131 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

Khairunnisa44
post Jul 25 2013, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 25 2013, 09:31 AM)
S56CB is way over your budget smile.gif And don't waste your limited budget on touch feature tongue.gif
Learn to compromise and priorities when you are tight  icon_rolleyes.gif

Accounting - need to punch numbers a lot, so 15" is good since it has dedicated numpad.
Easy to carry around - 15" is normally not light.
Survive for 4 years - Nobody / no brands can "guarantee" you that tongue.gif The best you can do is to get a laptop with good warranty support for a long time. Dell Malaysia offer next biz day on site warranty, extend from standard 1 year to 3 years cost ~ RM300, good for students who can't afford laptop to die at critical moment.

Dell
Inspiron 15, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000@RM1299[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1399

Price is RSP, negotiable.
Negotiate hard to get a 6 cell (65Whr) battery instead of the spec 4 cell (40Whr) battery, and running time on battery life will be pretty good.
As mentioned, extend warranty to 3 years for ~ RM300.
All in, will be within your budget.
so i should choose dell right? smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Jul 25 2013, 10:44 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Khairunnisa44 @ Jul 25 2013, 09:41 AM)
so i should choose dell right?  smile.gif
depends on yourself. i know everyone have their personal preferences but what sifu nexus said is a suggestion.
nexus2238
post Jul 25 2013, 11:12 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Khairunnisa44 @ Jul 25 2013, 09:41 AM)
so i should choose dell right?  smile.gif
It's a suggestion to tackle your requirement. The way I suggest will give you the power sufficient for your usage, numpad that let you key in number reasonably easily, come with OS, and the best warranty support you can get in Malaysia in case anything go wrong with the laptop hardware. But the laptop is plain looking (some even call it ugly laugh.gif ), no fancy touch screen feature, and not light at ~ 2.3kg.
Some users prefer to "rely" on brand "reliability" reputation, and use budget to get the best spec possible icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 25 2013, 11:13 AM
nexus2238
post Jul 25 2013, 11:36 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Jul 25 2013, 06:36 AM)
sifusss need recommendation please thank you  biggrin.gif

1. Preferred Brand any reliable model
2. Budget max 2k
3. Usage mainly running trading softwares, programming, some torrenting
4. Preferred laptop/screen size at least 12 inch

ssd a must to install softwares, as lightweight as possible, wonder if its possible in max 2k?
torrenting on SSD hmm.gif (trying to prolong the life of my SSD, I haven't attempted that tongue.gif )

Acer
V5-132P-3322Y6G50b, i3-3229Y + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768)@RM1799, 6GB, 500GB, W8
Aspire V5-171-53312G50s, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM1799, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Asus
X201E, Intel B847 + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year
X201E, Intel B847 + Intel HD@RM1049, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year
VivoBook S200E, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1799[1.38kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year
VivoBook S200E, B847 + Intel UMA + (1366x768; touch)@RM1499[1.38kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year

SSD you probably has to get after-market and install (can ask re-sellers to help you). 128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600. Make sure you get the SSD with proper z-height (if you intend to replace the HDD). The RAM for Asus models is also soldered, and can't upgrade. The Acer models, e.g. V5-132P-3322Y6G50b 2G is soldered, but has 1 RAM slot to fit in 4G stick (so if you want to increase RAM, you could buy a 8G stick to replace the 4G stick). Strangely (iirc), none of these models has mSATA port hmm.gif

Prices are RSP, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 25 2013, 12:00 PM
Decky
post Jul 25 2013, 12:30 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 25 2013, 09:37 AM)
You can get the lowest spec MBP 13 with that budget. It's being refreshed with Haswell and Intel HD5000 (the IGPU is decent enough, better than GT710M laugh.gif )MBA or MBP, you probably has to run bootcamp or virtual machine in order to run your games.
Nobody can tell how long a laptop will last, depends on luck and TLC smile.gif

Anyway, suggest you look at this:
www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-13 Pro, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; IPS)@RM4199[2kg][Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2613184
Extend warranty to 3 years for peace of mind.

