131 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Jul 14 2013, 08:26 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(RiceKrispies @ Jul 14 2013, 02:27 AM)
Can give me some suggestions?

1. Preferred Brand: any will do as long as reliable, as in no much people complain
2. Budget: 1.6k-1.9k
3. Usage: fb, musics, movies, gaming (dota2, L4D max)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: any, but not too small because of gaming
5. Extras: i5, AMD or Nvidia graphic card, good wireless detection, best laptop for this budget, sturdy

And just want to confirm, laptops this range buy in Malaysia cheaper than in Singapore right?
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 14 2013, 09:02 AM)
Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
Ideapad G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1749[2.25kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1899

prices are RRP and negotiable.
QUOTE(RiceKrispies @ Jul 14 2013, 12:13 PM)
Thanks, among these, which is the most bang for buck? Because I don't know what the numbers behind the processors or graphic card mean.

btw, I've checked dell website, what's the difference between inspiron 15 and 15r?
Someone could probably write a book explaining all the numbers behind the CPU and GPU laugh.gif
To make it as simple as possible:
You want i5, which is a CPU by Intel. Each year Intel launch new i5 model, new generation. The latest is Haswell (4th gen), i5-4xxx?. But it is very new and won't be the main lines for may be a few more months.
Currently most of laptop is i5-3xxx?, 3rd generation Ivy Bridge.
The M or U at the end of CPU model - M(obile), U(ltra Low Voltage). Mobile is more powerful but use more electricity, ULV is clocked lower, but more frugal on power consumption.
For your purpose, don't worry too much about the xxx in the 3xxx. (Will take too long to explain)

You want Nvidia / AMD GPU. Each year GPU brands launch new model. Currently Nvidia is at GT(X)7xxM, AMD is at HD8xxxM. But again, there are new and some laptop are still spec with GT(X)6xxM / HD7xxxM.
Generally, within a generation, the higher the xx, the more powerful the GPU, ie GT640M > GT625M.
Across generation, comparison is not so easy.
For your purpose, you may refer to this:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html
Just take it that the higher the GPU appear on the list, the more powerful it is (actually there are more into it, but it will take too long to explain laugh.gif )

For your budget, there is no "sturdy" laptop tongue.gif
All laptop at this type of price range is fragile. 1m drop onto the floor, (unless you are extremely lucky) you pretty much can say goodbye to the laptop.
So just take TLC.

For your budget and among the models that Raymond listed, this is probably your best bet.
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
The CPU and GPU is good enough for your usage. Come with OS (you does not sound like someone who can deal with no OS (sorry if I sound patronising tongue.gif ) ). 2 year warranty, in this case cover Singapore, so you could get it service in Singapore if there is any issue. Negotiate hard, and you may get it < RM1.8k.

For your budget, stick with 14". 15" and 14", if same resolution (1366x768), you get the same image, just slightly bigger.

15R vs 15? Marketing, branding, slightly better spec, slightly better finishing ....

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 14 2013, 08:45 PM
nexus2238
post Jul 14 2013, 08:31 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(playerzaki2000 @ Jul 14 2013, 08:11 PM)
my personal preference would be Y400, i7-3630QM with free dos, install windows 7 on it, and upgradeto 8 gb ram... but well, its quite hard to find a place to buy both the laptop with windows 7 on it... If i had the luxury of time to go to lowyat, it would be a done deal...

plus the friend for some reason unknown to human kind, insist on not wanting the i7... *sigh*
The GPU in the Y400 is overkill. The Acer V3 has a much better screen. If your friend is serious about photoshop / corel suite, then he / she will appreciate the big difference in screen.

It's your friend's choice anyway smile.gif i5 or i7 ... You give the best advice you can, he / she is the one that have to make decision and live with it icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 14 2013, 08:37 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Infinia @ Jul 14 2013, 07:17 PM)
Hello there, please help me out here! smile.gif

1. Preferred Brand - Any except Acer

2. Budget - Below RM4k (Preferably)

3. Usage - Gaming (with gaming footage recording), uni work, heavy usage every day and is intended to be my main computer/laptop

4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15.x inch

5. Primary games (if needed) - Guild Wars 2, LoL (a must to be able to record these 2 games with smooth fps on at least decent graphics settings)

6. Personal research - I have done a little bit of research on my own.
Lenovo Ideapad Y500 seems like a good buy for its specs but after doing a little digging, it seems that users are unhappy with certain issues with it, like trackpad and keyboard issues, as well as not having intel HD 4000 and optimus. (Lenovo Y500 Sucks Thread)
Is it really that bad? Or is it still a worth buy?

7. Another important note - I want superb cooling (because my current laptop has some really bad heating issues (my temps can reach 100°C!)).

That being said, are there any other laptops out there that are suitable for me?

Thanks!
Gaming laptop is expensive. With your budget, choices are limited.

