through.

But I urge you fellas to maintain the peace and civility - if you disagree, just agree to disagree. This thread has generate so much knowledge for me and other guys here. I just don't want it to turn into a warzone.

To sleepwalker: This can be a legendary thread? Wow, I am honored.

So how? Want me to close thread or let thread wither?
good that you are monitering.

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 26 2013, 10:18 PM)
Those workshop friends of you have Degree in Automotive, not in material engineering or moulding engineering. They are only limited to whatever aftermarket tools they can get. FYI, they don't have the resources nor ability to mould air intake themselves. They still turn to those shiny metal tubes with so big diameter to replace the ori air intake of their customers.

Example, standard turbocharged variant Pug308THP from carmaker:
output 156ps@6000rpm
torque 240Nm@1400rpm
FC 9km/L

If you have non-turbo Pug308 1.6L NA engine getting 160NM torque fitted with turbocharger with their custom made ECU, piping, exhaust, etc. If you tuned to 156ps, most likely, your torque will not be anywhere close to 240Nm and your FC will not be as good as the 9km/L, yours could end up more fuel guzzling, even heavier.
i wonder why material science is a basic subject in all engineering courses. hmm.gif

owh, i think is because IT IS A BASIC in engineering degree!

bro, havent you tell us your qualification? because everything you said, i can find it in the book of foolgineering

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Jul 28 2013, 02:37 PM)

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Jul 29 2013, 12:13 AM
TSPete the great
post Jul 29 2013, 08:43 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Jul 29 2013, 12:12 AM)
i wonder why material science is a basic subject in all engineering courses.  hmm.gif

bro, havent you tell us your qualification? because everything you said, i can find it in the book of foolgineering
thumbup.gif
i m not gd at monitoring but i try my best. i go for the popularity vote as i would like modders here to get the best advice out of the sifus. btw love the healthy banter guys. as long as healthy debate more we can learn to better our cars in future.
K3nnYkl82
post Jul 29 2013, 09:44 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Jul 29 2013, 08:43 AM)
i m not gd at monitoring but i try my best. i go for the popularity vote as i would like modders here to get the best advice out of the sifus. btw love the healthy banter guys. as long as healthy debate more we can learn to better our cars in future.
To me its not a healthy debate when someone knows nothing but claim to know everything, doesnt want to listen to others (only his words are correct). Further more, He can even claim the brochure wrong, website wrong, factory service manual also wrong. Its a total waste of time when u try to debate with someone like that.
ironthomas
post Jul 29 2013, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 29 2013, 09:44 AM)
To me its not a healthy debate when someone knows nothing but claim to know everything, doesnt want to listen to others (only his words are correct). Further more, He can even claim the brochure wrong, website wrong, factory service manual also wrong. Its a total waste of time when u try to debate with someone like that.
I agree with u. This is very misleading to some of the forumer that actually dunno about a turbo etc... Some might belief what he say when he sound very professional doh.gif And a 50kg anti roll bar rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ironthomas: Jul 29 2013, 10:02 AM
edison1437
post Jul 29 2013, 10:22 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(ironthomas @ Jul 29 2013, 10:00 AM)
I agree with u. This is very misleading to some of the forumer that actually dunno about a turbo etc... Some might belief what he say when he sound very professional  doh.gif  And a 50kg anti roll bar  rclxub.gif
you aware about the 50kg METAL BAR rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

then you believe what the PROTON SALEMAN's words? hmm.gif
Gouki
post Jul 29 2013, 10:43 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Jul 29 2013, 12:12 AM)
i wonder why material science is a basic subject in all engineering courses.  hmm.gif

thumbup.gif
speaking of material science. where is my notes and books. :go back study: tongue.gif
ironthomas
post Jul 29 2013, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Jul 29 2013, 10:22 AM)
you aware about the 50kg METAL BAR rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

then you believe what the PROTON SALEMAN's words? hmm.gif
To someone that dunno the Metal Bar is actually an anti roll bar. They will belief the Metal Bar is weight 50 kg. doh.gif
And there is still people think Vios/City import from Japan... notworthy.gif
alpha0201
post Jul 29 2013, 11:14 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 29 2013, 09:44 AM)
Come to think about it, Jayraptor's replies feels exactly like Kyheng.

