15 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

How do I get a turbo system installation, On my KIA Forte?

K3nnYkl82
post Jul 25 2013, 08:33 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 25 2013, 08:15 PM)
at the end of the day, just drive what you have for now. slowly venture into NA modding path to know more about how your car actually works. you want turbo power? advisable to get a turbo car to start with. unless you have the money, time and passion with commitment to BOT your forte and visit your workshop frequently for the first one two months at least to troubleshoot possible minor problems from the BOT and tuning and other parts that indirectly work with your BOT forte. if yes, by all means go ahead with your BOT project. you may call up ppl like Nightstalker1993 to meet up and intro you some trusted workshop to discuss and have a rough idea on your BOT project before proceed. do some homework your own and with some proper ppl to know where you should be heading.  smile.gif
Later when I have nothing to mod d then I join the dark side.. brows.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 25 2013, 11:13 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 25 2013, 08:37 AM)
But I gotta say this about Proton. They have one of the most advanced car manufacturing plants in the world. True fact. The only reason why they build things the way they do is cost effectiveness, cost savings and cronyism.
no doubt about it man nod.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 25 2013, 11:17 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jul 25 2013, 11:19 AM)
Like I said.. he plays it well and he knows it.. there is nothing for us to pick on. I don't see him insulting another member's mother's private parts.. that's more of a /k reply than anything else. Can't pick on that for we are not exactly the 'moral' police here.
ah nostalgia of my own self waaaay back then (many years ago)

se7en had to ban me himself personally since everyone else "couldn't" laugh.gif
SUSSmurf2
post Jul 26 2013, 03:56 AM

Sell off your forte i would suggest if you still love your life. I and my cousin already sold off our kia 6at version.
Full of problem.. Really regretted bought this car. My cousin almost flew out from windscreen lucky got safety belt protecting him. His car airbag didnt deployed when involved in accident with a toyota vios. His car front side all gone , leg stucked inside and steering on his body.. Cant imagine how kia designed forte actually. My forte, since bought, the car dashboard full of noise, complaint at SC but still persist.. Then before reached 10k milleage, engine keep dying. One morning suddenly cant start up, towed back to SC, after a month only collect my car. Using less than 20k, engine cant start up again! Really lousy car, i and my cousin really regret bought this korean car.. Should follow parent advise go for japanese cars.. My father toyota camry also never had this problem.. 2008 until now.. About 6 years already. Hope my SA faster deliver my honda city.. Really tired because of this lousy car.. Traded in to used car dealer only worth RM41k.. Used 1 year + only... Biggest regret..
edison1437
post Jul 26 2013, 08:12 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Smurf2 @ Jul 26 2013, 03:56 AM)
Sell off your forte i would suggest if you still love your life. I and my cousin already sold off our kia 6at version.
Full of problem.. Really regretted bought this car. My cousin almost flew out from windscreen lucky got safety belt protecting him. His car airbag didnt deployed when involved in accident with a toyota vios. His car front side all gone , leg stucked inside and steering on his body.. Cant imagine how kia designed forte actually. My forte, since bought, the car dashboard full of noise, complaint at SC but still persist.. Then before reached 10k milleage, engine keep dying. One morning suddenly cant start up, towed back to SC, after a month only collect my car. Using less than 20k, engine cant start up again! Really lousy car, i and my cousin really regret bought this korean car.. Should follow parent advise go for japanese cars.. My father toyota camry also never had this problem.. 2008 until now.. About 6 years already. Hope my SA faster deliver my honda city.. Really tired because of this lousy car.. Traded in to used car dealer only worth RM41k.. Used 1 year + only... Biggest regret..
you register a new account just to say forte's airbag not deployed? hmm.gif
alpha0201
post Jul 26 2013, 08:20 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Jul 26 2013, 08:12 AM)
you register a new account just to say forte's airbag not deployed?  hmm.gif
Waiting for jayraptor's reaction biggrin.gif

