128 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

qebalt
post Feb 3 2014, 02:59 PM

155 posts

For fresh graduates, try to ask for RM4k per month. Even fresh graduates in PETRONAS nowadays could get starting at RM5k..... rclxms.gif
klein
post Feb 3 2014, 04:53 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(qebalt @ Feb 3 2014, 02:59 PM)
For fresh graduates, try to ask for RM4k per month. Even fresh graduates in PETRONAS nowadays could get starting at RM5k.....  rclxms.gif
You are either trolling or being naive.
meonkutu11
post Feb 3 2014, 05:11 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(zerowater @ Feb 1 2014, 12:58 AM)
Hi seniors,
I received an interview invitation from umw oil & gas for position drilling trainee.Anyone mind sharing how the iv session will be conduct, the question they will ask and is they looking for something specific in the interview..?
as a summary;

- Good for stepping stone
- Beware of the bond agreement, 2yrs (if they still have it)
- Will be working on the rig, a lot of hand-on, starting from roustabout-roughneck-derrickman-pumpman-AD etc
- Will be working on rotation with a week or two in the office (i.e 4 weeks offshore, 2 weeks off, 2 weeks office)
- Most probably will change to contract worker (after few years) or when you reach AD. (fix rotation 4weeks offshore, 4weeks off)
- Do not have Structured Training Program (if they already have it, please tell me)
- When I started in 2009, basic was 2700 and after confirmed 3400 and yearly increment plus bonus.
- Do provide some allowance on top of the basic (if they still have now)
- A lot of trainings (BOSIET, WELL CONTROL (IADC or IWCF), Fire Fighting, Lifeboat Coxwain, etc)
- Learn & Read about rig operations and equipments (top drive, drawworks, etc)
- know about their jack up rig operations. Naga1, Naga2, Naga3, Naga4, Naga5....
- As usual, GLC, office politics you cannot avoid.

This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Feb 3 2014, 10:47 PM
jkkt87
post Feb 3 2014, 07:24 PM

62 posts

For fresh graduates, try to ask for RM4k per month. Even fresh graduates in PETRONAS nowadays could get starting at RM5k.....  rclxms.gif
Not everyone have same fate. If employer ask you a question such as i pay another fresh 2.8K and pay you 4k (you are fresh also), what can you contribute more than the one he paid 2.8k? Is it he not need to teach and guide you as the one 2.8k? What would you answer then?
wywy2020
post Feb 3 2014, 07:42 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(mafiakl @ Feb 3 2014, 02:41 PM)
Hello Guys

After lurking for few months, it's time for me to "appear" here

I'm senior level in one of the fabricator companies in Malaysia.

Nice to meet you guys here

Peace
hi, wat the salary for senior post?
wywy2020
post Feb 3 2014, 07:43 PM

1,638 posts

4k which company i shall try?
shenshenshen
post Feb 3 2014, 09:10 PM

1,368 posts

Guys anyone working in well completion dept with halliburton. Need advice ...
limy3619
post Feb 3 2014, 09:29 PM

27 posts

Need to ask some direction, I'm a mechanical engineer (fresh). Is FE a good position for me to start in? or I should look for those relating to static structures or some other positions which are suitable?
nash9701
post Feb 3 2014, 10:11 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

just got email in my inbox from "Jerry Varghese Global Recruitment Services" for opening in Sadara company, Saudi Arabia. Anyone received this?

