One of the 3 mjor type ssd nand type in the industry
storm88
post Jul 6 2013, 09:16 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 5 2013, 11:40 PM)
just copying from v3
i tot plextor m5pro was good enof?
actually.. now which one is the best ard 128gb below ssd?
now using 120gb 520series intel
For me there is no BEST ssd. Just buy one which fits your need and budget.
For me the top SSD in da market is
Samsung 840 Pro
Ocz Vector
Plextor M5Pro
Corsair Neutron GT
storm88
post Jul 8 2013, 10:26 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(k3et @ Jul 8 2013, 10:39 AM)
Just installed Plextor M5S 128GB on my Rampage 3 Formula X58 MB.

Intel Sata 2 - Read 280mb Write 200MB
Marvel Sata 3 - Read 400mb Write 200MB

I would like to know is there anyway that I can increase my read speed to 520mb as per advertise?
board native limitation. You need to connect it to marvell sata 3 port, and also remember to enable AHCI
storm88
post Jul 8 2013, 10:29 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Jul 7 2013, 01:38 AM)
hi all..i'm using Asrock Z77E itx mobo...
underside got 1 msata slot which is running 3gb/s
is there a major throttle down in speed if i put in a 6gb/s msata SSD?
tq in advance
the speed will be capped at 300mhz max transfer speed.
but worry not la, your daily use doesn't goes as that high, and you still can enjoy the superb speed of ssd
storm88
post Aug 2 2013, 09:36 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 2 2013, 09:55 AM)
So from your explanation, can I assume that from Windows Vista and above, we do not need to worry about alignment any more for any new SSD during fresh installation, is that correct? hmm.gif
Yes. Windows7 and 8 will auto align the drive at the beginning of the installation.
storm88
post Aug 8 2013, 09:54 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Aug 8 2013, 07:19 AM)
Just wondering.... Has anyone tried to mod their SSD such as to coat it wit carbon fiber? LOL.

Instead of this...

We coat SSD... Just thought.. Would be awesome.
That is just apply a layer of sticker. Nothing special
storm88
post Aug 8 2013, 07:59 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Aug 8 2013, 12:48 PM)
Damn why poison me... Hahahahaha.... Ooo quite expensive...
this looks nice smile.gif

btw, if apply carbonfibre sticker, it wont be difficult. i think garaje sale got people do selling that sticker
storm88
post Aug 30 2013, 10:04 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Randylee @ Aug 29 2013, 02:30 PM)
If compare with m5? if m5 better, i only need top up rm35
by spec wise M5S is faster. But for consistent and stable 4K read write performance, M500 out perform M5S
storm88
post Aug 30 2013, 09:10 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Aug 30 2013, 05:42 PM)
Looking for NGFF M.2 SSD which length is 42mm (max)

Any choice in market right now?

Planning using for cache drive in my Y410P
can back order 128G for you
lead time 3 week. Interested?
storm88
post Oct 2 2013, 02:34 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Jounouchi @ Oct 1 2013, 10:39 PM)
Hello, as I am going to install SSD into my ASUS lappy, few questions here.

1. The installation of SSD will void the warranty of my laptop?
2. If I change the DVD slot into my HDD, will it void my warranty too? And is it recommended to do so or just change the HDD to SSD and HDD become external hard disk?
3. Is there any converter that available for my DVD so I can use it as external?

Thanks for helping.
hi

for your case, it wont void your warranty. So don't worry

you may refer to here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2600686&hl=
storm88
post Oct 18 2013, 07:05 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Oct 18 2013, 07:50 PM)
Any forumer selling it? interested on it smile.gif
we just gave alot order to that "MY DISTRIBUTOR" rclxm9.gif

storm88
post Oct 18 2013, 07:54 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Oct 18 2013, 08:30 PM)
Not sure forum sellers have ready stock or not.
You can try search lelong.my then u will realize which reseller i mentioned  brows.gif . His price is good imo.
ah... Castle IT. if you refer to this seller, then i not sure if their stock legit anot liao
storm88
post Oct 21 2013, 03:41 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(iJoel @ Oct 21 2013, 01:00 AM)
What do you mean by legit or not? Was about to place an order then saw this post
means not local stock. also means, if anything happen u have to pay for the warranty or the warranty would go forever
storm88
post Dec 27 2013, 06:30 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Dec 27 2013, 11:13 AM)
Just build my rig with the samsung ssd. Is it ok?
you already bought, why ask now? biggrin.gif
storm88
post Dec 27 2013, 06:31 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 27 2013, 07:10 PM)
Look like quite a lot numbers of user using mSata SSD, may I know what type of Laptop or table using that?
now only some of the asus, dell and msi uses msata
storm88
post Dec 27 2013, 07:05 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 27 2013, 07:53 PM)
no, quite a number of laptop brands have msata slots: acer, asus, dell, msi, hp, lenovo, samsung, toshiba, and sony.

edit: .. and i forgot clevo.
I am talking about the model in Malaysia la smile.gif

And yea, i also missed out the clevo
storm88
post Apr 1 2014, 10:26 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 31 2014, 07:23 PM)
well yeah that's the most common constraint :/

however, i still think it's worth while to save a bit more to get 240-256GB range. that range is the sweet spot for now imo. (much better performance compared to 120GB drives)

edit: bf4's 3rd dlc is released. downloading now. that makes the whole game about 40GB now biggrin.gif
Titanfall require 59.6G to install... laugh.gif
storm88
post Apr 2 2014, 11:03 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 2 2014, 10:46 AM)
does anyone hear of anything regarding the availability and price tags of crucial m550 in Malaysia? (2.5", msata)
M550 avail by next week. Price level RM3xx

0.0606sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:44 AM