Kyheng! Is that you?! Are you Jayraptor's dupe?!
AlexLee277
post Jul 29 2013, 07:08 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

QUOTE(ironthomas @ Jul 29 2013, 10:46 AM)
To someone that dunno the Metal Bar is actually an anti roll bar. They will belief the Metal Bar is weight 50 kg.  doh.gif
And there is still people think Vios/City import from Japan... notworthy.gif
then i must be damn strong because my front arb is in my house now which is 3rd floor hmm.gif
am i damn strong jaycraptor?

cant believe that there are actually people though that city and vios are imported from japan doh.gif doh.gif
unitron
post Jul 29 2013, 08:31 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Ok back to topics... another thing about installing an aftermarket Turbo... dun remember if mentioned previously.

Make damn sure you have a long term spare car that you can use while installation in progress and the inevitable return to workshop several time because something is not quite right.

The number one problem I find with installing aftermarket turbo is finding space in the engine bay to put all the parts (turbo, piping, intercooler, wastegate, bov, more pipings, exhaust redesign, etc) and making everything fit and secured perfectly.

Later sure got minor problem like... small part in the way, bumper cannot put back, something hitting something else, hood cannot close properly, rattling noise, the list goes on...

So far I've never come across yet even once a car that had no problem the first time.... sure come back workshop one.. or cannot finish in the promised time.
jayraptor
post Jul 29 2013, 11:55 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jul 28 2013, 02:18 AM)
WTF are you on about
Don't get why your fascination with stock parts??
Regarding stock part vs aftermarket parts,there is shit load of example but here's a few good one:
1.)Stock Conrod-Even stock conrod in legendary turbocharged engine like 4G63,2JZGTE can be bent with right condition(Situation that cause high fatigue) and aftermarket rod like Manley,Carillo is miles ahead
2.)ECU-Stock ECU really is far behind aftermarket ECU usually and can't be tuned so aftermarket ECU is consistently better(As good as your tuner is)
Some example of additional feature would be sophisticated TCS,WOT Shift Cut
With that said,some platform with good programmer do get the ability to modify stock ECU and get additional feature(Think of it as Android ROM flashing)
3.)Turbocharger-Toyota is notoriously known for badly matched turbocharger that is weirdly sized
All i can say,you are just a bit pile of wannabe who like OE parts for no good reason
If you want to preach your OE parts superiority,go away from this forum
For as long as you are here,people like mxsteven,Nightstalker1993 will loathe your presence in this particular sub forum
What a bunch of modders that think those local modify workshop can come up with proper turbocharger that could generate optimum output, torque & FC? FYI, whatever those local modify workshops can do are limited to whatever custom kits they can bring in and tune from there. The piping are so badly done that they are not even as efficient as what car manufacturer can produce.

You can tune up the car to have more power but do not expect it to be as effective and efficient as those cars that come with turbocharger by default eg. Pug 508 1.6T, Mondeo 2.0T, BMW 2.0T, VW Passat 1.8T, etc. I call these cars that are sold with turbocharger well built with optimum efficiency. Optimum means able to focus on performance as well as FC & maintenance in long run.

Those owners who sent their non-turbo cars with NA engine to fit turbocharger at local modify workshops, those are nothing more than motorsport fun. In reality on FC saving or maintenance wise, they are nothing close to optimum.

Don't talk about Toyota, Honda turbocharger, they are not the best in this. You want to talk about efficient & optimum turbocharger, refer Ford, Pug, VW, BMW, Audi as these carmakers are more advanced in anyway. Japanese made are reliable but when comes to GDI engine, diesel engine, turbocharger/supercharger, NVH, handling and build quality, the conti are still ahead. Japanese made beat conti only in terms of sales, reliability & after sales service. They didn't beat conti in everything.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 29 2013, 11:56 PM
WilliamHoo
post Jul 29 2013, 11:59 PM

Welcome Back jayCraptor

PTUIIIIIII
nncl
post Jul 30 2013, 12:13 AM

404 posts

this is going to be fun tongue.gif

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top