If you prefer something from mainstream brands:
Samsung
ATIV Book 7 NP740U3E-X01MY, i5-3337U + AMD HD8570M + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3499[1.65kg][JBL], 4GB, W8
Sony
Vaio SVS13135CV, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M LE@RM3199[1.72kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8; colors: white/black; Vaio carrying case
That would be the perfect option (MBP with Haswell), however how do you know it's announced yet? From what I hear, they're planning to scrap the normal MBP lineup for a pure retina lineup that will cost alot more ):

I have considered the illegear, but I don't like how it looks and I think the specs are really overkill for what I need it for haha (Because my course will be quite tough, a laptop that has high gaming capabilities will most likely distract me from my studies)

Do we have thew new lineup of Thinkpads here in Malaysia?

I'll check out both the mainstream brands, thanks! But any idea how good the warranty and after sales service of Samsung and Sony are? AFAIK, Lenovo, apple and dell have very good after sales service. And and international warranty, if possible, will be good because I'll most likely be heading to UK to study for two years. If my laptop does die on me, I'll most likely me screwed over there.

This post has been edited by Decky: Jul 25 2013, 12:33 PM
redphalanx12
post Jul 25 2013, 12:33 PM

149 posts

1. Preferred Brand - any brand..as long as not some cap ayam sweat.gif
2. Budget - between 2 - 2.5k
3. Usage - gaming (medium i think, games like van helsing, some on9 games), movie & series marathon, net surfing, work (minor pshop n stuff) wink.gif
4. Preferred Laptop Screen Size : 15" n up coz im watching movie & series a lot..i think 14" also acceptable hmm.gif
5. Battery & Weight : I dun really care coz this laptop will rarely move from their space..for battery, i will mainly use direct power.. laugh.gif
6. Sound : good sound for movie n series cool.gif
7. HDD : prefer 640gb n up..the more the merrier thumbup.gif

considering to replace my hp pavilion g4..thanx notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by redphalanx12: Jul 25 2013, 12:37 PM
falcon21
post Jul 25 2013, 01:58 PM

198 posts

hmm.gif I just tried with the sales chat with Dell,

Really not much of anything special/bang extra promotion biggrin.gif

For Inspiron 14-3421, I can get free wireless mouse and keyboard, and with MasterCard user, can get another wireless bluetooth handsfree.
Online Dell website promo extend warranty for 1 year only cost RM139.

For Vostro-5460, can get wireless mouse and with MC, bluetooth handsfree. Selected Vostro model can get free DVD ODD promotion (No free ODD for RM1549 model cry.gif ).
No promotion for extend warranty programme, if want to extend will cost alot!

So which is better deal? hmm.gif

Additional feature:-

Inspiron 14 - With ODD, cheaper, extended warranty promotion.
Vostro - carbon dunno what at bottom cover(better heat dissipation), aluminium finish, comes in Red, no ODD, slight overbudget.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 25 2013, 08:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Jul 25 2013, 01:58 PM)
hmm.gif  I just tried with the sales chat with Dell,

Really not much of anything special/bang extra promotion  biggrin.gif

For Inspiron 14-3421, I can get free wireless mouse and keyboard, and with MasterCard user, can get another wireless bluetooth handsfree.
Online Dell website promo extend warranty for 1 year only cost RM139.

For Vostro-5460, can get wireless mouse and with MC, bluetooth handsfree. Selected Vostro model can get free DVD ODD promotion (No free ODD for RM1549 model  cry.gif ).
No promotion for extend warranty programme, if want to extend will cost alot!