(^__^)

This post has been edited by nash9701: Feb 3 2014, 10:11 PM
lanXX
post Feb 3 2014, 10:20 PM

221 posts

hye guys, i am currently doing my 1 year course in INSTEP and will be graduating as a production tech/operator next year..can anyone tell me how far can a technician go in this field?what is the salary range for the freshie?and how is the working environment in petronas carigali?
zerowater
post Feb 3 2014, 11:35 PM

QUOTE(mafiakl @ Feb 3 2014, 02:43 PM)
Hi Zero,

Don't worry to much for the interview since the position you apply is for trainee...they won't ask you details about the technical stuff...just playing around with the company history, background, current project and you should be fine
Thanks bro..
zerowater
post Feb 3 2014, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Feb 3 2014, 05:11 PM)
as a summary;

- Will be working on the rig, a lot of hand-on, starting from roustabout-roughneck-derrickman-pumpman-AD etc
- Will be working on rotation with a week or two in the office (i.e 4 weeks offshore, 2 weeks off, 2 weeks office)
- Most probably will change to contract worker (after few years) or when you reach AD. (fix rotation 4weeks offshore, 4weeks off)
- Do not have Structured Training Program (if they already have it, please tell me)
- When I started in 2009, basic was 2700 and after confirmed 3400 and yearly increment plus bonus.
- A lot of trainings (BOSIET, WELL CONTROL (IADC or IWCF), Fire Fighting, Lifeboat Coxwain, etc)
- know about their jack up rig operations. Naga1, Naga2, Naga3, Naga4, Naga5....
Nice info bro..thanks
syarehey
post Feb 4 2014, 12:59 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Feb 3 2014, 05:11 PM)
as a summary;

good info bro meonkutu. btw, are you still working for them?
meonkutu11
post Feb 4 2014, 01:18 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(syarehey @ Feb 4 2014, 12:59 AM)
good info bro meonkutu. btw, are you still working for them?
Not anymore. It is a good platform to step in the drilling industry and work way up to become a driller, toolpusher, OIM or even Rig Manager.
We need more Malaysian on that positions. biggrin.gif
lifeisgoood
post Feb 4 2014, 12:03 PM

43 posts

Any suggestions on which certs(NDT , welding, BOSIET, safety ? ) should i take during my coming 2 months holiday before my final semester? financially limited.preferably a cert that will give me an advantage for a job.looking to work offshore. diploma in mechanical engineering.

This post has been edited by lifeisgoood: Feb 4 2014, 12:03 PM
mhyug
post Feb 4 2014, 08:58 PM

1,553 posts

you know, the annoying thing at times when you know youre comp doesnt have enough man power and they wont hire.

last2 yg ada jugak kena lenjan sampai pengsan to offshore left and right. well apa nak buat nasib badan, and is all for the family and the future.

mafiakl
post Feb 5 2014, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Feb 3 2014, 07:42 PM)
hi, wat the salary for senior post?
Hi there,

so shy to talk about salary but what i can tell you the salary is 5 figures brows.gif

This post has been edited by mafiakl: Feb 5 2014, 02:01 PM
lel
post Feb 5 2014, 02:20 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(lel @ Dec 4 2013, 10:21 PM)
Hi. I'm currently working as onboard geophysicist doing 2d seismic data processing ( from seg-D to seg-Y time migration) for geohazard company. Currently, my seismic processing sequence is quite routine with no chance of doing AVO, well ties, 3d seismic, etc2 which i think is highly sought after in exploration.

I'm wondering on how difficult would it be for me to join exploration company like cgg, western geco or others, since i have no experience in oil exploration.  Currently thinking of switching company cause my pay right now is too average and offshore allowance is not that much. Been working for a year already..
Anyone know other people who was in my position? I dont want to stay in geohazard field for too long.
wywy2020
post Feb 5 2014, 02:59 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(mafiakl @ Feb 5 2014, 02:00 PM)
Hi there,

so shy to talk about salary but what i can tell you the salary is 5 figures  brows.gif
how old are u? mind to share more...
yearly increment must be good then
mafiakl
post Feb 5 2014, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Feb 5 2014, 02:59 PM)
how old are u? mind to share more...
yearly increment must be good then
I'm 32 years old...btw don't talk about me la..share something's else ok mate

Oil n Gas company is good for your career development but you must plan your life first before taking any action

There is a quote from Benjamin Franklin "If you fail to plan then you are planning to fail"

128 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.2621sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:40 PM