Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

BlackPen
post Aug 16 2013, 11:24 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Aug 16 2013, 11:17 PM)
How many days is your trip?? What is your plan in Tokyo? You can use JR Pass to Hakone too. So if you want to buy the 7 days pass, make sure you must full utilize it while you are in Tokyo or Osaka other wise it will be a waste. Myself, I have Tokyo, Hiroshima, Kyoto, Osaka & day trip to Nagoya so it is worth to buy 7 days pass.
Total 7 days stay at Japan. This JR pass also can use for bus too right?(only can take JR bus) hmm.gif My gf and family will fully use public transport in Tokyo > Kyoyo > Osaka (visit around this few place)

This post has been edited by BlackPen: Aug 16 2013, 11:27 PM
Listiani
post Aug 16 2013, 11:31 PM

Bus & ferries too as long as under JR. From your programme, your JR pass worth to buy.

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Aug 16 2013, 11:24 PM)
Total 7 days stay at Japan. This JR pass also can use for bus too right?(only can take JR bus) hmm.gif  My gf and family will fully use public transport in Tokyo > Kyoyo > Osaka (visit around this few place)
BlackPen
post Aug 16 2013, 11:35 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Aug 16 2013, 11:31 PM)
Bus & ferries too as long as under JR. From your programme, your JR pass worth to buy.
Ya, worth to buy..isn't the Jr bus is cover quite less in places? or it's cover a lot of places?

I hope I can join them go to Japan too... sad.gif

Thanks for your information notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BlackPen: Aug 16 2013, 11:38 PM
Listiani
post Aug 16 2013, 11:39 PM

If I am not mistaken Tokyo have more JR bus. But I haven't finish my research yet. I'm still compiling on transporation in Hiroshima, Kyoto & Osaka in the city bus. I think in Kyoto they prefer to use tram & bus but not sure if is JR bus or not.

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Aug 16 2013, 11:35 PM)
Ya, worth to buy..isn't the Jr bus is quite less in places? or it's cover a lot of places?

I hope I can join them go to Japan too... sad.gif

Thanks for your information  notworthy.gif
BlackPen
post Aug 16 2013, 11:43 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Aug 16 2013, 11:39 PM)
If I am not mistaken Tokyo have more JR bus. But I haven't finish my research yet. I'm still compiling on transporation in Hiroshima, Kyoto & Osaka in the city bus. I think in Kyoto they prefer to use tram & bus but not sure if is JR bus or not.
Alright..thanks for all your information, it's really helpful notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Sifu rolleyes.gif
Listiani
post Aug 16 2013, 11:47 PM

Regentcid is the sifu. I have not been to Japan. My trip is on October laugh.gif

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Aug 16 2013, 11:43 PM)
Alright..thanks for all your information, it's really helpful  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif Sifu  rolleyes.gif
menmissed
post Aug 17 2013, 12:26 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Aug 16 2013, 11:43 PM)
Alright..thanks for all your information, it's really helpful  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif Sifu  rolleyes.gif
just to remind you that jr pass is well covered most of the places, but it is not that powerful as you think. You might need to take subway and private train as well, which are not covered by JR.
plan your itinerary properly, know where you are heading via what transport. hyperdia can help you. Do some maths and you will know.
Your planning is like my past trip, i also bought SUICA at tokyo, and other passes which is suit and worth the value.

This post has been edited by menmissed: Aug 17 2013, 12:27 AM
estcin
post Aug 17 2013, 12:43 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 16 2013, 10:57 PM)
Queue time 2 hours  biggrin.gif
haha, you follow sifu RC style edy  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Listiani @ Aug 16 2013, 11:09 PM)
Not follow sifu lah!! I always do research before I post anything. Any information that I cannot find or ask for opinion only I post it here.
Sometimes ppl just come here ask questions and expected to be spoon-fed when they never even do the simplest step - which is Google. The first page of the thread already got all the basic info and they never go through it. That's why kena told to do homework by sifu RC
RegentCid
post Aug 17 2013, 12:58 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Aug 16 2013, 10:39 PM)
Hiroshima no need study on bus route....The City are fully cover by Hiroden. Hiroden not cover by JR rail Pass. You just need another pass that including Miyajima Island + ferry + hiroden

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Aug 17 2013, 01:00 AM
RegentCid
post Aug 17 2013, 01:09 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Aug 16 2013, 04:43 PM)
SkyView observation hall.
8am - 10Pm

The Sky View Observation Hall is close to the Ferry Terminal. Its observation deck offers a commanding panoramic view of the airport - your very own "first class seat" from which to watch the planes taking off and landing. The observation deck affords one of the best views in the country, and its proximity to the runway ensures magnificent views of the planes as they skim overhead.