Asus
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GX60-3AE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD XT HD7970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8 (GPU is great, but gaming performance may be capped by the A10)
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

And that's about it.
The Y500, with GT750M SLI, has the most powerful GPU setup for games that support SLI. It has its issue, you have to weight the pro and con and see if you could live with it.
The G55VW and RE-15 has better cooling. Anyway, please get proper external cooling solution (table fan, cooling pad ... ) if you game on laptop.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 14 2013, 08:40 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 14 2013, 09:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 14 2013, 08:31 PM)
The GPU in the Y400 is overkill. The Acer V3 has a much better screen. If your friend is serious about photoshop / corel suite, then he / she will appreciate the big difference in screen.

It's your friend's choice anyway smile.gif i5 or i7 ... You give the best advice you can, he / she is the one that have to make decision and live with it  icon_rolleyes.gif
lol, why my friends always blame me when their notebooks got problem? cry.gif cry.gif
devour
post Jul 14 2013, 09:55 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(playerzaki2000 @ Jul 14 2013, 02:48 PM)
can suggest me any good free dos laptops with i5?
owh... that looks nice.. but can the graphic card handle photoshop and coral stuff?
highest spec pf DEll vostro 3460 came with GT 630M 1GB , and i7 + 8 gb ram, its sufficient to handle photoshop and coral stuff, unless very heavy duty or heavy rendering

for free dos laptop with i5 , can consider dell vostro 5460 , with i5 + gt630 m graphic card,

This post has been edited by devour: Jul 14 2013, 09:56 PM
devour
post Jul 14 2013, 10:01 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 14 2013, 04:06 PM)
If you can still find one, then its worth it.
Most notebooks with an i7 processors are usually around RM2.5k or more  hmm.gif
Dell 5521-53812G-DOS

3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3537U processor (4M Cache, up to 3.1 GHz, with 2GB Discrete base)
1TB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
8GB 2 DIMM (4GB x2) DDR3 1600Mhz
AMD Radeon™ HD 8730M with 2G DDR3 VRAM
Free dos

rm 2349 RPP laugh.gif

devour
post Jul 14 2013, 10:04 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(playerzaki2000 @ Jul 14 2013, 08:11 PM)
my personal preference would be Y400, i7-3630QM with free dos, install windows 7 on it, and upgradeto 8 gb ram... but well, its quite hard to find a place to buy both the laptop with windows 7 on it... If i had the luxury of time to go to lowyat, it would be a done deal...

plus the friend for some reason unknown to human kind, insist on not wanting the i7... *sigh*
Maybe he think all i7 model very expensive gua rclxms.gif
mingwei1992
post Jul 14 2013, 11:24 PM

482 posts

can suggest me some laptop?

Preferred brand : HP(compaq)/Dell brands like toshiba is ok too

Budget: <rm3500

Usage: Games (dota2,online gaming) and engineering softwares

preferred laptop size: 14 inch

currently using a 3year++ old compaq laptop but my hard disk is failling me so i need to get a replacement. sad.gif

thx in advance

This post has been edited by mingwei1992: Jul 14 2013, 11:24 PM
raymondtong94
post Jul 14 2013, 11:26 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 14 2013, 09:15 PM)
lol, why my friends always blame me when their notebooks got problem?  cry.gif  cry.gif
my only answer is question back them and make a conclusion, 'have you ever realize that computers are products that are guaranteed to be working fine? thats why all computers or parts comes with warranty and allow you to make a claim if there are defects.'

BUT, when it comes to software, i will generally ask them, 'are you watching prawn?' laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 14 2013, 11:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Jul 14 2013, 10:01 PM)
Dell 5521-53812G-DOS

3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3537U processor (4M Cache, up to 3.1 GHz, with 2GB Discrete base)
1TB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
8GB 2 DIMM (4GB x2) DDR3 1600Mhz
AMD Radeon™ HD 8730M with 2G DDR3 VRAM
Free dos

rm 2349 RPP laugh.gif
Normal i7 la bro laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 14 2013, 11:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 14 2013, 11:26 PM)
my only answer is question back them and make a conclusion, 'have you ever realize that computers are products that are guaranteed to be working fine? thats why all computers or parts comes with warranty and allow you to make a claim if there are defects.'

BUT, when it comes to software, i will generally ask them, 'are you watching prawn?' laugh.gif
TOo much prawns is not good I'll give them that much haha~

Still, people like them don't understand that much one la... if notebook spoils, then that brand is lousy and they will not buy from that brand anymore laugh.gif And if they are lucky and the notebook never spoil, then they will continue to support that brand, regardless of what brand it is sweat.gif
devour
post Jul 15 2013, 12:10 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 14 2013, 11:43 PM)
Normal i7 la bro laugh.gif
Buyer no said must be normal i7 laugh.gif
devour
post Jul 15 2013, 12:14 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Jul 14 2013, 11:24 PM)
can suggest me some laptop?