So which is better deal?  hmm.gif

Additional feature:-

Inspiron 14 - With ODD, cheaper, extended warranty promotion.
Vostro - carbon dunno what at bottom cover(better heat dissipation), aluminium finish, comes in Red, no ODD, slight overbudget.
Good to know that you are being smart by bargaining brows.gif

Mind sharing what is the specs of the 5460 they have offered you? There are many variants hmm.gif

USually its best to opt for warranty extension if you are getting a Dell laugh.gif
falcon21
post Jul 25 2013, 08:47 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 25 2013, 08:27 PM)
Good to know that you are being smart by bargaining brows.gif

Mind sharing what is the specs of the 5460 they have offered you? There are many variants hmm.gif

USually its best to opt for warranty extension if you are getting a Dell  laugh.gif
The RM1749 vostro have promo free DVD ODD worth RM179. The sales chat guy quote me 'selected vostro' have this bundle only.
The sales chat guy also told inspiron hot model, so less promotion.

Bro PF[T.J.], any recommendation for my search? Any other options beside dell?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jul 25 2013, 08:59 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Jul 25 2013, 08:47 PM)
The RM1749 vostro have promo free DVD ODD worth RM179. The sales chat guy quote me 'selected vostro' have this bundle only.
The sales chat guy also told inspiron hot model, so less promotion.

Bro PF[T.J.], any recommendation for my search? Any other options beside dell?
bargain bargain, but make sure the model is "corrected"

FU, last time thye quote me diff spec but same model..... Probably old specs. Lucky i noticed. I let go freebies, buy myself online
falcon21
post Jul 25 2013, 09:15 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 25 2013, 08:59 PM)
bargain bargain, but make sure the model is "corrected"

FU, last time thye quote me diff spec but same model..... Probably old specs. Lucky i noticed. I let go freebies, buy myself online
biggrin.gif I gave them the link to the vostro I wanted, and they quote me different model doh.gif

However the different model they quote me, RM1749 de, their best offer was RM1649.

Can't keep bargain, feel frustrated, I directly straight to the point I wan best offer/discount/freebies few times le, the sales chat fella still ask me and tell me those standard things. sweat.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 25 2013, 09:20 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Jul 25 2013, 09:15 PM)
biggrin.gif I gave them the link to the vostro I wanted, and they quote me different model  doh.gif

However the different model they quote me, RM1749 de, their best offer was RM1649.

Can't keep bargain, feel frustrated, I directly straight to the point I wan best offer/discount/freebies few times le, the sales chat fella still ask me and tell me those standard things.  sweat.gif
Since its for a girl, can consider these too (if you think design is more important for her) laugh.gif
14"
Sony
Vaio SVE14121CVW, Pentum B980 + Intel HD@RM1499[2.4kg], 2GB, 320GB, W8SL
Vaio SVE14131CV, Pentium 2020M + Intel HD@RM1599[2.4kg], 2GB, 320GB, W8; color: white, Vaio backpack

If you are concerned about warranty support, then definitely the Dell Inspiron nod.gif

devour
post Jul 25 2013, 11:54 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(redphalanx12 @ Jul 25 2013, 12:33 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - any brand..as long as not some cap ayam  sweat.gif
2. Budget - between 2 - 2.5k
3. Usage - gaming (medium i think, games like van helsing, some on9 games), movie & series marathon, net surfing, work (minor pshop n stuff) wink.gif
4. Preferred Laptop Screen Size : 15" n up coz im watching movie & series a lot..i think  14" also acceptable hmm.gif
5. Battery & Weight : I dun really care coz this laptop will rarely move from their space..for battery, i will mainly use direct power.. laugh.gif
6. Sound : good sound for movie n series  cool.gif
7. HDD : prefer 640gb n up..the more the merrier  thumbup.gif

considering to replace my hp pavilion g4..thanx notworthy.gif
HP Pavilion 15-e014TX
i5-3230M/4GB/750GB/DVD/ Ati 8670 -2GB VRAM/WHITE/1YW/ free dos

this , thumbup.gif same , use back HP brand
ck.chunkeat
post Jul 26 2013, 01:03 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

budget: around 1.5-1.7k( will add on 300 for a 128gb ssd)
usage: web surfing, movie, light photoshop
screen: 14"
brand: any except acer

I was originally looking for laptops which comes with a 32gb msata ssd. but the cheapest one cost about 2k.