The Observation Hall can be reached by taking the handy shuttle bus from bus stop 1 outside the Passenger Terminal Building. The Sky Shuttle bus service connects the Observation Hall and the Passenger Terminal Building with the Rinku Premium Outlets Shopping Mall. The shuttle operates every day.

Shuttle buses run from the passenger terminal building, and take about 6 minutes (¥100 adults, ¥50 children).

This is the View

Hope you enjoy it.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Aug 17 2013, 01:13 AM
Listiani
post Aug 17 2013, 11:15 AM

I have to agree. Some questions I find it really annoying laugh.gif

QUOTE(estcin @ Aug 17 2013, 12:43 AM)
Sometimes ppl just come here ask questions and expected to be spoon-fed when they never even do the simplest step - which is Google. The first page of the thread already got all the basic info and they never go through it. That's why kena told to do homework by sifu RC
Listiani
post Aug 17 2013, 11:17 AM

I see. Can I confirm with you about the ferry to Miyajima?? I read that they are ferries to Miyajima cover by JR. If is true, I want to use it because mine is 7 days pass. Would like to utilize it.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 17 2013, 12:58 AM)
Hiroshima no need study on bus route....The City are fully cover by Hiroden.  Hiroden not cover by JR rail Pass.  You just need another pass that including Miyajima Island + ferry + hiroden
This post has been edited by Listiani: Aug 17 2013, 11:18 AM
ahpaul82
post Aug 17 2013, 01:10 PM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

My Data SIM Card when I'm on free & easy trip in Hokkaido / Tokyo last month ..

RegentCid
post Aug 17 2013, 01:23 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Aug 17 2013, 10:17 AM)
I see. Can I confirm with you about the ferry to Miyajima?? I read that they are ferries to Miyajima cover by JR. If is true, I want to use it because mine is 7 days pass. Would like to utilize it.
If you used JR pass ferry is onboard on Peace monument jetty.

By the way u still need used Hiroden to Peace monument. So better buy the Pass including Hiroden + Ferry + Miyajima ropeway.
[[ If using this pass the ferry will be on board at Hiroden Miyajima Station which is another Jetty. ]]
PhungTM
post Aug 17 2013, 02:13 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Aug 17 2013, 01:10 PM)
My Data SIM Card when I'm on free & easy trip in Hokkaido / Tokyo last month ..

Is 1GB SIM card more than enough for 7 days? Just going to use it for web surfing, chatting and maybe GPS. ( using iPad )
I was planning to get a pocket Wifi but it cost RM200+.

This post has been edited by PhungTM: Aug 17 2013, 02:14 PM
Listiani
post Aug 17 2013, 02:44 PM

OH! ok. I understand now. TQ.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 17 2013, 01:23 PM)

By the way u still need used Hiroden to Peace monument.  So better buy the Pass including Hiroden + Ferry + Miyajima ropeway.   
[[ If using this pass the ferry will be on board at Hiroden Miyajima Station which is another Jetty. ]]
Listiani
post Aug 17 2013, 02:45 PM

Oh!! ok, I understand now. TQ

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 17 2013, 01:23 PM)

By the way u still need used Hiroden to Peace monument.  So better buy the Pass including Hiroden + Ferry + Miyajima ropeway.   
investor77
post Aug 17 2013, 03:13 PM

Had an enjoyable trip to Japan, covering Tokyo, Osaka, Hiroshima within 9 days 8 nights, using 7 day JRPass.

Using Air Asia X to Haneda Airport, arrive at 11pm, but yet still make it to Keikyu line to \tokyo as Immigratn and Customs took around 45 minutes. Then to vending machine to buy 590 Yen ticket and took the line before 12 mid night to reach Hotel Vintage at Shinjuku just before 1.00 morning. Thanks to the Forum.

JRPass is very useful but if you foret to bring it, they will not let you in as our group experience this delay. We were worried about lugguage space in Trains, but really no worry as some Mat Salleh used very big lugguage which they put on top of their seat railings and behind the last seat row. We only use 20 inch bag, thinking cumbersome to move in the train. However on some platforms, you simply haave to lift/carry your lugguage as there are only steps, no escaltor or elevator to roll your lugguage.

In Osaka, there is a JR Osaka loop like the Yamanote loop in \tokyo, but to reach places faster and in many places, have to use other lines. We had to use Midosuji line to our Hotel in Nagahori, ( Ark hotel, Shinsaibashi ), as it is more direct rather than JR loop as it does not cover this area. Shinsaibashi is nice shopping area and the hotel room better than in Tokyo.