Preferred brand : HP(compaq)/Dell  brands like toshiba is ok too

Budget: <rm3500

Usage: Games (dota2,online gaming) and engineering softwares

preferred laptop size: 14 inch

currently using a 3year++ old compaq laptop but my hard disk is failling me so i need to get a replacement.  sad.gif
thx in advance
1) Hp Touchsmart 14-k029TX Sleekbook, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch) + 128GB SSD@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB, W8, ext OD

2) Dell 14R
3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i5-3337U processor (3M Cache, up to 2.7 GHz, with GT730M 2GB base)
500GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
4GB 1 DIMM (4GB x1) DDR3 1600Mhz
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT730M 2GB DDR3 VRAM

Psychosis
post Jul 15 2013, 12:52 AM

92 posts

I'm looking for something similar to macbook air 13" ( haswell ) weight and battery life but running on windows

1. Preferred Brand : anything
2. Budget : below 4k
3. Usage : gaming ( dota 2 only ) / programming / web surfing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : at least 13"

devour
post Jul 15 2013, 12:59 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Jul 15 2013, 12:52 AM)

I'm looking for something similar to macbook air 13" ( haswell ) weight and battery life but running on windows

1. Preferred Brand : anything
2. Budget : below 4k
3. Usage : gaming ( dota 2 only ) / programming / web surfing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : at least 13"

those super slim profile window base notebook with haswell processor have not reveal in Malaysia Market, stay tune icon_rolleyes.gif
johnlth93
post Jul 15 2013, 01:12 AM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 13 2013, 07:27 PM)
Too bad you need something light. Otherwise, this will be good for you:
Lenovo
Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2299[3.0kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm); W7HP
HD+ resolution on a 17", won't strain eyes at all smile.gif
2.2k can get 17 inch?
but seem to big to be mobile lei hmm.gif
Dawnstar
post Jul 15 2013, 01:38 AM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 7 2013, 02:49 PM)
Can consider these:
11.6"
Acer
Aspire AO756, 1007 + Intel HD@RM1149, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V5-122P-42152G50b, A4-1250 + AMD HD8210M +(1366x768;touch)@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB, W8

14"
Acer V5-431-10074G50, 1007 + Intel HD@RM1299[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8

If you don't mind FreeDOS:
11.6"
Asus X201E, Intel B847 + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year

14"
Asus
X45U-VX024, E2-1800 + AMD HD6320M@RM1199, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year warranty
X44H-VX231, B820 + Intel HD3000@RM1099[2.44kg], 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; 1 year warranty
X45U, E2-1800 + AMD HD6320M@RM1199[2.2kg], 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Dell Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Hi. Among all these devices, which one is the most powerful?
user
post Jul 15 2013, 02:06 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(user @ Jul 13 2013, 06:17 PM)
Preferred Brand - Any except Acer, HP.
2. Budget - Max RM3000
3. Usage - Mainly gaming (Dota2, SD gundam online-3D fps, CS online)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any as along as good for gaming view.
5. Additional details: Initially aiming for good GPU laptop, Lenovo Y series, widely recommended by sifus since V19 (well, i did homework before ask tongue.gif). But later i found out my games are not really graphic demanding game, so i guess i better use the budget for normal lappy + upgrade for more smooth usage.

appreciate your recommendation & upgrade option.
** Can wait if there are models suits my need in next release (example: Haswell lappy)

Additional requirements:
1) Good heat dissipation
2) Wireless free problem (Using streamyx stock router@ground floor, lappy use at 1st floor room)
3) light weight (Usage 60%-desk, 40%- on leg/bed)
3) Stylish design (understand its subjective, but as long as looks good to you)
4) Able to play above games even if game requirement increased in next few years.

Thank you.
Hi all, i guess my thread was missed out, can any sifus recommend?
Also, currently i have a desktop PC of Intel P4 2.8GHZ, VIA motherboard with AMD HD3450 GPU. However, i will lag when play dota1 game. I tried updated the GPU driver from variety of version, but still problem not solved. I am thinking if its conflicted with the VIA motherboard of mine, any recommendation for solution?

Thank you.
misalika_93
post Jul 15 2013, 02:39 AM

185 posts

hi sifus, want to know that lenovo Y series is good for a long term usage ?

raymondtong94
post Jul 15 2013, 08:41 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 14 2013, 11:44 PM)
TOo much prawns is not good I'll give them that much haha~

Still, people like them don't understand that much one la... if notebook spoils, then that brand is lousy and they will not buy from that brand anymore laugh.gif And if they are lucky and the notebook never spoil, then they will continue to support that brand, regardless of what brand it is  sweat.gif
my lappy never get infected by virus, while im letting my lappy to be 'naked' all the time.

ya, have to agree that some peoples never understand that. if i tried so hard to explain that, i will end it with luck's conclusion. sweat.gif

131 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:54 PM