So i was wondering whether i should take that or should i get a cheaper laptop and spend 300 bucks on ssd, then switch out the odd?
freakguts
post Jul 26 2013, 09:10 AM

morning all. im planning to get a laptop
budget: around 2-2.2k
usage: web surfing, movie(will buy an external monitor for that), light gaming(dragon nest, cs:go and maybe the latest games for low-medium quality)
brand: any as long as have good customer service(international if can) because ill be travelling

real budget is 3k but planning to swap rams and ssd.
btw what do i need to look out for when buying ssd? any ssd reccomendations biggrin.gif
kingdom1115
post Jul 26 2013, 09:44 AM

Hi and morning all..

1.PREFERRED BRAND : simply said i have to choose between lenovo z500 i5-3230m or acer aspire v5-473pg i5-4200u

2. BUDGET : 2500myr maximum.

3. USAGE : medium gaming(skyrim, tera, o9 games), surfing the net, multitasking, photoshop and daily assignments.

4. SCREEN :14" - 15.6 ".

z500 is my choice before the acer,, but seeing that acer has come out with the haswell, ive become doubtful in my choices. is the 4200u processor better than 3230m in terms of gaming? if not can the 4200u compete? The z500 has backlit keyboard which i really am interested. so which is better? Thank you for your reply.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 26 2013, 09:55 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jul 26 2013, 01:03 AM)
budget: around 1.5-1.7k( will add on 300 for a 128gb ssd)
usage: web surfing, movie, light photoshop
brand: any except acer

I was originally looking for laptops which comes with a 32gb msata ssd. but the cheapest one cost about 2k.

So i was wondering whether i should take that or should i get a cheaper laptop and spend 300 bucks on ssd, then switch out the odd?
Can consider these:
14"
Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Yes, it is better, and cheaper too to put in an SSD yourself
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 26 2013, 09:58 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(freakguts @ Jul 26 2013, 09:10 AM)
morning all. im planning to get a laptop
budget: around 2-2.2k
usage: web surfing, movie(will buy an external monitor for that), light gaming(dragon nest, cs:go and maybe the latest games for low-medium quality)
brand: any as long as have good customer service(international if can) because ill be travelling

real budget is 3k but planning to swap rams and ssd.
btw what do i need to look out for when buying ssd? any ssd reccomendations biggrin.gif
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8SL@RM2299
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1949[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099

Need to spend ~Rm250 to extend warranty to 3 years though icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 26 2013, 09:58 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kingdom1115 @ Jul 26 2013, 09:44 AM)
Hi and morning all..

1.PREFERRED BRAND : simply said i have to choose between lenovo z500 i5-3230m or acer aspire v5-473pg i5-4200u

2. BUDGET : 2500myr maximum.

3. USAGE : medium gaming(skyrim, tera, o9 games), surfing the net, multitasking, photoshop and daily assignments.

4. SCREEN :14" - 15.6 ".

z500 is my choice before the acer,, but seeing that acer has come out with the haswell, ive become doubtful in my choices. is the 4200u processor better than 3230m in terms of gaming? if not can the 4200u compete? The z500 has backlit keyboard which i really am interested. so which is better? Thank you for your reply.
CPU is not really important in determining gaming performance, so just go ahead with the Z500 nod.gif

tulip_mael
post Jul 26 2013, 10:06 AM

Help me..
1. Preferred Brand - Any Brand, but prefer Lenovo or Dell
2. Budget - Around RM 2500
3. Usage - Online, normal video, work n need to support AutoCAD
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14 / 15
5. Light Weight and portable - any
6. Durable - kids proof.. (spill proof keypad)
7. Touchscreen

This post has been edited by tulip_mael: Jul 26 2013, 10:23 AM

131 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:42 PM