He allergic to "infected" post.
Gouki
post Jul 26 2013, 08:35 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

wow, at least my crappy proton wajunk, gentut and inspira belong to my younger siblings are hassle free. service and normal maintenance only. well, heard many complains from friend about their Kia or Hyundai too, be it new or old. and who claim Forte resale value was good? take a look in mudah.my or motortrader. 2011 Forte 1.6 going for 60k only that if u r lucky. lol. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Jul 26 2013, 08:36 AM
SUSSmurf2
post Jul 26 2013, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 26 2013, 08:35 AM)
wow, at least my crappy proton wajunk, gentut and inspira belong to my younger siblings are hassle free. service and normal maintenance only. well, heard many complains from friend about their Kia or Hyundai too, be it new or old. and who claim Forte resale value was good? take a look in mudah.my or motortrader. 2011 Forte 1.6 going for 60k only that if u r lucky. lol. laugh.gif
proton waja is better than korean cars i would say after experienced it myself. the concept is from mitsubishi.
now waiting for new city.. can you imagine how suffer can a student be, if he own korean cars which always got faulty here and there. i was the lucky one, my dad support me, if not i still cant afford to change car. the lesson i learnt is never make dream in the morning. dont greedy, cheaper price with extra accessories from korean cars definately is bad quality.
sleepwalker
post Jul 26 2013, 01:49 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Jul 25 2013, 06:29 PM)
Hey guys, I am finding all this really interesting. Didn't know it would last this long and generate into a turbo discussion thread.

No, I have not gone invisible, I have been reading through.

But I urge you fellas to maintain the peace and civility - if you disagree, just agree to disagree. This thread has generate so much knowledge for me and other guys here. I just don't want it to turn into a warzone.

To sleepwalker: This can be a legendary thread? Wow, I am honored.

So how? Want me to close thread or let thread wither?
It's not legendary.. it's annoying. I'm not sure if you actually have learnt anything past page 2. You are suppose to control the topic and when it goes off, you either put it back in line, report it or close it. Don't leave it to wither and it won't wither if people keep replying off topic replies.
tungfunglaw
post Jul 26 2013, 08:09 PM

259 posts

Wow..potential script writer laugh.gif

Without buckling up, when the airbag deploys, it got a small percentage it'll kill the passenger too.

Actually the SC mechanics are not great at fixing interior stuff. Some car accessories shops can do wonder on those rattling/dashboard noise issue. But engine failure is unforgivable tho.

jayraptor
post Jul 26 2013, 10:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 25 2013, 12:50 AM)
again i repeat, do not put words into my mouth moron! i never trap or influence anyone to mod or tune up their cars without worries! doh.gif

yea, they have degree, no confidence in their workmanship? dont send your brand new rides to their official service centres then. their workmanship sux too. send your bloody rides oversea back to their HQ in their country to service lar. confirm good workmanship. doh.gif
Those workshop friends of you have Degree in Automotive, not in material engineering or moulding engineering. They are only limited to whatever aftermarket tools they can get. FYI, they don't have the resources nor ability to mould air intake themselves. They still turn to those shiny metal tubes with so big diameter to replace the ori air intake of their customers.

Example, standard turbocharged variant Pug308THP from carmaker:
output 156ps@6000rpm
torque 240Nm@1400rpm
FC 9km/L

If you have non-turbo Pug308 1.6L NA engine getting 160NM torque fitted with turbocharger with their custom made ECU, piping, exhaust, etc. If you tuned to 156ps, most likely, your torque will not be anywhere close to 240Nm and your FC will not be as good as the 9km/L, yours could end up more fuel guzzling, even heavier.
jayraptor
post Jul 26 2013, 10:23 PM

115 posts

You can continue to make up story. Fact is, no such complain so far unless some1 go and mess with the wiring like sending to Ah Beng modify workshop. Ever wonder why those local blue taxi companies & Singapore taxi fleet still sticking to Sonata NF that those rival marketing staff kept spreading rumors that they are unreliable? Because the fact is, they are reliable & durable with hassle free low maintenance & descent FC.

Such obsolete old unethical dirty tactic no longer works. Hyundai-Kia reliability & maintenance wise proven. That explains why many going for Koreans nowadays. Not just cars, even construction machinery, handphones, TVs, electrical appliances, etc. are getting common in here and elsewhere.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 26 2013, 10:24 PM
dreamsquall
post Jul 26 2013, 10:24 PM

87 posts

Supercharge a vehicle end.up fuel.guzzling and heavier makes sense, same like adding lgt rear 50kg metal bar to lancer gl chasis
mxsteven
post Jul 27 2013, 02:25 PM

58 posts

Ok guys and TS pls control the thread and dont feed the fuel to this Dinosaur..... anyway i found something in wiki

