The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

sotong168
post Aug 6 2013, 10:03 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

New RRAM memory promises a terabyte of storage on a stamp-sized chip
Californian start-up Crossbar unveiled new chip twenty times faster than previous flash storage

Californian-based start-up has announced a new memory chip for next-generation electronics. Crossbar’s Resistive RAM (RRAM) is capable of storing a terabyte of data (equivalent to 250 high-definition movies) on a chip the size of a postage stamp.

RRAM is a new type of non-volatile memory (meaning it stores data even when it’s not being powered) that is twenty times faster than the fastest current flash memory. Crossbars says that it can write data to its chips at 140 megabytes a second, compared to 7 megabytes a second for flash.

“Non-volatile memory is ubiquitous today, as the storage technology at the heart of the over a trillion dollar electronics market – from tablets and USB sticks to enterprise storage systems,” said chief executive officer George Minassian in an official statement.

“With our working Crossbar array, we have achieved all the major technical milestones that prove our RRAM technology is easy to manufacture and ready for commercialization.”

Crossbar’s confidence in its product has so far been matched by investors, with the company raising $25 million in venture capital. These backers include the prestigious Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, who invested heavily in both Google and Amazon before the companies became multi-billion success stories.

The company plans to create its own chips and sell them to the market but will also licence its technology to other vendors. Although it will take a lot of momentum to replace the current flash memory standards, the chips would offer significant increases in memory – putting terabytes of storage on smartphones and tablets.

The new RRAM technology could also prove useful for power the internet of things and wearable technology, as it uses twenty times less power and has ten times the endurance of current NAND flash chips. This would make for devices that lasted longer without a breakdown in memory and that wouldn’t require constant charging

source
keyzjh
post Aug 6 2013, 10:59 PM

296 posts

Is the difference in speed between a Plextor M5S and a Samsung 840 PRO noticeable?

Stuck between a 128gb plextor M5S or 256 GB 840 PRO (due to stock shortage).

Do you guys use up 128gb easily?
1024kbps
post Aug 6 2013, 11:46 PM

李素裳
6,010 posts

QUOTE(keyzjh @ Aug 6 2013, 10:59 PM)
Is the difference in speed between a Plextor M5S and a Samsung 840 PRO noticeable?

Not really noticable unless you have two SSD side by side and doing comparison. normal user should not worry bout the performance anyway.

no, if you only install OS on SSD, W8 on 64GB SSD is more than enough. non essential file such as movie/pcitures/music should be stored on HDD.

harryfoo
post Aug 7 2013, 08:30 AM

2,296 posts

TS, update me in the owner list. Plextor M5S 128GB.
TShmwgbworld
post Aug 7 2013, 01:33 PM

3,375 posts

It depends, personally I used up quite easily as I'm not only install massive programs (each took at least 3gb), but also put some games on it.
It is always better to leave 50% free space to ensure the speed wont be reduced.
**If used up more than 50% also dun worry, u will notice very slightly reduction on boot up, like 1~2 sec max only iinm.
QUOTE(harryfoo @ Aug 7 2013, 08:30 AM)
TS, update me in the owner list. Plextor M5S 128GB.
Added nod.gif .
-kytz-
post Aug 7 2013, 05:26 PM

12,573 posts

My SSD seems to be taking much longer to boot up, what could be causing this? hmm.gif
quadcube
post Aug 7 2013, 06:45 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 7 2013, 05:26 PM)
My SSD seems to be taking much longer to boot up, what could be causing this? hmm.gif
SSD geting filled up?
-kytz-
post Aug 7 2013, 07:02 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 7 2013, 06:45 PM)
SSD geting filled up?
Not really. 60GB+ free out of 128GB
keyzjh
post Aug 7 2013, 08:32 PM

296 posts

Thanks for your replies!

Is the samsung magician software that good for maintaining the SSD?

I've seen numerous problems maintaining and installing windows on other SSDs, and trouble in updating firmwares, but those can be easily done with Magician.

New user of SSD here, I wish to have zero hassles yawn.gif

ronaldjoe
post Aug 7 2013, 11:07 PM

3,569 posts

So far magician is best of all that I have seen. The migration software can even clone OS from different disk array with no hicups to SSD.

ronaldjoe
post Aug 7 2013, 11:16 PM

3,569 posts

Still have 128 here
abidgreen93
post Aug 8 2013, 06:19 AM

447 posts

Just wondering.... Has anyone tried to mod their SSD such as to coat it wit carbon fiber? LOL.

Instead of this...

We coat SSD... Just thought.. Would be awesome.

This post has been edited by abidgreen93: Aug 8 2013, 06:20 AM
storm88
post Aug 8 2013, 09:54 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Aug 8 2013, 07:19 AM)
Just wondering.... Has anyone tried to mod their SSD such as to coat it wit carbon fiber? LOL.

Instead of this...

We coat SSD... Just thought.. Would be awesome.
That is just apply a layer of sticker. Nothing special
abidgreen93
post Aug 8 2013, 10:47 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 8 2013, 09:54 AM)
That is just apply a layer of sticker. Nothing special
Dont know.. From my point of view it boost the aesthetics...
owikh84
post Aug 8 2013, 11:45 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Aug 8 2013, 10:47 AM)
Dont know.. From my point of view it boost the aesthetics...
Vinyl carbon fibre sticker

abidgreen93
post Aug 8 2013, 11:48 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 8 2013, 11:45 AM)
Damn why poison me... Hahahahaha.... Ooo quite expensive...
storm88
post Aug 8 2013, 07:59 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Aug 8 2013, 12:48 PM)
Damn why poison me... Hahahahaha.... Ooo quite expensive...
this looks nice smile.gif

btw, if apply carbonfibre sticker, it wont be difficult. i think garaje sale got people do selling that sticker
AuraSapphire
post Aug 8 2013, 08:19 PM

136 posts

Curious, how do you do super fast boot up? I have tried many method. Cant seem to get it.
1024kbps
post Aug 8 2013, 10:14 PM

李素裳
6,010 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Aug 8 2013, 08:19 PM)
Curious, how do you do super fast boot up? I have tried many method. Cant seem to get it.
Tutorial are everywhere sweat.gif
http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Windows-Comp...Start-up-Faster
advanced method would be enable EFI boot instead of legacy ROM mode, but i personally never tried it before.
AuraSapphire
post Aug 9 2013, 12:33 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Aug 8 2013, 10:14 PM)
Tutorial are everywhere sweat.gif
http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Windows-Comp...Start-up-Faster
advanced method would be enable EFI boot instead of legacy ROM mode, but i personally never tried it before.
I have find quite a few. But some how it doesn't work. Some put my pc does not reach requirement.

128 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0643sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:07 AM