In Shinsaibashi and Namba, there are areas of underground shopping. Dotonburi, Osaka is nice shopping area with bargains during evening time. JRPass is worth it as we can use Shinkassen to Kyoto, Hiroshima, Odawara, but better to book a reserved Hikari or Sakura Shinkassen rather than KOdama as it stops at almost all stations along the route. Journey from Hiroshima to Shin Osaka took us 3 hours by Kodama. Hikari from Tokyo to Shin-Osaka also stops at some towns, like Yokohama, Odawara, etc. All major shinkassen stops at Shin-Osaka, where you can then transfer to JROsaka / Umeda to your Hotel. Departure to Kansai Airport , must use Tennoji station.

Due to lots of people using trian stations, you can get lost as there are many exits, many lines, and many platforms at the Stations like Osaka/ Umeda, Tennoji, which you must take in order to reach your destinations.

Managed to try Kobe Beef at Osaka. Overall had a nice time in Japan.
Lester1987
post Aug 17 2013, 03:28 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Aug 16 2013, 10:20 AM)
Just a question.
I was in Japan in Dec 2012, Osaka > Kyoto > Tokyo > Osaka.
10 Days free and easy tour.

While in Tokyo, i seem to be experiencing giddiness/sudden blackout and loose balance. It still occurs for 2 weeks after Im back from Japan. Medical result showed nothing. Wonder if caused by radiation.
Anyone experience this?

Anyway I will be going to Hokkaido > Osaka in Feb 2014. Further away from Fukushima
can share your itinerary? I will be going to Osaka in October, 18th - 27th. 9 days. flight ticket bought. But still haven plan what to do there.
Any suggestion? go to tokyo i guess. Is the JR pass worth puchasing? its around 300 USD for 7 days.
Lester1987
post Aug 17 2013, 03:32 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(investor77 @ Aug 17 2013, 03:13 PM)
Had an enjoyable trip to Japan, covering Tokyo, Osaka, Hiroshima within 9 days 8 nights, using 7 day JRPass.

Using Air Asia X to Haneda Airport, arrive at 11pm, but yet still make it to Keikyu line to \tokyo as Immigratn and Customs took around 45 minutes.  Then to vending machine to buy 590 Yen ticket and took the line before 12 mid night to reach Hotel Vintage at Shinjuku just before 1.00 morning.  Thanks to the Forum.

JRPass is very useful but if you foret to bring it, they will not let you in as our group experience this delay. We were worried about lugguage space in Trains, but really no worry as some Mat Salleh used very big lugguage which they put on top of their seat railings and behind the last seat row.  We only use 20 inch bag, thinking cumbersome to move in the train.  However on some platforms, you simply haave to lift/carry your lugguage as there are only steps, no escaltor or elevator to roll your lugguage.

In Osaka, there is a JR Osaka loop like the Yamanote loop in \tokyo, but to reach places faster and in many places, have to use other lines.  We had to use Midosuji line to our Hotel in Nagahori, ( Ark hotel, Shinsaibashi ), as it is more direct rather than JR loop as it does not cover this area.  Shinsaibashi is nice shopping area and the hotel room better than in Tokyo.

In Shinsaibashi and Namba, there are areas of underground shopping.  Dotonburi, Osaka is nice shopping area with bargains during evening time.  JRPass is worth it as we can use Shinkassen to Kyoto, Hiroshima, Odawara, but better to book a reserved Hikari or Sakura Shinkassen rather than KOdama as it stops at almost all stations along the route.  Journey from Hiroshima to Shin Osaka took us 3 hours by Kodama.  Hikari from Tokyo to Shin-Osaka also stops at some towns, like Yokohama, Odawara, etc.  All major shinkassen stops at Shin-Osaka, where you can then transfer to JROsaka / Umeda to your Hotel.  Departure to Kansai Airport , must use Tennoji station.

Due to lots of people using trian stations, you can get lost as there are many exits, many lines, and many platforms at the Stations like Osaka/ Umeda, Tennoji, which you must take in order to reach your destinations.

Managed to try Kobe Beef at Osaka.  Overall had a nice time in Japan.
hi bro... can tell me in more detail about the trip?? like how many days should i spend in Osaka and how many days in Tokyo & Kyoto? my departure and arrival are both in Osaka as I got the MAS promo ticket for RM900+ 2 way. Also which day u actually use the JR pass since u go for 9 days, which means there is 2 days u will not get covered.

124 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.1951sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:26 AM