This post has been edited by mxsteven: Jul 27 2013, 02:30 PM
K3nnYkl82
post Jul 27 2013, 03:14 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Jul 27 2013, 02:25 PM)
Ok guys and TS pls control the thread and dont feed the fuel to this Dinosaur.....  anyway i found something in wiki
Lolz Good one bro!
Good one
bo093
post Jul 27 2013, 03:40 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 26 2013, 10:18 PM)
Those workshop friends of you have Degree in Automotive, not in material engineering or moulding engineering. They are only limited to whatever aftermarket tools they can get. FYI, they don't have the resources nor ability to mould air intake themselves. They still turn to those shiny metal tubes with so big diameter to replace the ori air intake of their customers.
I wonder why I have strength in materials classes... doh.gif

Pete the great
so what are you gonna do?
edison1437
post Jul 27 2013, 09:03 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 26 2013, 10:18 PM)

Example, standard turbocharged variant Pug308THP from carmaker:
output 156ps@6000rpm
torque 240Nm@1400rpm
FC 9km/L

If you have non-turbo Pug308 1.6L NA engine getting 160NM torque fitted with turbocharger with their custom made ECU, piping, exhaust, etc. If you tuned to 156ps, most likely, your torque will not be anywhere close to 240Nm and your FC will not be as good as the 9km/L, yours could end up more fuel guzzling, even heavier.
talk like you are an expert ohmy.gif
OC4/3
post Jul 28 2013, 02:00 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Jul 27 2013, 09:03 PM)
talk like you are an expert ohmy.gif
He is just making a fool of himself honestly sweat.gif
Dunno what's the problem with him,keep on bashing aftermarket stuff sweat.gif
Must be one of those people who just plain want OEM stuff for no good reason

OC4/3
post Jul 28 2013, 02:18 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 24 2013, 11:12 PM)
I doubt you know what pressure means and what purpose it serves in combustion engine. You don't know anything don't go and influence others to install turbo without consideration. You'll end up causing him killing the engine early and also causing him dearly should FC goes too high and his car lost resale value. Having wiring messed up could hardly get proper wireman to fix. Most of them can't fix, just to keep the electrical part barely functioning.

Yes, I owned and also maintained proper turbocharged engines and they come together with the SUVs, pickup trucks and cars. They were well made by Engineers that work for R&D in the respective brands, Ford, Hyundai, MMC, Toyota, Pug, etc.

Definitely not any Ah Beng with trial and error background that mod car like they think look like Need For Speed Underground or Fast & Furious means very good. They don't even know what pressure is. All they do, quote you custom ECU + intercooler + self made steel piping with style (not proper pressure calculation), normal wastegate turbocharger (prone to much lag), and have the diagnostic like machine to tell how much to boost. That's all. Nothing else, just tune according to how much the customer wanted. Then change large noisy & polluting exhaust. Final artwork, a car that would need to rev harder to move. Low end torque failed one.
WTF are you on about
Don't get why your fascination with stock parts??
Regarding stock part vs aftermarket parts,there is shit load of example but here's a few good one:
1.)Stock Conrod-Even stock conrod in legendary turbocharged engine like 4G63,2JZGTE can be bent with right condition(Situation that cause high fatigue) and aftermarket rod like Manley,Carillo is miles ahead
2.)ECU-Stock ECU really is far behind aftermarket ECU usually and can't be tuned so aftermarket ECU is consistently better(As good as your tuner is)
Some example of additional feature would be sophisticated TCS,WOT Shift Cut
With that said,some platform with good programmer do get the ability to modify stock ECU and get additional feature(Think of it as Android ROM flashing)
3.)Turbocharger-Toyota is notoriously known for badly matched turbocharger that is weirdly sized
All i can say,you are just a bit pile of wannabe who like OE parts for no good reason
If you want to preach your OE parts superiority,go away from this forum
For as long as you are here,people like mxsteven,Nightstalker1993 will loathe your presence in this particular sub forum

This post has been edited by OC4/3: Jul 28 2013, 02:19 AM
edison1437
post Jul 28 2013, 08:11 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jul 28 2013, 02:00 AM)
He is just making a fool of himself honestly sweat.gif
Dunno what's the problem with him,keep on bashing aftermarket stuff sweat.gif
Must be one of those people who just plain want OEM stuff for no good reason
i cannot brain him....
i'm currently in aerostucture manufacturing industry and i believe i can get the so called limited tools brows.gif brows.gif
materials play a part but "Dimension" is more important laugh.gif

15 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:59 PM